*New* Western Digital - WD TV HD Media Player - Page 3 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 09:33 AM
 
DocuMaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 2,435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Please forgive my ignorance in asking this question:

I do not currently own an HDTV (aside from my PC monitor @ 1440x900).

What would happen if I plug this WD unit into an SDTV via the composite outputs and then play a 720p or 1080p/1080i file?

Is there a limit on the output of the composite cables of 480p/480i? Will the media player simply downscale the HD output to fit properly in full screen on a 480i/480p TV? or will the display be out of whack and zoomed in/out looking because of the higher resolution?

I would appreciate it if someone would plug one of these into a SDTV and test some HD clips to report how the downscaled output looks.

Thanks.
DocuMaker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 09:44 AM
Member
 
wickchucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by R Johnson View Post

NTFS for files > 4GB?

I have seen users confirm it does allow all different file formats. Again, from a marketing perspective, WD is launching this to sell external harddrives, so it is in their interest to allow as many differnet file formats and be able to play codecs/containers that house the largest file sizes.
wickchucker is offline  
post #63 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 09:46 AM
mvk
Newbie
 
mvk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocuMaker View Post

What would happen if I plug this WD unit into an SDTV via the composite outputs and then play a 720p or 1080p/1080i file?

I would appreciate it if someone would plug one of these into a SDTV and test some HD clips to report how the downscaled output looks.

Thanks.

Admittedly I haven't had much time to test it out yet, but it was downscaling 1080p content for my 720p television. I would imagine it does the same over composite, but it's probably a bad idea to assume. I'll test it out later today when I have a chance if no one else has already answered the question.
mvk is offline  
 
post #64 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 09:51 AM
Member
 
ChayesFSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone try an external ext3 drive?
ChayesFSS is offline  
post #65 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 10:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
R Johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 1,768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by wickchucker View Post

I have seen users confirm it does allow all different file formats. Again, from a marketing perspective, WD is launching this to sell external harddrives, so it is in their interest to allow as many differnet file formats and be able to play codecs/containers that house the largest file sizes.

Agreed. But the WD site and literature I've seen does not specify which file systems are supported.
R Johnson is offline  
post #66 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 10:05 AM
usg
Member
 
usg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: East Lansing, MI
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Any idea which media processor it uses?
usg is offline  
post #67 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 10:28 AM
Member
 
jimcooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Over at Macworld, a WD product manager commented on formats it could play. While not exhaustive in his reply, the one thing that pulled me to buy this toy is the AVCHD support.

I'll be getting one tonight and plan to test it tomorrow to see what it can do with my HD files. I'll post results tomorrow.
jimcooper is offline  
post #68 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 10:30 AM
Member
 
ChayesFSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by usg View Post

Any idea which media processor it uses?

I believe it's a sigma chip
ChayesFSS is offline  
post #69 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 10:39 AM
Member
 
rontonio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: So. Cal.
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does this box not have a digital audio out except for the HDMI connection? Please tell me there is one.
rontonio is offline  
post #70 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 10:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
R Johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 1,768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimcooper View Post

Over at Macworld, a WD product manager commented on formats it could play.

Link: http://www.macworld.com/article/1365...irst_look.html

The article says there's a digital optical output.
R Johnson is offline  
post #71 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 11:00 AM
Member
 
wickchucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rontonio View Post

Does this box not have a digital audio out except for the HDMI connection? Please tell me there is one.


The pictures of the back with all the inputs on the WD product page shows an optical out.
http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.asp?driveid=572
wickchucker is offline  
post #72 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 11:22 AM
Member
 
rontonio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: So. Cal.
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Sure looks like an optical out, doesn't it. I'm going to pass by BB today and check it out.
rontonio is offline  
post #73 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 11:22 AM
Member
 
George Cifranci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Columbus, OH USA
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocuMaker View Post

Please forgive my ignorance in asking this question:

I do not currently own an HDTV (aside from my PC monitor @ 1440x900).

What would happen if I plug this WD unit into an SDTV via the composite outputs and then play a 720p or 1080p/1080i file?

Is there a limit on the output of the composite cables of 480p/480i? Will the media player simply downscale the HD output to fit properly in full screen on a 480i/480p TV? or will the display be out of whack and zoomed in/out looking because of the higher resolution?

I would appreciate it if someone would plug one of these into a SDTV and test some HD clips to report how the downscaled output looks.

Thanks.

As a matter of fact I have mine connected to a SDTV via composite and I played a 720P .mkv file and it appears to just downconvert it and it played just fine. It was letterboxed since I was playing it on the 4:3 TV.

I still need to try it on my 60" Sony SXRD R60XBR1 HDTV and my Dell 24" 1920x1200 2408 LCD panel that has HDMI input.

George C.

OB replaced on 9-27-2007
George Cifranci is offline  
post #74 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 11:40 AM
usg
Member
 
usg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: East Lansing, MI
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChayesFSS View Post

I believe it's a sigma chip

which one? Will a daring person open and find out? The version of the sigma makes a difference.
usg is offline  
post #75 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 11:49 AM
Newbie
 
SuperUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Alright, I got one. BB@$99.

It's great! Played 11Gig MPEG2 recorded on PC of the air ATSC file On NTFS drive - no problem, both, 720p and 1080i.
Plays VOBs, looks like it wall automatically combining main movie files into one, skipping menus. Chapter skip does not work.

Picture looks fantastic on my 9' analog projector in 1080i.


Now, to cool you off, the not so great stuff:

- On my LCD quantization noise is plain annoying. It's not the best panel, but DVI to HDMI from my nVidia PC alway was smooth. I guess WD quantizing video output at 8 bit. TV's scaler just magnify it. (Quantization was not noticeable on analog projector.)
- Hard Drive power never turned off, even after unit itself is. It even never send a command to put drive into sleep or spin it down. You have to eject and unplug drive every time!
- Unit gets hot. Not horribly but more than typical other products.
- It locked-up when I pull USB drive without pressing eject first. Require cold restart.
- Searching long files not so pleasant, with max x16 it takes a while to FF to get to the second half of 2 hour flick. No other way to search long files.

- maybe just my TV, but 1080p output mode was breaking, loosing pixels on the bottom, cracking sound and fuzzy OSD. Don't mind this one yet but please verify?


Other that that, so far, it is good and recommended!

Cheers!
SuperUser is offline  
post #76 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 12:19 PM
Member
 
djbrettb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by rontonio View Post

Does this box not have a digital audio out except for the HDMI connection? Please tell me there is one.

Just picked one up a few hours ago. Does indeed have an optical out, and it does passthrough DD 5.1. Haven't tested DTS 5.1 yet. Going to try a Blu-Ray .m2ts right now and see if it works (not expecting anything, but it would be great!)

Other than that, in the couple files I've tested so far, it's GREAT. This thing plays back 1080p x264 .mkv files like they're nothing.
djbrettb is offline  
post #77 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 12:23 PM
Member
 
ChayesFSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by djbrettb View Post

Just picked one up a few hours ago. Does indeed have an optical out, and it does passthrough DD 5.1. Haven't tested DTS 5.1 yet. Going to try a Blu-Ray .m2ts right now and see if it works (not expecting anything, but it would be great!)

Other than that, in the couple files I've tested so far, it's GREAT. This thing plays back 1080p x264 .mkv files like they're nothing.

That's it, be back in 1.5 hrs
ChayesFSS is offline  
post #78 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 12:32 PM
ysb
Newbie
 
ysb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
SuperUser:

What about subtitles when playing VOB files? Is there a button on the remote to turn subtitle on and off?

Thanks
ysb is offline  
post #79 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 12:38 PM
Newbie
 
sqn816's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone figure how to add thumbnails to the mkv files? i love this thing! i finally got one of my friends to switch to mkvs and skip bluray.
sqn816 is offline  
post #80 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 12:40 PM
Member
 
djbrettb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
A few complaints I have so far (pretty minor, but kind of annoying nonetheless):

The media library SUCKS. I've disabled it and switched to list mode, and it's better. I'd recommend doing the same when you first hook it up.

1080p24 would be nice. Not sure if this may be achievable later via a firmware update or not.

I'm not sure, but it seems like this device is adding some kind of sharpening without any way to turn it off. Edges look very "enhanced", something I do not like to see. Again, this isn't really a deal breaker, and not extremely noticeable, but I do notice it. Perhaps it's not sharpening, but it has to do with its scaling algorithm it uses for 720p -> 1080p conversion. I don't notice this sharpening effects with 1080p files, and I notice it very much with 720p files, so it's got to be something along those lines. Anyone else notice this?
djbrettb is offline  
post #81 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 12:56 PM
Newbie
 
cabito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There's a remote button ("Options") to switch subtitles, but it doesn't work with .VOBs.
cabito is offline  
post #82 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 12:58 PM
Newbie
 
sqn816's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
it only shows subtitles with srt files. maybe they can fix that with future updates
sqn816 is offline  
post #83 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 12:58 PM
Member
 
rontonio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: So. Cal.
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I stopped by BB and picked one up. I'll try it this evening. Am I correct in assuming that I can load a ripped DVD (VOB files) to a thumb drive, and play it through the device?
rontonio is offline  
post #84 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 01:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stephen Hopkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Douglasville, GA
Posts: 3,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by djbrettb View Post

I'm not sure, but it seems like this device is adding some kind of sharpening without any way to turn it off. Edges look very "enhanced", something I do not like to see. Again, this isn't really a deal breaker, and not extremely noticeable, but I do notice it. Perhaps it's not sharpening, but it has to do with its scaling algorithm it uses for 720p -> 1080p conversion. I don't notice this sharpening effects with 1080p files, and I notice it very much with 720p files, so it's got to be something along those lines. Anyone else notice this?

Is the output resolution fixed, or is there a setting for it to be dynamic based on the file resolution (i.e. a 720p file is output at 720p, a 1080p file is output at 1080p). If it has some sort of dynamic output resolution setting, that may fix your problem (but at the same time rely on your display's scaling for 720p->1080p which may be better or worse).

Stephen Hopkins is offline  
post #85 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 01:11 PM
Member
 
djbrettb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Hopkins View Post

Is the output resolution fixed, or is there a setting for it to be dynamic based on the file resolution (i.e. a 720p file is output at 720p, a 1080p file is output at 1080p). If it has some sort of dynamic output resolution setting, that may fix your problem (but at the same time rely on your display's scaling for 720p->1080p which may be better or worse).

It has no dynamic resolution switching, therefore I leave it at 1080p60. Yes, I agree, my display would do a MUCH better job at scaling the 720p files to 1080p, but at this time with current firmware, the WD player will only output the resolution it is told to output. When I get home, I'll switch the native output to 720p and see if my 720p content looks better.
djbrettb is offline  
post #86 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 01:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stephen Hopkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Douglasville, GA
Posts: 3,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by djbrettb View Post

It has no dynamic resolution switching, therefore I leave it at 1080p60. Yes, I agree, my display would do a MUCH better job at scaling the 720p files to 1080p, but at this time with current firmware, the WD player will only output the resolution it is told to output. When I get home, I'll switch the native output to 720p and see if my 720p content looks better.

If convenience of switching the output resolution becomes an issue, you may want to see which affect is worse, upscaling 720p or downscaling 1080p... not an ideal solution, but if 1080p content downscaled to 720p takes less of a hit, that might be the way to go. How much content you have in each resolution might also make the decision for you. Good luck!

Stephen Hopkins is offline  
post #87 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 01:33 PM
Member
 
PanzerBoxb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Arizona
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I went ahead and bit on this. I will pick it up after work and see how well it works for me to replace my MediaGate player.
PanzerBoxb is offline  
post #88 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 01:44 PM
Member
 
austinv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A couple of things we need to get cleared up...

1) does it do DTS pass through?

2) what is the max bitrate for smooth playback of H264/MKV...? or what is the bitrate of the videos you guys are testing? some HD rips are over 10mbit.

3) can it display subtitles embedded in MKV files?

Thanks!
austinv is offline  
post #89 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 01:47 PM
Member
 
djbrettb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by austinv View Post

A couple of things we need to get cleared up...

1) does it do DTS pass through?

2) what is the max bitrate for smooth playback of H264/MKV...? or what is the bitrate of the videos you guys are testing? some HD rips are over 10mbit.

3) can it display subtitles embedded in MKV files?

Thanks!

I will test the first two when I get home. I don't know about question 3, as I don't have any MKV files with embedded subtitles.
djbrettb is offline  
post #90 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 02:04 PM
Member
 
Shekina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok so this thing is pretty awesome, especially for $100. it plays my 720p and 1080p mkvs better than my pc. will prolly pick one up for the bedroom also. this thing is pretty much what ive always wanted someone to develop. its not perfect but its pretty darn close really. the pic it great on my pioneer and the sound is hooked directly to my yamaha with no problems.

i know this is avs but lets try not to get TOO technical and tear this thing apart with tech spec mumbo jumbo. best 100 i spent in a while.

i Like to collect cartoons from the 90"s and its so much nicer having it all archived on a Hard drive rather than a bunch of dvds, that u have to keep swapping.

Now under settings it has an "Auto" for the options under "resolutions". i would assume that means it changes automatically for the source, i could be wrong though.


i couldnt get it to play WMVHD movie i have, though. they were 1080p also.

bottom line... GO BUY THIS WHILE ITS ON SALE!!
Shekina is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off