Best way to use WD HD TV Media Player? - Page 2 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 44 Old 04-04-2009, 03:37 PM
Newbie
 
mdfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I read this thread last week while waiting on my WD HD TV arriving in the mail. So I ripped a few of the kids cd's usind dvdshrink to ISO. The player arrived today and when I set it up it is only recognising AVI files not the iso. Anyone had this problem.
mdfire is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 44 Old 04-16-2009, 12:13 PM
Newbie
 
kc10a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having problems too. I ripped some movies using DVD Shrink and any DVD. Some work, some work without sound, and some don't work at all. I tried clone DVD and it works in stereo mode. Is there a way to rip to MP4?
kc10a is offline  
post #33 of 44 Old 04-16-2009, 01:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
mytbyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdfire View Post

I read this thread last week while waiting on my WD HD TV arriving in the mail. So I ripped a few of the kids cd's usind dvdshrink to ISO. The player arrived today and when I set it up it is only recognising AVI files not the iso. Anyone had this problem.

Does it see the .iso but won't play it or it doesn't se .iso files at all? Were the .ISOs made from regular DVD video discs?
mytbyte is offline  
post #34 of 44 Old 04-16-2009, 01:46 PM
Member
 
YukonJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It may be that DVDShrink did not defeat the copyright on the DVD itself when it ripped it. You may want to try DVDFab or one of the other rippers and see if that works.

Greg
YukonJack is offline  
post #35 of 44 Old 04-16-2009, 05:57 PM
Newbie
 
lepidoptera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've watched at least a dozen ISOs created with DVD Shrink.

Note: make sure that the name of their folder does not start with "."
For example
.Flicks
will be ignored, whereas IOSs in
Flicks
will show up
lepidoptera is offline  
post #36 of 44 Old 05-12-2009, 05:42 AM
Newbie
 
tabo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been using the WD HD Tunner for 4 days now and here are my findings.

After latest firmware upgrade 1.02.07:

To add cover art, take your favorite .jpg of the movie's cover, and drop it inside the folder where the .mvk or whichever file format file is. Name that EXACTLY the same as your video file. Ex, death_race_HD_movie.mvk death_race_HD_movie.jpg. The image must be in .jpg format. The folder in which the video file recides, along with the icon of the video file itself will also display the image file. This only works for thumbnail view.

You can add an image even to other folders by adding your favorite image (in my case I have a Blu-Ray and a DVD folder, I added the blu-ray logo to the blu-ray folder. Just drop inside the folder the .jpg file and name it FOLDER. That simple.

If you rip to .mvk (I use MakeMVK), it will keep all your surround (DB5.1 and DTS) and image quality true to original in one file. So you don't end up with a bunch of little files to sort through. I rip only the main movie, the audio tracks and the subtitles.

ISO's do play, but are buggy specially with Blu-rays. Audio cuts off, audio track defaults to some foreign language and they are huge! None of these problems are present when ripped to .mvk.

I cannot get subtitles to work for some reason.

On the new firmware, you can select different chapters as you play the blu-ray which is very nice.

Hope this helps.
tabo is offline  
post #37 of 44 Old 06-06-2009, 10:26 AM
Newbie
 
danbidd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wdmediaplayerfan View Post

No, WDTV doesn't show cover art on any ISO files.

To make your ISO files display cover art all you have to do is put a jpg file in the same folder as your ISO with the same EXACT name as your ISO. This is how I get it to display cover art for my DVD ISO files anyway
danbidd is offline  
post #38 of 44 Old 04-11-2013, 10:43 AM
Newbie
 
nmharleyrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use Imageburn to make an ISO out of my DVDS and put them on external hard drives. The menus, surround sound, et al are preserved in the ISO. Then I just plug my hard drive into the USB port on the WE HD TV Media Player. I've done several hundred dvds this way and they all play perfectly. In fact you don't have the digital effects you sometimes get playing the dvds directly on a dvd player. Hope this helps
nmharleyrider is offline  
post #39 of 44 Old 04-11-2013, 02:36 PM
 
comicguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
dvdshrink does not remove the copy protection. if you have anydvd running in the background (not free) then that will do the trick...
comicguy is offline  
post #40 of 44 Old 04-12-2013, 12:04 PM
Newbie
 
nmharleyrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Forgot to mention I use anydvd in conjunction with ImageBurn when I am copying a dvd
nmharleyrider is offline  
post #41 of 44 Old 04-12-2013, 05:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 623
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdfire View Post

I read this thread last week while waiting on my WD HD TV arriving in the mail. So I ripped a few of the kids cd's usind dvdshrink to ISO. The player arrived today and when I set it up it is only recognising AVI files not the iso. Anyone had this problem.

WDTV doesn't support ISOs.
GusGus748s is offline  
post #42 of 44 Old 04-13-2013, 06:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
Otter0911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 580
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 18
You guys know your responding to posts that are 4 years old?? tongue.gif
Otter0911 is offline  
post #43 of 44 Old 04-13-2013, 01:34 PM
Newbie
 
nmharleyrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you are talking about the Western Digital WD TV Live Plus Unit, I play ISOs on it all the time. I use Imageburn to burn the ISOs and so far have had no trouble playing them. I did have to get a firmware upgrade though for it although that was a long time ago.
nmharleyrider is offline  
post #44 of 44 Old 04-13-2013, 01:35 PM
Newbie
 
nmharleyrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hahaha You know I did not notice the date on these posts. as usual, I'm right on top of things or under them
nmharleyrider is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off