Frustrated trying to get 1:1 pixel mapping - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 01-06-2007, 08:52 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
antand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Nazareth, PA
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Panny TH-50PH9UK and VP30. If the display is left at default overscan settings which is none, and the VP30 is set to 1366x768 all seems to be fine. The 3 test images from the VP30 (vertical and horizontal pixel colums/rows, and checkerboard) confirm that I have 1:1 pixel mapping.

However, in order to use the pixel shift screensaver on the display and not see the glowing edges as it "moves" the screen; I need to adjust the overscan (Hsize, Vsize) on the display and can't get 1:1 mapping anymore. Is there some trick to getting it to work? Is it even possible to get 1:1 if I adjust the overscan settings on the display? I wrote down how the screen changes when altering the various settings on the VP30 such as the H-front, back, sync, size, shift etc. to try and compensate for the overscan on the display but cannot get it back to 1:1, even if I just increase an overscan value on the display by a single tick.

Anyone have any secrets they can share?
antand is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 01-07-2007, 02:35 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
oferlaor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Modiin, Israel
Posts: 8,222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
you cannot obtain 1:1 pixel mapping with any display with the pixel shift algorithm.

you will need to ask the processor manufacturer (in your case ABT) to add an orbiter screen saver in order to get that functionality back.

In my opinion, it is unecessary with the latest generation of plasmas.

Cheers,
Ofer LaOr
www.hometheater.co.il
oferlaor is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 01-07-2007, 04:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
choddo2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: London
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Indeed. Never had to use any sort of retention / burn-in protection on my PHD8 and it's still perfect 11 months later (I did of course change it to cinema mode & reduce brightness & contrast to what still looked like semi-nuclear levels for the first month or so)
choddo2006 is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 01-07-2007, 05:22 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
antand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Nazareth, PA
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I still get 1:1 with the pixel shift enabled on the display, it's just when I change the horizontal or vertical size on the display that I lose it. I can even do horizonal or vertical positioning on the 9UK and retain 1:1, it's just when I change the H/V size.

I did the same, adjusted to cinema and neg. values for the first 100 hrs and used the VP30 to move any static logos/images off the screen. At this point, I thought if I could get the 1:1 with overscan it would be "icing on the cake".
antand is offline  
Reply Video Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off