Dune HD Base 3.0 and Prime 3.0 on Sigma 8642 in Q4 2009 - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 6075 Old 12-10-2009, 09:02 PM
Member
 
wiatrak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Gdansk, PL
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
System memory? Why producers of BD players (including Sony f.e.) not use some I.C. on P.C.B., instead of USB siticks?




Photo above is from last IFA, and photo below was shot in november; it is production model.



"...Those who go beneath the surface do so at their peril..."
Don Quixote was a villain! http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/Windmill
wiatrak is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 6075 Old 12-10-2009, 10:14 PM
Member
 
Sparkss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArthurPower View Post

Please note not all flash drives are compatible.


I had the same issue with finding one for our prime 1.0. Some flash drives also aren't really rated for 24/7 usage (even though the unit isn't on that much, I still had overheating problems with some brands flash drives... but that was many moons ago and I don't remember which ones didn't work now).

The HDI FW devs can whip up a .dsf for just about anything, can't they ?



As a general note, it is not uncommon for BD players to require external storage to play a BD. There were reports of a Panasonic or maybe a Sony that wouldn't play certain BDs w/o at least a 1 GB flash drive plugged into the USB slot on the back. If you called into their tech support and complained about playback of a BD one of the first things they asked was if you had a flash drive plugged in or not. So HDI is not the odd man out when it comes to using USB flash drives, but they have a history of not quite getting it right the first time out the factory door (for each model now it seems).

BTW, thanks for the picts wiatrak
Sparkss is offline  
post #453 of 6075 Old 12-11-2009, 03:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
bluewhale1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 729
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Hey does the Dune 3.0 take 3.5 inch internal sata hard drives? Reason i ask is i'm looking at the manual(pdf) and it only mentions 2.5 inch(laptop) hard drives and not 3.5 desktop hard drives
bluewhale1 is offline  
post #454 of 6075 Old 12-11-2009, 03:43 AM
Member
 
wiatrak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Gdansk, PL
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
2,5". Not enough space, I assume. Enclosure is too compact.




BTW. This is not mine Dune, unfortunately...
Pictures was posted on: http://hdtvpolska.com/index.php?showtopic=17684&st=20

"...Those who go beneath the surface do so at their peril..."
Don Quixote was a villain! http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/Windmill
wiatrak is offline  
post #455 of 6075 Old 12-11-2009, 04:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
bluewhale1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 729
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 19
That looks like the Prime with the drive. What about the Base version which is the one i am going to buy? At duneplayer.com there is an option for a 2tb internal hard drive.
bluewhale1 is offline  
post #456 of 6075 Old 12-11-2009, 04:43 AM
Member
 
wiatrak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Gdansk, PL
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Base is another story, it has a 3,5" SATA bay.

"...Those who go beneath the surface do so at their peril..."
Don Quixote was a villain! http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/Windmill
wiatrak is offline  
post #457 of 6075 Old 12-11-2009, 04:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
bluewhale1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 729
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by wiatrak View Post

Base is another story, it has a 3,5" SATA bay.

Ahhh thank you wiatrak
bluewhale1 is offline  
post #458 of 6075 Old 12-11-2009, 05:54 AM
 
CCONKLIN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Oswego IL 60543
Posts: 2,461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GotHDTV? View Post

CCONKLIN1, just curious when did you order it?

I ordered mine back in August and I'm wondering where I might be in line.

Thanks in advance

Golly, It has been forever. I could not even tell you. I originally ordered the 2.0 and they just changed it to a 3.0...
CCONKLIN1 is offline  
post #459 of 6075 Old 12-11-2009, 06:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GotHDTV?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chevy Chase, MD
Posts: 1,313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCONKLIN1 View Post

Golly, It has been forever. I could not even tell you. I originally ordered the 2.0 and they just changed it to a 3.0...

Guess you ordered with DC then? Like I said before, I ordered back when it was 2.0 too. I guess if you were so inclined you could log into your account at DC and see the order date.....


Thanks in advance if you do (and post).
GotHDTV? is offline  
post #460 of 6075 Old 12-11-2009, 07:28 AM
Senior Member
 
elove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kei Clark View Post

Believe me, we've mulled it over and we've already went over all the options you maybe thinking. Hopefully, this will be resolved in a few hours with certainty as to whether this can be corrected easily by the user, or we have to get it recalled back to fix.


Kei,

Has DC made a decision on whether or not to recall. My unit shipped on 12/9 and is scheduled to arrive on 12/15. I would rather you recall my unit and install the system drive.

Thanks
elove is offline  
post #461 of 6075 Old 12-11-2009, 08:10 AM
 
CCONKLIN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Oswego IL 60543
Posts: 2,461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GotHDTV? View Post

Guess you ordered with DC then? Like I said before, I ordered back when it was 2.0 too. I guess if you were so inclined you could log into your account at DC and see the order date.....


Thanks in advance if you do (and post).

did not think about that so I did. July 14th was when I ordered. I also have a Base on order as well.
scheduled for delivery on 12/15. Hope it does not have to go back...
CCONKLIN1 is offline  
post #462 of 6075 Old 12-11-2009, 03:53 PM
Member
 
Dawgneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: So Cal
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just learned that HDI will enable .trp file playback in the next firmware update

Hopefully this will help others with their purchase decision.

Thanks to Kei, Arthur, Mike and everyone else who helped me with this matter!
Dawgneck is offline  
post #463 of 6075 Old 12-11-2009, 05:27 PM
Senior Member
 
elove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kei Clark View Post

RedSox,

It's true, we have a few units that went out yesterday and there is a possibility that they need to be called back already.....they work fine but they don't have proper 2GB "system drive" setup. Without going into too much detail, there is a good possibility that we will need parts sent to us before we can resume shipping. Hang tight as I hope we will get more information in the next few hours to determine how best to handle this.

For those who had units shipped to them, again hang tight until we get confirmation, but we may have to send out call tags for these to be returned.


Kei,

Does this mean the unit will require a permanent USB Flash Drive in order to play certain Blu Ray Disks or is this some type of mini firm ware update needed but you need to us a Flash Drive to do it.

Thanks
elove is offline  
post #464 of 6075 Old 12-11-2009, 06:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kei Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Huntington Beach, CA, US
Posts: 4,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by elove View Post

Kei,

Does this mean the unit will require a permanent USB Flash Drive in order to play certain Blu Ray Disks or is this some type of mini firm ware update needed but you need to us a Flash Drive to do it.

Thanks

Yes, it needs the USB flash drive which is already installed in the units that were shipped. The drive needs to be configured as "system storage" which is used for primarily for BD Live functions.
Kei Clark is offline  
post #465 of 6075 Old 12-11-2009, 06:23 PM
Senior Member
 
malcolmp6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Kei,
When can customers who ordered a Base 3.0 in early October expect to receive their units?

Thanks.
malcolmp6 is offline  
post #466 of 6075 Old 12-11-2009, 06:42 PM
Member
 
ArthurPower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The USB flash drive is primarily required for Blu-ray live support, and Bit Torrent support. It provides the cache needed for both. If you do not care about bonus online Blu-ray content, or Bit Torrent, then the USB drive is not required. However, it might also be needed to enable future add-ons like Netflix.


Arthur
DunePlayer.com
ArthurPower is offline  
post #467 of 6075 Old 12-11-2009, 07:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kei Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Huntington Beach, CA, US
Posts: 4,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by malcolmp6 View Post

Kei,
When can customers who ordered a Base 3.0 in early October expect to receive their units?

Thanks.

Next week.
Kei Clark is offline  
post #468 of 6075 Old 12-11-2009, 08:33 PM
Member
 
Mike:SH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kei Clark View Post

Next week.

Thanks Kei,for good news.
Mike:SH is offline  
post #469 of 6075 Old 12-11-2009, 08:41 PM
Member
 
ArthurPower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We finally received an update today that the players are scheduled for delivery to our warehouse Monday. There have been a lot of delays caused by the huge amount of goods coming in from China, into JFK air port, and then having to go through customs this year. It looks like people are really spending there money this season for gifts!

Unfortunately, everything is closed Saturday and Sunday. So the Primes & Bases are just sitting in NY till Monday. It's killing us we want them NOW just as bad as you!

If they arrive Monday as scheduled, we will be testing and boxing them up all night, so they're ready to start shipping out Tuesday (to all of our very patient customers).


Arthur
DunePlayer.com
ArthurPower is offline  
post #470 of 6075 Old 12-11-2009, 09:29 PM
Member
 
ArthurPower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We are currently testing the beta firmware just released for the Prime 3.0
Many new features have been added. Take a look HERE. If there is anything anyone wants us to test please let us know.

We will NOT be shipping the units with this Beta firmware. It is recommend that you wait for a production release to ensure stability.


Arthur
DunePlayer.com
ArthurPower is offline  
post #471 of 6075 Old 12-11-2009, 10:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vinodk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Camarillo, California
Posts: 2,245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I am looking at Prime 3.0 to use with my legacy receiver with multichannel analog inputs. Does the player decode HD codecs & output it via MCH analog? Looked at the manual but it doesn't tell you anything about the speaker setup. I am wondering if this player has any speaker setup options such as crossover, levels & delay for 7.1 analog out.

Vinod
vinodk is offline  
post #472 of 6075 Old 12-11-2009, 11:41 PM
Member
 
Digz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10



Can the front mount slide in caddy for Hardrives be bought in a PC bay version as i could do with one for a Mitx build.




.
Digz is offline  
post #473 of 6075 Old 12-11-2009, 11:42 PM
Member
 
ArthurPower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
vinodk Yes, the 3.0 Dune Players decode and output all HD audio formats via the 8 RCA analog output jacks. They are line level with no menu options of any type. All level adjustments must be handled by your receiver amplifier.


Arthur
DunePlayer.com
ArthurPower is offline  
post #474 of 6075 Old 12-11-2009, 11:50 PM
Member
 
ArthurPower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Digz The removable drive bay does not require a caddy or tray. A bare hard drive just slides in and out. You can purchase one of these for your PC. Like THIS one. I love these things. I have them in all my computers.


Arthur
DunePlayer.com
ArthurPower is offline  
post #475 of 6075 Old 12-11-2009, 11:59 PM
Member
 
Digz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OMG ArthurPower i love you

I've been after something like that for ages but only ever seen them for 2.5" drives and have just wasted loads of money on 3.5" external HDD docks.

I will now sell them and buy the removable drive bays for my computers

Thanks Arthur and sorry for going off topic .
Digz is offline  
post #476 of 6075 Old 12-12-2009, 12:10 AM
Member
 
ArthurPower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Digz View Post

OMG ArthurPower i love you

I've been after something like that for ages but only ever seen them for 2.5" drives and have just wasted loads of money on 3.5" external HDD docks.

I will now sell them and buy the removable drive bays for my computers

Thanks Arthur and sorry for going off topic .

Digz Glad I could help. No need to apologize, it's all related. There are always several topics going on at the same time on this thread.

These drive bays are so simple yet so cool, you have to ask why didn't someone think of this sooner!


Arthur
DunePlayer.com
ArthurPower is offline  
post #477 of 6075 Old 12-12-2009, 01:32 AM
Member
 
RedSoxInHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Nashua, NH.
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got my tracking number from UPS, can hardly wait!!!
RedSoxInHD is offline  
post #478 of 6075 Old 12-12-2009, 12:27 PM
Member
 
burndawgz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will the Dune support playback of MKVs with H.264 profiles above 4.1... 5.0/5.1 range?
burndawgz is offline  
post #479 of 6075 Old 12-12-2009, 12:37 PM
Member
 
burndawgz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Didn't see it in the most recent FW beta. Any rough guesses?
burndawgz is offline  
post #480 of 6075 Old 12-12-2009, 01:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
bluewhale1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 729
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArthurPower View Post

Digz The removable drive bay does not require a caddy or tray. A bare hard drive just slides in and out. You can purchase one of these for your PC. Like THIS one. I love these things. I have them in all my computers.


Arthur
DunePlayer.com

Thanks. I just ordered one myself.
bluewhale1 is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Dune Hd Base3d Media Player , Xbox 360 Console , Popcorn Hour C 200 Networked Media Tank Black

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off