Best inexpensive video capture device? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 03-23-2010, 05:28 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rightwingjedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have a bunch of VHS tapes I want to transfer to DVD.

My budget is around $40-$50 so I have narrowed it down to the following devices, can anyone tell me which is the best for an XP machine?


Diamond VC500 $34.99

StarTech SVID2USB2 $39.99

Video Magician DV/AV/TV 3IN1 $49.99
rightwingjedi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 03-23-2010, 07:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dogmanky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Spring Hill, TN
Posts: 1,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought a inexpensive DVD set top recorder for this purpose. Transferred all my old home movies with 1 click. Used DVD Decrypter to make ISOs of the burned DVDs. Now can edit them as I wish or just stream them across my home network to my PCH and XBMC devices.
dogmanky is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 03-23-2010, 07:43 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rightwingjedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just a regular DVD recorder? What are some good models, prices?

BTW, thanks for the help dogmanky
rightwingjedi is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 03-23-2010, 07:46 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rightwingjedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Also, during playback, the tapes seem quite messed up, I used a head cleaner tape but did not fix it. I do not think it is the tapes, these tapes have rarely been played back. Will this be picked up when I do the transfer?
rightwingjedi is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 03-23-2010, 11:28 AM
Member
 
PrestonD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If these are commercial tapes you will need to get a descrambler or some other type of video capture device that does not have Digital Rights Management (DRM) or copy protection. The problem you are having is most likely due to copy protection. Most all dvd recorders have this circuitry built in.
PrestonD is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 03-23-2010, 01:03 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rightwingjedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The problem is happening during regular playback with my VCR. The tapes of not been watched for 8 years or so, could this be the problem?
rightwingjedi is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 03-23-2010, 03:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Derelict_Drvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
VHS tapes have a finite life span (one of the reasons they became obsolete). I have several tapes that have degraded picture quality and color saturation and there is not much I can do about it. Over time the tapes become demagnetized and lose playbility.

With many of the tapes I have, I have put the ones with the least amount of degradation on DVD using a Sony RDR-VX560 that I bought from Tigerdirect for around $120. It is a one-click device. Load the Tape/DVD, and load a blank DVD/Tape and press either the record to Video or record to DVD button, and bingo. Go have a cup or 5 of coffee. If it is a two hour movie, it takes two hours to transfer. Remember that you will get VHS quality on a DVD record. Don't expect any improvement in video quality when transferring.

Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways,
totally worn out, shouting '...holy sh*t ....what a ride!'
Derelict_Drvr is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 03-23-2010, 03:31 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rightwingjedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Great, thanks for all the help guys.
rightwingjedi is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 03-24-2010, 12:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 2,963
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 283
As said, if you are speaking of commercial tapes, then you will have to remove the Macrovision from the tapes before you will be able to copy them into any other format.

If they are self shot tapes (personal) and playback is bad to your TV directly from the VCR, then you have VCR issues, especially if the issues are consistent from tape to tape.

I think I have 2 old VCRs I haven't used in over half a decade you could borrow.

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off