Official SONOS owners thread - Page 37 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1081 of 1092 Old 10-15-2014, 02:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,080
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 93
I like it. I find its way too subtle on the Play1 but on the main rig it's the difference between very good lossy and the source CD.
nathan_h is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1082 of 1092 Old 10-15-2014, 08:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
oOOBillO0o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: On the move..
Posts: 557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 20
So who thinks they need a Sonos Boost? See the sonos homepage.

McIntosh Labs! What am I listening to?
oOOBillO0o is offline  
post #1083 of 1092 Old 10-15-2014, 08:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
oOOBillO0o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: On the move..
Posts: 557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by bambam View Post
How does the lossless sound through SONOS vs. lossy? Can you tell a difference? Is it worth it? I have a SONOS Connect hooked up to my theater rig and think it would benefit greatly from the higher quality stream, but would like to hear your feedback on the sound comparison.

It's hard to tell, but I'm using Deezer Elite and my CD sourced FLAC files (both lossless) and they sound fine. Even Spotify premium (320Kbps ogg vorbis files, lossy) sounds fine. There is just slight fullness to the Lossless versions and its not noticeable unless you really know the song/track. I would even catch a difference in both background and focused listening.

McIntosh Labs! What am I listening to?
oOOBillO0o is offline  
post #1084 of 1092 Old 10-17-2014, 08:03 AM
Say No to Auto EQ
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 7,779
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 685 Post(s)
Liked: 880
I don't get one thing on their site. They say you can import your favorite mp3's to deezer, but then what? Do they go out and find the lossless version at that point and upload it to their server? Can a say how excited I am that the days of compressed music are slowly coming to an end? With storage these days, it is almost on the horizon. I just want a service that will look at my library and let me switch out low bitrate versions of all my stuff for lossless codecs. If I could grant a program access that would find everything and switch me out, I would be in HOG HEAVEN.

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

 

AE TD12x SEOS12 Build

Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread

DIY Emminence Coaxial Surround Thread

beastaudio is offline  
post #1085 of 1092 Old 10-18-2014, 09:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gecko85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: California
Posts: 2,215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Soon to be a Sonos owner, but have a couple noob questions:

1. I know that as of earlier this year, Sonos products work over your existing WiFi, so no bridge needed. For existing/older products, is that just a firmware update? Or does that functionality require a newer unit? (I'm looking at a used Connect:Amp.)

2. I'm pretty sure this will work, but want to confirm:

* Use a Connect with my home stereo, connected to my AVR.
* Use a Connect:Amp in another room, with existing speakers connected.
* Play the same source simultaneously in both rooms.

I eventually plan to add a pair of Play:1's in a 3rd room and also use them on the patio.

Panasonic TC-P60ST60, Pioneer SC-1523-K, Oppo BDP-103D, Pioneer PL-550 + Cambridge Audio Azur 640P, B&W CM1 (fronts), B&W CM Centre, Athena Point 5 Mk II (rears), Hsu VTF-2
----------------------------------------
Sony 34XBR960, Onkyo TX-NR414, Sony PS3, Athena Point 5 Mk II (center and fronts), Wharfedale WH-2 (rears), Polk PSW10
Gecko85 is offline  
post #1086 of 1092 Old 10-18-2014, 10:27 PM
Senior Member
 
funhouse69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gecko85 View Post
Soon to be a Sonos owner, but have a couple noob questions:

1. I know that as of earlier this year, Sonos products work over your existing WiFi, so no bridge needed. For existing/older products, is that just a firmware update? Or does that functionality require a newer unit? (I'm looking at a used Connect:Amp.)

2. I'm pretty sure this will work, but want to confirm:

* Use a Connect with my home stereo, connected to my AVR.
* Use a Connect:Amp in another room, with existing speakers connected.
* Play the same source simultaneously in both rooms.

I eventually plan to add a pair of Play:1's in a 3rd room and also use them on the patio.
You don't need a bridge anyway as each Sonos device comes with an Ethernet Port and only 1 device needs to be connected to a network connection and then Sonos does its magic with its own network. Personally I would stick with this as it is tested and works extremely well.

That said as of Software Version 5.1 (according to their website) all Sonos products will work with existing wifi with some exceptions. Read more about it here...
https://sonos.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/2638

Your set up will work and you will be able to play the same music / source or or different music / source on each of your Sonos Devices.

A word of warning, once you get anything Sonos you will more than likely get more and more and more... =)
funhouse69 is offline  
post #1087 of 1092 Old 10-18-2014, 10:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gecko85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: California
Posts: 2,215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by funhouse69 View Post
You don't need a bridge anyway as each Sonos device comes with an Ethernet Port and only 1 device needs to be connected to a network connection and then Sonos does its magic with its own network. Personally I would stick with this as it is tested and works extremely well.

That said as of Software Version 5.1 (according to their website) all Sonos products will work with existing wifi with some exceptions. Read more about it here...
https://sonos.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/2638

Your set up will work and you will be able to play the same music / source or or different music / source on each of your Sonos Devices.

A word of warning, once you get anything Sonos you will more than likely get more and more and more... =)
Awesome, thanks. One more question: I currently play Spotify using AirPlay from my phone to the Apple TV connected to my AVR. I like that it displays the album art and song info on the TV. Is there a way to have Sonos do that as well? Not a deal breaker if it doesn't, but would be nice.

Panasonic TC-P60ST60, Pioneer SC-1523-K, Oppo BDP-103D, Pioneer PL-550 + Cambridge Audio Azur 640P, B&W CM1 (fronts), B&W CM Centre, Athena Point 5 Mk II (rears), Hsu VTF-2
----------------------------------------
Sony 34XBR960, Onkyo TX-NR414, Sony PS3, Athena Point 5 Mk II (center and fronts), Wharfedale WH-2 (rears), Polk PSW10
Gecko85 is offline  
post #1088 of 1092 Old 10-18-2014, 11:23 PM
Senior Member
 
funhouse69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gecko85 View Post
Awesome, thanks. One more question: I currently play Spotify using AirPlay from my phone to the Apple TV connected to my AVR. I like that it displays the album art and song info on the TV. Is there a way to have Sonos do that as well? Not a deal breaker if it doesn't, but would be nice.
Sonos will automatically display the cover art on whatever controller you are using but I don't know of a way to get it on your ATV but I am not that knowledgeable of ATV.
funhouse69 is offline  
post #1089 of 1092 Old 10-20-2014, 07:31 AM
Say No to Auto EQ
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 7,779
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 685 Post(s)
Liked: 880
There is no video out on any of the sonos units. You can see it on your phone, or your laptop, but would need to have an HDMI from your laptop to your display to show your desktop to see it on your TV. This is definitely one thing I did wish sonos would do, make a simple interface to show on the screen.

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

 

AE TD12x SEOS12 Build

Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread

DIY Emminence Coaxial Surround Thread

beastaudio is offline  
post #1090 of 1092 Old 10-20-2014, 08:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gecko85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: California
Posts: 2,215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 93
I just wonder if there's a "video only" option in AirPlay for developers. I understand the reason apps like Spotify and Pandora display info from the iOS app to ATV via AirPlay is because it's sending everything - audio and metadata. But I wonder if it's possible to just send the metadata.

Another possible option, which would be great, would be if Sonos were able to get an official ATV app. Problem solved.

Panasonic TC-P60ST60, Pioneer SC-1523-K, Oppo BDP-103D, Pioneer PL-550 + Cambridge Audio Azur 640P, B&W CM1 (fronts), B&W CM Centre, Athena Point 5 Mk II (rears), Hsu VTF-2
----------------------------------------
Sony 34XBR960, Onkyo TX-NR414, Sony PS3, Athena Point 5 Mk II (center and fronts), Wharfedale WH-2 (rears), Polk PSW10
Gecko85 is offline  
post #1091 of 1092 Old 10-20-2014, 08:20 AM
Say No to Auto EQ
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 7,779
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 685 Post(s)
Liked: 880
Won't happen as that would break from their proprietary network, something that they intentionally keep from happening with all of their products. It would be nice tho... If just for the metadata as you say, that seems more feasible, but then you would have two sources, your connect for the audio and the atv for the video, so might still not be the best option.

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

 

AE TD12x SEOS12 Build

Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread

DIY Emminence Coaxial Surround Thread

beastaudio is offline  
post #1092 of 1092 Old 10-20-2014, 08:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gecko85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: California
Posts: 2,215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastaudio View Post
Won't happen as that would break from their proprietary network, something that they intentionally keep from happening with all of their products. It would be nice tho... If just for the metadata as you say, that seems more feasible, but then you would have two sources, your connect for the audio and the atv for the video, so might still not be the best option.
But haven't they already broken from their proprietary network? Everything can work on existing WiFi network...

Panasonic TC-P60ST60, Pioneer SC-1523-K, Oppo BDP-103D, Pioneer PL-550 + Cambridge Audio Azur 640P, B&W CM1 (fronts), B&W CM Centre, Athena Point 5 Mk II (rears), Hsu VTF-2
----------------------------------------
Sony 34XBR960, Onkyo TX-NR414, Sony PS3, Athena Point 5 Mk II (center and fronts), Wharfedale WH-2 (rears), Polk PSW10
Gecko85 is offline  
post #1093 of 1092 Old 10-20-2014, 09:02 AM
Say No to Auto EQ
 
beastaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western NC
Posts: 7,779
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 685 Post(s)
Liked: 880
To pull content from your main storage area it will use the wifi, but their mesh network is how all the sonos devices actually talk to each other and send signal from hooked up sources.

(European models do not accept banana plugs.)

 

"If you done it, it ain't bragging." ~ Walt Whitman

 

AE TD12x SEOS12 Build

Beast's DIY Master Measurement Thread

DIY Emminence Coaxial Surround Thread

beastaudio is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Sonos Playbar Tv Soundbar And Wireless Speaker For Streaming Music , Marantz Pm6004 Integrated Amplifier
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off