Ideas on how to hookup roku netflix box to lcd pc monitor? - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Gaming & Content Streaming > Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming > Ideas on how to hookup roku netflix box to lcd pc monitor?

Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Zyzzyva100's Avatar Zyzzyva100
06:10 PM Liked: 10
post #1 of 3
02-09-2010 | Posts: 194
Joined: Sep 2003
So I just bought the roku hd box so that I could watch netflix on a spare PC monitor that I have while I exercise. The monitor only supports DVI and VGA, and I figured that I could just use a dvi to vga cable that I have.

However, as it turns out the hdmi output on the box requires hdcp. Now I suppose I should have guessed this would be the case - Nowhere on the roku site does it mention under the specs that hdcp is required. Only if you dig through the FAQ's does it casually mention that you need it.

So, I am left with this box and monitor that I would like to connect, but I can't seem to figure out a way. The monitor only accepts RGB over VGA, and I can't seem to find any converting devices for component (or even composite or s-video) to vga that don't cost as much or more than the box.

I have 30 days to return this without penalty, but I would really like to be able to use it. Anybody have any ideas as to how to make this work?
sean_w_smith's Avatar sean_w_smith
06:26 PM Liked: 12
post #2 of 3
02-09-2010 | Posts: 4,292
Joined: Jan 2005
HDMI to DVI adapter.

will pass through HDCP. most LCD's support HDCP....

Sean
Zyzzyva100's Avatar Zyzzyva100
06:28 PM Liked: 10
post #3 of 3
02-09-2010 | Posts: 194
Joined: Sep 2003
Ahh, forgot to say. This monitor is a couple years old and does not support hdcp (as far as I can tell at least - its a 19" sceptre widescreen). I tried the hdmi to dvi cable and it didn't work. The monitor simply flashed no connection.
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3