Dune HD Base 3.0 and Prime 3.0 on Sigma 8642 in Q4 2009 - Page 25 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 6075 Old 12-25-2009, 09:01 PM
 
CCONKLIN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Oswego IL 60543
Posts: 2,461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike:SH View Post

Will check with my Dune Base.

CCONKLIN1 I by to from DC and i don't have any sticker on my unit?

I did not have a sticker on my Prime, my base did have a sticker..
best,
chris
CCONKLIN1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 6075 Old 12-25-2009, 09:25 PM
Member
 
RedSoxInHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Nashua, NH.
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay, I've finally had time to actually watch a movie on the Prime and comment on it. Christmas has been tough this year and it's taken great commitment on my part to keep from playing with the Prime and focus on presents and not that it's over...

Just watched X-Men Origins Wolverine. Pleased to say it played perfectly, no stutters at all. I did try to rewind which hung the system, I then had to reboot and was able to get back to the scene I left off on. Granted there are definitely some bugs that need to get worked out, but as I said there were no performance issues.

I ran a speed test on the iso image and it comes back at 9.9MBs. I watched the movie at 1080p 60hz.

I use a ReadyNas NV+ for storage. My home consists of a wired network consisting of various components. I will say that the NAS and Prime are in the same room connected to each other through a 10/100/1000 switch. The switch connects the room to the rest of the house. I have Gigabit support disabled on the Prime.
RedSoxInHD is offline  
post #723 of 6075 Old 12-25-2009, 09:55 PM
Member
 
skipuppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok after not seeing any problems on a few movies. The family was watching a movie tonight and we had a brief run in with this bug. Very short pause then slow motion for a few seconds. Before and After this everything was very smooth. Went back and replayed the section that stuttered and had no trouble. This was using an external hdd usb connection with the drive about half full. This will only be problem if it becomes more frequent. I did defrag this drive yesterday. So it should be good to go. All of these movies played fine on my WDTV.
Skipuppy
skipuppy is offline  
post #724 of 6075 Old 12-25-2009, 11:45 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
CINERAMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Pining for the Taiga
Posts: 12,796
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 85
No Middle Atlantic Rackshelf for this on their database...

I wonder if one has to ship one in for measurement.
CINERAMAX is offline  
post #725 of 6075 Old 12-26-2009, 12:48 AM
Member
 
aronsonstack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opentoe View Post

"Little" off topic, what do you like better....AnyDVDHD or DVDFab? HD?

For dvds, doesn't matter. For Blu Rays, AnydvdHD... no competition.
aronsonstack is offline  
post #726 of 6075 Old 12-26-2009, 10:15 AM
Newbie
 
yetanotherspinne's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone noticed crashed blacks & whites on Base? For me it does look that way (if I compare it to my Oppo DBP-83). And I am seeing this when I am playing SD DVDs (over HDMI). But when I am playing HD test disk I don't see anything unusual. Looks like Full RGB instead of Limited RGB is passed in case of SD DVDs contents (and there is no explicit setting which could disable this behavior). Is there anyone else who could confirm this?
yetanotherspinne is offline  
post #727 of 6075 Old 12-26-2009, 03:01 PM
 
CCONKLIN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Oswego IL 60543
Posts: 2,461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by yetanotherspinne View Post

Has anyone noticed crashed blacks & whites on Base? For me it does look that way (if I compare it to my Oppo DBP-83). And I am seeing this when I am playing SD DVDs (over HDMI). But when I am playing HD test disk I don't see anything unusual. Looks like Full RGB instead of Limited RGB is passed in case of SD DVDs contents (and there is no explicit setting which could disable this behavior). Is there anyone else who could confirm this?

not noticing any crushed blacks, try a SD test disc...
Chris
CCONKLIN1 is offline  
post #728 of 6075 Old 12-26-2009, 06:07 PM
Member
 
RedSoxInHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Nashua, NH.
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Second test, Quantum of Solace. Played perfectly, though I didn't attempt to rewind during the movie as I'm too lazy to get up and reset the box if it locks again.

I did notice something peculiar when attempting to play some home videos (h264 HD mov files). I had 'HD Audio' disabled, I did this 'cause I use analog audio and figured why waste the processing power. With HD audio DISABLED I got sound, but no video from my videos. I re-enabled 'HD Audio' and the video and audio played back fine. Go figure.
RedSoxInHD is offline  
post #729 of 6075 Old 12-27-2009, 11:00 AM
Senior Member
 
elove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Dune wont play some of my ASF or MPEG4 file extensions.
Anyone else having this problem.
elove is offline  
post #730 of 6075 Old 12-27-2009, 12:04 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 71
I know one person mentioned but surprising haven't seen anyone else confirm. If possible can someone confirm that HD Audio bitstreaming is working from standalone mkv/m2ts files (TrueHD/DTS(MA) lights up on the AVR when playing these standalone files). Thanks.

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #731 of 6075 Old 12-27-2009, 03:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ejhuzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NEPA
Posts: 1,173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

I know one person mentioned but surprising haven't seen anyone else confirm. If possible can someone confirm that HD Audio bitstreaming is working from standalone mkv/m2ts files (TrueHD/DTS(MA) lights up on the AVR when playing these standalone files). Thanks.

+1 on this request.
ejhuzy is offline  
post #732 of 6075 Old 12-27-2009, 07:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

I know one person mentioned but surprising haven't seen anyone else confirm. If possible can someone confirm that HD Audio bitstreaming is working from standalone mkv/m2ts files (TrueHD/DTS(MA) lights up on the AVR when playing these standalone files). Thanks.

YES , It has been confirmed several time already.
blackssr is offline  
post #733 of 6075 Old 12-27-2009, 07:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mlknez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I have NOT upgraded to the latest beta firmware, but on the shipping firmware, the Dune Prime 3.0 will NOT bitstream Tru-HD and DTS-MA from .mkv and .m2ts files. The only thing that comes from those files right now are the core DTS and Dolby Digital compressed. It WILL bitstream the hi-res uncompressed audio on .iso files however.
mlknez is offline  
post #734 of 6075 Old 12-27-2009, 08:04 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlknez View Post

I have NOT upgraded to the latest beta firmware, but on the shipping firmware, the Dune Prime 3.0 will NOT bitstream Tru-HD and DTS-MA from .mkv and .m2ts files. The only thing that comes from those files right now are the core DTS and Dolby Digital compressed. It WILL bitstream the hi-res uncompressed audio on .iso files however.

So wait, blackssr states that bitstreaming is working yet you state that it isnt for standalone? Is the latest beta firmware supposedly able to bitstream standalones????

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #735 of 6075 Old 12-27-2009, 08:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mlknez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I just updated to the latest firmware and still am unable to get Tru-HD and DTS-MA bitstreamed out from stand-alone m2ts and mkv files. I still just get core compressed. ISO files still work fine. The new firmware did improve photo viewing and subtitles.
mlknez is offline  
post #736 of 6075 Old 12-27-2009, 08:39 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlknez View Post

I just updated to the latest firmware and still am unable to get Tru-HD and DTS-MA bitstreamed out from stand-alone m2ts and mkv files. I still just get core compressed. ISO files still work fine. The new firmware did improve photo viewing and subtitles.

OK, so maybe the people stating they get bitstream are either not talking about standalone m2ts/mkvs or are confusing seeing DTS light up on their receiver as being the same as DTS-MA?

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #737 of 6075 Old 12-27-2009, 09:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mlknez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

OK, so maybe the people stating they get bitstream are either not talking about standalone m2ts/mkvs or are confusing seeing DTS light up on their receiver as being the same as DTS-MA?

Could very well be. By the way, I am averaging a max read rate of 88Mbps over the 100Mbps link from the Dune to my Netgear ReadyNAS Pro using the Dune read test. Not too shabby I would say!
mlknez is offline  
post #738 of 6075 Old 12-27-2009, 10:18 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,038
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 970 Post(s)
Liked: 827
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlknez View Post

Could very well be. By the way, I am averaging a max read rate of 88Mbps over the 100Mbps link from the Dune to my Netgear ReadyNAS Pro using the Dune read test. Not too shabby I would say!

That speed should be expected from any storage device with a 100mbs connection. Anything less and something is not right.

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #739 of 6075 Old 12-28-2009, 05:01 AM
Member
 
Mart1001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Denon AVR-3808 and a Yamaha RX-V765 and I do get DTS HD MA and Dolby True HD let up on them when playing standalone .m2ts with my Dunes 3.0.
Also with bd.iso and playing from a bdmv folder.
I have seen more reports that some receivers do not work when bitstreaming the HD audio formats in standalone .m2ts, for example some Onkyo receivers.
Mart1001 is offline  
post #740 of 6075 Old 12-28-2009, 05:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
bluewhale1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 754
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Hey for those who put an internal drive in their Dune Base i wanted to know

1) Which drive did you put in it ie Western Digital 5400rpm, Seagate etc etc
2) How and what did you format the drive with(ie NTSF, Ext3, did you use something like partition Magic)

Any problems with internal drives installed?
bluewhale1 is online now  
post #741 of 6075 Old 12-28-2009, 06:19 AM
Member
 
ArthurPower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The best hard drive without a doubt to use in the Base is the WD Green series. They run very cool. Every other hard drive that I have tested runs way to hot in my opinion.

Regarding formating options, use EXT if you plan on keeping the drive in the Dune Player all the time, then you can write to it over the network. This also enables you to use the Bit Torrent feature.

There is an option to format the drive EXT built into the unit! Just highlight the hard drive and click the Pop Up Menu button (on the remote), then scroll down to Information and press Enter. Then scroll down to Format Disk and press Enter. Wait a few seconds and your done.

If you plan to shuttle your drive back and forth between a Windows system you will need to format the drive NTFS (so windows can recognize it). Formating NTFS can be done in Windows while the hard drive is connected to your computer.


Arthur
DunePlayer.com
ArthurPower is offline  
post #742 of 6075 Old 12-28-2009, 06:35 AM
Newbie
 
domipheo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody has this audio setup?

PCM (decode)
Hdmi audio on
Bluray Best quality

My Marantz SR5001 HDMI receiver displays perfect 5.1 multichannel image but I have no sound in center speaker.. in ac3 5.1 files..

Same files avi, mp4, wmv, mkv in 5.1 in PS3, pioneer dvd divx player... are playing ok.

Please, can anybody switch for a moment audio setup from bitstream (original) to PCM (decode) and try if you get sound from center speaker in films that are in AC3 5.1??

I'm worried... nobody can give a solution...

If it's a bug or a faulty unit
domipheo is offline  
post #743 of 6075 Old 12-28-2009, 06:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
bluewhale1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 754
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 20
As usual Arthur you are the man. I was thinking of getting the WD green drive but the reviews from newegg of a lot of doa drives scare me a little
bluewhale1 is online now  
post #744 of 6075 Old 12-28-2009, 07:14 AM
 
CCONKLIN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Oswego IL 60543
Posts: 2,461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluewhale1 View Post

As usual Arthur you are the man. I was thinking of getting the WD green drive but the reviews from newegg of a lot of doa drives scare me a little

I have had good luck with the samsung ones as well...
CCONKLIN1 is offline  
post #745 of 6075 Old 12-28-2009, 08:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
bluewhale1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 754
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCONKLIN1 View Post

I have had good luck with the samsung ones as well...

Which Samsung do you have? Is it this one?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822152202
bluewhale1 is online now  
post #746 of 6075 Old 12-28-2009, 12:20 PM
Member
 
jhnmdahl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having the same problem as others - stuttering playing BD movies, whether SMB, uPNP, etc. I can't believe this wasn't spotted before this was released (or that it hasn't been fixed with a firmware update yet).

Problem isn't movie or network related, as other computers and laptops on the same network play the movies fine.

John
jhnmdahl is offline  
post #747 of 6075 Old 12-28-2009, 12:37 PM
Member
 
alexwill22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Currently I have placed an order with digitalconnecton.com cause they still have some in stock. Well I tried to call them today to see if my order is going out today, but their phones are disconnected. I sent an email and if I don't get a response by 4pm eastern time I am cancelling the order.

Does anyone know where I can purchase a new base player in the U.S. and have them in stock?
alexwill22 is offline  
post #748 of 6075 Old 12-28-2009, 12:43 PM
 
CCONKLIN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Oswego IL 60543
Posts: 2,461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluewhale1 View Post

Which Samsung do you have? Is it this one?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822152202

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822152175
Have 6 of these and some Western Digital. Never a problem with the Sammy's, only one DOA of the WD's...
Best,
Chris
CCONKLIN1 is offline  
post #749 of 6075 Old 12-28-2009, 12:51 PM
Member
 
jleiii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexwill22 View Post

Currently I have placed an order with digitalconnecton.com cause they still have some in stock. Well I tried to call them today to see if my order is going out today, but their phones are disconnected. I sent an email and if I don't get a response by 4pm eastern time I am cancelling the order.

Does anyone know where I can purchase a new base player in the U.S. and have them in stock?

Check with duneplayer.com. Mike and Arthur are quite helpful, too.
John
jleiii is offline  
post #750 of 6075 Old 12-28-2009, 01:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
bluewhale1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 754
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Last I heard from Arthur they don't have them in stock. Right now it's Pre-order(duneplayer.com) around January 15th is expected date.
bluewhale1 is online now  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Dune Hd Base3d Media Player , Xbox 360 Console , Popcorn Hour C 200 Networked Media Tank Black

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off