Dune HD Base 3.0 and Prime 3.0 on Sigma 8642 in Q4 2009 - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 6075 Old 09-13-2009, 06:42 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Kostya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by iwens View Post

Does anybody know if the dune hd base 3.0 will do true-hd and dts-hd ma to multichannel l-pcm ?

1.0/2.0 did it. so I suppose that 3.0 should be able to do it too...
Kostya is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 6075 Old 09-20-2009, 02:34 PM
Member
 
makelegs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This may or may not be the right place to ask this...
Does anyone know, from experience, what the compatibility is between the Dune players and the Playon media server software? Is it possible that it functions as poorly with Dune as it does with PCH?

...the DUDE abides.
makelegs is offline  
post #93 of 6075 Old 09-23-2009, 10:46 AM
Member
 
RedSoxInHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Nashua, NH.
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Digital connection finally placed an ETA on the prime 3.0...

11/4/09

Here's hoping to no more delays!!!
RedSoxInHD is offline  
post #94 of 6075 Old 09-24-2009, 01:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kei Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Huntington Beach, CA, US
Posts: 4,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedSoxInHD View Post

Digital connection finally placed an ETA on the prime 3.0...

11/4/09

Here's hoping to no more delays!!!

Ditto!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kei Clark is offline  
post #95 of 6075 Old 09-29-2009, 08:06 AM
Member
 
Kevenz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone knows the Discount Code when ordering from Duneplayers.com?
Kevenz is offline  
post #96 of 6075 Old 09-29-2009, 12:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kjgarrison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Northwest Wisconsin
Posts: 2,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Sort of a generic question: How does Dune compare, historically speaking, to it's competitors with regards to support, and specifically firmware updates?
kjgarrison is offline  
post #97 of 6075 Old 09-29-2009, 12:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kei Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Huntington Beach, CA, US
Posts: 4,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjgarrison View Post

Sort of a generic question: How does Dune compare, historically speaking, to it's competitors with regards to support, and specifically firmware updates?

I can't answer that (yet), but here's a link to MPC Club firmware thread on the HDi, user comments may give you an idea:

http://www.mpcclub.com/forum/showthread.php?t=20029


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kei Clark is offline  
post #98 of 6075 Old 09-29-2009, 02:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kjgarrison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Northwest Wisconsin
Posts: 2,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kei Clark View Post

I can't answer that (yet), but here's a link to MPC Club firmware thread on the HDi, user comments may give you an idea:

http://www.mpcclub.com/forum/showthread.php?t=20029

Looks kinda like a mixed bag ...

BIG HUGE WHOPPER of a firmware upgrade ~2 months ago ... then nada

Looks like they are working on the fw for the new stuff ...

It is hard to tell about the various products out there. Which, if any, get their player's firmware more mature before they start selling them?

Vs.

Those that rush to get them sold and then work on fixing all the apparently many, many bugs.

The firmware updates and support will never be fast enough for everybody.
kjgarrison is offline  
post #99 of 6075 Old 09-29-2009, 02:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 63
That last firmware update was 2 months ago. Look at the date on that thread.
Killroy is offline  
post #100 of 6075 Old 09-29-2009, 06:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kjgarrison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Northwest Wisconsin
Posts: 2,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killroy™ View Post

That last firmware update was 2 months ago. Look at the date on that thread.

my bad ... fixed my post

I'm not used to the date format they use, and the post at the bottom of the page that I noticed was something like 01-08-09

Nobody could complain about waiting for a few, or even several, months between fw updates of that magnitude ...

unless that is ...

they complain that there were so many bugs ...

I don't know enough to say whether either the need for fixes or the number of fixes is atypical for this particular device when compared to others.

It does seem, however, that all brands end up getting/needing a lot of fixes compared to other products. Maybe it's the nature of the products ... I don't know
kjgarrison is offline  
post #101 of 6075 Old 09-29-2009, 06:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kei Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Huntington Beach, CA, US
Posts: 4,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjgarrison View Post

unless that is ...

they complain that there were so many bugs ...

I don't know enough to say whether either the need for fixes or the number of fixes is atypical for this particular device when compared to others.

It does seem, however, that all brands end up getting/needing a lot of fixes compared to other products. Maybe it's the nature of the products ... I don't know

That thread was a discussion about beta firmware, it would not have been suggested to end users. Many companies release multiple betas until they can finalize on a stable version. Unfortunately, the field test with variation of users is almost necessary to find the bugs in every feature available.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kei Clark is offline  
post #102 of 6075 Old 09-29-2009, 08:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kjgarrison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Northwest Wisconsin
Posts: 2,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Gotcha.

Thanks.

An unrelated question:
Is the Dune the only player with the new Sigma 8642 chipset?

and ...

What is the thinking about the performance capabilities of the new Sigma chip vs the Realtek that so many nexgen players have gone with?
kjgarrison is offline  
post #103 of 6075 Old 09-30-2009, 09:56 AM
Member
 
spexman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does this unit allow 1080p24 rez playback of files/iso's with source material containing 24fps, or does it output them at 60 fps regardless?(as many other units do)
Thanks in advance!
spexman is offline  
post #104 of 6075 Old 09-30-2009, 02:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kei Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Huntington Beach, CA, US
Posts: 4,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjgarrison View Post

Gotcha.

Thanks.

An unrelated question:
Is the Dune the only player with the new Sigma 8642 chipset?

and ...

What is the thinking about the performance capabilities of the new Sigma chip vs the Realtek that so many nexgen players have gone with?

As far as I know. The Popcorn Hour C200 uses a similar (non-Macrovision) version of the chip.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kei Clark is offline  
post #105 of 6075 Old 09-30-2009, 02:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kjgarrison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Northwest Wisconsin
Posts: 2,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kei Clark View Post

As far as I know. The Popcorn Hour C200 uses a similar (non-Macrovision) version of the chip.

Thanks.

On what type of material is the Macrovision capability of any importance?
kjgarrison is offline  
post #106 of 6075 Old 09-30-2009, 02:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kei Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Huntington Beach, CA, US
Posts: 4,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by spexman View Post

Does this unit allow 1080p24 rez playback of files/iso's with source material containing 24fps, or does it output them at 60 fps regardless?(as many other units do)
Thanks in advance!

Wish I could answer that, but I don't have a sample for testing as yet. This question maybe best posed to users of the current Prime model.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kei Clark is offline  
post #107 of 6075 Old 09-30-2009, 02:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kei Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Huntington Beach, CA, US
Posts: 4,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjgarrison View Post

Thanks.

On what type of material is the Macrovision capability of any importance?

Not certain theoretical or actual until products are available to compare.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kei Clark is offline  
post #108 of 6075 Old 10-01-2009, 08:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
taz291819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Huntsville, Al
Posts: 5,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjgarrison View Post

Thanks.

On what type of material is the Macrovision capability of any importance?

Commercial DVDs.

Currently testing 3D with Sammy DLP, shutter glasses, and HTPC
taz291819 is offline  
post #109 of 6075 Old 10-01-2009, 09:00 AM
Member
 
wiatrak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Gdansk, PL
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
And if you using analog video outputs, it's not important with HDMI connection.

"...Those who go beneath the surface do so at their peril..."
Don Quixote was a villain!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wiatrak is offline  
post #110 of 6075 Old 10-01-2009, 09:51 AM
Member
 
johnagr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
but only for analog connections for hdmi it doesnt care
johnagr is offline  
post #111 of 6075 Old 10-11-2009, 08:25 AM
Member
 
Kevenz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so these machines are coming in 2-3 weeks apparently.
Kevenz is offline  
post #112 of 6075 Old 10-11-2009, 11:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kjgarrison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Northwest Wisconsin
Posts: 2,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Taken from the Digital Connection information on the Dune players, both the Base and Prime say this same thing. Link is for the Prime.

http://www.digitalconnection.com/Pro...deo/prime3.asp

"Audio codecs: AC3 (DD), EAC3 (DD+), DTS, MPEG 1/2/3, AAC, LPCM, WMA, WMAPro, Dolby True HD, DTS HD HRA, DTS HD MA (HD-formats for Blu-Ray playback only)."

Does this mean that "HD-(audio) formats" are decoded and/or bitstreamed only from a commercial Blu-Ray disc? This would seem to limit this to the Prime version, if so.

Or is there a type of audio file that is created from Blu-Ray rips that the players will decode and/or bitstream?

I'm all new to this but have come across threads about other products where there is a confusing mix of functionality based on hardware capability, implementation, and/or licensing issues needed to enable HD audio format decoding/bitstreaming.

The Dune site doesn't make it clear, at least to me.
http://dune-hd.com/hd_players/111-du...prime-3.0.html
kjgarrison is offline  
post #113 of 6075 Old 10-11-2009, 08:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Kostya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjgarrison View Post

Taken from the Digital Connection information on the Dune players, both the Base and Prime say this same thing. Link is for the Prime.

http://www.digitalconnection.com/Pro...deo/prime3.asp

"Audio codecs: AC3 (DD), EAC3 (DD+), DTS, MPEG 1/2/3, AAC, LPCM, WMA, WMAPro, Dolby True HD, DTS HD HRA, DTS HD MA (HD-formats for Blu-Ray playback only)."

Does this mean that "HD-(audio) formats" are decoded and/or bitstreamed only from a commercial Blu-Ray disc? This would seem to limit this to the Prime version, if so.

Or is there a type of audio file that is created from Blu-Ray rips that the players will decode and/or bitstream?

I'm all new to this but have come across threads about other products where there is a confusing mix of functionality based on hardware capability, implementation, and/or licensing issues needed to enable HD audio format decoding/bitstreaming.

The Dune site doesn't make it clear, at least to me.
http://dune-hd.com/hd_players/111-du...prime-3.0.html

Dune plays these formats from any type of Blu-ray structure: besides of the Blu-ray disc it can be also a directory or ISO file with Blu-ray structure. For directories and ISOs BD drive is not needed, so both Base and Prime models can do it.
Kostya is offline  
post #114 of 6075 Old 10-12-2009, 09:10 PM
Newbie
 
Cimerr@'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if the Dune's 3.0 will downsample audio files (flacs, for example) that are 24/96 or 24/192? I wasn't able to find any reference to this issue on their website.

Thank you,
Cimerr@
Cimerr@ is offline  
post #115 of 6075 Old 10-12-2009, 09:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kjgarrison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Northwest Wisconsin
Posts: 2,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kostya View Post

Dune plays these formats from any type of Blu-ray structure: besides of the Blu-ray disc it can be also a directory or ISO file with Blu-ray structure. For directories and ISOs BD drive is not needed, so both Base and Prime models can do it.

Kostya, thank you.

Where can I learn more about ripping DVDs, BR discs, file structures, etc?
kjgarrison is offline  
post #116 of 6075 Old 10-14-2009, 12:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Robertoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjgarrison View Post

An unrelated question:
Is the Dune the only player with the new Sigma 8642 chipset?

A chinese slim Blu-ray player with SMP8642:

Hualu HL-BDP0913

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...86&postcount=6

Roberto
Robertoy is offline  
post #117 of 6075 Old 10-14-2009, 03:27 PM
Member
 
chrsb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will an Harmony 555 be able to control this? It says IR remote just wanted to make sure.
chrsb is offline  
post #118 of 6075 Old 10-14-2009, 06:06 PM
Member
 
ArthurPower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevenz View Post

Anyone knows the Discount Code when ordering from Duneplayers.com?

Kevenz,

Here is a free shipping code for DunePlayer.com Code: FREESHIPPING



Arthur
ArthurPower is offline  
post #119 of 6075 Old 10-15-2009, 06:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,780
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 47
The specs for these new Dune players look good with one exception... I don't see any mention of AVCHD support. My Popcorn C-200 does, as does the PS3, as do many Blu-ray players.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #120 of 6075 Old 10-15-2009, 12:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kjgarrison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Northwest Wisconsin
Posts: 2,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
+1 ^^^^^
kjgarrison is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Dune Hd Base3d Media Player , Xbox 360 Console , Popcorn Hour C 200 Networked Media Tank Black

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off