WD HD media player with model number WDBABG0000NBK-EESN has DTS 2.0 downmix - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 76 Old 11-11-2009, 04:24 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
0711sale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Today i have received WD HD media player with model number WDBABG0000NBK-EESN.It is a new model and has DTS downmix to stereo.I have i few pictures.

0711sale is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 76 Old 11-11-2009, 04:39 AM
Member
 
toge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what the....

Western Digital WD TV Wikisite - WE NEED CONTRIBUTORS! Please help :) | 90 members and counting
toge is offline  
post #3 of 76 Old 11-11-2009, 05:21 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
0711sale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also it has diferent firmware from the old model.The firmware version is 1.01.70.The difference is that it has file management,HDMI deep color mode (8 bit and 12 bit).That is for now.I'll test it and post some differences.
0711sale is offline  
post #4 of 76 Old 11-11-2009, 05:27 AM
Member
 
Spookstah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Assen, The Netherlands
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could you "extract" this firmware from your device?
If i`m not mistaken this whas/is possible.
Spookstah is offline  
post #5 of 76 Old 11-11-2009, 05:39 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
0711sale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i don't know how to do it but i think it has another board inside because it is much more faster than the previous model also it hasn't any problems with the black color the old model had.
0711sale is offline  
post #6 of 76 Old 11-11-2009, 05:41 AM
Senior Member
 
joshjoshlol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
does this mean new hardware as well for the base WDTV (non-live) if DTS downmix and deep color are features? kind of sucks for us early adopters who spread the gospel of the original WDTV if this means a fork in the WDTV firmware...
joshjoshlol is offline  
post #7 of 76 Old 11-11-2009, 07:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
christoofar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Inevitable, so goes the way of technology.
christoofar is offline  
post #8 of 76 Old 11-11-2009, 08:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Wow interesting, and they didn't even market it, at least not that I know of. I guess this was easier then making a new firmware, or more likely they hope all us original owners will go buy a new one.
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #9 of 76 Old 11-11-2009, 09:43 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
0711sale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They will market it.When WD Live was coming I could buy it here in Croatia a week before it was even mentioned on the WD website.
0711sale is offline  
post #10 of 76 Old 11-11-2009, 09:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
Afrsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I really don't know what to say... LOOL!!! The best support EVER!

Oh WD, WD... now you can update the User Voice!
Afrsa is offline  
post #11 of 76 Old 11-11-2009, 02:44 PM
Member
 
a4tq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow, thanks for posting. I was curious to find out what's going on since there was another post in this forum that showed a box that clearly listed DTS downmix on the outside of the box but it was NOT a Live unit.

So the key here is to figure out what's different in hardware since us early adopters don't have DTS downmix and the color options.

Waiting for more info....
a4tq is offline  
post #12 of 76 Old 11-11-2009, 02:53 PM
Member
 
a4tq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not sure how many versions are out there but there's another thread here:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1195432

It has a different model number.

We now have:
WDBABG0000NBK-EESN
WDBABF0000NBK-NESN

Both show DTS capable on the outside. I've directed the other poster over here to consolidate the thread.
a4tq is offline  
post #13 of 76 Old 11-11-2009, 02:58 PM
Member
 
a4tq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
a4tq is offline  
post #14 of 76 Old 11-11-2009, 03:07 PM
Member
 
a4tq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry for all the posts but I'm really curious what's going on here.

If the OP says that it supports deep color then it most likely means the HDMI is v 1.3. If this unit is HDMI 1.3 then is it possible that this unit is a crippled Live unit without networking?
a4tq is offline  
post #15 of 76 Old 11-11-2009, 05:17 PM
Senior Member
 
joshjoshlol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
that is a possibility. the total RAM amount will probably be the strongest indicator of where the revamped WDTV rests in terms of generational standings, whether it's closer to the original WDTV or if it's the WDTV Live's handicapped brother.
joshjoshlol is offline  
post #16 of 76 Old 11-11-2009, 05:59 PM
Member
 
a4tq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ScottWD,

How about a discount on Gen2 for us early adopters?

Probably won't happen but won't hurt to ask.
a4tq is offline  
post #17 of 76 Old 11-11-2009, 07:08 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
0711sale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think the board inside is the same board from WD LIVE.Maybe I can put the WD LIVE firmware on this unit and have wireless capability?I payed this WD the same price like the old one,a few dollars more.If the board is the same how would WD made a security to avoid putting WD Live firmware on it?
0711sale is offline  
post #18 of 76 Old 11-11-2009, 07:20 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
0711sale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also the new unit is HDMI 1.3 Chek out the picture.It is written on the box and in the documentation.
0711sale is offline  
post #19 of 76 Old 11-11-2009, 07:40 PM
Newbie
 
geemoney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: California
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm the guy from the other thread who also bought this unit. So do you think I should keep this WDTV or return it and wait until I can find a WDTV Live? It is $129 at Staples. I had a $25 coupon to bring it down to $105. I would rather have networking capability, but if I can put different firmware on it to enable networking and make it equivalent to a Live then I might keep it.
geemoney is offline  
post #20 of 76 Old 11-11-2009, 08:01 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
0711sale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you want networking return it and find WD Live because we don't know if this unit is capable of this change.Maybe in the future b-rad will make some custom firmware with networking with this one.
0711sale is offline  
post #21 of 76 Old 11-11-2009, 08:03 PM
Member
 
a4tq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by geemoney View Post

I'm the guy from the other thread who also bought this unit. So do you think I should keep this WDTV or return it and wait until I can find a WDTV Live? It is $129 at Staples. I had a $25 coupon to bring it down to $105. I would rather have networking capability, but if I can put different firmware on it to enable networking and make it equivalent to a Live then I might keep it.

If networking is a necessity then I would get the Live. There's no software upgrade that will get you ethernet connectivity. There's a chance that you could plug a wireless stick into the USB port but then I would doubt that WD would put network settings in a non-Live unit.
a4tq is offline  
post #22 of 76 Old 11-11-2009, 08:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
christoofar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by geemoney View Post

I'm the guy from the other thread who also bought this unit. So do you think I should keep this WDTV or return it and wait until I can find a WDTV Live? It is $129 at Staples. I had a $25 coupon to bring it down to $105. I would rather have networking capability, but if I can put different firmware on it to enable networking and make it equivalent to a Live then I might keep it.

I think the Live is the one to get, besides the possibilites of fw updates, it has a more responsive remote, plays higher bitrate .mkv, can access Pandora, Live 365, Youtube ,etc
christoofar is offline  
post #23 of 76 Old 11-11-2009, 10:49 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
0711sale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Today i'll open this new box to see the board inside because i think it has the same processor like LIVE SIGMA 8655.I have to mention that this unit is very fast compared to the old model and don't have issues with the remote.Also some MKV files that played bad on the old unit now are played without problems.
0711sale is offline  
post #24 of 76 Old 11-12-2009, 03:43 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
0711sale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I opened the box and the board is different but it has the same processor like Live.It is Sigma SMP8655.Maybe I'll try to flash it with WD Live Firmware because the flash chip is the same.If it works i can get the wireless functionality with the wireless stick.
http://img69.imageshack.us/img69/107/12112009113.jpg
http://img29.imageshack.us/img29/9/12112009118.jpg
http://img29.imageshack.us/img29/601/12112009121.jpg
0711sale is offline  
post #25 of 76 Old 11-12-2009, 04:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
Afrsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So this is the final word about the poorly choice of hardware in WDTV 1!

They release more players than firmwares...

So... this means that WDTV will never have the things listed in User Voice?

I think that WD should say that they made a bad choice of hardware in WDTV1 and offer a discount to the WDTV 2 gen for the early adopters... since we helped WD to develop their new players... that would be nice regarding the mess they did with the firmware developement!

The thing is... i will not buy any new player from them... since that ION platforms are getting cheaper and cheaper! Who need appliances when you can have XBMC on a cheap ION?
Afrsa is offline  
post #26 of 76 Old 11-12-2009, 05:03 AM
Member
 
Mr Lazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: U.K.
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0711sale View Post

I opened the box and the board is different but it has the same processor like Live.It is Sigma SMP8655.Maybe I'll try to flash it with WD Live Firmware because the flash chip is the same.If it works i can get the wireless functionality with the wireless stick.
http://img69.imageshack.us/img69/107/12112009113.jpg
http://img29.imageshack.us/img29/9/12112009118.jpg
http://img29.imageshack.us/img29/601/12112009121.jpg

Are you confident about recovering the box if you brick it?

Personally if I was going to flash any firmware I'd try b-rad's homebrew firmware for the Live first.
Mr Lazy is offline  
post #27 of 76 Old 11-12-2009, 05:16 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
0711sale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes i'll try B-rad firmware because i don't know where to find the original one!
0711sale is offline  
post #28 of 76 Old 11-12-2009, 05:43 AM
Member
 
mrgimble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Afrsa View Post

So this is the final word about the poorly choice of hardware in WDTV 1!

They release more players than firmwares...

So... this means that WDTV will never have the things listed in User Voice?

I think that WD should say that they made a bad choice of hardware in WDTV1 and offer a discount to the WDTV 2 gen for the early adopters... since we helped WD to develop their new players... that would be nice regarding the mess they did with the firmware developement!

The thing is... i will not buy any new player from them... since that ION platforms are getting cheaper and cheaper! Who need appliances when you can have XBMC on a cheap ION?

You cannot expect a company to not revise\
evamp their products. Do you expect every manufacturer of every piece of hardware you have to give you a discount on the latest model? Or your car when there is an upgrade for the next year?
mrgimble is offline  
post #29 of 76 Old 11-12-2009, 06:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
Afrsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrgimble View Post

You cannot expect a company to not revise\
evamp their products. Do you expect every manufacturer of every piece of hardware you have to give you a discount on the latest model? Or your car when there is an upgrade for the next year?

Since they failed to deliver proper support for WDTV because of bad hardware, then yes!

P.S. A car is not a firmware upgreadable HD Media Player!
Afrsa is offline  
post #30 of 76 Old 11-12-2009, 06:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
christoofar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrgimble View Post

You cannot expect a company to not revise\
evamp their products. Do you expect every manufacturer of every piece of hardware you have to give you a discount on the latest model? Or your car when there is an upgrade for the next year?

sniff...I bought a Popcorn Hour A-100, and then they came out with the C-200..I am now & want a free upgrade!! waaaaaahhh!
christoofar is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off