Official SONOS owners thread - Page 36 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1051 of 1060 Old 08-26-2014, 04:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kgveteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 5,706
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan_h View Post
Open up the iphone or android app, choose the "add a component" option. You'll need to do it for each unit. It's a one time thing. (One CONNECT AMP needs to be plugged into ethernet.)

---

If you have a local music source (like a NAS drive) you'll need to tell Sonos where that is. You may need to use a desktop client (download from SONOS) on your computer to do that. I don't remember. It's a one time thing.

If you use any online music services, you will want to "add a service" on the iphone or android app to add it (Google All Play, Spotify, Beats, Pandora, etc.)

----

Sit back and enjoy.
I'm taking notes while on vacation, thats why i havent tryed out your suggestions yet. So as you adding each ConnectAmp, you name them as you go too.

I think for now it will be a Pandora music system, and XM.

I may want to connect one ConnectAmp on each floor to the internet, remember there are three floors and i prewired Cat5 to each floor, why waste that prewire. Will this plan change the setup sequence at all.....

How well do the ConnectAmps handle a 4ohm load. I have 4 inwalls for that zone as they are all in the garage, each pair will be paralleled for 4ohms.....


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
<Multi sub Thread


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
< Garage Audio !!!

Last edited by kgveteran; 08-26-2014 at 04:36 AM.
kgveteran is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1052 of 1060 Old 08-26-2014, 07:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,003
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post
I'm taking notes while on vacation, thats why i havent tryed out your suggestions yet. So as you adding each ConnectAmp, you name them as you go too.

I think for now it will be a Pandora music system, and XM.

I may want to connect one ConnectAmp on each floor to the internet, remember there are three floors and i prewired Cat5 to each floor, why waste that prewire. Will this plan change the setup sequence at all.....

How well do the ConnectAmps handle a 4ohm load. I have 4 inwalls for that zone as they are all in the garage, each pair will be paralleled for 4ohms.....
Sure, hard wire them all to your network. That is the most reliable connection. (Small caveat that some routers won't like this. There is a list on the Sonos web site about which don't like it. It's a relatively small number but of course if yours is one, that's something to pay attention to.)

My UNDERSTANDING but I have not direct experience is that a CONNET:AMP can power a 4ohm per channel load.

____________________

Build Thread:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
nathan_h is online now  
post #1053 of 1060 Old 08-26-2014, 05:22 PM
Senior Member
 
bswiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan_h View Post
Your installer can answer that better than me. He or she should already have asked you if that is what you want.

But for sure I can answer the other question: if you are running four passive speakers across two rooms off a single connect:amp, the volume will rise and fall in unison.
Another possible option might be to use impedence-matching volume controls between the CONNECT:AMP and the speakers. I believe that would give you independent volume control of the rooms.

Disclaimer: I have no experience with this, but there are similar discussions on the Sonos Forums.

Richard:
Unless you already have the 4 sets of speakers, you could also consider using some of the Sonos powered speakers in one or more zones (Play1, 3, or 5) and then you don't have to worry about wiring anything!

Last edited by bswiz; 08-26-2014 at 05:33 PM.
bswiz is offline  
post #1054 of 1060 Old 08-27-2014, 01:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 61
richardorser - 'sub-zones' are OK but I've found folk tend to end up regretting going down that route once they experience the flexibility of individual Zones in a system. How large are the rooms and have you considered using PLAY:5, 3 or 1 rather than any 'installed' speakers in the sub zones?


If you go down the 'Installed' route are you OK with the 'Sub' Zones always being on and volume matched to the 'main' zone - if not how/where will you want to control the Vol. in the Sub zone?


kgveteran - whilst Sonos can be relatively simple to deploy once you have a large property with presumably lots of other wired/wireless devices on a shared network you want to know what you are doing with your Network settings as you can run into problems. I'd be tempted to suggest you find a local Ci with good Networking and Sonos experience to come in and give you a hand!


Joe

If I've helped 'Like' me on Facebook -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Joe Fernand is offline  
post #1055 of 1060 Old 08-27-2014, 09:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hanesian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Twin Citiesville, MN
Posts: 2,793
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post
OMG....... I just want to know what is the next step. I prewired the whole thing ! I hooked up 10 connect amps to 10 sets of inwall speakers. The ethernet connection is ready, the whole thing is ready to be plugged in......

I want to be sure i begin correctly.... Sometimes there are better ways to begin a network audio system this big.

I think i need someone who has a system intact that can give me advice on the best way to begin connecting to a network....

Cant be any more straight forward than that Lol.......
Nice attitude for someone asking for help.

Good luck.
hanesian is offline  
post #1056 of 1060 Old 08-28-2014, 02:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kgveteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 5,706
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 38
It never sounds good in print, sorry. I meant no harm.........
kgveteran is online now  
post #1057 of 1060 Old 09-03-2014, 04:11 PM
The Truth Hz
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 7,351
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 418 Post(s)
Liked: 687
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post
It never sounds good in print, sorry. I meant no harm.........
No harm bud Just work your way through the program on your PC, get all that going, then start connecting the sonos units one by one. Their mesh network is pretty seamless and works fantastically with no drops for me so far, so you shouldn't have problems there. At least one hard-wired to your network gets you started, the rest is a cake walk

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

beastaudio is online now  
post #1058 of 1060 Old 09-08-2014, 11:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kgveteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 5,706
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Worked out quite well..... Thanx for the help.

Are the old sonos units compatable with new software


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
<Multi sub Thread


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
< Garage Audio !!!
kgveteran is online now  
post #1059 of 1060 Old Yesterday, 08:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hanesian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Twin Citiesville, MN
Posts: 2,793
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgveteran View Post
Worked out quite well..... Thanx for the help.

Are the old sonos units compatable with new software
Yup. All my units are older zone players at least 5 years old, and I have no issues with using the software updates. Sonos is very good with that thus far.
hanesian is offline  
post #1060 of 1060 Old Yesterday, 10:09 AM
Member
 
miketyler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I currently have a Niles ZR4630 and am about to upgrade to the newer (and yet discontinued) ZR6. Besides the wall mounted keypads Niles only has a handheld remote for convenience-controlling the zones. I want to keep the Niles system and all my pre-wired speakers and keypads but was thinking on adding a ZP90 as a dedicated audio source to stream Spotify, Pandora and Sirius as well as my local iTunes library. Since it has support for the app and WiFi controls I would have the best of both worlds with Sonos access from any of the wired zones.


Sonos seems like a great product in its simplicity and though I would not be taking advantage of its wireless speakers it seems like it would be an ideal solution for me. Before I pull the trigger for the purchase, is there anything else I should consider?


I appreciate any advice or commentary you Sonos owners can provide.


Mike
miketyler is offline  
post #1061 of 1060 Old Yesterday, 08:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
mark_anderson_u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by miketyler View Post
I currently have a Niles ZR4630 and am about to upgrade to the newer (and yet discontinued) ZR6. Besides the wall mounted keypads Niles only has a handheld remote for convenience-controlling the zones. I want to keep the Niles system and all my pre-wired speakers and keypads but was thinking on adding a ZP90 as a dedicated audio source to stream Spotify, Pandora and Sirius as well as my local iTunes library. Since it has support for the app and WiFi controls I would have the best of both worlds with Sonos access from any of the wired zones.


Sonos seems like a great product in its simplicity and though I would not be taking advantage of its wireless speakers it seems like it would be an ideal solution for me. Before I pull the trigger for the purchase, is there anything else I should consider?


I appreciate any advice or commentary you Sonos owners can provide.


Mike
Don't see any issues. Optical or analog out from ZP90 into amp works great (I use in a 3 places at hone). Obviously, one ZP90 gives you one concurrent source. So if you wanted to listen to Pandora in Room 1 and Spotify in room 2, you'd need 2xZP90's and users would have to know which ZP90 is which input to amp.
mark_anderson_u is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Sonos Playbar Tv Soundbar And Wireless Speaker For Streaming Music , Marantz Pm6004 Integrated Amplifier
Gear in this thread - Pm6004 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off