Logitech Squeezebox Touch Owners Thread - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 1058 Old 12-04-2011, 01:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
palmfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rammitinski View Post

CD -

I didn't really read back much, so I might've missed a reason if you posted it, but I was just wondering why you wouldn't have wanted a SB Duet controller?

The Duet Controller is an outdated legacy device now.

Why pay $120 for a discontinued one-trick pony when for $50 more, you can get a tablet with a 10" touch screen and can also run apps, surf the web, etc?
palmfish is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 1058 Old 12-04-2011, 05:51 PM
Senior Member
 
fullerms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDLehner View Post


I will PF. For the record, I started looking at XDA...and I'll admit, I don't think I'm ready for rooting/hacking/cracking/jail-breaking yet...lol.

I can see where the hardcore users would need/want it; they probably want to do a LOT of things the modified Amazon store won't give them access to. Me...I just want SB Controller or iPeng, etc; so I'm going to be looking for a manual load, that will work with the "stock" OS.

Guess I need to start looking at SBF, but if anyone already knows where to find this solution, a link would be much appreciated.

CD

Lol yes. XDA is not for the faint hearted. Let us know how it goes.
fullerms is offline  
post #633 of 1058 Old 12-04-2011, 07:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CDLehner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Dark Side of the Moon-Right Side of the Bay, MD
Posts: 9,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by palmfish View Post

The Duet Controller is an outdated legacy device now.

Why pay $120 for a discontinued one-trick pony when for $50 more, you can get a tablet with a 10" touch screen and can also run apps, surf the web, etc?

+1. I had a Duet, of course...and still have a Receiver in one location. But that small screen, and scroll-wheel really is circa 2000-late, up against a touchscreen-tablet.

CD

Music is a moral law. It gives soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, and charm and gaiety to life and to everything. -Plato
CDLehner is offline  
post #634 of 1058 Old 12-04-2011, 07:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CDLehner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Dark Side of the Moon-Right Side of the Bay, MD
Posts: 9,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullerms View Post

Lol yes. XDA is not for the faint hearted. Let us know how it goes.

That video they make you watch, before you even register...scared the sh*t out of me (but was funny as hell though).

CD

Music is a moral law. It gives soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, and charm and gaiety to life and to everything. -Plato
CDLehner is offline  
post #635 of 1058 Old 12-07-2011, 04:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
jdallaire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Las Vegas NV
Posts: 534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
CD I am looking for a way to get the sqeezebox apps into the kindle fire. I also want to use the touchsquid remote app that is available from amazon. I hope to build a 7 zone sound system using the kindle fire for sqeezebox and zone control RECIEVER volume using touchquid remote for andriod. Let use know how it goes CD thANKS

HDTV is clear get the picture
jdallaire is offline  
post #636 of 1058 Old 12-07-2011, 05:39 PM
Senior Member
 
fullerms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDLehner View Post

That video they make you watch, before you even register...scared the sh*t out of me (but was funny as hell though).

CD

Lol yes. That forum is a good resrouce though. And once you are past the initial jitters, they can help you do wonders with your device. I am running Android 4.0 on my Samsung Galaxy S (the original one) thanks to these guys.
fullerms is offline  
post #637 of 1058 Old 12-08-2011, 04:18 AM
Member
 
xMEATx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am worried my laptop will run out of storage space for all of my music. What's the best and least expensive external hard drive to connect to the touch? Does it connect via USB or ethernet cable. I would guess I would need to install the squeeze box server program in the external hard drive, yes? As I said, I need advise. Thanks
xMEATx is offline  
post #638 of 1058 Old 12-08-2011, 08:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CDLehner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Dark Side of the Moon-Right Side of the Bay, MD
Posts: 9,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdallaire View Post

CD I am looking for a way to get the sqeezebox apps into the kindle fire. I also want to use the touchsquid remote app that is available from amazon. I hope to build a 7 zone sound system using the kindle fire for sqeezebox and zone control RECIEVER volume using touchquid remote for andriod. Let use know how it goes CD thANKS

I haven't had a chance to play with it yet (my system is currently disassembled while I do some work on the room), but this the thread that I posted in at SBF...and one, suggested solution.

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=91854

CD

Music is a moral law. It gives soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, and charm and gaiety to life and to everything. -Plato
CDLehner is offline  
post #639 of 1058 Old 12-08-2011, 06:12 PM
Member
 
doug1223's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone run the Touch thru an external Dac?
doug1223 is offline  
post #640 of 1058 Old 12-08-2011, 06:35 PM
Newbie
 
koikoi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by doug1223 View Post

Does anyone run the Touch thru an external Dac?

I run mine through a Musical Fidelity V-DAC.
koikoi is offline  
post #641 of 1058 Old 12-08-2011, 09:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
palmfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by doug1223 View Post

Does anyone run the Touch thru an external Dac?

Peachtree Nova here.
palmfish is offline  
post #642 of 1058 Old 12-09-2011, 05:02 AM
Member
 
doug1223's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can you guys tell a difference? My Oppo 83SE sounds better spinning the discs than the FLAC files on my hard drive playing thru the Touch. Sure wish that Oppo would make a connection to use their Dacs so I could experiment.
doug1223 is offline  
post #643 of 1058 Old 12-09-2011, 06:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
palmfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by doug1223 View Post

can you guys tell a difference? My Oppo 83SE sounds better spinning the discs than the FLAC files on my hard drive playing thru the Touch. Sure wish that Oppo would make a connection to use their Dacs so I could experiment.

It's no surprise that the Oppo's DAC output is better than the Touch's. I assume you're using your Oppo's analog out...
palmfish is offline  
post #644 of 1058 Old 12-09-2011, 06:34 PM
Member
 
doug1223's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by palmfish View Post

It's no surprise that the Oppo's DAC output is better than the Touch's. I assume you're using your Oppo's analog out...

Yes Oppo/Touch>Older onkyo receiver>EMOTIVA XPA-5>Revel F52
doug1223 is offline  
post #645 of 1058 Old 12-09-2011, 08:19 PM
Senior Member
 
vett93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Silicon Valley, California
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by doug1223 View Post

can you guys tell a difference? My Oppo 83SE sounds better spinning the discs than the FLAC files on my hard drive playing thru the Touch. Sure wish that Oppo would make a connection to use their Dacs so I could experiment.

Have you tried a linear power supply for your Logitec Squeezebox Touch? My Squeezebox 3 sounds much better with a linear power supply. It is not quite as good as my Logitec Transporter but a bit closer.
vett93 is offline  
post #646 of 1058 Old 12-10-2011, 03:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
Osamede's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
What's a "linear" power supply? Example/link?
Osamede is offline  
post #647 of 1058 Old 12-10-2011, 11:02 AM
Senior Member
 
vett93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Silicon Valley, California
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Osamede View Post

What's a "linear" power supply? Example/link?

A linear supply uses a transformer and rectifier to convert power line AC to the low voltage DC that electronics use. It is typically heavier and costs more money to build.

You can do a Google search on "squeezebox power supply" to find discussion threads about them. One thread I found is: http://angerman.net/squeezeboxfaq/bo...-POWERSUPPLIES

The one I use is: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Logitech-Squ...item45fc98edfa
vett93 is offline  
post #648 of 1058 Old 12-10-2011, 12:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
palmfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by doug1223 View Post

Yes Oppo/Touch>Older onkyo receiver>EMOTIVA XPA-5>Revel F52

I assume you're using your old Onkyo as a preamp with your XPA-5? If your Onkyo is so old that it doesn't have digital inputs, i think your money would be better spent on a new processor.

I think you'll get better results with a high quality DAC vs. applying band-aids to the Squeezebox analog output (internal DAC). You can get a very good modern preamp (like a UMC-1) or AVR (used as a preamp) that will have very good ADC and DAC stages, plus modern digital processing (room EQ, lossless decoding, etc.).
palmfish is offline  
post #649 of 1058 Old 12-10-2011, 02:25 PM
Member
 
doug1223's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by palmfish View Post

I assume you're using your old Onkyo as a preamp with your XPA-5? If your Onkyo is so old that it doesn't have digital inputs, i think your money would be better spent on a new processor.

I think you'll get better results with a high quality DAC vs. applying band-aids to the Squeezebox analog output (internal DAC). You can get a very good modern preamp (like a UMC-1) or AVR (used as a preamp) that will have very good ADC and DAC stages, plus modern digital processing (room EQ, lossless decoding, etc.).

The Onkyo is a AV Receiver TXNR801..Which is 5.1 with both anolouge & digital hookups(although not HDM) I am Weighing my options between keeping the receiver I have and adding an external DAC or upgrading to a Denon 4311c. My main concern is Audi0 quality for music more than for cinema. Have heard people say they prefer Quality analouge hookups opposed to HDMI with Audessy applied.
doug1223 is offline  
post #650 of 1058 Old 12-10-2011, 04:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
palmfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by doug1223 View Post

The Onkyo is a AV Receiver TXNR801..Which is 5.1 with both anolouge & digital hookups(although not HDM) I am Weighing my options between keeping the receiver I have and adding an external DAC or upgrading to a Denon 4311c. My main concern is Audi0 quality for music more than for cinema. Have heard people say they prefer Quality analouge hookups opposed to HDMI with Audessy applied.

It looks like your Onkyo was near TOTL in it's day and has a 24/192 DAC onboard. Toss those RCA cables and hook up your Squeezebox via S/PDIF!

BTW, I love HDMI. In my downstairs system I have my BDP-83 hooked up to my AVR via HDMI. I bitstream my music direct and let my AVR's onboard 24/192 Wolfson DAC do all the decoding.
palmfish is offline  
post #651 of 1058 Old 12-10-2011, 06:32 PM
Member
 
doug1223's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by palmfish View Post

It looks like your Onkyo was near TOTL in it's day and has a 24/192 DAC onboard. Toss those RCA cables and hook up your Squeezebox via S/PDIF!

BTW, I love HDMI. In my downstairs system I have my BDP-83 hooked up to my AVR via HDMI. I bitstream my music direct and let my AVR's onboard 24/192 Wolfson DAC do all the decoding.

Thanks for all your feedback! I have my receiver hooked up with both analogue and S/PDIF cables. With these old ears I much prefer the RCA hookups for some reason, especially loosening to SACD & DVD-A with no processing going on in the Receiver.
doug1223 is offline  
post #652 of 1058 Old 12-10-2011, 10:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
palmfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by doug1223 View Post

Thanks for all your feedback! I have my receiver hooked up with both analogue and S/PDIF cables. With these old ears I much prefer the RCA hookups for some reason, especially loosening to SACD & DVD-A with no processing going on in the Receiver.

The 83SE has a highly regarded analog stage (based on the ESS Sabre DAC's). Obviously, this is the missing link with your Squeezebox.

Since you've tried your Onkyo both ways (RCA and S/PDFI) and aren't happy with the results, then I would say it's time for a new pre/pro.

I do think a new pre/pro is a better investment than just an outboard DAC. You'll get a lot more bang-for-the-buck (DAC, room EQ, lossless codecs, etc.).
palmfish is offline  
post #653 of 1058 Old 12-11-2011, 06:24 AM
Member
 
drunkmunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: The 'Stan... Again
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Doug- I hope this doesn't sound stupid but do you have the volume on your squeezebox up all the way? If it is not the squeezebox attenuation does affect the signal and degrades the sound significantly. You can also go into settings and turn off the Logitech volume control just to eliminate that as being part of the problem.
drunkmunk is offline  
post #654 of 1058 Old 12-11-2011, 07:03 AM
Member
 
doug1223's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by drunkmunk View Post

Doug- I hope this doesn't sound stupid but do you have the volume on your squeezebox up all the way? If it is not the squeezebox attenuation does affect the signal and degrades the sound significantly. You can also go into settings and turn off the Logitech volume control just to eliminate that as being part of the problem.

Yes ......Volume is at 100
doug1223 is offline  
post #655 of 1058 Old 12-11-2011, 09:54 AM
Senior Member
 
vett93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Silicon Valley, California
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If audio quality is what you care the most, I would do the DAC + preamp route. If cost is an issue, I would get a DAC with volume control or a preamp with a built-in DAC. I have gone through my crazy days of replacing equipment every few months. For me, I need to have a 2-channel audio system to be happy with music. This 2-channel audio system is integrated as the L/R channels of the HT.
vett93 is offline  
post #656 of 1058 Old 12-11-2011, 10:59 AM
Member
 
doug1223's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vett93 View Post

If audio quality is what you care the most, I would do the DAC + preamp route. If cost is an issue, I would get a DAC with volume control or a preamp with a built-in DAC. I have gone through my crazy days of replacing equipment every few months. For me, I need to have a 2-channel audio system to be happy with music. This 2-channel audio system is integrated as the L/R channels of the HT.

Would you have to have a "by-pass" set-up so this would not go thru your A/V--Still want to be able to play 5.1 Sacd and blu ray concerts. Sorry or the ignorance
doug1223 is offline  
post #657 of 1058 Old 12-11-2011, 11:01 AM
Member
 
doug1223's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oppo/Touch>DAC>Preamp>A/V Processer>Amplifier>Speakers???????
doug1223 is offline  
post #658 of 1058 Old 12-11-2011, 12:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
palmfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by doug1223 View Post

Oppo/Touch>DAC>Preamp>A/V Processer>Amplifier>Speakers???????

No, you don't need a DAC for the Oppo. Only the Touch needs to go through a DAC...

1. Oppo(RCA cables)>Onkyo>amp>speakers

2. Touch(S/PDIF cable)>DAC(RCA cables)>Onkyo>amp>speakers

With the above configuration, you just keep your current Onkyo. You are simply bypassing your Touch internal DAC and transporting the digital output to an external DAC. Here's an example of a standalone DAC with digital inputs and analog output. This paricular DAC is affordable and has similar components to your Oppo's DAC stage...

http://signalpathint.com/index.php/D...fications.html

The other option is to replace your Onkyo with a new pre/pro that has a high quality DAC stage built in. This pre/pro will have BOTH analog and digital inputs on the rear panel so you can continue using your Oppo the way you currently do.

Here are a couple of examples that would be a significant upgrade to you current Onkyo...

http://us.marantz.com/us/products/pa...oductId=AV7005

http://www.integrahometheater.com/mo...eamplifier&p=f

1. Oppo(RCA)>pre/pro>amp>speakers

2. Touch(S/PDIF)>pre/pro>amp>speakers

Clear as mud!
palmfish is offline  
post #659 of 1058 Old 12-11-2011, 12:21 PM
Member
 
doug1223's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by palmfish View Post

No, you don't need a DAC for the Oppo. Only the Touch needs to go through a DAC...

1. Oppo(RCA cables)>Onkyo>amp>speakers

2. Touch(S/PDIF cable)>DAC(RCA cables)>Onkyo>amp>speakers

With the above configuration, you just keep your current Onkyo. You are simply bypassing your Touch internal DAC and transporting the digital output to an external DAC. Here's an example of a standalone DAC with digital inputs and analog output. This particular DAC is affordable and has similar components to your Oppose DAC stage...

http://signalpathint.com/index.php/D...fications.html

The other option is to replace your Onkyo with a new pre/pro that has a high quality DAC stage built in. This pre/pro will have BOTH analog and digital inputs on the rear panel so you can continue using your Oppo the way you currently do.

Here are a couple of examples that would be a significant upgrade to you current Onkyo...

http://us.marantz.com/us/products/pa...oductId=AV7005

http://www.integrahometheater.com/mo...eamplifier&p=f

1. Oppo(RCA)>pre/pro>amp>speakers

2. Touch(S/PDIF)>pre/pro>amp>speakers

Clear as mud!

Thanks for all your help! Much appreciated. I am looking at the denon 4311ci,which is on sale at Newegg. I can't find any professional reviews of this unit, but it a step up from the Marantz 7005 if I understand correctly.y(both units made by Denon) Do you know what the Dacs are in this particular unit?
doug1223 is offline  
post #660 of 1058 Old 12-11-2011, 01:09 PM
Senior Member
 
vett93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Silicon Valley, California
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by doug1223 View Post

Thanks for all your help! Much appreciated. I am looking at the denon 4311ci,which is on sale at Newegg. I can't find any professional reviews of this unit, but it a step up from the Marantz 7005 if I understand correctly.y(both units made by Denon) Do you know what the Dacs are in this particular unit?

IMO, using an AVR or pre/pro in the signal path for music is a bad idea. I would do the following if I were you:

Oppo/Touch->DAC->preamp->amp->speakers

Then wire the RCA output from Onkyo to one of the preamp inputs. Set the preamp gain at a fixed level and then balance the Onkyo surround levels.

The idea is to separate the 2-channel music from the HT as much as you can. This would give you a good baseline system. Then you can experiment the following and find out if you can hear improvement:

1. Use Oppo directly to the preamp and compare it to going through the DAC. The quality of the DAC would be a key factor in the comparison.
2. Get a linear power supply for the Touch. IMO, it is a good idea to reduce the switching noises in the power supply for the Touch.

I would also consider a tube based preamp.....
vett93 is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Logitech Inc Squeezebox Touch Catalog Category Distributed Audio Video Multiroom Solutions

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off