Just got a 1TB mybook mass storage unit what first? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 04-22-2009, 12:29 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
BowerR64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got thsi and plugged it in and there is about 500 megs of crap on it.

Do i just start moving my movie files over to it or can i get rid of all this WD junk on the drive first?

Should i format the thing clean like its just a new partition and format it to NTFS or what will the WDtv player want?

I have about 10 movies ripped on my computer drive that i want to move over and start transfering my dvds to this book.

I dont have the wdtv unit yet i thought ide wait a few weeks to get it.

Thanks for any help ou can give me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by donsantos
How can you tell a point is a reflection point?
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxcooper
sit in normal spot
have friend slide mirror on wall
see speaker? bingo!-Max
BowerR64 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 04-22-2009, 07:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
BowerR64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is this a dumb question?

I wanted to start ripping my DVDs and putting them to the drive but i didnt want to have to start over if i needed to format the drive or do somthing special to it before.

Quote:
Originally Posted by donsantos
How can you tell a point is a reflection point?
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxcooper
sit in normal spot
have friend slide mirror on wall
see speaker? bingo!-Max
BowerR64 is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 04-22-2009, 09:39 PM
Member
 
clicke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BowerR64 View Post

I just got thsi and plugged it in and there is about 500 megs of crap on it.

Do i just start moving my movie files over to it or can i get rid of all this WD junk on the drive first?

Should i format the thing clean like its just a new partition and format it to NTFS or what will the WDtv player want?

I have about 10 movies ripped on my computer drive that i want to move over and start transfering my dvds to this book.

I dont have the wdtv unit yet i thought ide wait a few weeks to get it.

Thanks for any help ou can give me.

If you don't need it, delete it. Or back it up (zip, burn to disc, whatever) just in case.

sigh.. Mods, we really need a WD TV subforum.
clicke is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 04-23-2009, 05:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
Joel Graffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palm City, FL
Posts: 821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BowerR64 View Post

Is this a dumb question?

I wanted to start ripping my DVDs and putting them to the drive but i didnt want to have to start over if i needed to format the drive or do somthing special to it before.

Make sure the drive goes into sleep mode properly and that you have all of the latest firmware updates.
Joel Graffman is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 04-23-2009, 08:51 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
BowerR64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well i just have the drive for now, i didnt have enough for both the WDtv AND the drive so i decided to get the drive first because i figured it would take me some time to rip and move all my DVDs to the drive. While i was doing that i could sae for the player.

My question was now i have the drive (no WDtv player) do i need to do anything to it before i start to fill up the drive? Can i just plug it in and start ripping movies or should i format it to fat 32? NTFS? leave it, delete the default files on it?

Im wondering what others are doing?

Maybe i misread your post? does the drive need firmware or updates? I know the WDtv unit might but i dont have that part yet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by donsantos
How can you tell a point is a reflection point?
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxcooper
sit in normal spot
have friend slide mirror on wall
see speaker? bingo!-Max
BowerR64 is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 04-24-2009, 12:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by BowerR64 View Post

Well i just have the drive for now, i didnt have enough for both the WDtv AND the drive so i decided to get the drive first because i figured it would take me some time to rip and move all my DVDs to the drive. While i was doing that i could sae for the player.

My question was now i have the drive (no WDtv player) do i need to do anything to it before i start to fill up the drive? Can i just plug it in and start ripping movies or should i format it to fat 32? NTFS? leave it, delete the default files on it?

Im wondering what others are doing?

Maybe i misread your post? does the drive need firmware or updates? I know the WDtv unit might but i dont have that part yet.

I bought a WD passport and formatted it as soon as I got it, I did a quick format to ntfs. No need for the junk WD puts on it imo.

Been working great ever since which has been a few months!!
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 04-24-2009, 11:42 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
BowerR64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks man! thats what i needed to hear. I dont think ill need the stuff thats on it either but wanted to ask before i started.

Ive already transfered a few movies over but it was pretty much just to test and see how it went. I think this is gona be a fun.

Quote:
Originally Posted by donsantos
How can you tell a point is a reflection point?
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxcooper
sit in normal spot
have friend slide mirror on wall
see speaker? bingo!-Max
BowerR64 is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 04-25-2009, 01:22 AM
Senior Member
 
fred_be9300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Some people have found that WDTV reacts a bit snappier when the NTFS drive is formatted with larger-than-default cluster size. The default is 4kb clusters. If your drive will be (almost) exclusively used for video files, then I would reformat at e.g. 8kb cluster size. Quick format will do that in minutes... full format could be several hours

read more: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1138318


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: info for users, by users
fred_be9300 is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 04-25-2009, 03:46 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
BowerR64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hope i didnt mess up, when i used the default cluseter i hooked the HD up to my philups upconverting dvd player and i could read files and actualy play the vob files threw the USB port, now when i hook it up it doesnt even reconize any of the files on the drive.

WHy would it do that?

WHen i hooked it to the DVD player it played the files but it kinda skipped every few seconds like it was struggeling to transfer the data or decode it or somthing. I thought maybe changing the file alocation would speed it up a tad and it would then play smoother. Now it doesnt even work at all.

I think im gona hold off on transfering movies till i get the WD tv player and make sure its even gona play the movies i have on it so far.

Maybe i used the wrong type?
LL

Quote:
Originally Posted by donsantos
How can you tell a point is a reflection point?
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxcooper
sit in normal spot
have friend slide mirror on wall
see speaker? bingo!-Max
BowerR64 is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 04-25-2009, 09:35 PM
Member
 
xXVirusXx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I formatted mine right away then added my files.
xXVirusXx is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 04-26-2009, 07:29 PM
Newbie
 
Psychoav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got a WD 1TB MyBook Essentials edition, do I need to keep the original files to maintain the spin-on spin-off(or auto on/off) functions for WD TV?
Psychoav is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 04-26-2009, 07:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
high_definitely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Psychoav View Post

I just got a WD 1TB MyBook Essentials edition, do I need to keep the original files to maintain the spin-on spin-off(or auto on/off) functions for WD TV?

Of course not.
high_definitely is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off