Patriot Box Office 1080P High Definition Media Player PCMPBO25 - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 859 Old 01-20-2010, 08:05 AM
Newbie
 
mickever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone figured out a way to display onscreen info about a movie or file? I'd love to be able to display text info about each file --- titles or file names alone aren't enough to jog my memory!

Any suggestions?
mickever is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 859 Old 01-20-2010, 08:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gator99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Jax,FL - Doctor's Lake
Posts: 1,043
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks that was what I thought - it still wasn't working. We shall see what the future holds, all in all - a very nice piece of hardware.

Quote:
Originally Posted by aasoror View Post

Networked or not, HD-DVD will not play over the PBO (with old or new firmware).
You will get an Invalid Format prompt.
That said, the problem was reported to PBO and they said they will be looking into it (around 6 weeks ago), they promised a new firmware in March (which may or may not fix this problem)


Jeff
Gator99 is offline  
post #543 of 859 Old 01-20-2010, 09:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
aasoror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by mickever View Post

Has anyone figured out a way to display onscreen info about a movie or file? I'd love to be able to display text info about each file --- titles or file names alone aren't enough to jog my memory!

Any suggestions?

Only information you can display about the file is some media related info (codec used, current position, etc ..) by pressing the display button on the remote when the file is running.

Currently there is no way to add/display media information, like cast, plot .. etc. This should be possible though if Patriot decided to provide a movie jukebox beside current file browser.
aasoror is offline  
post #544 of 859 Old 01-20-2010, 02:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
257Tony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Syracuse
Posts: 2,012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Anybody else get denied their rebate? I just got my DENIED notice in the mail today, says the Postmark date does not fall within program dates. Freaking BS if you ask me, and of course there is no phone number on the card they sent me, figures

If they can't get this worked out, I'm gonna send it back on principal. Jacking me around on rebates is the fastest way to get on the blacklist, and I realize I am only one person, and they don't care, but I do....
257Tony is offline  
post #545 of 859 Old 01-20-2010, 07:32 PM
Member
 
lewis26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Midwest
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got denied also. Sent them an email with my claim number and a copy of my amazon invoice, and they told me that amazon had the incorrect forms, and they refiled my claim in the correct location and was supposedly proceeding without issue. There is an email address for their rebate center given on the contact page on the website.


I myself am still not happy about the lack of support lately, and the lack of a GUI update.
lewis26 is offline  
post #546 of 859 Old 01-22-2010, 09:55 AM
Member
 
mexiace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought one of these yesterday to try at home. I'm currently using a Mac Mini w/Plex as my media player but I wanted to try one of these to see if it would replace my Mac Mini (Mac Mini $599 vs Box Office $99).

Unfortunately the video quality from the Box Office when viewing an .mks BluRay rip was lacking. It's not very crisp at all. I was playing the movie using the NET from my NAS box. I wonder if the box office is dropping the video quality to adjust for the ethernet speed. I'll try playing the movie from a local USB source to see if it makes a difference.

Mac Mini w/Plex is still the way to go for me, even though the price point is 6x.
mexiace is offline  
post #547 of 859 Old 01-22-2010, 03:02 PM
Newbie
 
redshinobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I get stutters with larger .mkv files from my nas. files are 20GB+. but, i wouldn't say that HD quality is bad. I actually am impressed with it. I just need to find a way to re-encode my makemkv files to something more manageable. I'm not complaining given the price

Any one here a bluray rippin' expert? I'm having handbrake issues with .mkv files ripped by makemkv program.
redshinobi is offline  
post #548 of 859 Old 01-22-2010, 03:29 PM
Member
 
Patriot Box Offi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
are you using wireless or wired? for any thing over 8GB, i would usggest using wired network or bridging with a router.
Patriot Box Offi is offline  
post #549 of 859 Old 01-24-2010, 03:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sgt_Strider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm thinking of picking up the PBO because of the great feedback on the unit. I can get it for about C$99 after rebate. I just want to make sure that the PBO will play MKV movies with the original Blu-Ray/DVD video, audio, and subtitles? Will the unit be able to separate and select the different audio tracks and or subtitles that are within the MKV container?
Sgt_Strider is offline  
post #550 of 859 Old 01-25-2010, 11:33 AM
Newbie
 
muchelaguito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patriot Box Offi View Post

are you using wireless or wired? for any thing over 8GB, i would usggest using wired network or bridging with a router.

Quick question: Would this unit support a wireless N adapter based on Ralink 2870 usb chipset? (I understand wdtv live does supports it)

Also: How portable is this unit? I have a LCD HD TV with HDMI input in my living room, and an old tube TV with only composite inputs. If I disconnect the device from my living room and take it to my bedroom, would the composite exits work plug and play? Would I need to modify too many settings? Will it play any kind of hd movies at 480i without issues?
muchelaguito is offline  
post #551 of 859 Old 01-25-2010, 09:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
aasoror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sgt_Strider View Post

I'm thinking of picking up the PBO because of the great feedback on the unit. I can get it for about C$99 after rebate. I just want to make sure that the PBO will play MKV movies with the original Blu-Ray/DVD video, audio, and subtitles? Will the unit be able to separate and select the different audio tracks and or subtitles that are within the MKV container?

With current firmware playing True-HD or DTS-MA is no go.
check the thread here and there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by muchelaguito View Post

Quick question: Would this unit support a wireless N adapter based on Ralink 2870 usb chipset? (I understand wdtv live does supports it)

Unlike the WDTV this is a Realtek based media player, it IS NOT compatible with the Ralink based Wireless N (I have personally tried it), its compatible with Realtek RTL8191SU based adapters. (which is actually an T1R2 chipset superior to the Ralink T1R1 2870)

Quote:
Originally Posted by muchelaguito View Post

Also: How portable is this unit? I have a LCD HD TV with HDMI input in my living room, and an old tube TV with only composite inputs. If I disconnect the device from my living room and take it to my bedroom, would the composite exits work plug and play? Would I need to modify too many settings? Will it play any kind of hd movies at 480i without issues?

Its totally PnP via composite, you will always get composite signal (even with HDMI running).
aasoror is offline  
post #552 of 859 Old 01-26-2010, 07:36 AM
Senior Member
 
007james's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by 257Tony View Post

Anybody else get denied their rebate? I just got my DENIED notice in the mail today, says the Postmark date does not fall within program dates. Freaking BS if you ask me, and of course there is no phone number on the card they sent me, figures

If they can't get this worked out, I'm gonna send it back on principal. Jacking me around on rebates is the fastest way to get on the blacklist, and I realize I am only one person, and they don't care, but I do....

For further rebate assistance call (866) 942-4682 rebate-zone.com/
007james is offline  
post #553 of 859 Old 01-26-2010, 02:31 PM
Member
 
boondocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got my Patriot Box Office $30 rebate. Sent 12/15/09 and received 1/20/10. About 35 days including mail time.
I like this company and their new Box Office. It has growing pains, like noisy fans, but a little modification and all is well. It plays more formats than my previous WDTV, particularly DVD Menus.
boondocker is offline  
post #554 of 859 Old 01-29-2010, 03:39 AM
Member
 
EasyGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So far I love this BOX over the WDTV any day.

The fan is becoming noisier, when I first got it, it was quiet now its loud enough to hear over some movies. If i take the fan offline would that toast the PBO? I'm not using the internal HDD bay. Or must I open it up and oil it?

Second, when I first enter into network mode it test the connection and I usually gets 41K, but after that its around 21k-28k. I'm wondering why the speed dropped? Nothing changed.

I'm not those who freak out about the GUI, hell you bought this thing knowing what it looks like, why are you complaining about the GUI now? All I care about is the performance of this thing and so far its been great, played all the formats I have thrown at it. Just work on better network connection and design a better fan for us. Lastly why when I presses the UP channel button on my FIOS TV remote it turns the PBO on? LOL
EasyGuy is offline  
post #555 of 859 Old 01-29-2010, 03:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pmcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by EasyGuy View Post

So far I love this BOX over the WDTV any day.

The fan is becoming noisier, when I first got it, it was quiet now its loud enough to hear over some movies. If i take the fan offline would that toast the PBO? I'm not using the internal HDD bay. Or must I open it up and oil it?

To make it quiet go to the Patriot support forums. Someone has come up with an alternative to oil, etc...

If you aren't using an internal hard drive you can disconnect the fan. I suspect you could also use an SSD and disconnect it but you should ask on the support forums. Another approach would be to use an esata to sata cable and an external fanless enclosure. That way you have silence and the advantages of an internal drive.

The noise issue is really the main weak point. Otherwise it's a great player.

philip
pmcd is offline  
post #556 of 859 Old 02-03-2010, 08:17 AM
Newbie
 
coolblue123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All:

I am new to this forum and have been reading. Thanks for all the great info!

I am in the market to one of these Multimedia Appliances. I've narrowed to either the WD TV Live and this Patriot Box. Several Questions:

Reading up on Gizmodo review:
ht tp://gizmodo.com/5397986/hd-media-player-battlemodo-apple-tv-killers
1) Is the Patriot Video Quality that bad compared to similar devices?
2) BT Client. Are settings customizable? Can I store the files onto a NAS instead of the internal HD?
3) Anyone has any experience with interfacing this to a Stora NAS drive? If so, can we use DLNA with this box?
4) Gizmodo quotes the specs of the Patriot as being a Gigabit network connectivity and everywhere else quotes it as only 10/100? What's the connectivity?

thanks for your replies in advance.
coolblue123 is offline  
post #557 of 859 Old 02-03-2010, 09:05 AM
Newbie
 
yHuang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am a long time WDTV user, switch to PBO last week, couldn't be happier. Contrary to some earlier reports, I hook up my Harmony 550, type in Patriot Model 'PCMPBO25', it is there !! . The only glitch is that it maps 'ok' key with PBO's 'Select' instead of it's 'Enter', which I correct right away and Now it works wonderfully.
Thing's I like about it compared to WDTV:
1. DVD ISO menu/chapter support.
2. Better FF and Rwd speed control, plus slow motion (1/2 to 1/16)
3. Better MP4 in audio support.
4. Direct Subtitle/audio remote key support.
5. Internal HD and copy/delete function.

Have not digged into network function yet.
yHuang is offline  
post #558 of 859 Old 02-03-2010, 09:09 AM
Member
 
Gary W. Graley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ditto on yHuang's report, also switched from WDTV, like it a LOT better!!!
G2
Gary W. Graley is offline  
post #559 of 859 Old 02-03-2010, 10:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gator99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Jax,FL - Doctor's Lake
Posts: 1,043
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolblue123 View Post

Hi All:
Reading up on Gizmodo review:
ht tp://gizmodo.com/5397986/hd-media-player-battlemodo-apple-tv-killers
1) Is the Patriot Video Quality that bad compared to similar devices?
2) BT Client. Are settings customizable? Can I store the files onto a NAS instead of the internal HD?
3) Anyone has any experience with interfacing this to a Stora NAS drive? If so, can we use DLNA with this box?
4) Gizmodo quotes the specs of the Patriot as being a Gigabit network connectivity and everywhere else quotes it as only 10/100? What's the connectivity?

thanks for your replies in advance.

1) can't help you here as this is my first media player like this, but I will say that my DVD (iso files) are great no problem at all.

2) Again can't help on the BT as I don't use it, but I do have all my files on my FreeNAS and works great no issues at all (of course I am only viewing DVDs, pictures and 720p videos from a Kodak Zi8)

3) I am using FreeNAS and works perfect - no hiccups, just plug and play

4)10/100 only - Gizmodo is incorrect.

Jeff
Gator99 is offline  
post #560 of 859 Old 02-03-2010, 03:09 PM
Newbie
 
mickever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aasoror View Post

Only information you can display about the file is some media related info (codec used, current position, etc ..) by pressing the display button on the remote when the file is running.

Currently there is no way to add/display media information, like cast, plot .. etc. This should be possible though if Patriot decided to provide a movie jukebox beside current file browser.

I figured it out! Write notes, or paste material to, MS Paint. Save the text as a jpg file, and you'll be able to read it onscreen with Box Office. I pasted movie descriptions from the web.

Hint: for easier reading, enlarge the type before you save the jpg.
mickever is offline  
post #561 of 859 Old 02-04-2010, 02:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
aasoror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolblue123 View Post

Hi All:

I am new to this forum and have been reading. Thanks for all the great info!

I am in the market to one of these Multimedia Appliances. I've narrowed to either the WD TV Live and this Patriot Box. Several Questions:

Reading up on Gizmodo review:
ht tp://gizmodo.com/5397986/hd-media-player-battlemodo-apple-tv-killers
1) Is the Patriot Video Quality that bad compared to similar devices?
2) BT Client. Are settings customizable? Can I store the files onto a NAS instead of the internal HD?
3) Anyone has any experience with interfacing this to a Stora NAS drive? If so, can we use DLNA with this box?
4) Gizmodo quotes the specs of the Patriot as being a Gigabit network connectivity and everywhere else quotes it as only 10/100? What's the connectivity?

thanks for your replies in advance.

1. Not true, PBO has a RTD-1073 chips inside (same as half the media players in the market, including Asus O!play, and Xtreamer), check this list for yourself.

2. Nope, BT client will always download on locally installed HDD (not even attached USB storage)

3. PBO will read/write on any NFS/CIFS share.

4. 10/100 is the correct spec.
aasoror is offline  
post #562 of 859 Old 02-04-2010, 03:53 AM
Newbie
 
coolblue123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aasoror View Post

1. Not true, PBO has a RTD-1073 chips inside (same as half the media players in the market, including Asus O!play, and Xtreamer), check this for yourself.

2. Nope, BT client will always download on locally installed HDD (not even attached USB storage)

3. PBO will read/write on any NFS/CIFS share.

4. 10/100 is the correct spec.

Many thanks! I guess I have to get a internal drive then for the Patriot. (Kinda sucks...)
coolblue123 is offline  
post #563 of 859 Old 02-06-2010, 03:18 PM
Member
 
lewis26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Midwest
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To any of you sourcecode gurus, patriot has released the gpl.
http://patriotmem.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2755

Lets see some new GUI's!
lewis26 is offline  
post #564 of 859 Old 02-06-2010, 03:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
Pepster returns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverBlade View Post

Looks like no capability to pass through DTS MA or Dolby TrueHD.

Not really 'High Definition' if it can't even pass-through High Definition Audio.

Use CLOWN BD software to create a lossless LPCM 5.1 track from the TRUEHD. I do this, and it works fine.
Pepster returns is offline  
post #565 of 859 Old 02-10-2010, 11:15 AM
Senior Member
 
strpyw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: san jose
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Previously I used Sony Playstation 3 to play mkv files(after converted to mpeg), and also using PS3 UPNP function to play elgato tv archives from a networked drive, but no caption playback possible.
Now with the PBO, I no longer need to convert MKV files, and PBO UPNP is superior in that captions are displayed. It is indeed my MVP.
strpyw is offline  
post #566 of 859 Old 02-10-2010, 03:35 PM
Newbie
 
cactusjac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know if this works with a Realtek RTL8192 wireless chipset? And if so, how well?
cactusjac is offline  
post #567 of 859 Old 02-22-2010, 10:45 PM
Newbie
 
RadamFG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by redshinobi View Post

I get stutters with larger .mkv files from my nas. files are 20GB+. but, i wouldn't say that HD quality is bad. I actually am impressed with it. I just need to find a way to re-encode my makemkv files to something more manageable. I'm not complaining given the price

Any one here a bluray rippin' expert? I'm having handbrake issues with .mkv files ripped by makemkv program.

I'm no expert, but have the same problem. My solution was to use eac3to to rip out the different streams (chapters, video, audio and if you want subtitles). I then apply HandBrake on the video mkv only. Once Handbrake is done, I use MakeMKV to combine the HandBrake recode video with the other components.

I've only done one so far (Serenity), but MAN does it look good, complete with DTS core soundtrack and chapters that function well. I end up with a 7 GB MKV that works well on the PBO.

Problem is that HandBrake took about 21 hours to do the recode! The quality was worth it though!
RadamFG is offline  
post #568 of 859 Old 02-22-2010, 11:15 PM
Member
 
memo90061's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm a noob when it comes to stuff like this. I want to buy memory but I don't know if I should buy an external hard drive or an internal one for the PBO. I want at least 1tb! I want to fill it up with my videos. Would a portable hard drive be too slow to read from? What's the best way to go?
memo90061 is offline  
post #569 of 859 Old 02-25-2010, 07:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
scotty144's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: ottawa, ontario canada
Posts: 952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by lewis26 View Post

To any of you sourcecode gurus, patriot has released the gpl.
http://patriotmem.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2755

Lets see some new GUI's!


Too bad that thread was closed rather quickly. I do look forward to seeing if the community comes up with a slicker gui.

Other areas of interest

http://my.T-Nation.com/scotty144

ClubWrx.net Scotty144
scotty144 is offline  
post #570 of 859 Old 03-01-2010, 09:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
aasoror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by scotty144 View Post

Too bad that thread was closed rather quickly. I do look forward to seeing if the community comes up with a slicker gui.

The thread was closed as it was meant to be an announcement thread and not for active discussion.

That said, the community wont be able to reuse the released code because the released files aren't enough to enable rebuilding a firmware image.

So the GPL release was meant to avoid any violation to the GPL liscenced software that the PBO is based on,which has nothing to do with empowering the community.
aasoror is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off