D-Link DSM-750 dual band. what does that mean - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 01-15-2009, 11:31 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
roise_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi. i am having trouble understanding this dual band thing. on my new DSM-750 media extender it states that it is dual band and can use both 2.4GHZ or 5GHZ. what is dual band??! two network simultaneously that boost speed by x2, or two different networks and the only reason for being, is so it wont interfere with other equipment? I want to get a N router but i am not sure if i really need the dual band. my HD content is in my computer. computer will stream to router, router will route to player. i see the benefit if i can connect from my computer to the router at two different frequencies simultaneously and the router connects to the player the same way. otherwise...??? ... pls express your opinion...

P.S. maybe i should just buy another N adaptor for my PC and connect the player straight to my PC. no router involved ?????
roise_r is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 01-18-2009, 02:46 AM
Member
 
mcavity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
by duel band it means it can use eaither 2.4 or 5 ghz band.
generaly 5.ghz has less conflict in it. however your wireless router needs to suport it. Also most wireless routers that can do 5 ghz canonly do 5ghz OR 2.4 but not both at the same time. [linksys has one that does both but i cant recomend it right now]
mcavity is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 01-18-2009, 11:47 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
roise_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what about simultaneous dual band routers. it sounds like they should be able to do just that !
like this one: http://www.dlink.com/products/?sec=0&pid=681
or this:
http://www.amazon.com/Linksys-WRT610.../dp/B001AZ01EO
roise_r is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 01-18-2009, 08:34 PM
Member
 
mcavity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yup those can do the trick.
I had the linksys but it overheated and died =(
mcavity is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 01-18-2009, 10:32 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
roise_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so just to clarify, if i have a PCI card dual band (which i havent found yet, only stupid USB adaptors) I connect the card by its 2.4 conection to the 2.4 band part of the router. do the same for the 5ghz band, and "vualla" i got double connection?
roise_r is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 01-19-2009, 08:57 PM
Member
 
mcavity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
no
at least as far as I know. you choose 2.4 or 5ghz. the router may do both simultaneously but I have yet to see a wireless card do it. I dont think its in the 802.11 spec. however some routers and cards will let you use 2 channels [in a given band ] to get faster connections.
mcavity is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off