WDTV in the car - any way to increase font size? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 Old 05-25-2009, 02:20 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
leszek1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 1,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As you can see from the attached image, I use the WDTV permanently in my car. Since my GPS screen is rather small, it's often hard to read the small font text on the WD interface. Is there a way to increase the size of the fonts used by the interface so I can actually see all the song info, video info etc? I use it mostly with an iPod and a hard drive in the glove box.

Thanks!


LL
leszek1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 Old 05-25-2009, 03:29 PM
Senior Member
 
bato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe is possible to do what you want with an unofficial firmware from b-rad and create a custom theme (tutorial in the same site b-rad.cc)
bato is offline  
post #3 of 24 Old 05-25-2009, 08:46 PM
Member
 
indusbreed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is that 3 series ?
indusbreed is offline  
post #4 of 24 Old 05-25-2009, 09:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Dude thats pretty sick!!!
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #5 of 24 Old 05-25-2009, 10:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
leszek1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 1,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by indusbreed View Post

Is that 3 series ?

No this is the 5 series.
leszek1 is offline  
post #6 of 24 Old 05-28-2009, 08:52 AM
Newbie
 
speed817's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i am thinking about doing this in my car as well. how are you powering it in your car? does the remote work with the glove box closed?
speed817 is offline  
post #7 of 24 Old 05-28-2009, 10:09 AM
Member
 
lmaolmao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
great, more ways for drivers to distract themselves.
lmaolmao is offline  
post #8 of 24 Old 05-28-2009, 10:18 AM
Newbie
 
northernlanes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I fitted mine a while ago to my Peugeot 407 Coupe, fitted under the glovebox so the remote works (full line of site not needed) and linked to the cars lcd via the units (RT4 - the car's original multimedia centre) composite (video/audio) input, it is powered by a low cost 12v power adapter, more details & pictures through link below ..


http://www.eurovan2.com/forum/wip-co...rt4-video.html

.. since I posted this link I now use it with a 500Gb Buffalo Ministation hard drive which is powered by the WDTV's usb port, and now convert most movies to BluRay .iso's so I can also watch in full hd at home.

Quote:


great, more ways for drivers to distract themselves

most sensible people would use them while the vehicle is stationary!
northernlanes is offline  
post #9 of 24 Old 05-28-2009, 03:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
leszek1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 1,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The WDTV runs directly on 12V, so I power it directly by splicing into the cigarette lighter cable. behind the glove box. I also use PAC IR-X infrared remote extender. The extender's transmitter and the WDTV is mounted permanently behind my glove box. The extender's sensor I mounted out of sight inside my air vent. Here you see a picture of the WDTV and it's power cable about to be spliced into my cigarette lighter cable (the two red arrows)


LL
leszek1 is offline  
post #10 of 24 Old 06-02-2009, 11:25 PM
Member
 
jblack94530's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I updated mine with this firmware and it worked great in car.
Make sure you use the thumbnail to view the video/audio files.

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliojs View Post

Changed the home menu:





http://hotfile.com/dl/3908612/81b2f6..._v0.3.zip.html

jblack94530 is offline  
post #11 of 24 Old 07-09-2009, 07:52 PM
Member
 
weng2x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
can the WD TV works safely at actual car battery voltage, 13.+ volts DC?
weng2x is offline  
post #12 of 24 Old 07-09-2009, 10:11 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
leszek1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 1,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yes, up to 15V
leszek1 is offline  
post #13 of 24 Old 07-10-2009, 02:18 PM
Member
 
weng2x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by leszek1 View Post

yes, up to 15V

that's good news. i can confidently use the WD TV without worries about shorter lifespan due to higher operating voltage.
weng2x is offline  
post #14 of 24 Old 08-06-2009, 10:18 PM
Newbie
 
Gooch77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It works great in my vehicle, except for one large problem. When the WDTV is powered down (ie everytime I start my vehicle), the unit does not remember the location in the music, song, or playlist that it was last at. When you are 2 hours in on a 3 hour movie.....its a huge pain to fast forward to where you left off. Anybody know of a fix?
Gooch77 is offline  
post #15 of 24 Old 08-07-2009, 05:40 PM
Member
 
hitechluddite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
It works great in my vehicle, except for one large problem. When the WDTV is powered down (ie everytime I start my vehicle), the unit does not remember the location in the music, song, or playlist that it was last at. When you are 2 hours in on a 3 hour movie.....its a huge pain to fast forward to where you left off. Anybody know of a fix?

The quick fix would be a good sized Electrolytic capacitor, maybe 22,000mfd rated at 15VDC across the 12VDC source as close to the cig lighter jack as you can get. You'll need a DVM to measure the resting voltage across it until you get a shunt resistor value set because it will tend to ramp the voltage above 15VDC. You will have to install A shunt resistor of some value between the + and - terminals of the capacitor. If memory serves me 10k ohm is a good place to start. The effect is a mini battery that should compensated for the sag during a momentary interruption of power. I will be working on one of these myself soon for my MP3 Jukebox for a van I just bought that only has 12.8vdc on the cig lighter...
hitechluddite is offline  
post #16 of 24 Old 08-09-2009, 07:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
abcward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Waxhaw, NC
Posts: 1,013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, I have a semi-off topic question to ask...

We have one of those Automobile DVD sets that we use on vacations...2 screens that strap to the seatbacks and a dvd player that is powered by our car's aux port. I'm assuming that I could use the WDTV/usb flash drive instead of the Auto DVD player. But is there a cable that I could purchase to power the WDTV via the car's aux power port?
abcward is offline  
post #17 of 24 Old 05-10-2010, 09:15 PM
Member
 
weng2x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by abcward View Post

OK, I have a semi-off topic question to ask...

We have one of those Automobile DVD sets that we use on vacations...2 screens that strap to the seatbacks and a dvd player that is powered by our car's aux port. I'm assuming that I could use the WDTV/usb flash drive instead of the Auto DVD player. But is there a cable that I could purchase to power the WDTV via the car's aux power port?

yes, you can use the wdtv in replace of the old dvd. just get a cigarette lighter plug-cable with whatever plug on the other end. cut the plug and replace it with the one's that fits the wdtv power socket.

here's mine.



placed below the center dash




the remote works by pointing it to the front passenger's footwell.
weng2x is offline  
post #18 of 24 Old 12-15-2011, 05:09 PM
Newbie
 
mrbonner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know this is an old thread but thinking about doing this to my car. Thanks for help. One question if leszek1 is still active, The infared sensor, what is powering it?
mrbonner is offline  
post #19 of 24 Old 12-15-2011, 08:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 601
This is something I wanted to do to my car. I went to the several different stereo places, and they told me it couldn't be done. I was like...it can be done, you just don't know how to do it lol.

I guess I'll try doing this with two head rest tv in my car...next project!

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #20 of 24 Old 12-16-2011, 06:56 AM
Newbie
 
mrbonner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Same here. If you get it done before me. let me know how it turns out.
mrbonner is offline  
post #21 of 24 Old 12-16-2011, 08:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrbonner View Post

Same here. If you get it done before me. let me know how it turns out.

This won't happen till next year. Xmas shopping has taken most of my $$$

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #22 of 24 Old 12-16-2011, 10:02 AM
Newbie
 
mrbonner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Understandable. Well my HU was my christmas gift to myself so as soon as it comes in, Im on it! Will post results
mrbonner is offline  
post #23 of 24 Old 02-16-2013, 05:22 AM
Newbie
 
hparengk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi. I just installed wd tv live in my LC 2004. But seems like it got some video noise. Like some electric issue. Its like theres line going up all the way like when u take picture crt monitor with camera. So i need to do grounding right from the wd unit? Anybody?

And how do we open the wd live HU to install infra red extender? Is there anyway without opening it?
hparengk is offline  
post #24 of 24 Old 03-10-2013, 09:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Mugenstylus1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I installed one of these in a limo too good install man.
Mugenstylus1 is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off