Best option if all I want is Netflix and Hulu? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-29-2009, 08:01 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
sd_smoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: OKC
Posts: 439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I've finally decided to bite the bullet and cancel our satellite package. I was all set to buy the Roku box when I started reading about Popcorn Hour (et al.), so now I'm interested in getting Hulu as well. Here are my requirements:

- Netflix and Hulu streaming
- Compatibility with Harmony remotes
- Wifi connectivity
- Component output

I don't mind a little tweaking, but once it's setup I'd like it to be easy enough for my wife and kids to use.

I'm really intrigued by something like the PCH A-100/110, but is Hulu still available through PlayOn? Also, I read that you can't fast-forward or rewind using PlayOn. Is this something that's likely to change?

On final factor is the possibility of Hulu on the Roku box. I'm not holding my breath, but if anyone could offer any encouragement on that front it would probably seal the deal.

Any thoughts?
sd_smoker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-29-2009, 11:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
candre23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Nothing is going to do native Netflix and Hulu, except a HTPC. Both will work on any UPNP-compatible streamer with Playon, but there are definite compromises with that, and it's up to you to decide if it's worth it.
candre23 is offline  
Old 09-29-2009, 11:32 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 71
PlayOn can be used on quite a few devices, such as the Xbox360, SageTV HD200 (http://www.geektonic.com/2009/09/sag...ings-hulu.html), etc..., not just the PCH. To be honest though I have heard a lot of people who want to ditch cable/satellite for some device to get netflix, hulu, etc... and always end up dissappointed either going back to cable/sat or building a dedicated HTPC.

I wouldn't be surprised if Hulu sooner then later goes to a paid model of sorts, and at that point you will probably start seeing native support in devices like you see with Netflix.

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
Old 09-29-2009, 11:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Scyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you stream netflix through PlayOn you will NOT get HD streams. HD netflix streams are not available on the PC (which is what PlayOn proxies). If you want HD Netflix streams and Hulu your best (only?) option right now is an Xbox 360 + PlayOn. The Xbox has native netflix support and can use playon for Hulu.
Scyber is offline  
Old 09-29-2009, 11:57 AM
Member
 
drnaive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm in the same boat. I built a HTPC but disappointed with the results. Currently I use a PS3/Play-On combo for Hulu and TivoHD (series 3) for netflix.

I hate using nextflix on PS3 as you can't forward/reverse more than 1.5x without losing the continuity and waiting for buffer to catchup on content.
drnaive is offline  
Old 09-29-2009, 01:46 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
sd_smoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: OKC
Posts: 439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hmm. Thanks for the input. I think I'm just going to go the Roku route and hope some options open up for Hulu down the road...
sd_smoker is offline  
Old 09-29-2009, 06:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sean_w_smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Altos, CA and Huntsville, UT
Posts: 4,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The roku is a nice box. Its flexible, small, quiet and best of all it actually works... playon is a joke compared to that in terms on interface and reliability.

have you considered a BD player like SamSung on LG with the netflix built in.

both of those work very well...

Sean
sean_w_smith is offline  
Old 09-29-2009, 06:49 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
sd_smoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: OKC
Posts: 439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Can you use PlayOn with either of those players? My plan at this point is to wait until decent BD players drop below the $200 price point. I guess if I could kill two birds with one stone for $300 I might be interested though...
sd_smoker is offline  
Old 09-29-2009, 06:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sean_w_smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Altos, CA and Huntsville, UT
Posts: 4,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
no but thats the point. They have real netflix support built in like the roku box..... great interface and reliable...

LG has a player on amazon for $173

http://www.amazon.com/LG-Network-Blu...4271959&sr=8-1

Sean
sean_w_smith is offline  
Old 09-29-2009, 06:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sean_w_smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Altos, CA and Huntsville, UT
Posts: 4,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
and samsung for $199

http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-BD-P16...4272056&sr=8-3

Sean
sean_w_smith is offline  
Old 09-29-2009, 06:55 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
sd_smoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: OKC
Posts: 439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Gotcha. I thought maybe some of those players may be able to utilize DLNA servers like PlayOn in addition to direct Netflix support. I guess that was just wishful thinking...
sd_smoker is offline  
Old 09-29-2009, 07:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
TheKrell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
And Insignia (Best Buy?) on sale for $150.
TheKrell is offline  
Old 09-30-2009, 11:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sean_w_smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Altos, CA and Huntsville, UT
Posts: 4,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Wow..... Its getting hard to justify the $99 roku with these BD players becoming so affordable..... I hope roku can add some more providers but all I use mine for is netflix....

SEan
sean_w_smith is offline  
Old 09-30-2009, 11:54 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
sd_smoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: OKC
Posts: 439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I agree, but I doubt the Insignia will hold up over the long haul. It's tempting, but I don't want to have to replace it in a year.
sd_smoker is offline  
Old 09-30-2009, 05:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
ptsenter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 805
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Officially BD390 is DLNA certified; so, it's supposed to work with Playon. In practice it does work with some clips, but mostly not. I hope one day LG and Mediamall will come together to fix that.
ptsenter is offline  
Old 09-30-2009, 07:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sean_w_smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Altos, CA and Huntsville, UT
Posts: 4,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
In general I find play on to be very unreliable.... Hows does it work with tversity or twonky or WMP11? Any experiences their to share?

Sean
sean_w_smith is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off