Firmware - Western Digital - WD TV HD Media Player - Page 86 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2551 of 2569 Old 02-01-2010, 04:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
craftech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thnmnt View Post

Lots of people (including me) held fast at 1.01.07 because that's the last official firmware that supported hubs. Subsequent firmwares have fixed various things - lots of subtitle help, some sync issues, gain issues...you can check the changelogs to see.

Basically, you should upgrade to the latest version - it's stable and there's no downside (unless you use hubs). If you do use a hub, you can get b-rad's wdlxtv which is based on the latest firmware but puts hubs back in - plus a bunch of other stuff.

plus - you can upgrade, see if you like it and downgrade if you don't. you just make a small text edit to the .ver file if you're downgrading.

Thanks for that. Really appreciate it.

John
craftech is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2552 of 2569 Old 02-01-2010, 08:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DigitalfreakNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 5,835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by thnmnt View Post

Lots of people (including me) held fast at 1.01.07 because that's the last official firmware that supported hubs. Subsequent firmwares have fixed various things - lots of subtitle help, some sync issues, gain issues...you can check the changelogs to see.

Basically, you should upgrade to the latest version - it's stable and there's no downside (unless you use hubs). If you do use a hub, you can get b-rad's wdlxtv which is based on the latest firmware but puts hubs back in - plus a bunch of other stuff.

plus - you can upgrade, see if you like it and downgrade if you don't. you just make a small text edit to the .ver file if you're downgrading.

Don't shoot the questioner but...
what the hell's a hub?

"I have never seen it, but by all accounts it is terrible. However, I have seen the house that it built, and it is terrific." - Michael Caine, on Jaws the Revenge
DigitalfreakNYC is offline  
post #2553 of 2569 Old 02-01-2010, 09:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Derelict_Drvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalfreakNYC View Post

Don't shoot the questioner but...
what the hell's a hub?

USB hub. Multiple usb ports for a single port. Like this.

Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways,
totally worn out, shouting '...holy sh*t ....what a ride!'
Derelict_Drvr is offline  
post #2554 of 2569 Old 02-01-2010, 09:35 AM
Senior Member
 
jponte55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Quincy, MA
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevotinh View Post

Now they have three firmwares to work on. Live, generation 1, and generation 2. Soon or later, they'll have to cut down their work. I just feel sad that I bought the WD TV generation 1 not to long ago, now i'm stuck with it.

Considering the pricepoint on these devices I hardly think you are "stuck" with anything.
jponte55 is offline  
post #2555 of 2569 Old 02-01-2010, 11:13 AM
Senior Member
 
vanylapep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone add support for cd+g files? please...!
vanylapep is offline  
post #2556 of 2569 Old 02-07-2010, 07:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
craftech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thnmnt View Post

Lots of people (including me) held fast at 1.01.07 because that's the last official firmware that supported hubs. Subsequent firmwares have fixed various things - lots of subtitle help, some sync issues, gain issues...you can check the changelogs to see.

Basically, you should upgrade to the latest version - it's stable and there's no downside (unless you use hubs). If you do use a hub, you can get b-rad's wdlxtv which is based on the latest firmware but puts hubs back in - plus a bunch of other stuff.

plus - you can upgrade, see if you like it and downgrade if you don't. you just make a small text edit to the .ver file if you're downgrading.

Ok,

I searched for firmware version 1.01.07 and couldn't find that to be a valid firmware version.

Are you sure you didn't mean firmware 1.02.07?

Is there a direct link to the firmware?

Thanks,

John
craftech is offline  
post #2557 of 2569 Old 02-07-2010, 09:02 AM
Member
 
thnmnt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: brooklyn
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yes, sorry - i meant 1.02.07 - it had been a while!

check here: http://www.wdtvc.com/downloads/

I use TVnoos and so should you!
thnmnt is offline  
post #2558 of 2569 Old 02-07-2010, 02:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
craftech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thnmnt View Post

yes, sorry - i meant 1.02.07 - it had been a while!

check here: http://www.wdtvc.com/downloads/

Thanks for the response. Much appreciated:

John
craftech is offline  
post #2559 of 2569 Old 02-08-2010, 06:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
craftech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Put it on a thumb drive. Update went flawlessly.

Thanks again
John
craftech is offline  
post #2560 of 2569 Old 02-11-2010, 02:08 PM
Member
 
hahahaha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have two WDTVs (v1). The harddrive is attached to one of them and shared with another WDTV via NFS. I was able to explore the shared the folder and video files on the 2nd WDTV through NFS share. However, none of the videos is playable. When I choose the video, I got a black screen for about 1 minute and the some kind of message telling me the video format is not supported. All videos are playables on the WDTV with the harddrive directly attached. Both WDTVs are on WDLXTV 0.57 with nfs.app application. They are all attached to network with USB to ethernet adapters.

Anyone know why? Thanks
hahahaha is offline  
post #2561 of 2569 Old 03-12-2010, 01:19 AM
Newbie
 
cocof2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I installed everything from WDLXTV 0.5.8.1 (hxxp://b-rad.cc/wdlxtv/) to the usbkey. I get a NO IP message. I tried setting the net.config file. I tried also with diffrent asix.ko modules found on the hxxp://wiki.wdtv.org/doku.php?id=supported_usb_devices. I still get NO_IP. I powerd on/off the WDTV each time.

The device is a Gembird USB to Fast Ethernet.

What am I missing in configuring this usb to ethernet device.
cocof2001 is offline  
post #2562 of 2569 Old 03-25-2010, 05:06 PM
Newbie
 
tax3ver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello *,
refering to the wiki, where the list of supported usb-adapters is located, i found the Wintech LAU-15. But the link to the driver file (its a MCS7830 based driver) is broken. Does anybody has a different link for getting the driver file ?


Could please anybody help me ?
tax3ver is offline  
post #2563 of 2569 Old 04-29-2010, 07:45 AM
Newbie
 
tempelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello guys!!! I am new to the forum. I have a WDTV Gen1 and recently I have updated to the final unofficial firm WDlxTV.I have followed all the instructions for network configuration but my WDTV don't take any ip.Maybe I do something wrong!I should update firm with the modified net.config. Can u give me any help??How the apps are working???only with usb plunged in??? Thanx anyway!!
tempelis is offline  
post #2564 of 2569 Old 04-05-2012, 07:25 PM
Newbie
 
rightway44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought a WD live TV streaming media player box.
Unlike usa model this canadian model has been modified to without live channels.
Very limited stuff.I want any live news channel on it in Canada,
Kindly provide any third party software/ firmware to enhance channels
rightway44 is offline  
post #2565 of 2569 Old 10-09-2012, 11:40 AM
Member
 
lazarusbf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello
I have this old (1st gen) WDTV, i never ever installed any unofficial FW and was wondering if in installing one, all my recent MKV files would work. For a couple of years i've had numerous MKV (movies and TV episodes as well) that were crashing the WDTV. My only solution was a reset and play them on my macbook pro but that'd be cool if i could still use my wdtv. I'm not too keen on buying a new WDTVlive just for this issue.
Thanks for replying. Sorry for the (english) mistakes.
lazarusbf is offline  
post #2566 of 2569 Old 10-09-2012, 12:16 PM
Member
 
asif9t9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You may as well try to load the custom firmware. But if MKV's aren't working, you may be better off to try a small program called mkvfix.exe. Here is a thead where someone posted a link.

http://community.wdc.com/t5/WD-TV-HD/WD-Medial-Player-gen-won-t-play-any-files-it-just-stop-working/td-p/67744

You will also have to install MKVMerge (aka MKV Toolnix).

http://www.bunkus.org/videotools/mkvtoolnix/downloads.html

Just make sure you change the option in MKVMerge to disable header compression. Or use an older version like 5.1.0.
asif9t9 is offline  
post #2567 of 2569 Old 10-15-2012, 07:58 AM
Member
 
lazarusbf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your reply!
I will try a custom FW. I must say 80% of my MKV files do work fine on my WDTV (TV episodes work 99% of the time, it's more the occasional movies in 1080p that does not play anymore).
lazarusbf is offline  
post #2568 of 2569 Old 10-15-2012, 10:38 AM
Member
 
asif9t9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lazarusbf View Post

Thanks for your reply!
I will try a custom FW. I must say 80% of my MKV files do work fine on my WDTV (TV episodes work 99% of the time, it's more the occasional movies in 1080p that does not play anymore).

If that's the case, you're better to try my tip about mkvfix.exe before trying custom firmware. Custom FW looks cooler and you can do different things (my Gen1 player is looked up to my LAN using a USB to ethernet adapter). But Custom FW won't play a file the WDTV can't play, AFAIK.
asif9t9 is offline  
post #2569 of 2569 Old 02-18-2013, 02:43 AM
Newbie
 
inspiron_l6400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please i need HELP.


i don't find wireless-mod-rt3070v2.app.bin I need this file. please if someoane have this file, can upload again?
inspiron_l6400 is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off