The official VuNow thread - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 211 Old 08-26-2009, 09:38 AM
Member
 
dcbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: TN
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaddiebitok View Post

VuNow and other media gadgets vs HTPC. Which one is better if not considering price. I got cold feet and didnt place my order for the vuNow Pod yet. Im really considering getting a Ps3/Vunow/MacMini (or any other miniPC). Anyone with experience on having these.... and their limitations?

ps... i dont really care about games and Blue ray.

I did order the VuNow Pod, but quickly returned for full credit. Picture quality was quite a bit less than same content on pc. Also the unit could not or would not hold internet speed anywhere close to what my pc does.

I am currently setting up my second pc to tv, which is so much better and the picture quality is quiet good. I also don't care about the gaming thing. In order to set up pc to tv you must make sure you have a good video card such as maybe the Radeon HD 2600xt etc. Just make sure the connection on the video card are what you want to connet to your tv.
dcbag is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 211 Old 08-26-2009, 11:14 AM
Newbie
 
shaddiebitok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks DCbag.

I appreciate the input. I'm looking at the mac mini (used one- Dual core) and the Acer Aspire AX3200(which i can upgrade both ram/Hdd/cooling fan). I don't mind the project of upgrading. Reason i am skeptical of vuNow is the fact that i will still be limited to the stuff that i would like to access online, including the browser. With a HTPC i can do the PVR if i have a tv tuner card, rip my dvd's to HDD and delete them if i get to not like the movie (i get the $1 movies for 24 hrs). I think i am going for a HTPC and avoiding the VuNow. Also not being able to hook up my 1TB hd would be a big letdown for me.
shaddiebitok is offline  
post #183 of 211 Old 08-28-2009, 01:13 AM
Newbie
 
greatone76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't know why you are referencing that a 1 TB hard drive could not be connected to a vunow. I currently have a 1 TB external hard drive hooked up to my Vunow and every byte of it is visable to the Vunow. If you have the money and time to build a HTPC you are not a person that should have a vunow. The vunow is aimed at a cheaper alternative for quick and easy veiwing. And currently the box is a beta system where the users are waiting to find out what dirrection the content will go in. If you want everything on the net and have the money make a HTPC.
greatone76 is offline  
post #184 of 211 Old 08-28-2009, 06:58 AM
Member
 
dcbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: TN
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by greatone76 View Post

I don't know why you are referencing that a 1 TB hard drive could not be connected to a vunow. I currently have a 1 TB external hard drive hooked up to my Vunow and every byte of it is visable to the Vunow. If you have the money and time to build a HTPC you are not a person that should have a vunow. The vunow is aimed at a cheaper alternative for quick and easy veiwing. And currently the box is a beta system where the users are waiting to find out what dirrection the content will go in. If you want everything on the net and have the money make a HTPC.

If you already have a pc, then all you need is a HD video card, and a few cables. A HD Video card such as the Radeon 2650XT or the 3450 can be purchased off ebay for less than $50. Of course that doesn't get you anything but viewing, but neither does the Vunow. So I don't agree with what you are saying in the above quote.
dcbag is offline  
post #185 of 211 Old 08-31-2009, 08:54 AM
Member
 
marginal39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone been successful in having subtitles on a movie from a USB key?
I downloaded and pasted the .srt file along with the .xvid file of the movie, but can not have subtitles.
marginal39 is offline  
post #186 of 211 Old 09-13-2009, 07:27 AM
Member
 
kingfisher1111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys,
Does this have a built-in web browser so that i can watch live tv channels of my provider directly by typing into this browser.I saw the demo of ACT IPTV and saw that there were typing all the URLS.What is the browser name and version?
kingfisher1111 is offline  
post #187 of 211 Old 09-13-2009, 05:05 PM
Member
 
marginal39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The answer is no ...
marginal39 is offline  
post #188 of 211 Old 09-13-2009, 06:11 PM
Member
 
kingfisher1111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
marginal,
Acttv IPTV that is built from vunow has web browser.In the below links the user goes to a webbrowser and types few URLs like google.com

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=owclfmBddxQ

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KOFU7dros
kingfisher1111 is offline  
post #189 of 211 Old 09-13-2009, 06:59 PM
Member
 
marginal39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well.

ACT Television seems to be available only in the following areas:

Network Coverage in Bangalore
Click below for Details
Banasawadi

* 3rd cross Coffee Day main road
* 3rd a cross behind Lokanda hospital
* 3rd b cross behind Lokanda hospital
* 3rd c cross behind Lokanda hospital
* 4th cross next to Lokanda hospital
* 9th main coffee day next road
* 9th a main behind coffee day road
* 9th b main behind coffee day road
* 9th c main behind coffee day road
* 4th cross opp to coffee day
* 8th a main opp to coffee day
* 8th b main opp to coffee day
* 8th c main opp to coffee day
* 3rd cross opp coffee
* 2nd d cross opp to coffee day
* 2nd g cross behind coffee day
* Chansandra main road
* 4th cross sri parvathi kalyana mantapa road
* 1st c cross opp to ombr c/r
* 2nd crosss opp to ombr c/r
* 4th main opp to ombr c/r
* 3rd d main opp to ombr c/r
* 4th a cross opp to ombr c/r
* 4th b cross opp to ombr c/r
* 4th a main opp to ombr c/r
* 4th b main opp to ombr c/r
* 4th c main opp to ombr c/r
* 1st cross l b nagar
* 2nd cross l b nagar
* 3rd cross l b nagar Krishna apartment
* 2nd b cross behind ombr office
* 5th c cross behind ombr office
* 4th cross ramaiah layout
* 5th cross ramaiah layout
* 6th e cross next to our lady of mission high school
* 6th cross our lady of mission high school
* 7th cross next to our lady of mission high school
* 5th cross mariam nilaya school road
* 6th main road ramaiah layout
* EX servicemen colony
* 4th a cross next to EX servicemen colony
* 4th b cross next EX servicemen colony
* 5th cross EX servicemen colony
* 2nd g cross palauti church road
* 5th cross library road

Domlur

* 1st cross to 14th cross Domlur Layout
* Amarjyothi layout, domlur
* Suryanarayana Temple street, Domlur layout
* Venkateshwara Temple, Domlur layout
* MIG Qtrs, Domlur
* BDA Flats, Domlur
* Sri Rama Temple Road, Domlur
* Doopanahalli, Indiranagar
* 12&13th F,G MAIN Indiranagar
* Vasanthppa Garden Doopanahalli

R.T.Nagar

* Narayanappa Block

Shanti Nagar

I believe, all of these places are in India.
marginal39 is offline  
post #190 of 211 Old 09-15-2009, 01:30 PM
Newbie
 
Trm_FL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got my box this past Saturday, and it gets a red light and a message saying "Can not access Vunow server try later" with an OK button. I guess this is why most features do not work for me. ANyone else have this same problem? I could not of course contact support until Monday, they do not seem to know what the problem is, since I can access Youtube and play videos from there, or do a search. But no live TV, and can not play any full length videos, this will play actual full length video movies? What about access to my Netflix account?
Please help if you have any ideas, the network is working....

Thanks,
Trm_FL is offline  
post #191 of 211 Old 09-15-2009, 04:36 PM
Member
 
marginal39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Of course it plays full lenght movies.
I don't know about Netfix.
marginal39 is offline  
post #192 of 211 Old 09-17-2009, 06:05 AM
Newbie
 
Trm_FL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Working on issue with Verismo team now. Box still says it can not access vunow server. They have assured me that if they can not fix it within the hour they will send me a new box configured by them.
They suspect something wrong with the network, although I can view Youtube, myspace, videos, etc. and all my other PC's work fine.
We shall see,
they also say that Netflix can be played via PlayOn, service running on a connected PC, as long as you have an existing Netflix account, I do.
Also, we can connect to any custom defined server/source using the vumarks service: , I will have to check this out.

Thanks,
Trm_FL is offline  
post #193 of 211 Old 09-27-2009, 10:12 AM
Newbie
 
khangee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

when I go on box control under setting menu it asks me to register at vunowworld.com but that site is not available. any idea how and where to register this box so I can add my streams.

thanks in advance.
khangee is offline  
post #194 of 211 Old 09-27-2009, 01:22 PM
Member
 
marginal39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here: http://www.vumarks.com/
But you could do it on Youtube too.
marginal39 is offline  
post #195 of 211 Old 09-27-2009, 09:50 PM
Newbie
 
khangee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your reply, I registered it on vumarks.com but when I go in setting it still asks me to register with vunowworld. I can't select my own streams I'm stuck with the streams that came with the box. Vesimo networks site is also down so no help from vunow ppl.
khangee is offline  
post #196 of 211 Old 09-28-2009, 07:11 AM
Member
 
marginal39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi khangee.

Forget about registering under the Box Control menu.
In order to be able to see the videos you have added in vumarks.com (playlists, contacts, subscriptions or channels), you have to go under the "Popular websites" menu, abd then "VuMarks" (the first icon).
marginal39 is offline  
post #197 of 211 Old 10-12-2009, 07:32 AM
Newbie
 
srsrikanth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is the netgear box same as vunow? What is the real difference? At least the box of the netgear looks more polished and is selling cheaper than vunow on amazon.com. Will I be able to get vumarks with EVA2000 too? Any answers are highly appreciated.
srsrikanth is offline  
post #198 of 211 Old 10-12-2009, 06:07 PM
Member
 
kumasuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by srsrikanth View Post

Is the netgear box same as vunow? What is the real difference?

The Netgear product is nothing more than a rebranded VuNow Pod - you can actually see the outlines of the Vunow Pod device through the vents of the plastic casing Netgear added.

There are some interesting differences though:
-Netgear chose to adapt the remote used with the WDTV device (it is a bit better as remotes go)
-The Netgear 'fine print' indicates that the Vunow service (including Vumarks) is free for a trial period after which it is available via monthly subscription! - No such subscription service is part of the the VuNow Pod.
-The Netgear version doesn't include the wireless adapter (it's sold separately) - the VuNow Pod includes this accessory (making it actually cheaper!).
kumasuki is offline  
post #199 of 211 Old 10-14-2009, 09:39 PM
Newbie
 
greatone76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have been watching mostly avi files from both a USB connected hard drive and a D-Link NAS. For the last like 5 to 15 seconds of a video the pictures cuts out but the audio continues. I'm just curious if anyone else has had this experience and if anyone has any suggestions on what I might do to fix it.
greatone76 is offline  
post #200 of 211 Old 10-19-2009, 03:49 PM
Member
 
kumasuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The LA Times recently ran this article on Netgear's rendition of the VuNow Pod:

http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/tech...m-netgear.html
kumasuki is offline  
post #201 of 211 Old 11-03-2009, 01:12 PM
Newbie
 
pepsi4cokejunky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by greatone76 View Post

I have been watching mostly avi files from both a USB connected hard drive and a D-Link NAS. For the last like 5 to 15 seconds of a video the pictures cuts out but the audio continues. I'm just curious if anyone else has had this experience and if anyone has any suggestions on what I might do to fix it.

i have the same issue. could have something to do with the headers in the file. i haven't really looked into this, but worth a look. i'm still trying to figure out what the 3rd party app thing is.
pepsi4cokejunky is offline  
post #202 of 211 Old 11-29-2009, 08:19 PM
Member
 
kingfisher1111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I contacted vunow when the browser update will be available on VUNOw platform.I got a very vague response from the support and even from the management.Initially they closed the ticket but I argued with them saying VUNOW has provided browser upgrade platform to ACTTV(www.acttv.in) services.This is the below response I got from the management.

from Dhaval Ajmera
to Sarath Bellamkonda
cc support@vunow.com
date Wed, Nov 18, 2009 at 8:12 PM
subject RE: [VCTS #0004659] Ticket closed the 18-11-2009 16:09 - Vunow Browser
mailed-by verismonetworks.com
hide details Nov 18 (11 days ago)
Sarath,

The ACT is a Service provider that has customized the feature set for their own need as part of our OEM platform.
It is more of an IPTV offering by them and will only be available in India when they launch.

The TV browser is not available on the standard VuNow platform.

Regards

Dhaval Ajmera
Executive VP
Verismo Networks
kingfisher1111 is offline  
post #203 of 211 Old 02-18-2010, 09:41 AM
Senior Member
 
slinkeey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well I just received my Sherwood R-904N. I didn't buy it for VuNow, but it is interesting. My convern is that VuNow has not had any active developement as far as I can tell.. I am thinking they should probably give this to the open source world.
slinkeey is offline  
post #204 of 211 Old 04-10-2010, 01:33 PM
Member
 
kumasuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TubTub has over 120 channels - while a lot of it is pre-1970's, you can find quite a variety including westerns, comedy, TV like Lucy and Dick van Dyke, children's shows, etc. There are brief commercial interruptions - but this is REAL content (not weather, traffic, HSN or religious propaganda) and TubTub does a decent job encoding their stuff.
kumasuki is offline  
post #205 of 211 Old 11-28-2010, 03:55 PM
Senior Member
 
slinkeey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does anyone have the UPnP specs on this? Specifically what kind of format it asks a media server to encode music files in.

I tried a couple different servers and I think it likes to ask for the Music encoded as a MP3. My files are all Flac files. I would think that it would ask for LPCM.
slinkeey is offline  
post #206 of 211 Old 05-12-2011, 02:48 PM
Member
 
fog80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Columbia, MD
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
interested in getting a jadoo tv (rebranded vunow) for indian/pakistani channels.

Any recent feedback? I know they took down lots of the popular live streams but they give you the ability to add your own streams.....I just dont know if the streams are available.
fog80 is offline  
post #207 of 211 Old 10-07-2011, 06:02 AM
Newbie
 
ggmustafa85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In some post i saw someone has written that to go to vumarks and add channels and then in box go to vumarks and channels will be visible. But i cannot register this eva2000 in vumarks? and i dont even see this vumarks in my box? how should i do it?
ggmustafa85 is offline  
post #208 of 211 Old 12-04-2011, 09:36 PM
Senior Member
 
slinkeey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is there anyone out there that feels like they have been screwed by Verismo with this product?
slinkeey is offline  
post #209 of 211 Old 02-01-2012, 01:16 PM
Member
 
bitflung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by slinkeey View Post

Is there anyone out there that feels like they have been screwed by Verismo with this product?

Screwed over by Verismo Network? Yes.

For a while there I hosted a blog (hobby, not pro) covering vunow related news and such. Verismo networks just disappeared though, and stopped responding to emails.

I haven't turned on my VuNow in well over a year now. I had high hopes for it, foolishly argued against the Roku in the beginning, and now have a Roku sitting where the VuNow used to be. Maybe if I was remotely interested in Indian content I'd have found a reason to keep my VuNow hooked up, but even then the user experience was never cleaned up and overall it just sucked.

(external link) my blog:vunow pod news and information
bitflung is offline  
post #210 of 211 Old 02-11-2012, 09:58 PM
Senior Member
 
slinkeey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yes, I actually followed that blog and commented on your postings.
slinkeey is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off