Updated Media Player Comparison Grid - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 309 Old 01-17-2010, 05:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
rec head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 39
I have not heard that about the Denon ipod interface.

The Boxee Box does look interesting. I emailed support at Boxee to see if the Box has a network GUI. I don't plan on hearing back for a few more days
rec head is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 309 Old 01-26-2010, 07:22 AM
Newbie
 
smockb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Guys, I am currently using the WDTV Live- I have about 15 days Left before I can return it- Can someone make a recommendation for a media player that would fit these characteristics. (Same file support or greater than WDTV + Mp4 support-) The Biggie is I need to be able to search on Genre for my videos + Fan art / movie descriptions would be awesome. At least 1 or 2 Usb ports. 720p/1080p, Hdmi (in a nut shell good file support and something with a great presentation. I really am not interested in hacked firmware-
smockb is offline  
post #183 of 309 Old 02-06-2010, 11:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
Pepster returns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by smockb View Post

Hi Guys, I am currently using the WDTV Live- I have about 15 days Left before I can return it- Can someone make a recommendation for a media player that would fit these characteristics. (Same file support or greater than WDTV + Mp4 support-) The Biggie is I need to be able to search on Genre for my videos + Fan art / movie descriptions would be awesome. At least 1 or 2 Usb ports. 720p/1080p, Hdmi (in a nut shell good file support and something with a great presentation. I really am not interested in hacked firmware-

According to WD, the WDTV does not support 1080P 25fps or 30fps.

WD's specs here : http://www.wdc.com/en/products/Products.asp?DriveID=735

"- H.264 MP@L4.1 and HP@4.1 up to 1920x1080p24, 1920x1080i30, or 1280x720p60 resolution. "

Nor does it support the common .flv files from Youtube and Vimeo, and the .mts HD AVCHD files from my Panny TZ7 camera are not listed there either.

As a HD media player, avoid the WDTV.

I use a Noontec A6 - plays everything, including 45Mbs H264 30fps 1080P files from the CANON 7D, and plays Youtube and Vimeo .flv files also !

100Mbs wired network is a little too slow for smooth playing of blu-ray, but it seems ok with 19Mbs TZ7 camera files.

You can copy your high bitrate files over the network to a pocket HDD attached to the Noontec A6 (eg WD Passport) and the A6 will then play all files just fine.

BTW, the A6 is less than $100 now and is waaay better then the WDTV, and cheaper too.
Pepster returns is offline  
post #184 of 309 Old 02-07-2010, 10:26 AM
Member
 
kinemax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pepster returns View Post

...
BTW, the A6 is less than $100 now and is waaay better then the WDTV, and cheaper too.

Where can one find this player for less than $100?
kinemax is offline  
post #185 of 309 Old 02-08-2010, 07:33 AM
Senior Member
 
iboum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pepster returns View Post

According to WD, the WDTV does not support 1080P 25fps or 30fps.

WD's specs here : http://www.wdc.com/en/products/Products.asp?DriveID=735

"- H.264 MP@L4.1 and HP@4.1 up to 1920x1080p24, 1920x1080i30, or 1280x720p60 resolution. "

Nor does it support the common .flv files from Youtube and Vimeo, and the .mts HD AVCHD files from my Panny TZ7 camera are not listed there either.

As a HD media player, avoid the WDTV.

I use a Noontec A6 - plays everything, including 45Mbs H264 30fps 1080P files from the CANON 7D, and plays Youtube and Vimeo .flv files also !

100Mbs wired network is a little too slow for smooth playing of blu-ray, but it seems ok with 19Mbs TZ7 camera files.

You can copy your high bitrate files over the network to a pocket HDD attached to the Noontec A6 (eg WD Passport) and the A6 will then play all files just fine.

BTW, the A6 is less than $100 now and is waaay better then the WDTV, and cheaper too.

I am adding the Noontec A6 and V8 to my site.

You appear to have something to do with Noontec so could you please clarify for me the the chipset in each? I am sure both are Realtek 1073 but is it the DTS 1073DD or the non-DTS 1073DA version? Sources online are unclear. Are there two versions of each product, one DTS and one not?

Thanks.
iboum is offline  
post #186 of 309 Old 02-09-2010, 11:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Lt. Dang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pepster returns View Post

According to WD, the WDTV does not support 1080P 25fps or 30fps.

WD's specs here : http://www.wdc.com/en/products/Products.asp?DriveID=735

"- H.264 MP@L4.1 and HP@4.1 up to 1920x1080p24, 1920x1080i30, or 1280x720p60 resolution. "

Regardless of what the specs say, and how many times you keep posting this comment, it is obvious that you don't actually own a WDTV or a WDTV Live.

I own both and they both play back 1080p 25fps and 30fps files without any issues whatsoever. In fact, any reasonably knowledgeable person would understand that an HD badged media player which could not do this would be pretty much useless?

Regards,

Lt. Dang

It's life Jim..... But not as we know it.
Lt. Dang is offline  
post #187 of 309 Old 02-09-2010, 07:47 PM
Member
 
TUFU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: asia
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I owned 3 media players. All made in China and these are Himedia HD8A(SIGMA 8635)
Aigo p8126(SIGMA 8655),and Himedia HD300A(REALTEK 1073).

Pepster said "As a HD media player, avoid the WDTV." which I can't agree.
At least,the realtek 1073 can't bitstream HD audio which I think is the must to have for HD fans . With the same sigma chip 8655,WDTV Live can only bitstream DolbyTrue HD but not DTS-HD but Aigo P8126 can bitstream both audios. So,they had a recall of earlier machines in last Dec.

If you can read Chinese, you will know that Nontech A6 had been with some problems including the earliest machines equipped with 1073DA not 1073DD and also some earlier machines with small flash(1G vs 2G) causing dead machine on newest firmware upgrade.
TUFU is offline  
post #188 of 309 Old 02-15-2010, 06:53 PM
Member
 
kinemax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In looking at the iboum Media Player Comparison table, I noticed that some players have only 32MB Flash while others have 512MB or even more, and I am wondering why there is such a big variation and what the practical implications of having large vs. small flash memory size are.
kinemax is offline  
post #189 of 309 Old 02-22-2010, 02:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
Pepster returns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lt. Dang View Post

Regardless of what the specs say, and how many times you keep posting this comment, it is obvious that you don't actually own a WDTV or a WDTV Live.

I own both and they both play back 1080p 25fps and 30fps files without any issues whatsoever. In fact, any reasonably knowledgeable person would understand that an HD badged media player which could not do this would be pretty much useless?

Regards,

Lt. Dang

I must have posted the WDTV cannot do 1080 / 30P at least a dozen times.

I appreciate that I finally have a replay from some one that the WDTV can do this - even though the WD web site says it cannot.

Do the other WDTV owners concur that the WDTV can do 1080 / 30P?

If so, then WD is doing itself a disservice by not listing this capability.

BTW, my first HTPC was 12 years ago, long before anybody I know was doing this. Now I run the Noontech A6 in to a 50" Panny plasma and a $10K+ HIFI.

My co-workers own e-Greats, eXtreamers, Popocornhour, Oppos etc - but no WDTVs !! - so I cannot verify your claims.
Pepster returns is offline  
post #190 of 309 Old 02-25-2010, 01:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Lt. Dang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pepster returns View Post

I must have posted the WDTV cannot do 1080 / 30P at least a dozen times.

I appreciate that I finally have a replay from some one that the WDTV can do this - even though the WD web site says it cannot.

Do the other WDTV owners concur that the WDTV can do 1080 / 30P?

If so, then WD is doing itself a disservice by not listing this capability.

BTW, my first HTPC was 12 years ago, long before anybody I know was doing this. Now I run the Noontech A6 in to a 50" Panny plasma and a $10K+ HIFI.

My co-workers own e-Greats, eXtreamers, Popocornhour, Oppos etc - but no WDTVs !! - so I cannot verify your claims.

Don't be silly.
We don't need verification from you.

It's life Jim..... But not as we know it.
Lt. Dang is offline  
post #191 of 309 Old 02-27-2010, 02:35 PM
Member
 
Malakei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there any conclusions on what the best middleman is for the hd media player gig right now? I wouldnt be looking to spend a fortune or id just use a universal. In fact i wonder if my oppo 970hd would play some of this stuff. Im looking for something i can plug an external into and play sd to hd video. The more formats it supports the better but even the typicals would probabaly be fine. avi,mkv,wmv etc etc.

Anyone?
Malakei is offline  
post #192 of 309 Old 03-12-2010, 10:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
PathofNeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 19
My WDTV plays 1080p @ 25 or 30 frames perfectly with no judder, as I can select them from the list on my first gen WDTV player. Picture is perfect on my Pioneer 5020.
PathofNeo is offline  
post #193 of 309 Old 03-12-2010, 11:15 AM
Member
 
citrixguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by smockb View Post

Hi Guys, I am currently using the WDTV Live- I have about 15 days Left before I can return it- Can someone make a recommendation for a media player that would fit these characteristics. (Same file support or greater than WDTV + Mp4 support-) The Biggie is I need to be able to search on Genre for my videos + Fan art / movie descriptions would be awesome. At least 1 or 2 Usb ports. 720p/1080p, Hdmi (in a nut shell good file support and something with a great presentation. I really am not interested in hacked firmware-

Have a strong look at the AC Ryan PlayonHD. I think you would be very happy with it

Chris Daly

Owner

www.MediaStreamingStore.com

Authorized reseller of AC Ryan PlayON!HD
citrixguy is offline  
post #194 of 309 Old 03-13-2010, 09:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PJO1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm shopping for a media player. Right now the Prodigi PD-100N is the front runner. I'm looking for something I can network, that will play iso files while maintaining access to the menus, as well as play mkv files. It needs to have HDMI out as well and I'd like to keep it under $100. From what I've read, the PD-100N fits the bill. I haven't seen a single negative review on-line, which is very rare. One question I have... if it's networked, will I be able to pop a DVD in my computer and be able to play the file through the Prodigi without ripping it first? It sounds far-fetched, but I was just wondering. Usually before I would play a DVD I would rip it first, but sometimes a friend will bring over a DVD to watch, and I'd rather not wait for the rip.
PJO1966 is offline  
post #195 of 309 Old 03-16-2010, 05:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PJO1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I also wanted to add a thumb's up for Prodigi's tech support. I posted a question regarding setting up the PD-100N with a Mac, and they said they would post instructions on their download page in a few days. Very quick response and very helpful! I will probably be ordering one of these within the next few days. Just waiting for the budget to free up some cash.
PJO1966 is offline  
post #196 of 309 Old 03-16-2010, 06:19 PM
Member
 
gabner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Media player STB with builtin torrent search
Looking for an HD media player device with built-in torrent search.

Not just a downloader like the cinematube but the ability to browse for torrents or add an RSS feed to grab any new tv episode.

Does such a device exist?

Panasonic TH-50PH9UK
Expressvu 6200
gabner is offline  
post #197 of 309 Old 03-19-2010, 07:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PJO1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gabner View Post

Media player STB with builtin torrent search
Looking for an HD media player device with built-in torrent search.

Not just a downloader like the cinematube but the ability to browse for torrents or add an RSS feed to grab any new tv episode.

Does such a device exist?

I'd like an answer to this as well. I'm ready to purchase, and am leaning towards the Prodigi but would prefer something that can download torrents directly. The original post in this thread is out of date, so I'm open to suggestions.
PJO1966 is offline  
post #198 of 309 Old 03-20-2010, 12:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PJO1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by PJO1966 View Post

I'd like an answer to this as well. I'm ready to purchase, and am leaning towards the Prodigi but would prefer something that can download torrents directly. The original post in this thread is out of date, so I'm open to suggestions.

After reading Prodigi's website, I found that it does download torrents. Order placed on eBay for $87.99 (I think they have 3 more).
PJO1966 is offline  
post #199 of 309 Old 03-27-2010, 07:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PJO1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by PJO1966 View Post

I also wanted to add a thumb's up for Prodigi's tech support. I posted a question regarding setting up the PD-100N with a Mac, and they said they would post instructions on their download page in a few days. Very quick response and very helpful! I will probably be ordering one of these within the next few days. Just waiting for the budget to free up some cash.

I take back the thumbs up. They still have yet to post the network setup instructions for Mac. Also, I posted on Wednesday that I was unable to upgrade the firmware. Mine shipped with 1.1 and they are up to 1.4. I was instructed to e-mail my contact info, which I did. I still have not heard from them.

Does anyone know where they are located? I'm guessing somewhere out of the country, but I have no idea where.
PJO1966 is offline  
post #200 of 309 Old 04-04-2010, 06:47 PM
Member
 
ILv2Xlr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PJO1966 View Post

After reading Prodigi's website, I found that it does download torrents. Order placed on eBay for $87.99 (I think they have 3 more).

Will the Prodigi play FLAC files from a NAS on the network?

Are there any screen shots of the GUI anywhere?
ILv2Xlr8 is offline  
post #201 of 309 Old 04-04-2010, 09:37 PM
Member
 
ChristopherN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Chandler, AZ, USA
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ILv2Xlr8 View Post

Will the Prodigi play FLAC files from a NAS on the network?

Are there any screen shots of the GUI anywhere?

I looked at the user manual here:
http://www.prodigiusa.com/en_page_download.php

There are some screen shots in that .pdf

FLAC is supported but it does not specifically say FLAC files from a NAS.

Looks tempting for me but I am still learning....
ChristopherN is offline  
post #202 of 309 Old 04-05-2010, 05:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PJO1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just a warning for those interested in a Prodigi, they haven't really thought out how well it plays with a Mac. If you have a PC you should be fine. I've kind of been left to figure stuff out for myself. They claim to have a MacBook to test with, but I don't think they've gotten around to it. I've gotten to the point where it does everything I need it to do. If I want to use other features, I'll figure it out when I get there. For the moment, I can transfer files to the NAS from my MacBook Pro and play them from there. I haven't attempted to stream anything or download a torrent directly from the device. It's just quicker to download to my MBP, transfer the files to the NAS, and watch from there.

That being said, I couldn't be happier with the picture and sound quality. I've played a lot of mkv files downloaded off the internet as well as .iso files ripped from my own DVDs. It really works well. The GUI is very basic, but it gets the job done. The only complaint I have is that the remote needs to be pointed directly at the sensor in order to work. With all the other devices in my home theater, I just need to point in the general direction and it is good enough. The Prodigi is definitely the exception.

Apparently there was supposed to be a firmware update on Friday, but it has not shown up on the website yet.
PJO1966 is offline  
post #203 of 309 Old 04-12-2010, 01:00 AM
Newbie
 
ProJE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Heard the news about Prodigi will change to the new remote in the future shipment, but not sure the date yet. I think it could solve the problems that users complain.
ProJE is offline  
post #204 of 309 Old 04-12-2010, 09:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PJO1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProJE View Post

Heard the news about Prodigi will change to the new remote in the future shipment, but not sure the date yet. I think it could solve the problems that users complain.

I would pay for a remote that works.
PJO1966 is offline  
post #205 of 309 Old 04-12-2010, 09:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MidnightWatcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Great White North
Posts: 6,011
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PJO1966 View Post

I would pay for a remote that works.

For an excellent, inexpensive learning universal remote I recommend the AVEX URC R6.

Please feel free to visit MidnightWatcher's Blogspot or follow my NEWS feed on Twitter.
MidnightWatcher is offline  
post #206 of 309 Old 04-12-2010, 09:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PJO1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks, but I've found my partner does better with specific remotes for specific purposes. Buttons that have different functions depending on what mode you are in became confusing.
PJO1966 is offline  
post #207 of 309 Old 04-24-2010, 07:58 AM
Member
 
cleland500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lansing, MI area
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm a novice to the extender/streamer world but have been doing a few weeks worth of reading here and elsewhere online. I was originally interested in an extender that works with Vista MC or Win7 MC. I was thinking of going with the DMA2100 because of its "always on" capability and how quiet it is. Now after having read more about the PD-100N I am leaning that way. Will it play my DVDs over my network that I've stored using DVDshrink(Video_TS & Audio_TS files) on my Vista PC? What about Netflix?
cleland500 is offline  
post #208 of 309 Old 04-24-2010, 09:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PJO1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by cleland500 View Post

I'm a novice to the extender/streamer world but have been doing a few weeks worth of reading here and elsewhere online. I was originally interested in an extender that works with Vista MC or Win7 MC. I was thinking of going with the DMA2100 because of its "always on" capability and how quiet it is. Now after having read more about the PD-100N I am leaning that way. Will it play my DVDs over my network that I've stored using DVDshrink(Video_TS & Audio_TS files) on my Vista PC? What about Netflix?

They're supposed to be adding Netflix at some point, but they're not there yet. I haven't tried to play Video_TS & Audio_TS files that are on my computer, but they do play from the hard drive I have connected to the PD-100N. It stands to reason it will play them from the pc as well.
PJO1966 is offline  
post #209 of 309 Old 04-25-2010, 04:35 PM
Member
 
cleland500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lansing, MI area
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great news, I'll be checking this out even more.
cleland500 is offline  
post #210 of 309 Old 05-05-2010, 12:11 PM
Senior Member
 
MitsuHelp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: MoreHead NC
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Prodigi's site is down so I could not download the pdf....can someone answer if it will run youtube and other web stuff?

Thanks!
MitsuHelp is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off