WD TV Live Wont Play .MKV Files Through The Network? HELP !!! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 71 Old 10-12-2009, 10:48 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
falconman515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Fresno, CA.
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 91
I can watch every other file format on my pc through the network on my new WD Live Player but for some reason it says file unsupported when I try and play a .MKV movie?

I can take the same file and put it on my external hard drive and plug directly into the WD Player and it plays perfect .... but not through the network for some reason!!!

Please help me figure this out cause the whole reason to upgrade from the first WD player to this one was to watch all my .mkv movies without having to transfer them to my external hard drive and watch it that way!

HELP !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
falconman515 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 71 Old 10-13-2009, 01:24 AM
Senior Member
 
Edwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Specs on the .mkv files? What codec for video and audio? What network connection are you using? What's the OS of the machines you are sharing from on the network?

I have no problems playing pretty much all the .mkv files over the network (Windows Xp and Vista shares). I have are mostly h.264, 720p, 1080p, DTS, AC3, etc. I don't have any .mkv files that are VC-1, so I don't know about that.

The SHT - Stealth Home Theater
Edwood is offline  
post #3 of 71 Old 10-13-2009, 01:33 AM
Newbie
 
Darius94523's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
He's trying to go through media libraries to access the .mkv files. That won't work, you have to setup network shares (shared folders on your network).
Darius94523 is offline  
post #4 of 71 Old 10-13-2009, 11:53 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
falconman515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Fresno, CA.
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darius94523 View Post

He's trying to go through media libraries to access the .mkv files. That won't work, you have to setup network shares (shared folders on your network).

How do I do this?

I am currently accessing all media that is being shared from windows media.... I can see all the stuff that WM is sharing and play everything but .mkv files.

How do I do this... how do I setup networked shared folders?

This is new to me and would love any help I can get on this issue I am having!
falconman515 is offline  
post #5 of 71 Old 10-13-2009, 01:09 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
falconman515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Fresno, CA.
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Ive read a bit on how to do this but when I try and share a folder it just tells me I cant share this folder.... for every folder I try and share?

Nothing shows up on my WD player under media shares at all?

What am I doing wrong here?
falconman515 is offline  
post #6 of 71 Old 10-13-2009, 01:20 PM
Member
 
ajgoyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by falconman515 View Post

Ive read a bit on how to do this but when I try and share a folder it just tells me I cant share this folder.... for every folder I try and share?

Nothing shows up on my WD player under media shares at all?

What am I doing wrong here?

falconman515,

I will try and help - Please answer all questions

1. What Operating System are you using on the PC - XP - VISTA - WIN 7
2. Are you the Aministrator on that PC?

Vincent Hanna: "It keeps me sharp on the edge where I gotta be."
ajgoyt is online now  
post #7 of 71 Old 10-13-2009, 01:38 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
falconman515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Fresno, CA.
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajgoyt View Post

falconman515,

I will try and help - Please answer all questions

1. What Operating System are you using on the PC - XP - VISTA - WIN 7
2. Are you the Aministrator on that PC?

Running Vista and yes I believe I am admin... there are no other users on this pc other than me!

i have googled sharing folders on vista and done all the walk throughs and activated sharing and then tried sharing folders... this is what I found ) http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/w...sta-Inside-Out )

But every folder i go into the share properties and tell it to share it says :Your Folder Coulnd Not Be Shared" and thats its .... and I dont even know how my WD player is suppose to read my pc cause when I go to the shared folder option there is nothing there.
falconman515 is offline  
post #8 of 71 Old 10-13-2009, 02:02 PM
Member
 
ajgoyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What firewall do you have on your PC?

Vincent Hanna: "It keeps me sharp on the edge where I gotta be."
ajgoyt is online now  
post #9 of 71 Old 10-13-2009, 02:11 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
falconman515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Fresno, CA.
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajgoyt View Post

What firewall do you have on your PC?

None that I am aware of ... if anything just the built in windows firewall!

Ya the windows firewall is on but thats the only kind of firewall I have running on this PC
falconman515 is offline  
post #10 of 71 Old 10-13-2009, 02:12 PM
Senior Member
 
tolax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Google - vista simple file sharing
tolax is offline  
post #11 of 71 Old 10-13-2009, 02:21 PM
Member
 
ajgoyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tolax View Post

Google - vista simple file sharing

True - but if his firewall is blocking by IP - I would recommend him either trying a quick test with the firewall OFF, The reboot the WD then see if the folders show up, According to the poster he cannot see the shares within the same computer so once he can see the shares from the same computer not sure we can help untill then.

Vincent Hanna: "It keeps me sharp on the edge where I gotta be."
ajgoyt is online now  
post #12 of 71 Old 10-13-2009, 02:27 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
falconman515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Fresno, CA.
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by tolax View Post

Google - vista simple file sharing

Ive done all these steps the problem is I cant get and folder to share.... I ggoled vista simple file sharing and did the complete walk through as stated and once I did all the steps and got the folder to share and clicked share I got the same things folder could not be shared!

I cant get any further after that.... i saw a screenshot of what it says when it says your folder is shared but I dont get that!
falconman515 is offline  
post #13 of 71 Old 10-13-2009, 02:29 PM
Member
 
ajgoyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FalconMan - try this site 1st hit off of Google - http://www.home-network-help.com/sim...e-sharing.html

If that doesn't work it's possible that your Vista OS is somehow confused,I would try the turning off the firewall just as a test 1st like i said above, if the firewall doesn't work You could do a backup of your files then perform a restore to an early date! We have to get the shares to be seen 1st then will go back to the WD

Vincent Hanna: "It keeps me sharp on the edge where I gotta be."
ajgoyt is online now  
post #14 of 71 Old 10-13-2009, 02:31 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
falconman515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Fresno, CA.
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajgoyt View Post

True - but if his firewall is blocking by IP - I would recommend him either trying a quick test with the firewall OFF, The reboot the WD then see if the folders show up, According to the poster he cannot see the shares within the same computer so once he can see the shares from the same computer not sure we can help untill then.

Ok so i turned off the firewall ... then what are my steps after that? I restarted the wd player and the media shares part still has nothing and I still cant share folders?
falconman515 is offline  
post #15 of 71 Old 10-13-2009, 02:40 PM
Member
 
ajgoyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by falconman515 View Post

Ok so i turned off the firewall ... then what are my steps after that? I restarted the wd player and the media shares part still has nothing and I still cant share folders?

From the vista PC can you now enable shares now? Can you see them from the PC From Network Places????

Vincent Hanna: "It keeps me sharp on the edge where I gotta be."
ajgoyt is online now  
post #16 of 71 Old 10-13-2009, 02:41 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
falconman515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Fresno, CA.
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Ok I found this:

goto network and sharing center--manage network connection--right click
on network you are going to share files through
---properties--install--client--client for Microsoft networks--click add

And now the folders says shared but there is still nothing on the WD player?
falconman515 is offline  
post #17 of 71 Old 10-13-2009, 02:43 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
falconman515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Fresno, CA.
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajgoyt View Post

From the vista PC can you now enable shares now? Can you see them from the PC From Network Places????

Not sure what what this means.... after doing the above the files when I right click them now say shared!

But I dont really know where to go from here... the player still has nothing under network shares.
falconman515 is offline  
post #18 of 71 Old 10-13-2009, 02:44 PM
Member
 
ajgoyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Reboot the wd

Vincent Hanna: "It keeps me sharp on the edge where I gotta be."
ajgoyt is online now  
post #19 of 71 Old 10-13-2009, 02:45 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
falconman515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Fresno, CA.
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 91
When i try and do anything and see stuff it says I cant and to contact the administrator of this server to get access?
falconman515 is offline  
post #20 of 71 Old 10-13-2009, 02:45 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
falconman515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Fresno, CA.
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajgoyt View Post

Reboot the wd

Tried that still nothing under network shares
falconman515 is offline  
post #21 of 71 Old 10-13-2009, 02:54 PM
Member
 
ajgoyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Appears that you are not the Administrator on the PC ...

To make sure check this article
http://lifehacker.com/341521/enable-...trator-account

or

http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windo...windows-vista/

Vincent Hanna: "It keeps me sharp on the edge where I gotta be."
ajgoyt is online now  
post #22 of 71 Old 10-13-2009, 02:55 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
falconman515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Fresno, CA.
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 91
When I go to the network and sharing center and click on the bottom where it says show me all the shared network folders on this computer it shows up all the folders i told it to share but when I click on them it says

" .............. is not accessible. You might not have permission to use this network resource, contact the administrator of this server to find out if you have access permission"

Is this now another problem?
falconman515 is offline  
post #23 of 71 Old 10-13-2009, 03:00 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
falconman515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Fresno, CA.
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 91
I'm normally pretty good at this tuff but how do I do this here:

* First you'll need to open a command prompt in administrator mode by right-clicking and choosing "Run as administrator"
* Now type the following command:
net user administrator /active:yes

Cant seem to wrap my little brain around this!
falconman515 is offline  
post #24 of 71 Old 10-13-2009, 03:07 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
falconman515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Fresno, CA.
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 91
when I right click the command prompt there is no run as administrator option?
falconman515 is offline  
post #25 of 71 Old 10-13-2009, 03:15 PM
Member
 
ajgoyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am on XP right now but Vistal should be the same if i remember - to find the command pompt - go to Programs - accessories and under accessories you should find the C prompt

Vincent Hanna: "It keeps me sharp on the edge where I gotta be."
ajgoyt is online now  
post #26 of 71 Old 10-13-2009, 03:22 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
falconman515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Fresno, CA.
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Ok i did this and it created a whole new administrator profile which is no good cause there is nothing there?

I have tons of stuff going on this profile and cant just delete this one and create a whole new admin profile!

But either way i did it and went into the admin profile and there is still nothing there .... I open those same folders and click on them and it still gives the same I dont have permissions error!

I am going nuts here!
falconman515 is offline  
post #27 of 71 Old 10-13-2009, 03:30 PM
Newbie
 
xeres456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had a similar problem with getting shares to work from one computer to the next, so I installed Network Magic and it did the trick. There is a free trial period, so you might want to give it a try.
What had me confused is, when you say mkvs won't play. If avi and mp3 files are playing, then you are selecting Media Servers and not the WD icon for network shares. Windows media player will not stream mkv, but will stream avi, mp3 and a few other file types.
xeres456 is offline  
post #28 of 71 Old 10-13-2009, 03:32 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
falconman515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Fresno, CA.
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by xeres456 View Post

I had a similar problem with getting shares to work from one computer to the next, so I installed Network Magic and it did the trick. There is a free trial period, so you might want to give it a try.
What had me confused is, when you say mkvs won't play. If avi and mp3 files are playing, then you are selecting Media Servers and not the WD icon for network shares. Windows media player will not stream mkv, but will stream avi, mp3 and a few other file types.

Ya i finally figured out that part... but I just cant seem to get anything from network shares part of the wd player cause something is all crappy on pc end!

Thanks for the info though
falconman515 is offline  
post #29 of 71 Old 10-13-2009, 03:53 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
falconman515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Fresno, CA.
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 91
This is crazy that I cant seem to figure this out!
falconman515 is offline  
post #30 of 71 Old 10-13-2009, 07:25 PM
Member
 
ChrisMilne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't get this to work either. WDTV Live sees four shared folders, i have more than 4 shared folders so i have no idea why it sees these and not the other ones. I have added them all to be shared to "everyone". Very frustrating. I tried to add them via Windows Media as well just for kicks.

I shared downloads folder, can see it, i made a folder DVD, can see it. Made a folder MKV CAN NOT see it. I shared pictures, can NOT see it "unless" i'm going through pictures via media server (shared in windows media), i can not see it via network shares. Just the same stupid random 4 shared folders show up, and MKV is never one of them.

Any ideas?

ps im using windows 7
ChrisMilne is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off