Firmware - Western Digital - WD TV HD Media Player - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-25-2009, 06:38 AM
Member
 
adido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't understand some of your lingo, I'll keep looking on your progress. I believe we need to press WD to post the original firmware as there were some posts about features that went lost since the upgrade. This is why I still run the original 1.0.0 . My major stuff is Divx/Xvid , And I read that there were issues playing those in 1.0.2.
Keep on the good work
adido is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-25-2009, 11:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am wondering if it is possible for the learned members who have analyzed the firmware to let the lay users know whether it would be possible to alter the microcode for the Sigma Designs processor to support more number of reference frames in x264 encoded files.

Thanks in advance

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
Old 01-26-2009, 01:18 PM
Member
 
ThePol1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have lots of interest in this thread! I'd like to be able to plug a USB ethernet adapter (preferabily wireless) into the WD TV and map a SMB share on my NAS. That would make this thing AMAZING.
ThePol1 is offline  
Old 01-26-2009, 03:08 PM
Member
 
HitDyl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have opened the files and there are some interesting things in there
Things that bothers me the most is the fact that there are Skin XML's and Lines in config files about LAN they might planned to put it in but later removed it?

But I was thinking wouldn't it be possible to input ffmpeg when it's fully "hacked" as ffmpeg really supports anything and DTS to Stereo so my DTS MKV's will play with sound
HitDyl is offline  
Old 01-26-2009, 04:52 PM
Newbie
 
aventuri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi,

this outcome is starting to become quite promising..the WDTV is such a powerful device.

so i've opened up my WDTV, i've linked my level converter and light up a minicom on my host linux box.

when i cold start the WDTV i can see lot of "fuzzy characters" and here and there some intelligible word from the kernel boot. like "USB", "irq" "starting" "Enter" "Tango" and so on..
what can it be the problem?
i'm using these params 115200 N81 and no soft or hard flow control..
the WDTV FW is 1.01.02
and then i also use a pl2303 usb/Rs232 adapter as my notebook doesn't have anymore a real solid RS232 ..
could some one shed some light about this?
bye
andrea
aventuri is offline  
Old 01-27-2009, 01:42 PM
Member
 
linuxjacques's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aventuri View Post

hi,

this outcome is starting to become quite promising..the WDTV is such a powerful device.

so i've opened up my WDTV, i've linked my level converter and light up a minicom on my host linux box.

when i cold start the WDTV i can see lot of "fuzzy characters" and here and there some intelligible word from the kernel boot. like "USB", "irq" "starting" "Enter" "Tango" and so on..
what can it be the problem?
i'm using these params 115200 N81 and no soft or hard flow control..
the WDTV FW is 1.01.02
and then i also use a pl2303 usb/Rs232 adapter as my notebook doesn't have anymore a real solid RS232 ..
could some one shed some light about this?
bye
andrea

I have seen this on other devices when the level converter doesn't handle
low voltages (expects 5V when device outputs 3.3V) or when there is too
much loss from having long or badly connected wires between the serial
port and level converter.

The WDTV outputs 3.3V on the serial port TX.

Check the specs of your level converter and also your cable connections,
especially from the WDTV board to the level converter.

I hope you can get it working - we need more people with serial access.
linuxjacques is offline  
Old 01-27-2009, 01:54 PM
Member
 
linuxjacques's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by linuxjacques View Post


I will try these tests tonight when I am at home.
My tests so far have shown 14-15MB/s USBHDD read speeds.

I finally got some time to test drive to drive copy speeds, and I found something
a bit disturbing.

I only had NTFS formatted drives available to test with - I will try other
filesystems soon.

I had wondered when I saw the WDTV boot why it includes two different
NTFS drivers - kernel ntfs and ntfs-3g.

kernel ntfs even today does not have good write support, and in the 2.6.15
kernel I think it had none at all.

ntfs-3g does have write support, so why not only use ntfs-g3?

Well, when you plug in a NTFS formatted drive, the WDTV mounts it twice
once read-only with the kernel ntfs driver and once read-write with ntfs-3g.

For some reason the write performance to NTFS is horrible.
I am getting 874kB/s write speeds (I got 10MB/s to a fat32 flash drive).

I can only imagine this had something to do with the long "scan" times
when a drive is plugged in - the sqlite database is written to the drive
during the scan.

I haven't had time to test network throughput yet; it's on my list.
linuxjacques is offline  
Old 01-27-2009, 02:49 PM
Member
 
HitDyl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by linuxjacques View Post

I finally got some time to test drive to drive copy speeds, and I found something
a bit disturbing.

I only had NTFS formatted drives available to test with - I will try other
filesystems soon.

I had wondered when I saw the WDTV boot why it includes two different
NTFS drivers - kernel ntfs and ntfs-3g.

kernel ntfs even today does not have good write support, and in the 2.6.15
kernel I think it had none at all.

ntfs-3g does have write support, so why not only use ntfs-g3?

Well, when you plug in a NTFS formatted drive, the WDTV mounts it twice
once read-only with the kernel ntfs driver and once read-write with ntfs-3g.

For some reason the write performance to NTFS is horrible.
I am getting 874kB/s write speeds (I got 10MB/s to a fat32 flash drive).

I can only imagine this had something to do with the long "scan" times
when a drive is plugged in - the sqlite database is written to the drive
during the scan.

I haven't had time to test network throughput yet; it's on my list.

According to the file "filesystems" in the firmware update it does not use ntfs only ntfs-3g
Strange tough it has ext2 and ext3 while these where reported not working
Therefor it might be unused

The filesystems file:
Quote:


# /etc/filesystems
#
# This file defines the filesystems search order used by a
# 'mount -t auto' command.
#

# Uncomment the following line if your modular kernel has vfat
# support and you want mount to try vfat.
vfat
ntfs-3g
hfsplus
hfs
ext3
ext2
#jffs

# Keep the last '*' intact as it directs mount to use the
# filesystems list available at /proc/filesystems also.
# Don't remove it unless you REALLY know what you are doing!
*

HitDyl is offline  
Old 01-27-2009, 08:00 PM
Newbie
 
tardfree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Perth, WA
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aventuri View Post

so i've opened up my WDTV, i've linked my level converter and light up a minicom on my host linux box.

when i cold start the WDTV i can see lot of "fuzzy characters" and here and there some intelligible word from the kernel boot. like "USB", "irq" "starting" "Enter" "Tango" and so on..
what can it be the problem?
i'm using these params 115200 N81 and no soft or hard flow control..
the WDTV FW is 1.01.02
and then i also use a pl2303 usb/Rs232 adapter as my notebook doesn't have anymore a real solid RS232 ..
could some one shed some light about this?
bye
andrea

After reading this thread I cracked open my WDTV to get to the serial header. Until then I was only playing with simple changes to the firmware. Yes I've flashed my own - it's not hard, I changed on screen images (logo etc) and went looking for the mount point to dump more device info onto.

I made my own serial level converter (max232 based), and it worked fine. My laptop has a physical rs232 serial port.

I spotted the same issue as aventuri, but found it was fine with Hyperterminal in Windows, then I realised it was the colour escape codes used.

When I run minicom -c i get the text working fine (in colour) but now I can't send anything to the WDTV, cable is fine though - reboot into windows and it works fine. Help? (minor annoyance more than anything)

I too am trying to get usb network support working for my usb network adaptor (pegasus based, works in linux fine). So far I haven't been able to get the modules to load - but I'm building up a cross compile environment using versions as close as I can get to what is on the device, not 100% there yet - gcc works though.
tardfree is offline  
Old 01-28-2009, 10:45 AM
Member
 
HitDyl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I extracted a line of code from a executable which has all file containers described

I have written all down
As you can see it should also knows about .torrents files I´ll add one to my hdd and see what it does but I doubt I can open it because there isn´t a file browser and I doubt it would appear under a catagorie like videos(Edit: like expected it does not make .torrent file visible in file browser not for video nor image nor music would need to have some ********** catagorie)

Quote:


Audio(All audio/codec)
.wav
.mpa
.mp1
.mp3
.aiff
.aif
.wma
.lpcm
.aac
.m4a
.ac3
.pcm
.flac
.ogg
.mka
.mp4a
.mp2

Image(All image/codec)
.gif
.jpg
.jpe
.png
.tiff
.tif
.jpeg
.bmp

Video(All video/codec)
.asf
.wmv
.mpeg2
.avi
.divx
.mpg
.mlv
.m2v
.mp4
.mov
.vob
.dvr-ms
.dat
.mpeg
.mls
.m2p
.m2t
.m2ts
.mts
.ts
.tp
.m4v
.vbs

Application(All application)
.iso (Don be fooled by the name application it´s DVD ISO, application/x-isoview)

**********
.torrent (described as bt/seed)

PLaylist
.pls
.m3u
.m3u8
.wpl

And this is the original (With lots of 00 removed and new lines added to make it more readable)

Quote:


.wav audio/x-wav file-get:*
:audio/x-wav:*
.mpa audio/mpeg file-get:*
:audio/mpeg:*
.mp1 audio/mpeg file-get:*
:audio/mpeg:*
.mp3 audio/mpeg file-get:*
:audio/mpeg:*
.aiff audio/x-aiff file-get:*
:audio/x-aiff:*
.aif audio/x-aiff file-get:*
:audio/x-aiff:*
.wma audio/x-ms-wma file-get:*
:audio/x-ms-wma:*
.lpcm audio/lpcm file-get:*
:audio/lpcm:*
.aac audio/x-aac file-get:*
:audio/x-aac:*
.m4a audio/x-m4a file-get:*
:audio/x-m4a:*
.ac3 audio/x-ac3 file-get:*
:audio/x-ac3:*
.pcm audio/lpcm file-get:*
:audio/lpcm:*
.flac audio/flac file-get:*
:audio/flac:*
.ogg application/ogg file-get:*
:application/ogg:*
.mka audio/x-matroska file-get:*
:audio/x-matroska:*
.mp4a audio/x-m4a file-get:*
:audio/x-m4a:*
.mp2 audio/mpeg file-get:*
:audio/mpeg:*
.gif image/gif file-get:*
:image/gif:*
.jpg image/jpeg file-get:*
:image/jpeg:*
.jpe image/jpeg file-get:*
:image/jpeg:*
.png image/png file-get:*
:image/png:*
.tiff image/tiff file-get:*
:image/tiff:*
.tif image/tiff file-get:*
:image/tiff:*
.jpeg image/jpeg file-get:*
:image/jpeg:*
.bmp image/bmp file-get:*
:image/bmp:*

.asf video/x-ms-asf file-get:*

:video/x-ms-asf:*

.wmv video/x-ms-wmv file-get:*

:video/x-ms-wmv:*

.mpeg2 video/mpeg2 file-get:*

:video/mpeg2:*

.avi video/x-msvideo file-get:*

:video/x-msvideo:*

.divx video/x-msvideo file-get:*

:video/x-msvideo:*

.mpg video/mpeg file-get:*

:video/mpeg:*

.m1v video/mpeg file-get:*

:video/mpeg:*

.m2v video/mpeg file-get:*

:video/mpeg:*

.mp4 video/MP4V-ES file-get:*

:video/MP4V-ES:*

.mov video/quicktime file-get:*

:video/quicktime:*

.vob video/dvd file-get:*

:video/dvd:*

.dvr-ms video/x-ms-dvr file-get:*

:video/x-ms-dvr:*

.dat video/mpeg file-get:*

:video/mpeg:*

.mpeg video/mpeg file-get:*

:video/mpeg:*

.m1s video/mpeg file-get:*

:video/mpeg:*

.m2p video/mpeg2 file-get:*

:video/mpeg2:*

.m2t video/mpeg2ts file-get:*

:video/mpeg2ts:*

.m2ts video/mpeg2ts file-get:*

:video/mpeg2ts:*

.mts video/mpeg2ts file-get:*

:video/mpeg2ts:*

.ts video/mpeg2ts file-get:*

:video/mpeg2ts:*

.tp video/mpeg2ts file-get:*

:video/mpeg2ts:*

.m4t video/mpeg2ts file-get:*

:video/mpeg2ts:*

.m4v video/MP4V-ES file-get:*

:video/MP4V-ES:*

.vbs video/mpeg2 file-get:*

:video/mpeg2:*

.mkv video/x-matroska file-get:*

:video/x-matroska:*

.iso application/x-isoview file-get:*

:application/x-isoview:*

.torrent bt/seed file-get:*

:bt/seed:*

.pls playlist/pls .m3u playlist/m3u .m3u8 playlist/m3u .wpl playlist/wpl

HitDyl is offline  
Old 01-30-2009, 12:32 PM
Member
 
WD TV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I understand that WD is less than forthcoming on releasing the code you Hackers need to get into this machine and alter it. Is this true? What is missing that should be there? ..... Sigma has code for it's chip that you can't have without a license so we won't see that coming from WD.

Could someone tell me what they need that WD is not supplying you with that you feel is their obligation to provide.
WD TV is offline  
Old 01-30-2009, 12:54 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
3dxr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThePol1 View Post

I have lots of interest in this thread! I'd like to be able to plug a USB ethernet adapter (preferabily wireless) into the WD TV and map a SMB share on my NAS. That would make this thing AMAZING.

This is really GOOD idea read from mounted smb/nfs directory from NAS/PC and play on TV.

I had idea stream content with vlc form PC to WDTV but SMB/NFS is more easier. I think.

btw: first ethernet adapter should be wired anybody can attach on adapter wifi router.
reason in some locations is wifi not usable for high bitrates (we need high bitrate for movie)

for example in my location is (2.4ghz and 5ghz) on 5-15m have to be set on 5.5-11mbit if i want have stable link packet loss less then 10%. I am using 4ghz now tempovery clean frenquencies

(over 35 APs are around Kismetscan overloaded channels wire is safe/stable and much more faster )

I saw in cromfs dump something about NFS.
i dont have usb2ttl converter yet

Code:
fw:1.*.01:/etc/init.d/S45nettune

if grep -e "nfsroot" "/proc/cmdline" ; 
#3dxr if exist bootparm nfsroot
then 
        echo 'the root file system is nfsroot, so do not execute network_daemon';
else 
        /usr/bin/network_daemon&
fi
Code:
fw:1.*.01:/etc/init.d/S70misc
#!/bin/sh
#mkdir -p /tmp/nfsroot
#mount -t nfs -o nolock 172.18.83.212:/home/joshua/DMA/root /tmp/nfsroot
3dxr is offline  
Old 01-31-2009, 08:02 AM
Member
 
esrefb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WD TV View Post

I understand that WD is less than forthcoming on releasing the code you Hackers need to get into this machine and alter it. Is this true? What is missing that should be there? ..... Sigma has code for it's chip that you can't have without a license so we won't see that coming from WD.

Could someone tell me what they need that WD is not supplying you with that you feel is their obligation to provide.

(Just reposting this here so that it won't get lost in that huge thread. )

A couple of weeks ago, I was searching for this subject and came across to this page which claims WD is violating GPL terms.

I'm not a programmer so I can't comment whether it's true or not. But it might help you.
esrefb is offline  
Old 01-31-2009, 04:53 PM
Member
 
WD TV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will raise the concern and see if anything can be done to help you guys out. Much appreciated.

Has anyone else tried anything to correct this?
WD TV is offline  
Old 01-31-2009, 08:10 PM
Newbie
 
the evil one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've just picked up a WDTV with the goal of hacking it to play back over the network.

I've built a TTL converter with the MAX232 chip, and can get the console using PuTTY and all the terminal output including colouring is fine. I'm having some troubles actually using the busybox prompt however - so will have to sort this out.
the evil one is offline  
Old 01-31-2009, 08:46 PM
Newbie
 
the evil one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by the evil one View Post

I've just picked up a WDTV with the goal of hacking it to play back over the network.

I've built a TTL converter with the MAX232 chip, and can get the console using PuTTY and all the terminal output including colouring is fine. I'm having some troubles actually using the busybox prompt however - so will have to sort this out.

Okay after paying some attention to some suspect connections on my TTL converter, TX is working properly now. I've got to pick up a USB->Ethernet adaptor today and I'll see how I can go.

linuxjacques: are you able to provide some information about your module build environment?


Edit: I've put a copy of the startup output from the device online here for anyone who's curious.
the evil one is offline  
Old 02-01-2009, 02:11 AM
Member
 
dv08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by the evil one View Post

... I've put a copy of the startup output from the device online here for anyone who's curious.

Curious about
Code:
http://127.0.0.1:64784/
Is there an internal Web Server running???
dv08 is offline  
Old 02-01-2009, 10:29 AM
Member
 
mcflyyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


linuxjacques: are you able to provide some information about your module build environment?

Yessss please !!! Can you explain how can you build the differents modules please

You have a new member with Serial access
mcflyyy is offline  
Old 02-01-2009, 11:49 AM
Newbie
 
henkna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Where is that fu##ing new firmware.
Wasn't coming out in January?
henkna is offline  
Old 02-01-2009, 01:54 PM
Member
 
mcflyyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After some research on the web it seems that Popcorn Hour A-100 turns with the same processor as WDTV ( Sigma Designs TangoX - MIPS 4KEc V6.9 )

Someone try to test some files from Popcorn to WDTV !?
mcflyyy is offline  
Old 02-01-2009, 02:46 PM
Member
 
HitDyl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcflyyy View Post

After some research on the web it seems that Popcorn Hour A-100 turns with the same processor as WDTV ( Sigma Designs TangoX - MIPS 4KEc V6.9 )

Someone try to test some files from Popcorn to WDTV !?

I'm sure if you use modules an library files and stuff from PCH it will work, just that it probably would be hard to copy the complete firmware since it would probably require different drivers
Well actually I don't know about PCH exactly but I do know about Tvix as I seen those firmware files there pretty identical I wouldn't be surprised if it just worked just the drivers not being right and if someone would try there is a good chance at bricking so I wouldn't try
HitDyl is offline  
Old 02-01-2009, 03:24 PM
Member
 
mcflyyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
h**p://www.kolbu.com/popcorn-hour-nmt-networked-media-tank-a-100/hacking-the-popcornhour-nmt-a-100/

i have copied the application files on an usb key but i have an error when i run a file :

Quote:


root:/tmp/media/usb/USB1/C831-67DC/syb8634/bin> sh unrar
ELF: not found

Search in progress !

Some module from Popcorn can be run perhaps without any problems !?
mcflyyy is offline  
Old 02-01-2009, 03:46 PM
Member
 
mcflyyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok it's my fault !

Quote:


root:/tmp/media/usb/USB1/C831-67DC/syb8634/bin> ./smbd
./smbd: can't load library 'libresolv.so.0'
root:/tmp/media/usb/USB1/C831-67DC/syb8634/bin> ./curl
curl: try 'curl --help' or 'curl --manual' for more information

It's better with ./
mcflyyy is offline  
Old 02-01-2009, 10:06 PM
Member
 
speedbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Did they update the GPL files?

http://support.wdc.com/product/downl...id=112&lang=en


* WD TV HD Media Player Dock Software
* WD TV GPL Code
* Latest Firmware Update – version 1.01.02 (12/2008)

WD TV GPL Code

* File Name: WDTV_GPL_Code.zip
* File Size: 140 MB
* Version: 1.00.01
* Publish Date: January, 2009
speedbal is offline  
Old 02-02-2009, 05:48 AM
Member
 
mcflyyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's always the same source package !
----------------------------------------------------

All applications from Popcorn A-100 works on WDTV ! I try some application from here :

http://www.networkedmediatank.com/sh...d.php?tid=7192

It work's !
Without any problem. Of course if we take the crosscompil toolchain that they use for popcorn, we are ready to compil everything for WDTV

Now i'm going to try the crosscompil toolchain for kernel module
mcflyyy is offline  
Old 02-02-2009, 05:55 AM
Member
 
mcflyyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mcflyyy is offline  
Old 02-02-2009, 10:20 AM
Member
 
linuxjacques's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WD TV View Post

I understand that WD is less than forthcoming on releasing the code you Hackers need to get into this machine and alter it. Is this true? What is missing that should be there? ..... Sigma has code for it's chip that you can't have without a license so we won't see that coming from WD.

Could someone tell me what they need that WD is not supplying you with that you feel is their obligation to provide.

In addition to what others have posted (missing source for some packages, etc.),
I would really like to see the config file for the shipping kernel.

I would also like to see the config files for the various GPL packages (busybox, etc.)

Inclusion of the MIPS toolchain in the latest GPL source package was a
positive step.
linuxjacques is offline  
Old 02-02-2009, 10:30 AM
Member
 
linuxjacques's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by the evil one View Post

Okay after paying some attention to some suspect connections on my TTL converter, TX is working properly now. I've got to pick up a USB->Ethernet adaptor today and I'll see how I can go.

The first wired ethernet adaptor I tried was pegasus based. The modules
built and loaded fine but no packets moved. It looked like no interrupts
were being received for the device.

Then I tried an ASIX based adaptor and it seems to work fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by the evil one View Post

linuxjacques: are you able to provide some information about your module build environment?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcflyyy View Post

Yessss please !!! Can you explain how can you build the differents modules please

You have a new member with Serial access

I'm happy to provide anything I have - I just need a place to put it.

The important things to build working modules are:

1) toolchain - I have tried the toolchain included in the latest WD GPL file
and a toolchain I built with buildroot and they create identical modules.
The buildroot config file might be useful.

2) kernel config file - I derived one through trial and error. I'm sure many
other people can do the same, but this might save some time.
I'd like to see WD release the "real" kernel config file.
linuxjacques is offline  
Old 02-02-2009, 01:02 PM
Member
 
mcflyyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For hosting : http://www.mediafire.com/index.php Free i think !

I don't understand how buildroot or another toolchain works !?

When you have compiled the toolchain, how can you compile the kernel !? or another soft !? Which command to use

I don't understand how can we use the toolchain

Can you explain us ?

Thank in advance

Edit : you change environnement perhaps with chroot !? chroot in the toolchain and after this, you can compile with good architecture !?
mcflyyy is offline  
Old 02-02-2009, 04:28 PM
Member
 
linuxjacques's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcflyyy View Post

I don't understand how buildroot or another toolchain works !?

When you have compiled the toolchain, how can you compile the kernel !? or another soft !? Which command to use

I don't understand how can we use the toolchain

Can you explain us ?

Thank in advance

Edit : you change environnement perhaps with chroot !? chroot in the toolchain and after this, you can compile with good architecture !?

The short answer is you add the toolchain bin dir to your path (something like this):

Code:
export PATH=/home/packages/wdtv/WDTV_GPL_Code/GPL/smp86xx_toolchain_2.8.2.0/bin:$PATH
Then, in the WDTV kernel source directory, you configure the kernel:

Code:
ARCH="mips" CROSS_COMPILE="mipsel-linux-" make menuconfig
or, if you have a kernel config file as .config:

Code:
ARCH="mips" CROSS_COMPILE="mipsel-linux-" make oldconfig
Then to build the kernel and modules:

Code:
ARCH="mips" CROSS_COMPILE="mipsel-linux-" make vmlinux modules
linuxjacques is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off