Western Digital - WD TV Live Media Player (WDTV2) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7092 Old 08-20-2009, 03:42 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
soudmaijer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The WD TV Live Media Player, a.k.a WDTV2, is up for pre-order in a few Dutch webshops! The price is fair I think, +/- 115 euro!

You can find the link to the webshops here: http://tweakers.net/pricewatch/24504...ia-player.html

Release date: 10? September 2009



The WD TV™ Live HD Media Player from Western Digital has everything you need to play your HD media collection and the fun stuff you find on the web in brilliant HD 1080p on your big screen HDTV. Because it supports a wide variety of file types, you can instantly enjoy all your home digital media, regardless of the file format. Plus you get direct access to a huge selection of video, photos, and music from popular internet sites like YouTube, Flickr, Live 365, and Pandora (U.S. only) right from the beautifully easy WDTV navigation screen. The WD TV Live HD media player is exceptionally easy to use so anyone in the family can do it and, because it’s networked, you can easily access media from any PC in the home.
LL
soudmaijer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7092 Old 08-20-2009, 04:22 AM
Senior Member
 
sinker442's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can you give a link?
Do they have a date?
sinker442 is offline  
post #3 of 7092 Old 08-20-2009, 04:57 AM
Member
 
YukonJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Awesome. Pandora! I wonder if you could point it to Shoutcast as well? I am seriously considering this upgrade, I love my current WDTV, and I just installed a Netgear homeplug (4 port) at the entertainment center.
YukonJack is offline  
post #4 of 7092 Old 08-20-2009, 05:08 AM
Member
 
YukonJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BTW, looks like its about 135 bux preorder over at MacMall

http://www.macmall.com/ttsvr/p/Weste...cb#pdpOverview
YukonJack is offline  
post #5 of 7092 Old 08-20-2009, 03:43 PM
Member
 
Kevenz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
it seems to use the exact same UI/processor as the original.

so it's wd tv 1.5 not wdtv 2
Kevenz is offline  
post #6 of 7092 Old 08-20-2009, 03:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevenz View Post

it seems to use the exact same UI/processor as the original.

so it's wd tv 1.5 not wdtv 2

Hey they got the two most wanted things, network and dts. But if it still has the same issues with HD + subs thats pretty weak. And I've never had an issue with mine but obviously some people do.
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #7 of 7092 Old 08-20-2009, 10:19 PM
Member
 
daphatty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Comcast - NorCal
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Neither one of those links take you to anything WDTV 2 related. I don't think this is what you think it is. Even the picture the OP embedded is of the WDTV 1.
daphatty is offline  
post #8 of 7092 Old 08-20-2009, 11:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
mytbyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevenz View Post

it seems to use the exact same UI/processor as the original.

Hmm, how can you tell...???

anyway, the hypothesis around here is that the processor on the current WDTV is weak and that another processor would be better/faster...that's wishful thinking...other/newer processors add support for control of additional hardware and some more embedded functions...but not much more power per se: they're about the same power for general applications the Sigma in WDTV is...the really big breakthrough would be if mkv extracting were hardware-embedded in the chip which requires licensing and support from Corecodec since they own the container now...what WDTV2 actually needs is more memory and perhaps a tad smarter programming...in the end, what do you care what's inside if it gets the job done...
mytbyte is offline  
post #9 of 7092 Old 08-21-2009, 01:08 AM
Member
 
betaboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We are the ones that helped create the Matroska container from the beginning... and sure we (CoreCodec) owns the trademarks, and copyrights, but there is NO cost for licensing and Matroska and it will always be free to use in any product.

We just want to see AVI die ;-)

Founder CoreCodec

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
betaboy is offline  
post #10 of 7092 Old 08-21-2009, 01:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
mytbyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Are you for real?

anyway, no one mentioned cost...but there shoud be SOME approval or support from YOU right???
mytbyte is offline  
post #11 of 7092 Old 08-21-2009, 06:32 AM
Member
 
a big jerk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by betaboy View Post

We are the ones that helped create the Matroska container from the beginning... and sure we (CoreCodec) owns the trademarks, and copyrights, but there is NO cost for licensing and Matroska and it will always be free to use in any product.

We just want to see AVI die ;-)

I love you.
a big jerk is offline  
post #12 of 7092 Old 08-21-2009, 08:10 AM
Member
 
betaboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
$0 cost = Free = implement at no cost in any software of hardware product.... Sure we have 'Sponsors' no diff then Mozilla, XMPP, etc. but those have not been announced yet.

Did I say we want AVI to die yet? ;-)

Founder CoreCodec

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
betaboy is offline  
post #13 of 7092 Old 08-21-2009, 08:18 AM
Member
 
lmaolmao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
they got my money for WDTV they certainly aren't getting it for this. I think theres a fair few people who felt that the WDTV was undersupported and abandoned far too quickly.
lmaolmao is offline  
post #14 of 7092 Old 08-21-2009, 01:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
mytbyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by betaboy View Post

Did I say we want AVI to die yet? ;-)

I thought it was dead already
mytbyte is offline  
post #15 of 7092 Old 08-21-2009, 07:05 PM
Member
 
Kevenz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
avi doesn't mean much these days..... it's just an extension.

nobody use real uncompressed avi since 1990.
Kevenz is offline  
post #16 of 7092 Old 08-21-2009, 07:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by betaboy View Post

We are the ones that helped create the Matroska container from the beginning... and sure we (CoreCodec) owns the trademarks, and copyrights, but there is NO cost for licensing and Matroska and it will always be free to use in any product.

We just want to see AVI die ;-)

Hey thanks for your great product man!!!!!
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #17 of 7092 Old 08-21-2009, 09:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
theWalkinator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Philly Suburb
Posts: 726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still no support for rm and rmvb, disappointed.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theWalkinator is offline  
post #18 of 7092 Old 08-21-2009, 11:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
mytbyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevenz View Post

avi doesn't mean much these days..... it's just an extension.

nobody use real uncompressed avi since 1990.

That's actually not quite true: it's widely used as an export format for doing special effects on video footage in external applications so as not to lose quality through multiple compression...

AVI is not "just an extension", it's a container format, just as mkv is, but with far less flexibility and features...
mytbyte is offline  
post #19 of 7092 Old 08-22-2009, 11:00 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,056
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 17
$100 or below, i'll check
zoro is offline  
post #20 of 7092 Old 08-22-2009, 11:08 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,056
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by YukonJack View Post

BTW, looks like its about 135 bux preorder over at MacMall

http://www.macmall.com/ttsvr/p/Weste...cb#pdpOverview

nothing @ link
zoro is offline  
post #21 of 7092 Old 08-22-2009, 11:46 AM
Member
 
YukonJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoro View Post

nothing @ link

Yeah, I guess they must have pulled it or something. It no longer shows up on their search engine either.
YukonJack is offline  
post #22 of 7092 Old 08-22-2009, 12:56 PM
Senior Member
 
joshjoshlol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
much as i loved my original WDTV, i could never see myself upgrading boxes and slapping down $130 if we're getting roughly the same machine processor power-wise but with small and unnecessary things like audio boosts and networking capabilities that i won't use anyways.

i really wish scottwd or guywd would swoop in and ease our worries by being more candid with what this machine has to offer beyond bells and whistles; they used to be more transparent and forthcoming with the WDTV fanbase and that was something that i highly respected with WD... though i can imagine that with all the bile and vitriol that the users here spew out, it's not surprising that they've not really shown themselves.
joshjoshlol is offline  
post #23 of 7092 Old 08-22-2009, 04:33 PM
Member
 
YukonJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They probably feel burned by trying to be transparent and then facing people who cannot be pleased. Afrsa may never be happy with WD given his/her past experiences with their product and what he believed he should have been given as a customer. In the end, they are a business and while they want most people to be happy, they know they cannot make everyone happy.

I wish people who cannot be made happy just post their dissatisfaction and then move on with their lives. This incessant harping is killing these forums.
YukonJack is offline  
post #24 of 7092 Old 08-22-2009, 06:24 PM
Member
 
zerozed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i'm sure some of you guys feel like you have a legit beef with WD for regarding the WDTV, but personally I love mine. I haven't had any major issues with mine. I've got a crap-ton of films with a number of codecs & formats that the device has handled well. For a first-generation type product I've been pretty impressed. All that said--the WDTV Live might not be as good a box as others on the market. I'll wait till it's out to figure out which one to buy.

Here's the current link to the WDTV Live at MacMall:
LINK
zerozed is offline  
post #25 of 7092 Old 08-22-2009, 11:39 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,056
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by zerozed View Post

i'm sure some of you guys feel like you have a legit beef with WD for regarding the WDTV, but personally I love mine. I haven't had any major issues with mine. I've got a crap-ton of films with a number of codecs & formats that the device has handled well. For a first-generation type product I've been pretty impressed. All that said--the WDTV Live might not be as good a box as others on the market. I'll wait till it's out to figure out which one to buy.

Here's the current link to the WDTV Live at MacMall:
LINK

no details, no specs!
zoro is offline  
post #26 of 7092 Old 08-23-2009, 04:14 PM
Member
 
YukonJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoro View Post

no details, no specs!

OMG, OMG, OMG!!!!!!

Clearly it was taken off the Macmall site. It was there earlier but has now vanished.

Greg
YukonJack is offline  
post #27 of 7092 Old 08-24-2009, 03:07 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 22,875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 358
posts deleted/ a member banned from this thread
markrubin is offline  
post #28 of 7092 Old 08-24-2009, 08:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Hmmm I wonder who it was.

I'm sure we'll see the wdtv2 very soon, and get some better details.
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #29 of 7092 Old 08-24-2009, 11:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
mytbyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I don't know...If it's not on WD site, it doesn't exist...yet...logical, no?
mytbyte is offline  
post #30 of 7092 Old 08-27-2009, 11:59 PM
Newbie
 
ormanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
no it is not. read this one and find restock date komplett.ie/k/ki.aspx?sku=493316
ormanton is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off