Western Digital - WD TV HD Media Player - BUG LIST & FEATURE REQUEST thread - Page 77 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2281 of 2358 Old 08-30-2009, 02:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
mytbyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
If unsure, just put your hand on it - it would vibrate if it's still spinning...
mytbyte is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2282 of 2358 Old 08-31-2009, 12:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
techflaws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by mytbyte View Post

WD Elements spins down when WDTV is put on standby and is spun back up when you wake it from standby...only the damn blue LED remains on at all times...

Same with my WD Passport. However, when attached to my Asus O!Play even the LED is turned off.

Quote:
Originally Posted by guitz View Post

WMA lossless support

Why would WD bother to implement a crappy proprietary format when there's FLAC available for any system?

Tech Flaws
Things can only get better
techflaws is offline  
post #2283 of 2358 Old 08-31-2009, 12:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
mytbyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by techflaws View Post

Same with my WD Passport. However, when attached to my Asus O!Play even the LED is turned off.

Well, yeah, it's easy to learn from mistakes of others...
mytbyte is offline  
post #2284 of 2358 Old 08-31-2009, 11:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
techflaws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 25
So why didn't WD with later firmware updates?

Tech Flaws
Things can only get better
techflaws is offline  
post #2285 of 2358 Old 09-01-2009, 12:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
mytbyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by techflaws View Post

So why didn't WD with later firmware updates?

because the mistake is in the hardware...
mytbyte is offline  
post #2286 of 2358 Old 09-01-2009, 04:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
Afrsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mytbyte View Post

Well, yeah, it's easy to learn from mistakes of others...

They could have learned from Popcorn or Egreat...
Afrsa is offline  
post #2287 of 2358 Old 09-01-2009, 05:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
christoofar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mytbyte View Post

because the mistake is in the hardware...

or more accurately, the "limitation" is in the hardware.
christoofar is offline  
post #2288 of 2358 Old 09-01-2009, 05:39 AM
Member
 
warunek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=techflaws;17093108]Same with my WD Passport. However, when attached to my Asus O!Play even the LED is turned off.

LED also off with Xtreamer.
warunek is offline  
post #2289 of 2358 Old 09-01-2009, 06:51 AM
Newbie
 
Wochouu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
- Post removed, as I realized it was in the wrong topic. Sorry for the inconveniance -
Wochouu is offline  
post #2290 of 2358 Old 09-01-2009, 02:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
mytbyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Afrsa View Post

They could have learned from Popcorn or Egreat...

Well, I don't think so, because they never intended to compete with them...they wanted to make a simple, small, likeable player, not an NMT...that's why they sold it for $100 and not $200 - because they knew they couldn't compete fully with NMTs...
mytbyte is offline  
post #2291 of 2358 Old 09-01-2009, 02:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
mytbyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by christoofar View Post

or more accurately, the "limitation" is in the hardware.

or even more accurately: they made a mistake in choosing the hardware with limitations
mytbyte is offline  
post #2292 of 2358 Old 09-01-2009, 02:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
christoofar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mytbyte View Post

or even more accurately: they made a mistake in choosing the hardware with limitations

..within in the budget spec for the project.
christoofar is offline  
post #2293 of 2358 Old 09-01-2009, 10:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
mytbyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by christoofar View Post

..within in the budget spec for the project.

indeed!
mytbyte is offline  
post #2294 of 2358 Old 09-02-2009, 01:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
techflaws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Mine was a rhetorical question to point out how short-sighted I think it was not to consider turning a WD drive off with a WD player. Oh well, I'm really interested to see all the improvements in WD TV Live.

Tech Flaws
Things can only get better
techflaws is offline  
post #2295 of 2358 Old 09-03-2009, 11:37 PM
bre
Member
 
bre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by techflaws View Post

Why would WD bother to implement a crappy proprietary format when there's FLAC available for any system?

Tell that to producers of portable devices still using some crappy formats. Reason is that people have those kind of lossless files and would like to play them back. But I wouldn't miss one or two file formats if there were Replay Gain support (considering poor wdtv high signals handling it should be priority no1) and fully supported webgui as well as few wireless network adapters so I can use my phone's browser to check playlist and change now playing without need to switch on tv.
bre is offline  
post #2296 of 2358 Old 09-08-2009, 11:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
techflaws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by bre View Post

Tell that to producers of portable devices still using some crappy formats.

Tell that to buyers of devices using crappy formats.

Tech Flaws
Things can only get better
techflaws is offline  
post #2297 of 2358 Old 09-09-2009, 12:44 AM
bre
Member
 
bre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by techflaws View Post

Tell that to buyers of devices using crappy formats.

You are too demanding.
bre is offline  
post #2298 of 2358 Old 09-09-2009, 02:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
mytbyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I've just developed a great codec format that kills everything else with quality and file size...but I have found out it won't play on WDTV...this machine is real crap...I thought it was supposed to be a media player, but it won't play MY media type...

I'll go now - develop a player of my own that can play my fantastic codec...unless someone knows any other player that can play my codec???
mytbyte is offline  
post #2299 of 2358 Old 09-09-2009, 07:58 AM
bre
Member
 
bre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like Bill Gates From the Past joined our conversation.
bre is offline  
post #2300 of 2358 Old 09-09-2009, 10:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
techflaws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Lol!

Tech Flaws
Things can only get better
techflaws is offline  
post #2301 of 2358 Old 09-11-2009, 11:42 PM
Member
 
taz420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sandy Eggo
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mytbyte View Post

I've just developed a great codec format that kills everything else with quality and file size...but I have found out it won't play on WDTV...this machine is real crap...I thought it was supposed to be a media player, but it won't play MY media type...

I'll go now - develop a player of my own that can play my fantastic codec...unless someone knows any other player that can play my codec???

I hope you're joking




.

Victim of the economy
Out of work :(
Spare some change? :-)

and a BIG THANKS to those who have!!!
taz420 is offline  
post #2302 of 2358 Old 10-02-2009, 12:07 PM
Newbie
 
downtownbg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Latest firmware: 1.02.11 beta
downtownbg is offline  
post #2303 of 2358 Old 10-03-2009, 06:29 AM
Member
 
ichiban1962's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by taz420 View Post

I hope you're joking




.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mytbyte View Post

I've just developed a great codec format that kills everything else with quality and file size...but I have found out it won't play on WDTV...this machine is real crap...I thought it was supposed to be a media player, but it won't play MY media type...

I'll go now - develop a player of my own that can play my fantastic codec...unless someone knows any other player that can play my codec???

my lawyers will be in touch with you pronto, i had invented that codec last night whilst taking a dump on the toilet,
leave my shite alone....
ichiban1962 is offline  
post #2304 of 2358 Old 10-03-2009, 01:50 PM
Newbie
 
Coolie&TheHeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I am new in this forum and also a new user of WD media player, with almost no experience (bought it yesterday). I tried to read all the information and use the search button, but ended up a bit more confused, so I am sorry if I will repeat questions made by others. I am having a few issues with WD, the main one being similar to what Orione67 described. My issues with WD media player are:

1 - When I try to see discs with burned .avi files (widescreen) in a regular DVD player, the player allows several different aspect ration changes which comfortably accommodate the picture to the screen. BUT - on WD, they offer only two options, normal and widescreen and I end up with two big and fat black bars on the screen. The DVD player does not erase the black bars COMPLETELY, but it does bring it closer to the 16:9 ratio without making the faces fall off the screen. I tried the zoom in option that WD offers, but it really distorts the picture :-( Any other suggestions to fix this or at least diminish the black bars to a normal size? Will this be fixed in a future firmware?

2 - Another problem with .avi files + .srt files - they are perfectly in sync in my PC, but when I play them on WD, the subtitles appear in a delay of a few seconds, very annoying :-(
I saw this was mentioned in the first post, has this been fixed in a new firmaware (and if not, do you think it will be)?

3 - I have converted a few avi + srt files into DIVX, using AVIADDXSubs - WD sometimes does not read the DIVX, but when it does, it is always without the subtitles. Why is that? I read that WD does not support DIVX, but since it read a few of my files, I thought perhaps this changed?

I thank you very much in advance!

Coolie&TheHeat
Coolie&TheHeat is offline  
post #2305 of 2358 Old 10-06-2009, 05:01 AM
Newbie
 
jgricourt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've just bought a WDTV box and there are 2 things that I immediately found missing or not working in the current firmware. I'd like to see the ability to hide directories from the WDTV search engine. Second I noticed some awful distortions on high quality audio files during playback on my Cambridge amplifier thru the analog output (listen to the soft trumpet part in "Love theme from Chinatown" Till Bronner - Oceana).
jgricourt is offline  
post #2306 of 2358 Old 10-06-2009, 08:01 AM
bre
Member
 
bre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgricourt View Post

I've just bought a WDTV box and there are 2 things that I immediately found missing or not working in the current firmware. I'd like to see the ability to hide directories from the WDTV search engine. Second I noticed some awful distortions on high quality audio files during playback on my Cambridge amplifier thru the analog output (listen to the soft trumpet part in "Love theme from Chinatown" Till Bronner - Oceana).

Add dot in front of folder name. In windows it is possible under total commander as windows asks for file name before that dot even though it's a folder

.Folder is invisible when you view folder structere so I suppose it doesn't scan content too.


If there is audio distortion try upgrading firmware and if that doesn't help make sure files does not have replay gain applied via tag. WDTV lacks replay gain support. If files are mp3s use MP3Gain, if what you got are flacs or other lossless there is no replay gain support as I mentioned and no MP3Gain for flac so the only way is to normalize.

I also recommend you using some external DAC if you want decent sound.

There is also slight possibility that there is something wrong with your wdtv.
bre is offline  
post #2307 of 2358 Old 10-06-2009, 09:31 AM
Member
 
hiendas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The WD TV still doesn't fully support playback of audio files encoded at 24-bit/88.2KHz, whereas it supports audio encoded at 24-bit/96Khz.

g.kar
hiendas is offline  
post #2308 of 2358 Old 10-07-2009, 12:40 AM
bre
Member
 
bre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hiendas View Post

The WD TV still doesn't fully support playback of audio files encoded at 24-bit/88.2KHz, whereas it supports audio encoded at 24-bit/96Khz.

My DAC shows 96kHz signal goes out of WDTV as 48kHz. Can you confirm that yours is 96?
bre is offline  
post #2309 of 2358 Old 10-07-2009, 01:56 AM
Member
 
microcens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
fix the flashing sub/idx subtitles in tke latest fws
in the 01.01.02 fw it works fine
microcens is offline  
post #2310 of 2358 Old 10-10-2009, 06:14 AM
Newbie
 
Ronnyg27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi everyone.

I recently bought the WD HD TV in Israel, and it seems to have a few unbareable problems:

1. no hebrew suppot - for the GUI and the subtitles.
2. when converting hebrew srt's to Sub/Idx, i can see hebrew subtitles,
only that it skips every few lines. really annoying...
3. i connect the wd tv to my Yamaha receiver via HDMI cable, and the receiver is connected to the LCD via HDMI also, but the sound is heard from the TV. should i connect an optical cable also?

i upgraded to firmware 11, but none of the above changed.
is there anyway you guys can help me, or add the mentioned bugs to your lists?

thanks alot!!
Ronny.
Ronnyg27 is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off