*New* Western Digital - WD TV HD Media Player - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 02:23 PM
Newbie
 
SuperUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No subtitles for VOBs. Looks like it will ignore all and any additional data included in DVD stream. It will just play VOB end to end. It will however allow you to select different audio tracks. It supposed to support "Subtitle- SRT (UTF-8)".
More specs: wdc.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/wdc.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=2697

Display Resolution: It will output in selected format only, no matter what source material is.
In "Auto" mode resolution will match HDMI display data channel. In my case when set to auto it will output 768P even when there is no such thing in the menu.

Cheers!
SuperUser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 02:42 PM
Member
 
ChayesFSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bought the last one at the BB!
ChayesFSS is offline  
post #93 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 02:50 PM
Newbie
 
yzheng25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just tested out the WD TV HD Media Player, and ti can play the following format:
1. File recorded by Panasonic HD camcorder (HDC-SD1) in .m2ts format (1080i)
2. File recorded by Sony HD camcorder (1080i)
3. File recorded by Hauppauge HD PVR (720p and 1080i). But need to rename the file extension from .ts to .m2ts
4. File in .MKV (720p) downloaded from web
5. File in WMVHD (720p and 1080i)

Very happy with it
yzheng25 is offline  
post #94 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 03:03 PM
Member
 
sandun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if this device can output PAL (e.g for HD plasma/lcd displays based in UK, Australia). (or is it irrelevant when using HDMI?)

Thanks.
- Sandun.
sandun is offline  
post #95 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 03:27 PM
Member
 
Mario66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When playing on my projector 92" the Mkv's etc all fit incorrectly an inch missing on each side a couple inches etc, seems if I magnify the image to x2, then go back to the normal x1 size it fits the screen correctly.

Anyone else have this issue. Rather annoying I have to magnify the image to x2 then go back for it to fit properly.

Picked it up tonight plugged in the Hdrive and off it went no issues besides getting it to fit the screen correctly. THis beats the C**P out of transcoding/encoding etc for Xbox360 Tversity.
Mario66 is online now  
post #96 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 04:21 PM
Member
 
ChayesFSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DAMN, I'm in love!!! Nice optical out, throwing every mkv file I'm throwing at it!!!!!!!!
ChayesFSS is offline  
post #97 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 04:22 PM
Newbie
 
eteled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
User Guide for WD HD Media Player
eteled is offline  
post #98 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 04:23 PM
Newbie
 
salado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, no RMVB support either...

salado is offline  
post #99 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 04:24 PM
Member
 
Mario66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still having the screen issues it played one wmv I had but not the other 2. Strange Mkv's no problem.

I seem to have to switch between normal/widescreen and do the magnify and back to normal each time.
Mario66 is online now  
post #100 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 04:25 PM
Newbie
 
eteled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry, system requires 3 messages from me to put a download link. This is #3. Next will be a link.
eteled is offline  
post #101 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 04:27 PM
Newbie
 
eteled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, here it is

User Guide for WD HD Media Player.
eteled is offline  
post #102 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 04:28 PM
Member
 
ChayesFSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yea, I'm having problems with Kung.Fu.Panda.NLsubs.WVC1.1080p-VisualScumBagz.wmv but it's just one file so far, I can look for a different format
ChayesFSS is offline  
post #103 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 04:31 PM
Member
 
ChayesFSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eteled View Post

OK, here it is

User Guide for WD HD Media Player.

thanks
ChayesFSS is offline  
post #104 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 04:56 PM
Member
 
djbrettb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
It DOES support DTS passthrough! Just tested it with both a 1080p file and a regular DVD rip.
djbrettb is offline  
post #105 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 04:57 PM
Member
 
djbrettb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Also, tested it with a short 1080p 15mbit x264 file. Video played smoothly, but the audio kept cutting out. HOWEVER, not sure if this is because I was playing it from a flash drive or not. I'll get the file to a hard drive and re-test it.
djbrettb is offline  
post #106 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 05:18 PM
Member
 
djbrettb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am completely stunned. Just played a .m2ts file ripped straight from Blu Ray (I, Robot to be exact). Switched audio streams flawlessly. DTS working and Dolby Digital working. This movie is AVC encoded at a VERY high bitrate, and this thing played it without a problem. I am truly amazed.
djbrettb is offline  
post #107 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 05:39 PM
Member
 
nownot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just hooked this up and here are some things

1) 1080p mkv from hfs+ partition is unwatchable, artifacting (<- spelling) all over, going to try 1080p mkv ntfs in the next few hours.

2) im using optical and i got dts and dd from spdif

3) will not play blu ray backups that have been converted to iso has to be .m2ts files. this sucks b/c i have backed up my collection but if i want to watch on this i have to un-iso them.

4) have a back up (superbad) with single hd audio stream, it will not play it b/c it cant down convert like powerdvd.

so far not to impressed with it, the mkv off hfs+ sucks, but if it works on ntfs oh well. and the non iso playback is going to probably make me return this unfourtinally.

p.s. this is probably a duh but i tried to hook up my external blu ray but its said unrecognizable usb device, so that is a no go .
nownot is offline  
post #108 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 06:09 PM
Member
 
Mario66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a harmony remote code for this? Probably a dum question it's in the harmony software but doest turn the media player on or off, nor could I get it to learn the code.

nevermind works now
Mario66 is online now  
post #109 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 06:23 PM
Member
 
blimey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There are several confirmations of DVD (ISO/IFO/VOB), but does it just play the video, or does it also fully support DVD menus? And if so, does chapter skip/rev work for DVD sources?
blimey is offline  
post #110 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 06:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Posts: 2,860
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Does it output 1080i HDMI and audio out from the RCAs at the same time? I have a TV with DVI in.
Bill is offline  
post #111 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 06:46 PM
Member
 
ChayesFSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill View Post

Does it output 1080i HDMI and audio out from the RCAs at the same time? I have a TV with DVI in.

Not sure but I'm using optical out and it's working great, very nice
ChayesFSS is offline  
post #112 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 08:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
BobSalita's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: CHI, CLD, PAR, PHX, PDX, NKC, AUK, MEL, SYD, BUE, SCL
Posts: 937
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
bitstream through hdmi? 5.1, 7.1, hd audio formats?

Former Top 1000 Amazon reviewer bemoaning the loss of objective user reviews. Amazon, stop your complacency!
BobSalita is offline  
post #113 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 08:34 PM
Member
 
djbrettb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I just wrote a (somewhat) detailed review here:
http://maddhat.com/?p=31

More pictures to come later.
djbrettb is offline  
post #114 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 08:46 PM
Member
 
Mario66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there an easy way to add DVD Art to my Mkv's etc?
Mario66 is online now  
post #115 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 11:14 PM
Member
 
M-Desantos's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone have a USB hub and a couple of external drives?
I want to know what happens if you hook up more than one drive.
M-Desantos is offline  
post #116 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 11:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
oldpainless68's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know why they did it, but the lack of a lan connection kills it for me. However, it's telling when a big name like WD throws it's hit in the media player ring.

K
oldpainless68 is offline  
post #117 of 9960 Old 11-03-2008, 11:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
oldpainless68's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by M-Desantos View Post

anyone have a USB hub and a couple of external drives?
I want to know what happens if you hook up more than one drive.

I'd be interested to hear if it works via a usb hub, at least that would kinda solve one issue.

K
oldpainless68 is offline  
post #118 of 9960 Old 11-04-2008, 12:18 AM
Member
 
blimey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldpainless68 View Post

I know why they did it, but the lack of a lan connection kills it for me. However, it's telling when a big name like WD throws it's hit in the media player ring.

K

I was at least slightly shocked that WD released this product. WD released those 'book' network drives that restricted access to media files based on file extension, out of fear of contributing to copyright infringement. And now they release this thing, which is arguably a bit-torrenter's wet dream.

The lack of network connectivity is no issue to me. I understand why some like it, but I don't see the sense in leaving a computer running all the time to essentially serve as a dumb drive for a player in another room.

Isn't there anyway to sort of made a kludge network for this thing by networking a nas drive that is connected to the wdtv? If playback compatibility is as good as it appears to be, people will probably come up with something to get around sneaker networking.
blimey is offline  
post #119 of 9960 Old 11-04-2008, 12:30 AM
Member
 
pastishe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks neat, seems a few things aren't 100% cleared up though

1 - DVD menus?
2 - high bitrate (15mb/s) mkv's ok?
3 - internally decode dts streams
4 - subtitles in DVD's
5 - subtitles in MKV's

6 - Thumbnail view - Will it pick up folder.jpg art (or cover.jpg) for music and for movies
7 - Thumbnail view - Will views stick for certain directories e.g. music directory I want thumbnail view and for music directory I want list?
pastishe is offline  
post #120 of 9960 Old 11-04-2008, 12:34 AM
Member
 
djbrettb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by pastishe View Post

Looks neat, seems a few things aren't 100% cleared up though

1 - DVD menus?
2 - high bitrate (15mb/s) mkv's ok?
3 - internally decode dts streams
4 - subtitles in DVD's
5 - subtitles in mkv's

DVD menus, AFAIK, do not work.

It plays 15mbps MKV x264 files just fine. It also plays 30mbit AVC Blu-Ray M2TS files just fine.

I don't know if it can internally decode DTS, but it does do passthrough. Why would you want to internally decode anyway?

Subtitles in DVDs are reported to not work.

I haven't tested subtitles in MKVs.
djbrettb is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off