WDTV in the car - any way to increase font size? - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Gaming & Content Streaming > Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming > WDTV in the car - any way to increase font size?

Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

leszek1's Avatar leszek1
02:20 PM Liked: 10
post #1 of 24
05-25-2009 | Posts: 1,515
Joined: Dec 2001
As you can see from the attached image, I use the WDTV permanently in my car. Since my GPS screen is rather small, it's often hard to read the small font text on the WD interface. Is there a way to increase the size of the fonts used by the interface so I can actually see all the song info, video info etc? I use it mostly with an iPod and a hard drive in the glove box.

Thanks!


LL
bato's Avatar bato
03:29 PM Liked: 10
post #2 of 24
05-25-2009 | Posts: 325
Joined: Jun 2007
Maybe is possible to do what you want with an unofficial firmware from b-rad and create a custom theme (tutorial in the same site b-rad.cc)
indusbreed's Avatar indusbreed
08:46 PM Liked: 10
post #3 of 24
05-25-2009 | Posts: 124
Joined: Dec 2007
Is that 3 series ?
whiteboy714's Avatar whiteboy714
09:52 PM Liked: 16
post #4 of 24
05-25-2009 | Posts: 4,602
Joined: Feb 2009
Dude thats pretty sick!!!
leszek1's Avatar leszek1
10:13 PM Liked: 10
post #5 of 24
05-25-2009 | Posts: 1,515
Joined: Dec 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by indusbreed View Post

Is that 3 series ?

No this is the 5 series.
speed817's Avatar speed817
08:52 AM Liked: 10
post #6 of 24
05-28-2009 | Posts: 1
Joined: May 2009
i am thinking about doing this in my car as well. how are you powering it in your car? does the remote work with the glove box closed?
lmaolmao's Avatar lmaolmao
10:09 AM Liked: 10
post #7 of 24
05-28-2009 | Posts: 179
Joined: Oct 2008
great, more ways for drivers to distract themselves.
northernlanes's Avatar northernlanes
10:18 AM Liked: 10
post #8 of 24
05-28-2009 | Posts: 6
Joined: Apr 2008
I fitted mine a while ago to my Peugeot 407 Coupe, fitted under the glovebox so the remote works (full line of site not needed) and linked to the cars lcd via the units (RT4 - the car's original multimedia centre) composite (video/audio) input, it is powered by a low cost 12v power adapter, more details & pictures through link below ..


http://www.eurovan2.com/forum/wip-co...rt4-video.html

.. since I posted this link I now use it with a 500Gb Buffalo Ministation hard drive which is powered by the WDTV's usb port, and now convert most movies to BluRay .iso's so I can also watch in full hd at home.

Quote:


great, more ways for drivers to distract themselves

most sensible people would use them while the vehicle is stationary!
leszek1's Avatar leszek1
03:15 PM Liked: 10
post #9 of 24
05-28-2009 | Posts: 1,515
Joined: Dec 2001
The WDTV runs directly on 12V, so I power it directly by splicing into the cigarette lighter cable. behind the glove box. I also use PAC IR-X infrared remote extender. The extender's transmitter and the WDTV is mounted permanently behind my glove box. The extender's sensor I mounted out of sight inside my air vent. Here you see a picture of the WDTV and it's power cable about to be spliced into my cigarette lighter cable (the two red arrows)


LL
jblack94530's Avatar jblack94530
11:25 PM Liked: 10
post #10 of 24
06-02-2009 | Posts: 29
Joined: Dec 2008
I updated mine with this firmware and it worked great in car.
Make sure you use the thumbnail to view the video/audio files.

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliojs View Post

Changed the home menu:





http://hotfile.com/dl/3908612/81b2f6..._v0.3.zip.html


weng2x's Avatar weng2x
07:52 PM Liked: 11
post #11 of 24
07-09-2009 | Posts: 46
Joined: Dec 2007
can the WD TV works safely at actual car battery voltage, 13.+ volts DC?
leszek1's Avatar leszek1
10:11 PM Liked: 10
post #12 of 24
07-09-2009 | Posts: 1,515
Joined: Dec 2001
yes, up to 15V
weng2x's Avatar weng2x
02:18 PM Liked: 11
post #13 of 24
07-10-2009 | Posts: 46
Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by leszek1 View Post

yes, up to 15V

that's good news. i can confidently use the WD TV without worries about shorter lifespan due to higher operating voltage.
Gooch77's Avatar Gooch77
10:18 PM Liked: 10
post #14 of 24
08-06-2009 | Posts: 1
Joined: Dec 2005
It works great in my vehicle, except for one large problem. When the WDTV is powered down (ie everytime I start my vehicle), the unit does not remember the location in the music, song, or playlist that it was last at. When you are 2 hours in on a 3 hour movie.....its a huge pain to fast forward to where you left off. Anybody know of a fix?
hitechluddite's Avatar hitechluddite
05:40 PM Liked: 10
post #15 of 24
08-07-2009 | Posts: 138
Joined: Nov 2005
Quote:
It works great in my vehicle, except for one large problem. When the WDTV is powered down (ie everytime I start my vehicle), the unit does not remember the location in the music, song, or playlist that it was last at. When you are 2 hours in on a 3 hour movie.....its a huge pain to fast forward to where you left off. Anybody know of a fix?

The quick fix would be a good sized Electrolytic capacitor, maybe 22,000mfd rated at 15VDC across the 12VDC source as close to the cig lighter jack as you can get. You'll need a DVM to measure the resting voltage across it until you get a shunt resistor value set because it will tend to ramp the voltage above 15VDC. You will have to install A shunt resistor of some value between the + and - terminals of the capacitor. If memory serves me 10k ohm is a good place to start. The effect is a mini battery that should compensated for the sag during a momentary interruption of power. I will be working on one of these myself soon for my MP3 Jukebox for a van I just bought that only has 12.8vdc on the cig lighter...
abcward's Avatar abcward
07:31 AM Liked: 10
post #16 of 24
08-09-2009 | Posts: 1,013
Joined: Oct 2003
OK, I have a semi-off topic question to ask...

We have one of those Automobile DVD sets that we use on vacations...2 screens that strap to the seatbacks and a dvd player that is powered by our car's aux port. I'm assuming that I could use the WDTV/usb flash drive instead of the Auto DVD player. But is there a cable that I could purchase to power the WDTV via the car's aux power port?
weng2x's Avatar weng2x
09:15 PM Liked: 11
post #17 of 24
05-10-2010 | Posts: 46
Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by abcward View Post

OK, I have a semi-off topic question to ask...

We have one of those Automobile DVD sets that we use on vacations...2 screens that strap to the seatbacks and a dvd player that is powered by our car's aux port. I'm assuming that I could use the WDTV/usb flash drive instead of the Auto DVD player. But is there a cable that I could purchase to power the WDTV via the car's aux power port?

yes, you can use the wdtv in replace of the old dvd. just get a cigarette lighter plug-cable with whatever plug on the other end. cut the plug and replace it with the one's that fits the wdtv power socket.

here's mine.



placed below the center dash




the remote works by pointing it to the front passenger's footwell.
mrbonner's Avatar mrbonner
05:09 PM Liked: 10
post #18 of 24
12-15-2011 | Posts: 3
Joined: Dec 2011
I know this is an old thread but thinking about doing this to my car. Thanks for help. One question if leszek1 is still active, The infared sensor, what is powering it?
GusGus748s's Avatar GusGus748s
08:43 PM Liked: 601
post #19 of 24
12-15-2011 | Posts: 6,438
Joined: Mar 2009
This is something I wanted to do to my car. I went to the several different stereo places, and they told me it couldn't be done. I was like...it can be done, you just don't know how to do it lol.

I guess I'll try doing this with two head rest tv in my car...next project!
mrbonner's Avatar mrbonner
06:56 AM Liked: 10
post #20 of 24
12-16-2011 | Posts: 3
Joined: Dec 2011
Same here. If you get it done before me. let me know how it turns out.
GusGus748s's Avatar GusGus748s
08:56 AM Liked: 601
post #21 of 24
12-16-2011 | Posts: 6,438
Joined: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrbonner View Post

Same here. If you get it done before me. let me know how it turns out.

This won't happen till next year. Xmas shopping has taken most of my $$$
mrbonner's Avatar mrbonner
10:02 AM Liked: 10
post #22 of 24
12-16-2011 | Posts: 3
Joined: Dec 2011
Understandable. Well my HU was my christmas gift to myself so as soon as it comes in, Im on it! Will post results
hparengk's Avatar hparengk
05:22 AM Liked: 10
post #23 of 24
02-16-2013 | Posts: 1
Joined: Feb 2013
Hi. I just installed wd tv live in my LC 2004. But seems like it got some video noise. Like some electric issue. Its like theres line going up all the way like when u take picture crt monitor with camera. So i need to do grounding right from the wd unit? Anybody?

And how do we open the wd live HU to install infra red extender? Is there anyway without opening it?
Mugenstylus1's Avatar Mugenstylus1
09:58 PM Liked: 10
post #24 of 24
03-10-2013 | Posts: 248
Joined: Oct 2007
I installed one of these in a limo too good install man.
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3