New DVDO iScan VP50PRO - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 5947 Old 08-13-2007, 02:39 PM
Member
 
NORLL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Norway
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Josh@dvdo;

Does the 1080p24 input -> 1080p24 output work for the VP50 Pro? This is useless in the VP50 and is still awaiting a fix!

How about the 3:2 pulldown reversal (enabling 1080p24 from 60Hz souces)? This is also not working properly for the VP50...
NORLL is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 5947 Old 08-13-2007, 02:40 PM
Member
 
ishanty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: london luton
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
oh god here we go again more money to buy this one wasn't that long the vp50 came out
ishanty is offline  
post #33 of 5947 Old 08-13-2007, 02:42 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Gary Murrell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 10,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the VP50 was announced nearly a year ago

I am surprised more people aren't talking about the FRIGGIN DUAL HD-SDI INPUTS

-Gary
Gary Murrell is offline  
 
post #34 of 5947 Old 08-13-2007, 02:56 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 31,950
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2523 Post(s)
Liked: 2376
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Murrell View Post

the VP50 was announced nearly a year ago

I am surprised more people aren't talking about the FRIGGIN DUAL HD-SDI INPUTS

-Gary

Yes, it's a great feature, and I'll definitely need one for my Denon 5900w/SDI, but is HD-SDI going to be that much of an improvement over the native 1080p/24 output of say a PS3?
Keenan is offline  
post #35 of 5947 Old 08-13-2007, 03:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mdrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Up north
Posts: 1,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Murrell View Post

the VP50 was announced nearly a year ago

I am surprised more people aren't talking about the FRIGGIN DUAL HD-SDI INPUTS

-Gary

Well that's simple Gary..

We don't how much the card will cost. Or, how much you will charge for the player mod, or, if it's even worth messing with seeing how the 3rd gen HD players are soon to be released. Or, if there will ever be a dual player that has both 1080/24 video and High Rez audio (all formats) so we only have to do this once.
mdrew is offline  
post #36 of 5947 Old 08-13-2007, 03:15 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Mark Petersen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Josh, will the ISF CCC modes allow for color primary correction? As you probably know, RS-1 users have been screaming for a way to narrow the oversaturated color primaries on this projector.
Mark Petersen is offline  
post #37 of 5947 Old 08-13-2007, 03:21 PM
Senior Member
 
R Miyashiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the VP50pro uses the same hardware as the ABT102 (same as VP50, right?) for 480i sources? I bought the VP30 mainly for upscaling my large DVD and LD collections (and to correct my overscan) since my Blu-ray and HD-DVD collections are still relatively small in comparison. Being a big anime fan I tend to buy 20+ new DVD titles in standard definition a month and it might be a couple of years until most titles are even offered in high definition, so deinterlacing and upscaling are what I'm looking for.

High definition looks great without a processor on my setup, but any little help in standard definition is appreciated. I've thought about buying a Flea before, and the 50Pro does also seem tempting if it does as good of a job
R Miyashiro is offline  
post #38 of 5947 Old 08-13-2007, 05:06 PM
TWD
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TWD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Posts: 1,401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 42
From the ABT site

Upgrade to an iScan VP50PRO, from your VP50, VP30, VP20 or from your old iScan and receive up to $2,000 trade-in credit!.

So

$2000 trade in plus $500 AVS deal = $2500 trade in.

What a deal. How can they do it?

TWD
TWD is offline  
post #39 of 5947 Old 08-13-2007, 05:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
flyingvee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: stranded in Iowa
Posts: 3,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by TWD View Post

From the ABT site

Upgrade to an iScan VP50PRO, from your VP50, VP30, VP20 or from your old iScan and receive up to $2,000 trade-in credit!.

So

$2000 trade in plus $500 AVS deal = $2500 trade in.

What a deal. How can they do it?

uh - ok. So I can get hdmi 1.3 and noise reduction for a grand. Plus my 9 month old VP50. Gotta do better than that. Guess I will sit this one out.

and, uh, btw. will the NDA agreement expire in time for any of us to hear hands on reports, before the Aug 31 deadline, or is it piap time again? I'm especially interested in Mark P's question - if the ISF calibration adds a lot of control individual color curves, and the gamma correction is greatly improved over that of the VP50, I could be persuaded. Of the announced improvements that I understand, I see nothing compelling.

(I'm willingly stating my ignorance, and waiting for those who have actually played with it to educate me, beyond just telling me that it rocks.)

Jon

Denon DVP - everyone else loves it.
flyingvee is offline  
post #40 of 5947 Old 08-13-2007, 05:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AndyN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 1,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Bummer. If thats $2500 off the AVS preorder I'd be all over it. But another $1k is a wee bit more than I'm willing to part with at this point. Sadly that likely means I'm out a VP50pro forever since by the time I may be willing to pay to play the AVS offer would have probably ended. No trade for me.


Quote:
Originally Posted by TWD View Post

From the ABT site

Upgrade to an iScan VP50PRO, from your VP50, VP30, VP20 or from your old iScan and receive up to $2,000 trade-in credit!.

So

$2000 trade in plus $500 AVS deal = $2500 trade in.

What a deal. How can they do it?

AndyN is offline  
post #41 of 5947 Old 08-13-2007, 05:45 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Josh@dvdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 1,510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by R Miyashiro View Post

Does the VP50pro uses the same hardware as the ABT102 (same as VP50, right?) for 480i sources?

The iScan VP50PRO uses the same 10-bit Precision Deinterlacing and Precision Video Scaling which is found in the VP50. The Mosquito Noise Reduction, Fine Detail Enhancement and Edge Enhancement available in the VP50PRO can also dramatically improve a 480i input signal.

Josh Allen
DVDO Product Manager
Josh@DVDO.com
Josh@dvdo is offline  
post #42 of 5947 Old 08-13-2007, 05:53 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Gary Murrell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 10,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdrew View Post

Well that's simple Gary..

We don't how much the card will cost. Or, how much you will charge for the player mod, or, if it's even worth messing with seeing how the 3rd gen HD players are soon to be released. Or, if there will ever be a dual player that has both 1080/24 video and High Rez audio (all formats) so we only have to do this once.

Mike, everything to do with HD-SDI is expensive at this point, the mods are much harder to do requiring higher labor costs, the hardware associated is much more expensive than SD SDI, scalers with it cost more, costs will come down in time for sure, but it will take a while

HD-SDI will be a screaming hit for those with analog only displays, you could feed the VP50Plus a pure hd-sdi 1080p/24 signal and then output 1080i component to a older HDTV or RGBHV to a CRT projector, comparing HDMI vs HD-SDI will show slight differences on top quality setups, the same as SD-SDI does

-Gary
Gary Murrell is offline  
post #43 of 5947 Old 08-13-2007, 05:55 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Josh@dvdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 1,510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Petersen View Post

Josh, will the ISF CCC modes allow for color primary correction? As you probably know, RS-1 users have been screaming for a way to narrow the oversaturated color primaries on this projector.

ISF CCC modes do not require primary (or secondary) adjustment. Specifically, the requirement for these modes are Day and Night picture memories. That said, we are well aware of customer/calibrator (and OEM ) requirements in regards to calibration controls.

Josh Allen
DVDO Product Manager
Josh@DVDO.com
Josh@dvdo is offline  
post #44 of 5947 Old 08-13-2007, 06:47 PM
Senior Member
 
mike_orst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by TWD View Post

From the ABT site

Upgrade to an iScan VP50PRO, from your VP50, VP30, VP20 or from your old iScan and receive up to $2,000 trade-in credit!.

So

$2000 trade in plus $500 AVS deal = $2500 trade in.

What a deal. How can they do it?

But the price listed on their web site is $3499, so it looks like it will still cost you another $1000 to upgrade from the VP50.

As of right now I think I will have to pass as well. Here's to hoping they just fix the issues I have with the VP50.
mike_orst is offline  
post #45 of 5947 Old 08-13-2007, 07:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Josh@dvdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 1,510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boilermaker View Post

Does this mean that 1920X1080P-72 & 75 are not available?

1920x1080p@72/75Hz is not supported. Lower Horizontal/Vertical resolution combinations however do support 72/75Hz output.

Josh Allen
DVDO Product Manager
Josh@DVDO.com
Josh@dvdo is offline  
post #46 of 5947 Old 08-13-2007, 07:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
edfowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: central Indiana
Posts: 2,025
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh@dvdo View Post

The iScan VP50PRO uses the same 10-bit Precision Deinterlacing and Precision Video Scaling which is found in the VP50. The Mosquito Noise Reduction, Fine Detail Enhancement and Edge Enhancement available in the VP50PRO can also dramatically improve a 480i input signal.


will these three features also dramatically improve a 1080p24 high def signal, which is what I primarily watch anymore?
edfowler is online now  
post #47 of 5947 Old 08-13-2007, 08:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Scott_R_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Rockwood,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 1,170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Josh ,

Can you elaborate on the "Panamorph" mode and how it differs from previous settings ? Us "Scope" users would like to know .

Scott...............

"Home Theatre is a Journey , not a Destination "
Scott_R_K is offline  
post #48 of 5947 Old 08-13-2007, 09:13 PM
 
oink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Shuloch
Posts: 34,847
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5299 Post(s)
Liked: 3036
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh@dvdo View Post

ISF CCC modes do not require primary (or secondary) adjustment. Specifically, the requirement for these modes are Day and Night picture memories. That said, we are well aware of customer/calibrator (and OEM ) requirements in regards to calibration controls.

Hmmm....Can I take that to mean that DVDO is well aware of the RS-1 situation and you have found a way of addressing that with the VP50PRO???
If so, I guess it is time to order the RS-1.

BTW, will the VP50PRO be able to process Deep Color (or x.x.v.y or whatever it is called)?
This next gen video will become very important in the months to come....

Will the PRO process 1080/24p in with a 1080/24p output?
Will the PRO allow pure video pass-thru with no processing?

Will the PRO allow HDMI pass-thru of all the BD audio codecs?
oink is offline  
post #49 of 5947 Old 08-13-2007, 09:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jon Spackman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 2,155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Looking forward to a very fair trade in for my Vp50....

Just enjoy HD in whatever form you can (Sat, Cable, D-VHS, OTA, HD DVD, or BD).
Jon Spackman is offline  
post #50 of 5947 Old 08-13-2007, 10:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
c722's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,001
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is the input/output capable of passing through hi-res audio bitstream ? (with proper delay matched )
c722 is offline  
post #51 of 5947 Old 08-14-2007, 12:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
splinters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Josh,

I'm curious, it's a $500 price difference between VP50 and VP50 Pro, yet the upgrade price is $1499 for VP50 owners. While I can understand that you want people to buy the Pro instead of the original VP50 for new owners, the $1500 is a rather steep price for upgrading us VP50 users that were told that the VP50 will have Noise Reduction was coming.

While I can understand the need to make money, I would ask DVDO to consider either adding NR to the VP50 or offering a better upgrade price for the VP50 Pro.

-Splints
splinters is offline  
post #52 of 5947 Old 08-14-2007, 12:16 AM
Senior Member
 
peteS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: London, UK
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Josh - Will the VP50Pro support 1080p passthru?
peteS is offline  
post #53 of 5947 Old 08-14-2007, 12:35 AM
Newbie
 
Petrowitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh@dvdo View Post

There is only one HDMI output on the VP50PRO so I do not see how this can be done.



We are looking at adding the SDI Input Module to our trade-up program.

Hi Josh,

what´s about the upgrade for the sdi-input module for vp50 owners
with SD-SDI-Input?

MP
Petrowitz is offline  
post #54 of 5947 Old 08-14-2007, 03:04 AM
Senior Member
 
Pharados's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i'm also upset with that upgrade price, the price dif. for 500$ it is ok and a fee for upgrading process is also ok but it is not worth 1000$.

this is also more because auf more then 5 month if impossible use if the VP50 because of audio drop outs, 24P problem and other problem. also i still have problem and the where present the first day and still not solved so is DVDO take my unit back for refund ????

and we talk also not for the promissed features !!!!!!
Pharados is offline  
post #55 of 5947 Old 08-14-2007, 04:53 AM
TWD
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TWD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Posts: 1,401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 42
What is Panamorph?

TWD
TWD is offline  
post #56 of 5947 Old 08-14-2007, 05:16 AM
TWD
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TWD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Posts: 1,401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 42
I didn't get a response, so I will ask again.

Will the Pro give me a better picture then the VP 50? Josh stated that the pro uses the same scaling and deinterlacing as the VP 50, so probably not?

TWD
TWD is offline  
post #57 of 5947 Old 08-14-2007, 05:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
jd213's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: less than 10 minutes from Akihabara
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Will the VP50Pro have the same 1080p24 stuttering problem that the VP50 has?
jd213 is offline  
post #58 of 5947 Old 08-14-2007, 05:32 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 31,301
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6414 Post(s)
Liked: 3963
Quote:
Originally Posted by dstroot View Post

I made my own VP50 Pro - I bought a VP50 via the AVS pre-order when they first came out thinking I was getting Mosquito Noise Reduction, etc. When I didn't (and yes I'm still pissed...) I added an Algolith Flea.

So for me VP50 + Flea = Pro

But the Flea is supposed to be put before the VP50 in the video chain, not on the vP50 output. So that makes it kind of limiting. I currently us my HDMI flea for my broadcast sources and have two HDTiVos connected to it. But that is all. I'm curious how the VP50pro stacks up to the features of the Reon processor in the HDMI Flea. Assuming it's comparable I can sell my HDMI Flea to offset some of the $1k upgrade cost to the VP50pro.
Will any info be coming from DVDO comparing the NR and enhancemnt features with the other products on the market?
Also more HDMI inputs would have been nice. I exceeded 4 HDMI inputs a long time ago. Six HDMi inputs would be much better, and I'm done with analog inputs.
6 HDMI inputs and two HDMI outputs would have been perfect. I'll still have to use one or two HDMI switches and a 1x2 HDMI splitter with the VP50 pro, although now I guess I need to find HDMI 1.3 switches and splitters.

53TB unRAID2--41TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
Sony 65x850C--Sony UBP-X800--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #59 of 5947 Old 08-14-2007, 05:43 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 31,301
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6414 Post(s)
Liked: 3963
Another quick question. I just want to verify that the NR and enhancement features can be used with all input resolutions that the VP50pro accepts? So at least up to 1080P60 and every resolution below?

53TB unRAID2--41TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
Sony 65x850C--Sony UBP-X800--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #60 of 5947 Old 08-14-2007, 07:16 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Josh@dvdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 1,510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by c722 View Post

Is the input/output capable of passing through hi-res audio bitstream ? (with proper delay matched )

Yes, the VP50PRO can put proper audio delay on high bit-rate audio formats like Dolby TrueHD and DTS Master Audio and output that signal over the HDMI 1.3 output.

Josh Allen
DVDO Product Manager
Josh@DVDO.com
Josh@dvdo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Video Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off