Oppo BDP-83/93/95/103/105 DLNA/UPnP thread - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 2560 Old 01-28-2010, 09:15 PM
Member
 
Tokyo_Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Up North, Japan
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DVD shrink seems to work nicely. I wonder though, is there a Linux alternative which will make a single VOB file nice and simply?

DVDShrink works OK in Wine but my system seems to get upset when you have more than a couple of things running in Wine at one time. And I've got Asset running in the background.
Tokyo_Joe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 2560 Old 01-29-2010, 01:02 AM
Member
 
Emil Faber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Woodstock GA
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The cat command does a nice job

cat file_1.vob >> file.vob
cat file_2.vob >> file.vob
etc.

Probably not the best thing if you want to pick audio tracks, etc. and no GUI interface

Cheers,

joe

Knowledge is good. - Emil Faber, Faber College
Emil Faber is offline  
post #273 of 2560 Old 01-29-2010, 03:20 AM
Member
 
Tokyo_Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Up North, Japan
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hah. Who needs GUIs? We never had 'em when I were a lad.


Thanks for that.
Tokyo_Joe is offline  
post #274 of 2560 Old 01-29-2010, 07:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
Gary P. Gibbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Blu-ray streaming

Thought I would summarize the little bit I have found:

blu-ray -> MakeMKV -> Tversity -> Oppo works on two discs tried. One disc was encoded with "Mpeg4" and had no problem. Player is a bit non-responsive (Pause, stop, etc.) during playback. The other was encoded with vc-1 and had the aspect ratio wrong during playback. If anyone has different or better experiences let me know. Looking for a method to play my blu-ray titles off network and I don't feel we are there yet.

Gary
Gary P. Gibbs is offline  
post #275 of 2560 Old 01-29-2010, 09:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
andersa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary P. Gibbs View Post

Blu-ray streaming

Thought I would summarize the little bit I have found:

blu-ray -> MakeMKV -> Tversity -> Oppo works on two discs tried. One disc was encoded with "Mpeg4" and had no problem. Player is a bit non-responsive (Pause, stop, etc.) during playback. The other was encoded with vc-1 and had the aspect ratio wrong during playback. If anyone has different or better experiences let me know. Looking for a method to play my blu-ray titles off network and I don't feel we are there yet.

AC3/DTS sounds only I pressume - i.e. no TrueHD or DTS Master HD?
andersa is offline  
post #276 of 2560 Old 01-29-2010, 12:31 PM
Newbie
 
Fadi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
using a mac with twonkymedia server. dvd rips with handbrake using mkv wrapper and h.264 encoding produce a that file plays fine on the computer but when streamed to the oppo have tons of block artifact and color distortion/streaking (large scale, not small). anyone else have/notice these problems? mpeg 4 encoding has no issue. raw vob files play without a problem.

thanks for any input....
Fadi is offline  
post #277 of 2560 Old 01-29-2010, 01:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sherbona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 1,626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fadi View Post

using a mac with twonkymedia server. dvd rips with handbrake using mkv wrapper and h.264 encoding produce a that file plays fine on the computer but when streamed to the oppo have tons of block artifact and color distortion/streaking (large scale, not small). anyone else have/notice these problems? mpeg 4 encoding has no issue. raw vob files play without a problem.

thanks for any input....

Yes there's a known issue with the Oppo playing back files encoded with the most recent version of Handbrake. See posts 57 and 62 in this thread for more information and workaround (the workaround involves re-encoding in Handbrake with a change in setting).
Sherbona is offline  
post #278 of 2560 Old 01-29-2010, 02:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
Gary P. Gibbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by andersa View Post

AC3/DTS sounds only I pressume - i.e. no TrueHD or DTS Master HD?

Have not tried HD sound.

Gary
Gary P. Gibbs is offline  
post #279 of 2560 Old 01-29-2010, 03:31 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1011
Likely not what you want to hear, Gary, but a VC-1-transcoded MKV of mine also appears to play in a shrunk aspect ratio.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #280 of 2560 Old 01-29-2010, 05:44 PM
Newbie
 
Fadi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sherbona View Post

Yes there's a known issue with the Oppo playing back files encoded with the most recent version of Handbrake. See posts 57 and 62 in this thread for more information and workaround (the workaround involves re-encoding in Handbrake with a change in setting).

Thanks. Works like a charm now.
Fadi is offline  
post #281 of 2560 Old 01-29-2010, 06:52 PM
Member
 
jcleve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post

That last one is easy...the profile as it is written should direct Tversity to transcode them to PCM.

I have gigabytes of FLAC files - none of which i've found will play on the Oppo.

In the menu, the FLAC files display as PCM files - but when I select play or enter, I get a little play "arrow" by the file - but no sound. After 15-20 seconds, the play arrow moves down to the next FLAC encoded song in the directory, tries to play it, then moves on to the next - so on and so forth.

So I'm not sure why they aren't playing.
jcleve is offline  
post #282 of 2560 Old 01-29-2010, 08:49 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcleve View Post

I have gigabytes of FLAC files - none of which i've found will play on the Oppo.

In the menu, the FLAC files display as PCM files - but when I select play or enter, I get a little play "arrow" by the file - but no sound. After 15-20 seconds, the play arrow moves down to the next FLAC encoded song in the directory, tries to play it, then moves on to the next - so on and so forth.

So I'm not sure why they aren't playing.

If they are 24 bit, you'll need Asset to play them. If they are 5.1, no go.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #283 of 2560 Old 01-29-2010, 10:44 PM
Member
 
Dawgmatix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New York city
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am wondering if there is anyway I can get the following setup to work -> I am on my pc programming and my pc is serving files via a dlna server (say tversity) - can I control what songs playing from my pc ? Basically I want to use the dlna server as a remote which forces the oppo to play the songs I want. Currently I have to get up from the pc - walk to the oppo and then change songs.
Dawgmatix is offline  
post #284 of 2560 Old 01-30-2010, 05:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
generalhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dawgmatix View Post

I am wondering if there is anyway I can get the following setup to work -> I am on my pc programming and my pc is serving files via a dlna server (say tversity) - can I control what songs playing from my pc ? Basically I want to use the dlna server as a remote which forces the oppo to play the songs I want. Currently I have to get up from the pc - walk to the oppo and then change songs.

Your Oppo didn't come with a remote?
generalhead is offline  
post #285 of 2560 Old 01-30-2010, 06:35 AM
Member
 
offten's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
From the last sentence in DawgMatix's post, I believe he wants to change songs from the PC.

Since my preference for songs changes from week to week, I just copy the songs I want to hear into the server's library folder rather than pointing the server to the folder with all my songs.

Alan
offten is offline  
post #286 of 2560 Old 01-30-2010, 08:00 AM
Member
 
jcleve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post

If they are 24 bit, you'll need Asset to play them.

I'm not sure how to determine this. I used Exact Audio Copy, with the standard FLAC front end to encode them. This is the info I could get for one of my FLAC files

Comment: Encoded by FLAC v1.1.2a with FLAC Frontend v1.7.1
Track Number: 1
File Format: FLAC
Duration: 3:08
Volume Adjustment: -4.30 dB
Album Volume Adjustment: -5.23 dB
Sample Rate: 44.1 kHz

EDIT - I think they're just regular 16 bit files - after a bit of research I found that 24 bit is a 'higher resolution' audio format - but standard CDs are 16 bit - all of the CDs I encoded to FLAC are standard CDs.
jcleve is offline  
post #287 of 2560 Old 01-30-2010, 08:22 AM
Senior Member
 
sac8d4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Arizona Bay
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I apologize if it has already been asked... Does Tversity transcode files into Mp3 or LCPM? I have the free version of Tversity

"Without music life would be a mistake." -Friedrich Nietzsche

sac8d4 is offline  
post #288 of 2560 Old 01-30-2010, 08:47 AM
Senior Member
 
scoogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: WI
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just for kicks, I added a BDP-83 icon for the Tversity profile that the OP created.

Add this line to the top of the profile code in post #1 right after the modelName tag.
Quote:


/images/device_icon_Oppo.png

Then add the attached PNG file to Program Files\\TVersity\\Media Server\\web\\images

Obviously not really needed, but if you want to get rid of the generic icon, this will do it. Now if I could only figure out the profile ID for my AVR...
LL
scoogs is offline  
post #289 of 2560 Old 01-30-2010, 08:56 AM
Member
 
Dawgmatix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New York city
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
But unfortunately the pc and the oppo are at such an angle that I have to get up and and walk a bit before the remote is in line of sight with the oppo. Ideal case would be if something like the foobar upnp plugin which has a upnp controller could control the oppo remotely.
Dawgmatix is offline  
post #290 of 2560 Old 01-30-2010, 09:48 AM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcleve View Post

I'm not sure how to determine this. I used Exact Audio Copy, with the standard FLAC front end to encode them. This is the info I could get for one of my FLAC files

Comment: Encoded by FLAC v1.1.2a with FLAC Frontend v1.7.1
Track Number: 1
File Format: FLAC
Duration: 3:08
Volume Adjustment: -4.30 dB
Album Volume Adjustment: -5.23 dB
Sample Rate: 44.1 kHz

EDIT - I think they're just regular 16 bit files - after a bit of research I found that 24 bit is a 'higher resolution' audio format - but standard CDs are 16 bit - all of the CDs I encoded to FLAC are standard CDs.

You may need a FLAC decoder on your machine that Tversity can access. Did you install the ffdshow codecs that come with the Tversity install?
vinnie97 is offline  
post #291 of 2560 Old 01-30-2010, 10:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mactavish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcleve View Post

I'm not sure how to determine this. I used Exact Audio Copy, with the standard FLAC front end to encode them. This is the info I could get for one of my FLAC files

Comment: Encoded by FLAC v1.1.2a with FLAC Frontend v1.7.1
Track Number: 1
File Format: FLAC
Duration: 3:08
Volume Adjustment: -4.30 dB
Album Volume Adjustment: -5.23 dB
Sample Rate: 44.1 kHz

EDIT - I think they're just regular 16 bit files - after a bit of research I found that 24 bit is a 'higher resolution' audio format - but standard CDs are 16 bit - all of the CDs I encoded to FLAC are standard CDs.

Rdgrimes, brings up a subject that I was never able to find much more about. I kept a simple text clipping :"FLAC Studio Master" 24-bit, 44.1KHz". I use xAct for creating FLAC rips or converting to FLAC, and there is NO 24-bit option, so I don't know how, or if, one can create these higher bit flac files on their own, or what software can do it. I assume if the source is a CD at 16 bit, there would be NO advantage anyways. I believe this is possibly a setting available in some "studio" software. Anyone know more about "FLAC Studio Master 24-bit"? THanks.
Mactavish is offline  
post #292 of 2560 Old 01-30-2010, 10:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
andersa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mactavish View Post

Rdgrimes, brings up a subject that I was never able to find much more about. I kept a simple text clipping :"FLAC Studio Master" 24-bit, 44.1KHz". I use xAct for creating FLAC rips or converting to FLAC, and there is NO 24-bit option, so I don't know how, or if, one can create these higher bit flac files on their own, or what software can do it. I assume if the source is a CD at 16 bit, there would be NO advantage anyways. I believe this is possibly a setting available in some "studio" software. Anyone know more about "FLAC Studio Master 24-bit"? THanks.

You can buy 24/96 5.1 flacs from places like linnrecords.com and 2l.no, or you can get them by ripping DVD-A discs.
2 channel 24/96 and 24/88.2 can also be purchased from hdtracks.com.

I've done some testing using Jriver's Media Center 14 (JRMC14) as a DLNA Server last week. 2ch 16/44.1, 16/48, 24/96 and24/192 flacs worked great, but anything 5.1 did not play.
Playing back a DTS WAV encoded in flac played worked too, which is a good indication that the chain from the JRMC converting flac to pcm to oppo to preamp over HDMI is bitperfect.

/Anders
andersa is offline  
post #293 of 2560 Old 01-30-2010, 10:55 AM
Member
 
offten's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sac8d4 View Post

I apologize if it has already been asked... Does Tversity transcode files into Mp3 or LCPM? I have the free version of Tversity

You have control over the transcode target via the Oppo profile (provided in the first post). The default now is LPCM (i.e. audio/L16) but you can change it to MP3 by making changes to the Oppo part of the profile as shown in http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...&postcount=164

Alan
offten is offline  
post #294 of 2560 Old 01-30-2010, 10:57 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post

You may need a FLAC decoder on your machine that Tversity can access. Did you install the ffdshow codecs that come with the Tversity install?

I've not been able to get TVersity to play any FLAC. I do have the FLAC Frontend on the PC. ffdshow is also present.

Edit to add: I have had success with .wav files, but they are always reencoded to 16/44 2-ch or 16-48 2-ch. No 5.1 allowed.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #295 of 2560 Old 01-30-2010, 11:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mactavish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by andersa View Post

You can buy 24/96 5.1 flacs from places like linnrecords.com and 2l.no, or you can get them by ripping DVD-A discs.
2 channel 24/96 and 24/88.2 can also be purchased from hdtracks.com.

I've done some testing using Jriver's Media Center 14 (JRMC14) as a DLNA Server last week. 2ch 16/44.1, 16/48, 24/96 and24/192 flacs worked great, but anything 5.1 did not play.
Playing back a DTS WAV encoded in flac played worked too, which is a good indication that the chain from the JRMC converting flac to pcm to oppo to preamp over HDMI is bitperfect.

/Anders

You said "ripping DVD-A", one can get 24-bit. What software do you use to rip with. xAct on the Mac computer does not seem to have that option or setting, I do have DVD-A, to use as a test, not sure what software you refer to?
Mactavish is offline  
post #296 of 2560 Old 01-30-2010, 12:31 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1011
I'm going to recheck FLAC playback now to see if I dreamt it up...I haven't tried it since initially installing the new firmware.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #297 of 2560 Old 01-30-2010, 12:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sherbona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 1,626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mactavish View Post

You said "ripping DVD-A", one can get 24-bit. What software do you use to rip with. xAct on the Mac computer does not seem to have that option or setting, I do have DVD-A, to use as a test, not sure what software you refer to?

Windows - for ripping DVD-Audio to an iso file the clone mode of DVDFab is great. To rip tracks to flac there is Foobar2000 (with the MLP Decoder plugin) or DVD-Audio Explorer.

I'm not sure what options exist for Mac users however.
Sherbona is offline  
post #298 of 2560 Old 01-30-2010, 12:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sherbona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 1,626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by andersa View Post


-- snip --
I've done some testing using Jriver's Media Center 14 (JRMC14) as a DLNA Server last week. 2ch 16/44.1, 16/48, 24/96 and24/192 flacs worked great, but anything 5.1 did not play.

Playing back a DTS WAV encoded in flac played worked too, which is a good indication that the chain from the JRMC converting flac to pcm to oppo to preamp over HDMI is bitperfect.
/Anders

That's great news Anders, I'm using Jriver MC (14.0.131). I tried a week or two ago but didn't get it to work (but I didn't try all the settings either).

Could you list out your exact settings in the JRMC DLNA configuration, especially under the Audio, Images and Video headings in the DLNA settings? Also, which boxes do you have checked under Advanced?

Then in the Oppo, do you navigate to the file to be played via 'by folder'?

Thanks in advance!
Sherbona is offline  
post #299 of 2560 Old 01-30-2010, 01:01 PM
Member
 
jcleve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post

You may need a FLAC decoder on your machine that Tversity can access. Did you install the ffdshow codecs that come with the Tversity install?


Yes, I have ffdshow. However, you helped me to identify the problem and find the fix - I hadn't thought to look at ffdshow settings.


In ffdshow, FLAC was shown as disabled, with a statement that a source filter was needed. So I downloaded a "DirectShow Filter Pack", extracted to the ffdshow folder, and then ran the DSFP_inst batch file - that last step adds the necessary registry items for Windows to know where to look for the codecs.

In fact, it won't work unless you run the .BAT file above - very important - but once I ran it, now the Oppo plays FLAC files.

Thanks for the hint! I'm up and running.
jcleve is offline  
post #300 of 2560 Old 01-30-2010, 01:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mactavish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sherbona View Post

Windows - for ripping DVD-Audio to an iso file the clone mode of DVDFab is great. To rip tracks to flac there is Foobar2000 (with the MLP Decoder plugin) or DVD-Audio Explorer.

I'm not sure what options exist for Mac users however.

I have software that does FLAC from CD's, or files, but the question was specifically about 24-bit flac using software, don't know if that exists for consumers. Making a clone or an "image", is not what I am talking about either. Perhaps the windows software you mentioned can take a FLAC 24-bit CD or DVD-A and extract a 24-bit version, is this what you are seeing?
Mactavish is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Oppo Bdp 83 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 95 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off