Dune 3.0 Prime/Base Official Appreciation thread - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 194 Old 12-12-2009, 01:45 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Opentoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I figured I'd start one and name the topic properly and get it going. Since these units are in some hands already, let's here some feedback. Anything related to the Dune 3.0's, post them here for easy lookup.


I'm still waiting for mine, I was informed it is coming soon!


Michael
Opentoe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 194 Old 12-12-2009, 01:51 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Opentoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Arthur said MY dune is at JKF airport. Ok people, I'm putting together some rope, crow bars, small grenades and climbing equiptment. I'm gonna go break MY player out of there. How tight can secuity be? Few dogs, few guys with guns?


Hopefully I'll get mine next week, the week right before Christmas!
Opentoe is offline  
post #3 of 194 Old 12-12-2009, 07:04 PM
 
CCONKLIN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Oswego IL 60543
Posts: 2,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opentoe View Post

Arthur said MY dune is at JKF airport. Ok people, I'm putting together some rope, crow bars, small grenades and climbing equiptment. I'm gonna go break MY player out of there. How tight can secuity be? Few dogs, few guys with guns?


Hopefully I'll get mine next week, the week right before Christmas!

Where exactly, is "JKF" airport?
I sure as hell wish mine would get here...
CCONKLIN1 is offline  
 
post #4 of 194 Old 12-12-2009, 07:33 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Opentoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCONKLIN1 View Post

Where exactly, is "JKF" airport?
I sure as hell wish mine would get here...

JFK is in Queens NY. Very busy airport on the East Coast of the US. Wanna go with me and break in? I'm VERY looking forward to getting my Dune. I have the prime coming, and did wonder a little bit if I did want to install a 2.5 hard drive would it be a bad thing on the warranty if I open it up. I don't "need" it installed, but may be nice down the road.
Opentoe is offline  
post #5 of 194 Old 12-12-2009, 11:18 PM
Member
 
468LS1Vette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Taken from my Iphone so they are not perfect. MyMovies for those who were requesting the interface on the 3.0 models.



LL
LL
468LS1Vette is offline  
post #6 of 194 Old 12-13-2009, 12:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bluewhale1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,425
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 473 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opentoe View Post

JFK is in Queens NY. Very busy airport on the East Coast of the US. Wanna go with me and break in? I'm VERY looking forward to getting my Dune. I have the prime coming, and did wonder a little bit if I did want to install a 2.5 hard drive would it be a bad thing on the warranty if I open it up. I don't "need" it installed, but may be nice down the road.

I will help you guys as long as Arthur lets me give him an iou and take one of them lol

Disclaimer
Any federal agents looking at this thread we are just joking. Under no circumstance do i want to go to jail and become someones wife.
bluewhale1 is offline  
post #7 of 194 Old 12-13-2009, 06:33 AM
 
CCONKLIN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Oswego IL 60543
Posts: 2,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opentoe View Post

JFK is in Queens NY. Very busy airport on the East Coast of the US. Wanna go with me and break in? I'm VERY looking forward to getting my Dune. I have the prime coming, and did wonder a little bit if I did want to install a 2.5 hard drive would it be a bad thing on the warranty if I open it up. I don't "need" it installed, but may be nice down the road.

I know where 'JFK" is, my grand mother lived in Queens. I was just being a jerk weed because you typed "JKF"? And as far breaking in to JFK, no way! They got some scary ass security there last time I was there.
My prime will be here tuesdya and hopefully coincide with the USB device DC is sending me to make it all work as one big happ family. 8 terrabytes of blu ray Iso's and counting... Although I got an "invalid file" on my Star Trek ISo on my Patriot Box Office last night, so I have to figure that out..
CCONKLIN1 is offline  
post #8 of 194 Old 12-13-2009, 06:42 PM
Member
 
rmd3003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does it play BD ISO's? If yes, I'm ordering mine...........
rmd3003 is offline  
post #9 of 194 Old 12-13-2009, 07:08 PM
Member
 
ArthurPower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmd3003 View Post

Does it play BD ISO's? If yes, I'm ordering mine...........

rmd3003 Absolutely, with full menu's.


Arthur
DunePlayer.com
ArthurPower is offline  
post #10 of 194 Old 12-13-2009, 07:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gmanhdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: windermere, florida
Posts: 1,269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArthurPower View Post

rmd3003 Absolutely, with full menu's.


Arthur
DunePlayer.com

Will it play over network connection or attached hard drive? Need to be specific as even the Seagate HD+ will do bluray iso on attached drive????
gmanhdtv is offline  
post #11 of 194 Old 12-13-2009, 07:37 PM
Member
 
ArthurPower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gmanhdtv View Post

Will it play over network connection or attached hard drive? Need to be specific as even the Seagate HD+ will do bluray iso on attached drive????

gmanhdtv Absolutely, we play movies over a network connection all the time. You can also plug any brand hard drive into the unit via USB or eSATA.

Arthur
DunePlayer.com
ArthurPower is offline  
post #12 of 194 Old 12-13-2009, 11:14 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Opentoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArthurPower View Post

gmanhdtv Absolutely, we play movies over a network connection all the time. You can also plug any brand hard drive into the unit via USB or eSATA.

Arthur
DunePlayer.com

The Dune does it all.
Opentoe is offline  
post #13 of 194 Old 12-14-2009, 06:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,195
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1176 Post(s)
Liked: 588
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opentoe View Post

The Dune does it all.

Do we have confirmation that it Bitstreams TrueHD and DTS MA from ISO, MKVs and M2TS files?

I've paid for my sins. We're even!
blackssr is offline  
post #14 of 194 Old 12-14-2009, 06:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
En Sabur Nur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArthurPower View Post

rmd3003 Absolutely, with full menu's.


Arthur
DunePlayer.com

Arthur, how does the Dune handle Blu Ray TV show iso rips? Are they done the same as the movies. I want to rip my shows to hard drives with full metadata and it is hard to find any examples of this, besides Boxee and AppleTV.
En Sabur Nur is offline  
post #15 of 194 Old 12-14-2009, 06:46 AM
Member
 
ArthurPower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post

Do we have confirmation that it Bitstreams TrueHD and DTS MA from ISO, MKVs and M2TS files?


blackssr TrueHD and DTS MA bit streaming from ISO & M2TS yes. From MKV, have not tested.


Arthur
DunePlayer.com
ArthurPower is offline  
post #16 of 194 Old 12-14-2009, 06:51 AM
Member
 
ArthurPower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by En Sabur Nur View Post

Arthur, how does the Dune handle Blu Ray TV show iso rips? Are they done the same as the movies. I want to rip my shows to hard drives with full metadata and it is hard to find any examples of this, besides Boxee and AppleTV.

En Sabur Nur We have archived many TV shows. If you use My Movies, they are indexed with cover art and full meta data just the same as Blu-ray movies.


Arthur
DunePlayer.com
ArthurPower is offline  
post #17 of 194 Old 12-14-2009, 07:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
En Sabur Nur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArthurPower View Post

En Sabur Nur We have archived many TV shows. If you use My Movies, they are indexed with cover art and full meta data just the same as Blu-ray movies.


Arthur
DunePlayer.com

That's good to know. I always see screenshots of movies but never how these media players do tv shows, specifically Blu Ray tv shows. I didn't know if the MyMovies software handled tv shows properly, but since it can, I should be all set when I recceive my Dune Base. Thanks.
En Sabur Nur is offline  
post #18 of 194 Old 12-14-2009, 07:29 AM
 
CCONKLIN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Oswego IL 60543
Posts: 2,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArthurPower View Post

blackssr TrueHD and DTS MA bit streaming from ISO & M2TS yes. From MKV, have not tested.


Arthur
DunePlayer.com

Arthur,
How about 1080p 24fps output for blu ray ISO's? PLEASE tell me that it does that as well!
Best,
Chris
CCONKLIN1 is offline  
post #19 of 194 Old 12-14-2009, 07:34 AM
Member
 
ArthurPower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCONKLIN1 View Post

Arthur,
How about 1080p 24fps output for blu ray ISO's? PLEASE tell me that it does that as well!
Best,
Chris

CCONKLIN1 Yes, it does. We have tested 1080p 24fps on a Mitsubishi TV. Anything that a Blu-ray is capable of a Blu-ray ISO is also capable of.


Arthur
DunePlayer.com
ArthurPower is offline  
post #20 of 194 Old 12-14-2009, 08:12 AM
Member
 
aronsonstack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ArthurPower! So today's the day? If they deliver your inventory today, please let us know!
aronsonstack is offline  
post #21 of 194 Old 12-14-2009, 08:44 AM
Member
 
ArthurPower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aronsonstack View Post

ArthurPower! So today's the day? If they deliver your inventory today, please let us know!

aronsonstack Yes, it's D day. D for Dune of course! My agent said they haven't been released from customs yet. Hopefully later this afternoon.


Arthur
DunePlayer.com
ArthurPower is offline  
post #22 of 194 Old 12-14-2009, 11:08 AM
Predator - Brian
 
Jet-X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 1,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opentoe View Post

The Dune does it all.

When it does FLV, then it does it all

-> No longer looking for Hi-Vision LDs <-

(I buried that format finally)

www.ispeedonthe405.com
Jet-X is offline  
post #23 of 194 Old 12-14-2009, 11:48 AM
Senior Member
 
elove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jet-X View Post

When it does FLV, then it does it all

I agree. When it does FLV files, then it does all.
At which time, I will be a happy camper.
elove is offline  
post #24 of 194 Old 12-14-2009, 01:16 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Opentoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Arthur, any news today on the JFK operation/breakout?
Opentoe is offline  
post #25 of 194 Old 12-14-2009, 01:26 PM
 
CCONKLIN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Oswego IL 60543
Posts: 2,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opentoe View Post

Arthur, any news today on the JFK operation/breakout?

OMG! It's been less than 5 hours since he posted! Give the guy a chance to get something done! Knowing as responsive as Arthur has been I am sure he will post as soon as he knows something! I know we are all excited to get these, but cut him some slack!
Best,
Chris
CCONKLIN1 is offline  
post #26 of 194 Old 12-14-2009, 01:38 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Opentoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCONKLIN1 View Post

OMG! It's been less than 5 hours since he posted! Give the guy a chance to get something done! Knowing as responsive as Arthur has been I am sure he will post as soon as he knows something! I know we are all excited to get these, but cut him some slack!
Best,
Chris

Read under the lines, it was a more comical question than a real question. We all know this. We all know we're waiting and have been for months and Arthur will let us know when he has the time. I thought "operation/breakout" was clear to be humorous relating to the previous posts on "breaking" them out of JFK.
Opentoe is offline  
post #27 of 194 Old 12-14-2009, 01:45 PM
 
CCONKLIN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Oswego IL 60543
Posts: 2,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opentoe View Post

Read under the lines, it was a more comical question than a real question. We all know this. We all know we're waiting and have been for months and Arthur will let us know when he has the time. I thought "operation/breakout" was clear to be humorous relating to the previous posts on "breaking" them out of JFK.

add this or and I might have got the fact that you were joking...

Best,
Chris
CCONKLIN1 is offline  
post #28 of 194 Old 12-14-2009, 01:49 PM
 
CCONKLIN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Oswego IL 60543
Posts: 2,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
...and speaking of being impatient! Mine was delivered today and I am still at work for four more hours! Oh, the agony...
Of course, I don't seem to have a flash drive to do my update so I am probably screwed until the one DC should have sent me arrives here...
Now, to see if my Blu Ray rip of Star Trek 2009 will finally have sound....
CCONKLIN1 is offline  
post #29 of 194 Old 12-14-2009, 02:04 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Opentoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCONKLIN1 View Post

...and speaking of being impatient! Mine was delivered today and I am still at work for four more hours! Oh, the agony...
Of course, I don't seem to have a flash drive to do my update so I am probably screwed until the one DC should have sent me arrives here...
Now, to see if my Blu Ray rip of Star Trek 2009 will finally have sound....

Flash drive? You mean the one that comes built in on the inside? Did they really forget to install those on some of them? I bet it's going to be a while until they get them all fixed up for people. I hope ALL the shipments weren't rushed and stuff forgotten like that. Like forgetting a remote control or something.
Opentoe is offline  
post #30 of 194 Old 12-15-2009, 10:57 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Opentoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 15
D day again!????

Opentoe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off