Lumagen HDP 1080/24 -> JVC DLA-HD1 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-24-2007, 09:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Krobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2,966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I'm having real trouble getting this to work, using V2.7 firmware on the XE1 so correct 1080P/24 output should be possible and indeed the Toshiba is trying to output 1080/24. The troule is the Lumagen then flickers all the time in the menu and movement is not al all smooth.

If I feed 1080I60 from the Toshiba to the Lumagen that then outputs 1080/24then I get a kind of "Wobble".

I have tried various settings including pass through and genlock but still no luck. Does anyone have this sort of setup working?
Krobar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-25-2007, 11:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vigga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,729
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Back when I had a HDQ I had this problem as well...several other members reported it also. Lumagen knew of the bug...I moved onto a Radiance since then and am not sure of the status of this bug fix. I would give Lumagen a call.
vigga is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 01:48 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
oferlaor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Modiin, Israel
Posts: 8,222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't think HDQ officially supports 24FPS.

Cheers,
Ofer LaOr
www.hometheater.co.il
oferlaor is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 01:54 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Krobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2,966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by oferlaor View Post

I don't think HDQ officially supports 24FPS.

It is an option it offers when you type in 1080 res.
Krobar is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 10:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vigga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,729
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It does...added on 2/20/07 firmware update:

Production Release 022007- Adds 1080-24p output for HDP, HDQ, ProHDP. To select it use the VRES command in the menu. When you set the VRES to 1080 it will ask you whether you want interlaced, progressive (which uses the currently set vertical rate), 24 SF, or 24 P. This is the only method allowed for setting the vertical rate to 24Hz.
vigga is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 10:35 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Alan Gouger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Florida
Posts: 18,728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
There was studdering reported with up date 030107 which added support for 24.
The next and last drop 032507 fixed this.

I have used the RS1 with my HDP and it worked fine. Has anything changed in your HDP setting. Try doing a factory reset and start from scratch, see if that helps. I have also used the HDP with several projectors and HD DVD BD players with 24 in and no issues.
As a last resort you may have to fool with the timings.
Alan Gouger is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 02:06 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Nasty N8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lake in the hills IL
Posts: 1,136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
What are the timing settings? I just got a HDQ I found the 1080 24 but have no clue what to set any of this to.

Nate

www.NastyPerformance.com

10,000 Watts, custom built speakers, 10' CIH screen = Holy Crap
Nasty N8 is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 02:47 PM
Senior Member
 
RandyFreeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We are planning to release new software for the HDP/HDQ before the end of the year with enhanced 1080p24 support. If you are experiencing motion that isn't smooth there are some things that you can try.

1. Make sure that you have the latest software loaded on your high def video source.

2. If your display can support it, try setting the output of the Lumagen to 1080p48.

3. Set your video source to output 1080i. The Lumagen will deinterlace a 1080i input and give you the same picture as you would get using a 1080p24 input.

Best regards,
Randy Freeman
RandyFreeman is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 03:59 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Krobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2,966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Thanks for the replies everyone.

My RS1 bulb just exploded unexpectedly but my supplier told me that 1080P/48 should work despite the manual not mentioning 48hz support.

Am I right in thinking the Lumagen must be given exact refresh figure like 23.97? What is the exact figure I should use for 48hz?
Krobar is offline  
Old 12-04-2007, 01:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gordon Fraser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: S.E. England
Posts: 1,609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 27
When you type in 48 Hz it prompts you whether you want that or 47.95 (from memory) Choose the .xx Hz version

Gordon

Convergent-AV
ISF, Home Theater Consultants and Distribution, U.K.
Gordon Fraser is offline  
Old 12-04-2007, 03:57 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Krobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2,966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gordon Fraser View Post

When you type in 48 Hz it prompts you whether you want that or 47.95 (from memory) Choose the .xx Hz version

Gordon

Thanks Gordon, I will try this later in the week.
Krobar is offline  
Old 12-08-2007, 10:16 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Krobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2,966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I just upgraded to the latest Lumagen firmware and 24P still does not look right. Still text seems to have pixel wobble and the Lumagnen menu wobbles too.

My HD1 has a very early 059 firmware and I wonder if an upgrade to 062 would sort this out. Need to get hold of a laptop with a serial port first though.
Krobar is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 05:08 PM
 
Daniel Hutnicki's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: On the Internet
Posts: 6,183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
not sure which version version software I have and I will update to the latest tomorrow, but I had the Panny 30 blu ray hooked up through my HDP PRO, when watching the latest Die Hard movie, the Panny seemed to add alot of grain to the picture especially during dark scenes. This happens especially when they are on the helicopter searching for Warlocks house. I connected directly to the RS1 and the picture was perfect. The lumagen is adding something to the picture. What refresh rate do I use. Its currently set at 60. Should I change this to 24?

When i tell tell the lumagen to use 1080p 24f, the RS1 does not except the signal. Should it be 24p which i dont have probably due to my older version of software?

In anycase, I hope the refresh rate change and software update will fix the picture but at this point, the br looks much better connect to the projector. Unfortunately I need the Lumagen to do scope.

What am i doing wrong
Daniel Hutnicki is offline  
Old 12-10-2007, 03:22 AM
Member
 
jeffwp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: melbourne australia
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i too have the dreaded screen wobble on 1080p47.95 and am praying to the lumagen gods for a new end of year firmware.
jeffwp is offline  
Old 12-10-2007, 03:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gordon Fraser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: S.E. England
Posts: 1,609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 27
On the screen wobble thing try changing the sync polarityof the output signal. I saw a similar thing on a 65" Panasonic plasma and that fixed it

Convergent-AV
ISF, Home Theater Consultants and Distribution, U.K.
Gordon Fraser is offline  
Old 12-10-2007, 04:43 AM
Member
 
jeffwp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: melbourne australia
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
will try when i get back from holidays .thanks for the suggestion.
jeffwp is offline  
Old 12-10-2007, 09:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
spatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Germany
Posts: 895
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


I just upgraded to the latest Lumagen firmware and 24P still does not look right. Still text seems to have pixel wobble and the Lumagnen menu wobbles too.

My HD1 has a very early 059 firmware and I wonder if an upgrade to 062 would sort this out. Need to get hold of a laptop with a serial port first though.

No need this "wobbling" appears only with the OSD menu, it will never affect the image in any way. I can see this on a CRT, so it comes from the Lumagen. If you are using DVI output the sync change will not work as for DVI the settings are fixed. The SYNC and output color space adjustments only work on the analog part

Eidophor oil projector on a fork lifter connected to an original SONY BETAMAX, stunning picture, never seen anything better
spatz is offline  
Old 12-10-2007, 10:53 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Nasty N8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lake in the hills IL
Posts: 1,136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am still having alot of trouble with this as well. When I set to anything OTHER than 1080P60 mode B it shifts the image about5-6" to the right? When I try and adjust the frame it locks the signal?

Nate

www.NastyPerformance.com

10,000 Watts, custom built speakers, 10' CIH screen = Holy Crap
Nasty N8 is offline  
Old 12-10-2007, 12:13 PM
Member
 
frankm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyFreeman View Post

We are planning to release new software for the HDP/HDQ before the end of the year with enhanced 1080p24 support. If you are experiencing motion that isn't smooth there are some things that you can try.

1. Make sure that you have the latest software loaded on your high def video source.

2. If your display can support it, try setting the output of the Lumagen to 1080p48.

3. Set your video source to output 1080i. The Lumagen will deinterlace a 1080i input and give you the same picture as you would get using a 1080p24 input.

Best regards,
Randy Freeman

Dear Randy, I have the vision HDP. I tried setting the vert res to 1080p 24 sf over the weekend and ending up with the message "out of frequency range for input 1" (or something like that). That froze my video (not audio) on input 1, could never get it to work again and the menu for the lumagen won't come up so I can change it. I tried going back and forth between input 1 and 2, switching cables from Hd-dvd and Blu-ray several times, unplugging, tirning off etc. Ended up freezing the video (but audio works ok) on Mem B (set up for 2.35) and Mem A(1.78). I can still use Mem C but am afriad to make almost any adjustment. Is there a way to reset lumagen to factory? I can access the save to factory from mem C but not A or B. I have the latest software from March. Any suggestions? Thanks
frankm is offline  
Old 12-10-2007, 04:10 PM
Senior Member
 
RandyFreeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The is no auto save on the LumagenHDP. If you change a setting and loose the picture, you can press "standby" and then "on" to restore the last saved setting. Or you can unplug the power and then plug the power back in.

To do a factory reset press "Menu 0999". If you want to keep these new setting you need to do a "Save".
RandyFreeman is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 09:55 AM
 
Daniel Hutnicki's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: On the Internet
Posts: 6,183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
frankm

you need to choose 24p and not 24 sf. With sf, you are correct, you will get the out of frequency range message
Daniel Hutnicki is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 12:22 PM
Member
 
frankm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Daniel and Randy. Will try tonight to reset to factory and then set to 24p.
frankm is offline  
Old 12-21-2007, 01:35 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Krobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2,966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyFreeman View Post

We are planning to release new software for the HDP/HDQ before the end of the year with enhanced 1080p24 support. If you are experiencing motion that isn't smooth there are some things that you can try.

1. Make sure that you have the latest software loaded on your high def video source.

2. If your display can support it, try setting the output of the Lumagen to 1080p48.

3. Set your video source to output 1080i. The Lumagen will deinterlace a 1080i input and give you the same picture as you would get using a 1080p24 input.

Best regards,
Randy Freeman

Hi Randy,

Any update on the new firmware?
Krobar is offline  
Old 12-21-2007, 03:38 PM
Senior Member
 
RandyFreeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is a slight delay on new software for the HDP and HDQ because we have been working on the Radiance. It's coming. Sorry that it's become a late Christmas present.

Best regards,
Randy Freeman
RandyFreeman is offline  
Old 12-22-2007, 08:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,768
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 271
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyFreeman View Post

There is a slight delay on new software for the HDP and HDQ because we have been working on the Radiance. It's coming. Sorry that it's become a late Christmas present.

Best regards,
Randy Freeman

No need to be sorry Randy. I think most of us that use your wonderful HDP/HDQ would rather have your "new software" give us the best our HDP/HDQ can be at 100% rather than anything less, like 99%
Let me thank you in advance for giving us the 100% "new software" and also for being the perfectionist's you and your team are on this "new software"

"late Christmas present" like after Christmas but before new years.
sillysally is online now  
Old 01-04-2008, 03:56 PM
 
Daniel Hutnicki's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: On the Internet
Posts: 6,183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I talked to Randy at Lumagen, it seems that the the new software wont be up until the end of January
Daniel Hutnicki is offline  
Old 01-10-2008, 03:11 PM
Member
 
chhelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Colleyville, Texas
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any update on the software upgrade. I have been running the HDQ for almost a year with a RS1 and still unable to do 1080p24. Made several attempts at repeating the firmware upgrades and still can't get rid of the green lines that develop in the lower 1/3 of the projected image.
chhelo is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 02:36 PM
 
Daniel Hutnicki's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: On the Internet
Posts: 6,183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Chhelo

look at the post right above you
Daniel Hutnicki is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 12:26 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Krobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2,966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Anyone have any news on the new software?
Krobar is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 01:42 PM
jrp
AVS Special Member
 
jrp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Posts: 1,049
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 40
We are in testing for a 24p input, 24p output software update to improve the judder experienced in the Vision series with 24p output. This will be released in the next week.

Jim Peterson
Lumagen
jrp is online now  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off