turtle beach - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 01-06-2002, 04:53 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bsaitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i just bought the turtle beach player, the audiotron.. i'll hook it up to my win2k server with HPNA.. i'm very much looking forward to it..

i'll report my findings.. i wanted a hard driven device, but can't justify spending $1,000 for it, when this device should do the trick nicely :-) so i hope.

http://www.audiotron.net/audiotron/producthome.asp

-------------------
Mitsi 55907
Denon 3801
Sony HD-100 STB
DirectTV/HD-DVR
OTA
ROKU
-------------------
bsaitz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 01-08-2002, 11:41 AM
Senior Member
 
Lloydian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Phoenix, AZ, USA
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, the AT also has the advantage of being an expandable system in that you can hook up as many as you like. Add to that a web interface to control it from any of your home PCs and it's great.

One important note: the internal D/A converter is rather weak. This is a device you'll want to use the optical audio cable for.

Lloyd Lawrence
Lloydian is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 01-08-2002, 12:13 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bsaitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
good suggestion, i was fully planning on the toslink output..

i also ordered 2 HPNA cards for my other PC's.. HPNA 2.0 - hope it's zippy..

-------------------
Mitsi 55907
Denon 3801
Sony HD-100 STB
DirectTV/HD-DVR
OTA
ROKU
-------------------
bsaitz is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 01-16-2002, 10:57 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bsaitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the audiotron is great, hooked it up to my computer with a cheap HPNA 2.0 card and now have 2,000+ MP3s avail on my home system. i used the toslink cable and it sounds great.

go get one.. screw those $1,000+ machines.. who needs it?

-------------------
Mitsi 55907
Denon 3801
Sony HD-100 STB
DirectTV/HD-DVR
OTA
ROKU
-------------------
bsaitz is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 01-17-2002, 10:12 AM
Senior Member
 
Lloydian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Phoenix, AZ, USA
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by bsaitz
and now have 2,000+ MP3s avail on my home system
First, I'm one of those who despises Napster, so every file on my server is one that I ripped from a CD that I own.

Since the AT supports Windows Media, I ripped at 128 kbps and get a wonderful sound out of the 7 Channel Stereo setting on my Pioneer receiver without running out of hard drive space.

After a couple of months of ripping, I now have well over 7000 songs to choose from with plenty of room for expansion.

At not too much money, you can use the Linksys network attached storage to provide always on storage in a remote part of the house without tying up (and leaving on) your PC. Avoid, however, the Snap Server and the Maxtor server as they are incompatible with the AT.

Lloyd Lawrence
Lloydian is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 02-23-2002, 11:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jleavens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 2,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone tell me if the web interface to the Audiotron is PC only, or if it is controllable by a Mac browser?

Also, can tracks be added from any computer on the network (via filesharing) or must they be added on the host machine in order to recognize the tracks?

Thanks!

Remember, it's just television...
Planet Replay: http://www.planetreplay.com
Do you VUDU? http://www.planetvudu.com
jleavens is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 02-24-2002, 07:20 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bsaitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
as far as i can tell, you should be to run the admin web server from a mac browser.. it's pretty simple HTML pages/forms.. nothing too slick that would look IE or Win specific..

and the shares can be all over the place, not just on a single host machine.. i have 2 host machines.. just create the shares with the right names (e.g. music or my music) and it will look there for MP3/WMA files. also you for win2k/xp you assign the AT a user id/pw from the domain manager.

-------------------
Mitsi 55907
Denon 3801
Sony HD-100 STB
DirectTV/HD-DVR
OTA
ROKU
-------------------
bsaitz is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 02-24-2002, 08:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jleavens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 2,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow, I think this is the device I've been looking for...

I had planned on picking up one of the new iMacs to use as an audio center (nice, self-contained, big screen interface, cd-rw built in for ripping and burning).

But I've got spare NT box that has been sitting unused that would make a fine server. If I can rip my music from anywhere and add it to the library, and control it from either Mac or PC laptops that I have scattered about the house, I think it will do the trick for several hundred dollars less....

Thanks for the feedback! Anything else that someone should know before picking up the Audiotron? Anything that works better or worse than you thought it would from the literature?

Remember, it's just television...
Planet Replay: http://www.planetreplay.com
Do you VUDU? http://www.planetvudu.com
jleavens is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 02-24-2002, 08:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jleavens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 2,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Lloydian

At not too much money, you can use the Linksys network attached storage to provide always on storage in a remote part of the house without tying up (and leaving on) your PC. Avoid, however, the Snap Server and the Maxtor server as they are incompatible with the AT.
Do you happen to know what the incompatibility is on these? I've got a Snap Server, and found it to be pretty robust....

Remember, it's just television...
Planet Replay: http://www.planetreplay.com
Do you VUDU? http://www.planetvudu.com
jleavens is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 02-25-2002, 05:19 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bsaitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
turtlebeach has their own message boards, which are good:
http://pub90.ezboard.com/bturtlebeach

you really don't need the PC too much... just keep adding MP3s to the share folders and from the AT you can re-scan for new files...

-------------------
Mitsi 55907
Denon 3801
Sony HD-100 STB
DirectTV/HD-DVR
OTA
ROKU
-------------------
bsaitz is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 02-25-2002, 08:48 AM
Senior Member
 
Lloydian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Phoenix, AZ, USA
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by jleavens
Do you happen to know what the incompatibility is on these? I've got a Snap Server, and found it to be pretty robust....
It's the Snap Server's lack of unicode support.

Yes, I too started with a Snap Server which I love, but found that the Audiotrons could not find any music on them. My Snap is now powering my business files.

As a result, I moved to the Linksys which has worked wonderfully and includes a printer port to boot!

Lloyd Lawrence
Lloydian is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 02-26-2002, 10:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
Huckster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Avoid, however, the Snap Server and the Maxtor server as they are incompatible with the AT.
According to the TB web board, the latest Beta (and future release) firmware has a fix for this problem.

This is what I find AMAZING about this $300 product. It is USER upgradable (via the network). I have mega-$$$ stuff that is not USER upgradable.

Huck
Huckster is offline  
Closed Thread Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off