Patriot Box Office 1080P High Definition Media Player PCMPBO25 - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 859 Old 08-03-2010, 06:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 4,757
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 260 Post(s)
Liked: 276
BC23 available here:
http://www.patriotmemory.com/softwar...fficeFirmware/

Downloadable FREE demo discs:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475769/de...ently-authored 

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
LastButNotLeast is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 859 Old 08-06-2010, 03:20 PM
Member
 
billcsho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just ordered the Hornettek Phantom from buy.com for $53.24 shipped. It is basically the same OEM product. Does anyone know which version of PBO firmware can be flashed into it.

Thanks.
billcsho is offline  
post #633 of 859 Old 08-06-2010, 06:50 PM
Member
 
llmercll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm considering getting one of these. Can anyone comment on the fan noise? I hear it can be really bad (at least earlier revisions) and want to know if this is a problem before purchasing one.

thanks!
llmercll is offline  
post #634 of 859 Old 08-06-2010, 11:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
omegaslast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 885
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Screw this crap... my PBO is choking constantly on a 10gb 1080p mkv. Last night it would choke for a second then get going again, but this one it just keeps choking every couple of minutes. its hooked up to a gigabit switch along with my comp.

I need to install firmware on this thing now, before i pull my hair out. Whats the best firmware out there? all i care is it does DTS and it streams 1080p without a bunch of lagging bull

alright. dled 3875 AC ryan patched firmware.. put it on.. now the mkv runs even worse (in browser or YAMJ). im ready to snap this stupid thing in half. I havent used it for like a month or two and now when i want to start watching 1080ps it chokes. I thought it was the HD on my comp being slow, so i put it on my 1tb with all my other 1080p mkv rips, still chokes on it. so ridiculous. runs fine on my comp.

edit: glorious.. it was my d-link gigabit switch that cost me $35. my d-link 100 megabit switch runs it fine. I hate network troubleshooting
omegaslast is offline  
post #635 of 859 Old 08-07-2010, 08:31 AM
Member
 
billcsho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
3875 is way outdated though. The current patched one is 4318.
billcsho is offline  
post #636 of 859 Old 08-07-2010, 11:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
catmother's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: La Jolla, CA
Posts: 1,703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The WDTV Live fails the Rec709 flag/no flag test, the Asus O!Play passes.
Has any one tested the PBO for this ?

The test files are here:

http://www.cypheros.de/dvb_e.html

Look for the 'alternating color description' files available in TS and MKV formats.
Failure will result in an inaccurate color gamut when playing a Rec709 encoded HD video which lacks the flag.

WRT HDDVD, The O!Play has no problems with HDDVD using Another Eac3to for ripping (requires anydvdhd). There are a dozen of these on a WD Mybook 2 tB attached to a Netgear 3700 router streaming to the Asus and the PC over a 1Gb hardwired home network.

It would be surprising if the PBO would fail at this, both use a Realtek SOC

Certified HDTV junkie and AVS addict
U.S. Army FA WWII
catmother is offline  
post #637 of 859 Old 08-07-2010, 02:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
catmother's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: La Jolla, CA
Posts: 1,703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
^
Picked up PBO at Frys today, lowered price + $25 rebate.

Streams BR, HDDVD just fine. shows subtitles in Avatar , TV reports 1080/24p on my LG 55LH90.
Rec709 test file shows no color shift from flagged to unflagged, so OK.

No updates installed as yet, will wait till complete checkout first.

Have many test videos including some with 6 reframes.

Looks like a winner so far. More later.

Test videos are here:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1181902

Certified HDTV junkie and AVS addict
U.S. Army FA WWII
catmother is offline  
post #638 of 859 Old 08-07-2010, 03:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
omegaslast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 885
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by billcsho View Post

3875 is way outdated though. The current patched one is 4318.

does the patched 4318 i download work on my bootcode 18? theres no way in hell im updating the bootcode
omegaslast is offline  
post #639 of 859 Old 08-07-2010, 07:12 PM
Member
 
llmercll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by catmother View Post

^
Picked up PBO at Frys today, lowered price + $30 rebate.

Streams BR, HDDVD just fine. shows subtitles in Avatar , TV reports 1080/24p on my LG 55LH90.
Rec709 test file shows no color shift from flagged to unflagged, so OK.

No updates installed as yet, will wait till complete checkout first.

Have many test videos including some with 6 reframes.

Looks like a winner so far. More later.

Test videos are here:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1181902

How noisy is it when it's on?
llmercll is offline  
post #640 of 859 Old 08-07-2010, 07:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
catmother's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: La Jolla, CA
Posts: 1,703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by llmercll View Post

How noisy is it when it's on?

Utterly silent. Does it really have a fan ?. Runs hot

BTW had to update from P02 to P05. Now it plays BR in ISO format.

Edit:
Sorry, spoke too soon. Does not play or even show ISO BR. Had Red October as MKV.
Patton.iso does not show up. Some SD DVD .iso show, some do not

Certified HDTV junkie and AVS addict
U.S. Army FA WWII
catmother is offline  
post #641 of 859 Old 08-07-2010, 07:38 PM
 
CCONKLIN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Oswego IL 60543
Posts: 2,461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
fan issue was resolved many many months ago. It is a total non issue now. If you do not plan on using an internal drive you can unplug it as well. My first one was noisy as hell. Months later the newer one is so silent as i did not even think it was plugged in! Using my PBO right now while on vacation for all of my vacation movies and sons episodes of mythbusters...
CCONKLIN1 is offline  
post #642 of 859 Old 08-07-2010, 09:05 PM
Member
 
llmercll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's good to hear about the fan. It doesn't get too hot though right?
llmercll is offline  
post #643 of 859 Old 08-07-2010, 09:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
catmother's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: La Jolla, CA
Posts: 1,703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by llmercll View Post

That's good to hear about the fan. It doesn't get too hot though right?

It does get fairly warm, but setting the box on edge helps.

Certified HDTV junkie and AVS addict
U.S. Army FA WWII
catmother is offline  
post #644 of 859 Old 08-07-2010, 10:21 PM
 
CCONKLIN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Oswego IL 60543
Posts: 2,461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by catmother View Post

It does get fairly warm, but setting the box on edge helps.

Mine gets a little warm but nowhere near anything I would call hot. I do NOT have an internal drive in mine though? Anyone know what bootcode 23 does?
C
CCONKLIN1 is offline  
post #645 of 859 Old 08-08-2010, 09:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
catmother's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: La Jolla, CA
Posts: 1,703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCONKLIN1 View Post

Mine gets a little warm but nowhere near anything I would call hot. I do NOT have an internal drive in mine though? Anyone know what bootcode 23 does?
C

Connected a DMM with temp probe taped to center of top cover. Reads 88 F when streaming a DVD SD. Room ambient at 72 F.
Fan is inaudible. No internal drive installed.

No info on bootcode 23, mine came with and still is at 18.

Now waiting for the BR/HDDVD ISO update. The Asus plays these so there should be no problem for the PBO.

Certified HDTV junkie and AVS addict
U.S. Army FA WWII
catmother is offline  
post #646 of 859 Old 08-08-2010, 10:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
TheKrell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
My fan too is inaudible. You all have me a little worried, though, since I definitely do have a 2.5" drive in there...
TheKrell is offline  
post #647 of 859 Old 08-08-2010, 12:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LexInVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,983
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by billcsho View Post

I just ordered the Hornettek Phantom from buy.com for $53.24 shipped. It is basically the same OEM product. Does anyone know which version of PBO firmware can be flashed into it.

Thanks.

Return it or cancel your order. It's a worthless product. The OEM that makes the Box Office sold inventory to HornetTek and some others without Patriot's permission (they own the design) and Patriot has locked those non-Patriot units out from firmware upgrades using Patriot firmware. To make matters worse, the non-Patriot products don't have any firmware updates at all from the companies who sold them and get no support either.
LexInVA is offline  
post #648 of 859 Old 08-08-2010, 01:33 PM
Newbie
 
aware1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LexInVA View Post

Return it or cancel your order. It's a worthless product. The OEM that makes the Box Office sold inventory to HornetTek and some others without Patriot's permission (they own the design) and Patriot has locked those non-Patriot units out from firmware upgrades using Patriot firmware. To make matters worse, the non-Patriot products don't have any firmware updates at all from the companies who sold them and get no support either.

Hmmm, just curious, how exactly would they "lock" the exact same hardware?
aware1 is offline  
post #649 of 859 Old 08-08-2010, 06:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LexInVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,983
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by aware1 View Post

Hmmm, just curious, how exactly would they "lock" the exact same hardware?

Unit serial numbers. That's what the Patriot rep said on the thread earlier. Also, the non-Patriot products are from the initial batches so they will be loaded with ancient bootcode and firmware so they can be locked out from the current firmware upgrades if need be by adding simple detection requirements.
LexInVA is offline  
post #650 of 859 Old 08-08-2010, 07:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
aasoror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by catmother View Post

Now waiting for the BR/HDDVD ISO update. The Asus plays these so there should be no problem for the PBO.

Where can I find reports about any 1073 RT based media player playing HDDVD ISO (or structure), I am not sure Asus O!Play can do that (RT just licked their promises about HD-DVD support), VC1 encoded files are a different issue though.

That said, PBO as well as all 1073 RT equipped boxes can play BR-ISO no problem. Just make sure you are accessing it directly and not via a UPnP server.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LexInVA View Post

Return it or cancel your order. It's a worthless product. The OEM that makes the Box Office sold inventory to HornetTek and some others without Patriot's permission (they own the design) and Patriot has locked those non-Patriot units out from firmware upgrades using Patriot firmware.

I am afraid this statement is only partially true, because the same rep who made the initial statement about the leak has later stated that HornetTek got their batches directly from Patriot, and he said the leak was concerning local Chinese resellers.
Quote:
Originally Posted by LexInVA View Post

Unit serial numbers. That's what the Patriot rep said on the thread earlier. Also, the non-Patriot products are from the initial batches so they will be loaded with ancient bootcode and firmware so they can be locked out from the current firmware upgrades if need be by adding simple detection requirements.

Though this didn't happen to date. PBO firmware was successfully applied on Hornetk clones and to non-clones with the same chipset.
That said, locked or not, who actually want his PBO box to run PBO firmware to start with
aasoror is offline  
post #651 of 859 Old 08-09-2010, 08:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
catmother's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: La Jolla, CA
Posts: 1,703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
aasoror

Quote:


Where can I find reports about any 1073 RT based media player playing HDDVD ISO (or structure), I am not sure Asus O!Play can do that (RT just licked their promises about HD-DVD support), VC1 encoded files are a different issue though.

That said, PBO as well as all 1073 RT equipped boxes can play BR-ISO no problem. Just make sure you are accessing it directly and not via a UPnP server.

You are indeed correct, neither the Asus or the PBO will play BR ISO from the Netgear 3700 router acting as a DLNA server for an attached USB WD Mybook.

Had forgotten that my earlier claim was based on using a Esata attached HDD with the Asus, BD .iso play fine that way.

At the moment there are no HDDVD .iso on the system, but there are 13 HDDVD processed to .mkv and one processed to HDDVD.TS. The former play but the latter does not show up at all. This on the attached Esata drive.

I will make a HDDVD iso later and test that.

The PBO and the Asus are like 2 peas in a pod except that the former can accept an internal HDD and the latter has an Esata port. That said I prefer the PBO be cause of the full featured remote. Especially like the Volume and mute control. Also think the PBO forum is better, mainly because of your posts there.

IMO, among the 'low cost' media servers the PBO and Asus are superior to the Sigma based designs like the WDTV live.

HDDVD processed with 'Another Ea3cto' (my favorite) to .mkv work on these servers. One has a choice of converting 'sub' to 'srt' for BR subtitles using this method.

Certified HDTV junkie and AVS addict
U.S. Army FA WWII
catmother is offline  
post #652 of 859 Old 08-09-2010, 09:04 AM
Member
 
billcsho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've read that people can flash the Hornettek Phantom with PBO firmware, but it is not clear which bootcode it has. It is likely to be BC16 but I'll have to wait a few days before finding it out.
By the way, Masscool is another brand selling the same box. According to the reviews on newegg, many people are using PBO firmwares on the Masscool clone too.
After all, I may end up using ACRyan's firmware on it as aasoror said.
billcsho is offline  
post #653 of 859 Old 08-10-2010, 06:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
aasoror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by catmother View Post

At the moment there are no HDDVD .iso on the system, but there are 13 HDDVD processed to .mkv and one processed to HDDVD.TS. The former play but the latter does not show up at all. This on the attached Esata drive.
...
HDDVD processed with 'Another Ea3cto' (my favorite) to .mkv work on these servers. One has a choice of converting 'sub' to 'srt' for BR subtitles using this method.

unfortunaly an HDDVD preocessed to .mkv is no longer an HDDVD (man you got me excited hoping there was a way to run my 100+ disks without reprocessing them) lol.

Quote:
Originally Posted by billcsho View Post

I've read that people can flash the Hornettek Phantom with PBO firmware, but it is not clear which bootcode it has.

bootcode isn't an issue, its the same hardware and the bootcode update procedure (using the $2 Nokia serial cable) would work on the Hornettek too.
aasoror is offline  
post #654 of 859 Old 08-10-2010, 07:24 AM
Member
 
billcsho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aasoror View Post

bootcode isn't an issue, its the same hardware and the bootcode update procedure (using the $2 Nokia serial cable) would work on the Hornettek too.

Does the ACRyan patched firmware work on BC16? I know it is not that difficult to update the boot code, but I prefer not to if it is not necessary.
Thanks.
billcsho is offline  
post #655 of 859 Old 08-10-2010, 11:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
catmother's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: La Jolla, CA
Posts: 1,703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by aasoror View Post
unfortunaly an HDDVD preocessed to .mkv is no longer an HDDVD (man you got me excited hoping there was a way to run my 100+ disks without reprocessing them) lol.
What leads you to that conclusion ?

When I compare the HDDVD .mkv to the original disc played on the Toshiba A2 the only difference is that the A2 is limited to 1080i/p60 whereas the .mkv reports 1080/24p on my LG 55LH90 TV. No difference in PQ and the LH90 is very picky about image defects.

Running the PBO trough the Sony 820 AVR (PBO set to HDMI raw) from the .mkv shows DB digital 3/2 and lights all the appropriate icons for SW, LF, Center, RF and the rear surrounds on my 7.1 audio system.

Attached are Mediainfo text files for EVO, MKV and ISO. Note that Mediainfo is very limited for ISO formats and also that the EVO only lists feature 1 so the length is different. These are all VC1 encoded and I see nothing that would indicate that the HDDVD rips are deficient in any way.

Perhaps the fact that my PC has an LG optical dual format drive (BR and HDDVD) used in the LG Dual format BH200 standalone player accounts for the difference.

Also note that the .evo plays in Win7 64 bit WMC with sound on my PC as does the .mkv.

Sadly, the Sting film to HDDVD transfer is not the best, should have used Battle of the Bulge instead, to late now.

If that does not meet your requirements there is always this:
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=137151 scroll down to HDDVD
although I have not used that.

BTW all rips are from discs I own.

Would certainly appreciate any further observations from you on this subject.

 

sting mkv.txt 2.5869140625k . file

 

Sting EVO.txt 2.82421875k . file

 

sting iso.txt 0.607421875k . file

Certified HDTV junkie and AVS addict
U.S. Army FA WWII
catmother is offline  
post #656 of 859 Old 08-11-2010, 07:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
aasoror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by catmother View Post

What leads you to that conclusion ?

I am sorry if I was not clear.

I don't mean they are not the same quality wise. I meant convenience.

I do have an LG BR/HD-DVD internal drive, I was hoping that all the direct copies (using AnyDVD to remove protection of course) would work seamlessly like they do on my HTPC.

Insert the disk, wait for 40 min, and you have an exact copy, with menus and everything, no encoding, muxing .. etc. Its a convenience no one can deny when storage is not an issue.

I wouldn't even mind losing the menus and extras (which is how BR-ISOs are currently played on these RT based boxes), but I would rather not re-encode my files especially that they are working fine on my PCs (Power DVD 7 .. last version to support HD-DVD), not to mentioned that my purchase decision (back in November) was based on the HD-DVD support promise from RT/PM.
aasoror is offline  
post #657 of 859 Old 08-11-2010, 10:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
catmother's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: La Jolla, CA
Posts: 1,703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by aasoror View Post

I am sorry if I was not clear.

I don't mean they are not the same quality wise. I meant convenience.

I do have an LG BR/HD-DVD internal drive, I was hoping that all the direct copies (using AnyDVD to remove protection of course) would work seamlessly like they do on my HTPC.

Insert the disk, wait for 40 min, and you have an exact copy, with menus and everything, no encoding, muxing .. etc. Its a convenience no one can deny when storage is not an issue.

I wouldn't even mind losing the menus and extras (which is how BR-ISOs are currently played on these RT based boxes), but I would rather not re-encode my files especially that they are working fine on my PCs (Power DVD 7 .. last version to support HD-DVD), not to mentioned that my purchase decision (back in November) was based on the HD-DVD support promise from RT/PM.

Agree, that clears it up.

And yes AnydvdHD does a great job but there are two reasons for using the mkv container, at least for me.

First the A2 is terribly slow booting and loading.
Second the A2 is limited to 1080i/p60 whereas the mkv version runs on the PBO at 1080/p24 on the 24p compatible LG 55LH90 showing no signs of judder or inverse telecine effects.

And the Another ea3cto GUI program does not re-encode and while somewhat slower than anydvd is still reasonable fast.
http://www.mediasmartserver.net/2010...er-eac3to-gui/
(Hope this link does not disturb the mods)

As you may know there is a hack to enable HDDVD playback on later versions of Power DVD. Look for the PowerDVD thread on AVS, in the HTPC section IIRC.
Have not tried that as it appears PDVD 7 ( bundled with the LG drive) does a perfectly adequate job.

Also FYI TotalMedia3 Platinum (surprisingly) will play HDDVD from the LG combo optical drive.

Certified HDTV junkie and AVS addict
U.S. Army FA WWII
catmother is offline  
post #658 of 859 Old 08-11-2010, 03:22 PM
Newbie
 
realJesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi:

Does Patriot Box Office streams youtube without using a PC?
realJesus is offline  
post #659 of 859 Old 08-11-2010, 09:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 4,757
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 260 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by realJesus View Post

Hi:

Does Patriot Box Office streams youtube without using a PC?

Well, sort of.
If you install the AC Ryan software and metafeeds, you can access Best of YouTube through Xtreamer.net.
So the answer to your question is probably "no."

Downloadable FREE demo discs:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475769/de...ently-authored 

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #660 of 859 Old 08-14-2010, 07:14 AM
Member
 
billcsho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Received the Hornettek Phantom yesterday. It has BC16 firmware 02 in it as expected. The price went up yesterday that it is now more expensive than the PBO ($57AR shipped at Amazon). With the stock firmware, it works fine but the UI is poor though. I hooked it up to a Rosewill RNX-N400LX router in WDS bridge with my other routers in g mode. I can stream AVI/Divx and RMVB smoothly from an NAS (NSLU2 connected HD) on a separated wireless router with a transfer rate of ~6Mbps but I can only do up to 2x FF. The response time is a bit slower than my previous non-network non-HD media player boxes.
My only complain is that the batteries for the remote came with the box are dead. I am going to order the Nokia cable and get ready for ACRyan firmware.
billcsho is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off