Official SONOS owners thread - Page 18 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #511 of 1092 Old 02-23-2012, 11:48 AM
Member
 
dlipter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can Sonos bookmark partially played mp3 spoken word podcast files?

I have an original Sonos but haven't kept up....hoping for a yes, bookmarking has been added answer.

Thanks
dlipter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #512 of 1092 Old 02-23-2012, 11:54 AM
Senior Member
 
jgiddyup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Haynes View Post

Going to be a new Sonos owner today. Heading out to pick up a Connect & Play5. Question though, for the ones that have a Play5 or Play3 in the kitchen where do you have it placed? I figure the majority will just have it on the counter but I wonder if on top of the fridge would be okay. Anyone out there try different placements and see where was best?

It will go just about anywhere, but if sound quality is what you're looking for then something as close to ear level as you can get will be best. Also moving it closer to a wall will increase low frequency output a little.

I do put my Play 5 on top of the fridge when I use it in the garage and it sounds fine.

Jgiddyup
jgiddyup is online now  
post #513 of 1092 Old 02-23-2012, 11:55 AM
Senior Member
 
jgiddyup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlipter View Post

Can Sonos bookmark partially played mp3 spoken word podcast files?

I have an original Sonos but haven't kept up....hoping for a yes, bookmarking has been added answer.

Thanks

Almost positive the answer is no, but you could get the Sonos iPod dock and that would accomplish what you're looking for assuming you have access to an iPod.

Jgiddyup
jgiddyup is online now  
post #514 of 1092 Old 02-23-2012, 11:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chrisx510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If I wanted to do whole house audio with SONOS in 7 locations would I have to buy a SONOS AMP for each set of speakers? Or is there a receiver I would be better off going with or some other device..?

My First Home Theater

300 Blu-Rays, 150 DVD's loaded in my Movie Server!

Thanks AVS for making me addicted to this hobby!
Chrisx510 is offline  
post #515 of 1092 Old 02-23-2012, 11:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sean_w_smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Altos, CA and Huntsville, UT
Posts: 4,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrisx510 View Post

If I wanted to do whole house audio with SONOS in 7 locations would I have to buy a SONOS AMP for each set of speakers? Or is there a receiver I would be better off going with or some other device..?

speakers need amps to drive them so you need 14 channles worth of amp. whether that comes from sonos or someone else is a personal choice.

I use a variety of amp strategies on my setups. dedicated amps, receivers, jam boxes, etc....

The integration of the amp is certainly attractive if your concerned with space.

you also need to ask yourself do you really want or need 7 zone sonos or might it be better to have a smaller # of zones with a large multichannel amp. This keeps everything in Sync perfectly.


http://www.parts-express.com/pe/show...number=300-815
sean_w_smith is offline  
post #516 of 1092 Old 02-24-2012, 12:00 AM
Senior Member
 
CaTaSTrOphiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrisx510 View Post

If I wanted to do whole house audio with SONOS in 7 locations would I have to buy a SONOS AMP for each set of speakers? Or is there a receiver I would be better off going with or some other device..?

You can easily power two sets of speakers off a connect amp.
CaTaSTrOphiK is offline  
post #517 of 1092 Old 02-24-2012, 12:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chrisx510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sean_w_smith View Post

speakers need amps to drive them so you need 14 channles worth of amp. whether that comes from sonos or someone else is a personal choice.

I use a variety of amp strategies on my setups. dedicated amps, receivers, jam boxes, etc....

The integration of the amp is certainly attractive if your concerned with space.

you also need to ask yourself do you really want or need 7 zone sonos or might it be better to have a smaller # of zones with a large multichannel amp. This keeps everything in Sync perfectly.


http://www.parts-express.com/pe/show...number=300-815

I think this would be better.. When i would want the house filled with music 3-4 rooms would all be playing the same station. I do like to have music in the bathroom so having that on its own channel would be nice also.

That 12 channel amp is nice Sean! This the first time I'm looking into whole house audio. Didn't know it was so affordable.

My First Home Theater

300 Blu-Rays, 150 DVD's loaded in my Movie Server!

Thanks AVS for making me addicted to this hobby!
Chrisx510 is offline  
post #518 of 1092 Old 02-24-2012, 12:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chrisx510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaTaSTrOphiK View Post

You can easily power two sets of speakers off a connect amp.

Good to know! I will definitely keep that in mind.

My First Home Theater

300 Blu-Rays, 150 DVD's loaded in my Movie Server!

Thanks AVS for making me addicted to this hobby!
Chrisx510 is offline  
post #519 of 1092 Old 02-24-2012, 03:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 61
How you plan to (or will end up) using the system will dictate your Zone strategy'!

For maximum flexibility a Zone Player per listening Zone is the best option.

If there are areas of the house where listening to the same music is not an issue then you can group sub-zones to the main Zone Player using a multi-channel amp and or a Speaker Switch.

The danger of having too many sub-zones served from a single Zone player is that in the long term you may regret that strategy as it may prove to be too inflexible depending on the number of folk in the house and how they end up using the system!

You can connect two pairs of suitable Speakers to a single Connect Amp as per the Sonos FAQ - https://sonos.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/269

Joe

If I've helped 'Like' me on Facebook - www.facebook.com/Octavainc

Joe Fernand is offline  
post #520 of 1092 Old 02-24-2012, 03:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chrisx510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So the multi channel amps that Sean posted a link to will only allow me to play the same song in 12 zones correct? I wouldn't be able to play say 1 song outside, one on the house and another in the shower? Correct? I'm just using this as an example.

My First Home Theater

300 Blu-Rays, 150 DVD's loaded in my Movie Server!

Thanks AVS for making me addicted to this hobby!
Chrisx510 is offline  
post #521 of 1092 Old 02-24-2012, 05:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Somewhatlost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: some small blue-green planet thingy...
Posts: 1,792
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrisx510 View Post

So the multi channel amps that Sean posted a link to will only allow me to play the same song in 12 zones correct? I wouldn't be able to play say 1 song outside, one on the house and another in the shower? Correct? I'm just using this as an example.

not only will it only allow you to play the same song in 6 zones (12 channels = 6 stereo zones... you want stereo right?) it will ALWAYS play the same song in all 6 zones, and at the same volume... unless you put volume/mute controls in all 6 zones... you may save a bit of money up front, but once you are done running the wiring from the central amp location to all 6 zones, and dealing with the in room controls, is whatever money you might have saved really worth it? (actually when you add it all up, how much do you really save?)

for the bathroom, just get a s5/play5/whatever the new goofy naming convention is... $400 and you are done... no wires to run, no speakers to install...

if the initial $$$ is a problem, start small, ie just get a few zones to start with, then as deals/sales come along expand couple zones at a time... with sonos, adding a zone is a simple process of plugging in the new zone and clicking/selecting "add a zone"... makes it super simple to add as needed...

NOTE: As one wise professional something once stated, I am ignorant & childish, with a mindset comparable to 9/11 troofers and wackjob conspiracy theorists. so don't take anything I say as advice...
Somewhatlost is offline  
post #522 of 1092 Old 02-24-2012, 06:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sean_w_smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Altos, CA and Huntsville, UT
Posts: 4,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrisx510 View Post

So the multi channel amps that Sean posted a link to will only allow me to play the same song in 12 zones correct? I wouldn't be able to play say 1 song outside, one on the house and another in the shower? Correct? I'm just using this as an example.

an amp is an amp. amps dont decode MP3' from servers they take an analog input signal and they amplify it.

12 channels at 2 channels per zone equals 6 zones.

This amp can drive independent content on 12 channels or 6 zones. Whether it broadcasts the same signal or an indepent signal all depends on the input.

I have an 8+ zone system and me personally including the family don't see a big need to play a different song in every zone or even 2 songs across N zones. Ask yourself, is it really worth $350*N zones. in your case that one feature will cost you $2,000. Only you can decide what your needs are.
sean_w_smith is offline  
post #523 of 1092 Old 02-24-2012, 06:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sean_w_smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Altos, CA and Huntsville, UT
Posts: 4,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Fernand View Post

How you plan to (or will end up) using the system will dictate your Zone strategy'!

For maximum flexibility a Zone Player per listening Zone is the best option.

If there are areas of the house where listening to the same music is not an issue then you can group sub-zones to the main Zone Player using a multi-channel amp and or a Speaker Switch.

The danger of having too many sub-zones served from a single Zone player is that in the long term you may regret that strategy as it may prove to be too inflexible depending on the number of folk in the house and how they end up using the system!

You can connect two pairs of suitable Speakers to a single Connect Amp as per the Sonos FAQ - https://sonos.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/269

Joe

correct but you can always add a Zone in the future.

splitting analog gurantees reliability, simplicity, syncrhonization.

as for cost. Despite what one of the posters said there is no way your gonna spend $350 a drop on an electrician pulling wire. Not gonna happen.
less sonos zones is clearly less expensive from someone who has been through this 3 times now. regardless of whether I put a Sonos in every room I still want a physical volume control on the wall. Wife, Kids, etc hate to be bothered to fire up an app to turn the volume down when the phone rings. Can't beat the convience of an inwall volume control.
sean_w_smith is offline  
post #524 of 1092 Old 02-24-2012, 06:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 61
In your example you will require a minimum of 3 Zone Players (House Internal, House External and Shower) - if you want to further granulate' the House Internal to allow additional flexibility in terms of simultaneously playing different Songs/radio stations you will require additional Zone Players.

Break the property down into those key zones' and then start to look at what kit is best for you - as Somewhatlost says starting small can be a good solution with Sonos and as the likes of the Play:5 and Play:3 only require a power cord in most situations you can easily expand' the system or even move things around from room to room if required.

We have 8 Zone players at home - a mix of Play:5, Connect and Connect Amp.

We don't get enough good weather to justify a permanent external install - though one of the Play:5 does make the odd foray into the garden.

Joe

If I've helped 'Like' me on Facebook - www.facebook.com/Octavainc

Joe Fernand is offline  
post #525 of 1092 Old 02-24-2012, 06:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
scientest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Memphis
Posts: 1,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrisx510 View Post

So the multi channel amps that Sean posted a link to will only allow me to play the same song in 12 zones correct? I wouldn't be able to play say 1 song outside, one on the house and another in the shower? Correct? I'm just using this as an example.

I believe that particular amp has two buses and individual line ins per zone, so yes you could, but one zone would be all by itself (not shared in any way). However, that amp doesn't have the ability to change sources by remote control so you'd be stuck with what whatever config. you had set up unless you wanted to reach behind the amp and flip the little switches that control what is sent to what zone. With a Sonos system you'd then need three ZP90's to provide the different signals to each zone.

There are more expensive matrix switchers that would allow you to pick and choose what went where by remote control. Some with amps, some without.

Note that you can feed a regular AVR with a ZP-90 or 120. If you use a ZP-120 you take the line out to your AVR and you can also use the speaker out to another set of speakers. However, the speakers and the AVR will always see the same source signal in this set up.
scientest is offline  
post #526 of 1092 Old 02-24-2012, 07:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Somewhatlost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: some small blue-green planet thingy...
Posts: 1,792
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by sean_w_smith View Post

as for cost. Despite what one of the posters said there is no way your gonna spend $350 a drop on an electrician pulling wire.

oh, I don't disagree that you will save some money... my only thing is the question of: "is it worth it?"

just guessing at some numbers:
6 zone amp solution:
dayton amp for 6 zones - $400
1 x zp90 - $350
6 pairs of speakers - $150ea = $900
electrification to run 6 zones = $75/zone = $450 (I just made this up, no clue really...I would just run my own wires and I would charge $100+/zone, but then I really don't like running wires...)
6 in wall volume controls - $14/ea = $84
Total = $2184

6 zones of Play5
6 x play5's = $400 ea. = $2400
total = $2400

3 zones play5, 3 zones play3
3 x play5's = $400 ea. = $1200
3 x play3's = $300 ea. = $900
total = $2100

6 zones of Connect:amp
6 x Connect:amp = $500/ea = $3000
6 pairs of speakers - $150ea = $900
total = $3900

2 Connect:amp, 2 play5, 2 play3
2 x Connect:amp = $500/ea = $1000
2 x play5's = $400 ea. = $800
2 x play3's = $300 ea. = $600
Total = $2400

note: all amps/speakers are Dayton, all in wall controls are monoprice...

with the dayton 12ch amp, you need to wait until wires are run/schedule an electrician/start doing nasty cable running yourself/etc before you can start enjoying your music...

sonos solution, just plug it in and you are good to go... does it cost more? in just about every case yes, but to me it is worth it... especially if all 6 connect:amp's are not bought all at the same time...

NOTE: As one wise professional something once stated, I am ignorant & childish, with a mindset comparable to 9/11 troofers and wackjob conspiracy theorists. so don't take anything I say as advice...
Somewhatlost is offline  
post #527 of 1092 Old 02-24-2012, 07:27 AM
Member
 
Greg Haynes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Townsend, DE
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New Sonos owner and just hooked up my Connect & Play5. Really dig how easy it was to setup. Like others have said I wished I did this earlier.

The big CON to me so far is that Sonos doesn't support multiple profiles. My wife & I both have a Spotify account and right now we have to share my account which is a bummer. Also not having playlist folders was a let down. I'm hoping these issues get fixed shortly.
Greg Haynes is offline  
post #528 of 1092 Old 02-24-2012, 07:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chrisx510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Lots of good info!

My First Home Theater

300 Blu-Rays, 150 DVD's loaded in my Movie Server!

Thanks AVS for making me addicted to this hobby!
Chrisx510 is offline  
post #529 of 1092 Old 02-24-2012, 08:13 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrisx510 View Post

Lots of good info!

Don't you have an unRAID server to build???

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #530 of 1092 Old 02-24-2012, 08:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chrisx510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post


Don't you have an unRAID server to build???

It's currently transferring all the files from whs to unRaid now. It going to take a couple days to complete then I get back to watching movies.

My First Home Theater

300 Blu-Rays, 150 DVD's loaded in my Movie Server!

Thanks AVS for making me addicted to this hobby!
Chrisx510 is offline  
post #531 of 1092 Old 02-24-2012, 09:59 AM
Senior Member
 
CaTaSTrOphiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Haynes View Post

New Sonos owner and just hooked up my Connect & Play5. Really dig how easy it was to setup. Like others have said I wished I did this earlier.

The big CON to me so far is that Sonos doesn't support multiple profiles. My wife & I both have a Spotify account and right now we have to share my account which is a bummer. Also not having playlist folders was a let down. I'm hoping these issues get fixed shortly.

It does have playlists and imports them from itunes. Unless I'm confused I believe you are incorrect here.
CaTaSTrOphiK is offline  
post #532 of 1092 Old 02-24-2012, 10:44 AM
Member
 
Greg Haynes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Townsend, DE
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaTaSTrOphiK View Post

It does have playlists and imports them from itunes. Unless I'm confused I believe you are incorrect here.

What I mean is that within the desktop version of Spotify I can create folders for my playlists to keep playlists organized and tidy. Sonos doesn't see these folders and shows them as one big list. I have iTunes but do not use for Sonos since I stream everything with Spotify.

Right now Sonos only allows one login for Spotify so my wife cannot use her login info to get to her Spotify playlists. This is what I'm hoping will be fixed.
Greg Haynes is offline  
post #533 of 1092 Old 02-24-2012, 11:45 AM
Senior Member
 
CaTaSTrOphiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Haynes View Post


What I mean is that within the desktop version of Spotify I can create folders for my playlists to keep playlists organized and tidy. Sonos doesn't see these folders and shows them as one big list. I have iTunes but do not use for Sonos since I stream everything with Spotify.

Right now Sonos only allows one login for Spotify so my wife cannot use her login info to get to her Spotify playlists. This is what I'm hoping will be fixed.

Yes ok was confused. Sorry never used spotify. And I mainly use just my somewhat large music library and pandora on occasion on my sonos.
CaTaSTrOphiK is offline  
post #534 of 1092 Old 03-04-2012, 11:58 AM
Senior Member
 
JustBusiness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having trouble with my receiver (Pioneer elite vsx21) switching between surround and 2 channel music. It worked fine before, but all the different input settings I try, surround music plays fuzz only. It worked last night, but not today..... Need some help.
JustBusiness is online now  
post #535 of 1092 Old 03-14-2012, 02:14 PM
Member
 
runner2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Toronto - ON - Canada
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello everyone,

I've been reading this thread and I really liked the SONOS. I'm actually thinking of buying the ZP 90 Connect or the ZP120 (AMP).

I'm just a little bit confused whether I should buy a PC or Mac mini instead of the SONOS Connect.

I currently have a Harman Kardon AVR 3600 and here is my idea for a PC or Mac Mini:

- Internet
- Movies
- Listen to music
- Control iTunes player using my phone.

Something that I really like about Sonos is that I can actually use my phone to operate it. Also I can add zones and it has pre-loaded Radio. The ZP120 is sweet because I can have the Play 5 in the balcony(I won't be able to power up the Play 5 with the ZP90 right?). It is for sure a great product.


Any thoughts?
runner2k is offline  
post #536 of 1092 Old 03-14-2012, 06:13 PM
Senior Member
 
JustBusiness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you have a play 5, you don't need an amp. It is a self amplified speaker system. The zp90/connect is to connect to an AVR, or amplified (anything with RCA, optical, or coax in). The connect amp is to power an existing set of speakers, that are not connected an AVR, or another amp. Not required for a Play 5 or 3.


Get the Sonos, you won't regret it. The money saved from not needing a connect amp should go toward an NAS (I love my synology), so all your music is connected to the network. In one separate location, not attached to one pc. Then no computer needs to be on to listen to your stored music. Also, Sirius xm integration is nice, amongst others. Report back when you decide.
JustBusiness is online now  
post #537 of 1092 Old 03-14-2012, 06:40 PM
Member
 
runner2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Toronto - ON - Canada
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
JustBusiness,

Thanks for the input.

I've got it. The router would be SONOS: Connect.

Talking about NAS, will this thing work? It will get attached to my Wireless Router - AFAIK DLink DIR 655 does support NAS. So that no computer needs to be on.

http://www.bestbuy.ca/en-CA/product/.../10150452.aspx

EDIT: Mind you I don't have that much of content to justify a 3TB storage...


I've seen the Synology. Is this the one you have?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Synology-DS2...item2ebbda5f44


Then I would have to buy the Hard drives. Correct?

Whats the difference between the Synology and the Seagate listed above??
runner2k is offline  
post #538 of 1092 Old 03-14-2012, 07:40 PM
Senior Member
 
JustBusiness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by runner2k View Post

JustBusiness,

Thanks for the input.

I've got it. The router would be SONOS: Connect.

Talking about NAS, will this thing work? It will get attached to my Wireless Router - AFAIK DLink DIR 655 does support NAS. So that no computer needs to be on.

http://www.bestbuy.ca/en-CA/product/.../10150452.aspx

EDIT: Mind you I don't have that much of content to justify a 3TB storage...

I've seen the Synology. Is this the one you have?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Synology-DS2...item2ebbda5f44

Then I would have to buy the Hard drives. Correct?

Whats the difference between the Synology and the Seagate listed above??

Technically, a Play 5 doesn't need Connect, it needs a Bridge; however, since you want your AVR connected, you need a Connect, and a play 5 for your bedroom. No need for a bridge if you can plug the connect in to an Ethernet connection, and your AVR/amplifier you need.

I was in a similar position to you regarding the Nas. I bought a Synology ds212j, for $160 on amazon a few weeks ago, and added a 2tb seagate barracuda green hdd (only used 1 slot for the time being). The sinology interface is superior to seagate, as well as all the applications that are built for it, spend the extra and go synology you won't regret it. Superior build quality, performance, and features. Assembly and setup is a breeze. Sinology devices do not come with hard drives, you need to supply, I went for a single 2tb so I have room for expansion down the road.
JustBusiness is online now  
post #539 of 1092 Old 03-15-2012, 05:40 AM
Member
 
jackodagreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I too have a NAS (HP WHS), but my SONOS local library is from a 1TB USB drive that is connected to a USB capable router (Netgear 3800). I am really liking this setup since I like to have my server be able to power up/down on its schedule, perform maintenance, etc. I feel that this is also a low-power solution as well. Just another way of achieving the same goals I guess...
jackodagreat is offline  
post #540 of 1092 Old 03-15-2012, 07:52 AM
Member
 
runner2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Toronto - ON - Canada
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see.

I will probably get a NAS first. Any 1TB or 2TB solution would be good enough for me as I don't have tons of content. I don't want to spend a lot of money on it.

I will hook it up on my network to test it. After that, I will get the Sonos Connect so that I can test them all together and see if I like it.

This is very attempting... Have you seen this? US$890 for the modified SONOS Connect.

http://www.wyred4sound.com/webapps/c...0/117839/46317

A brand new SONOS Connect it will cost $452 (tax included)..
runner2k is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Sonos Playbar Tv Soundbar And Wireless Speaker For Streaming Music , Marantz Pm6004 Integrated Amplifier
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off