Egreat A1080 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 41 Old 06-03-2010, 12:19 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
zrdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Has anybody heard anything about this player? It has a Sigma 8643 in it-sounds like it'll be a Popbox killer with some tweaks. http://www.egreatworld.com/en/ProductShow.asp?ID=183
zrdb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 41 Old 06-04-2010, 06:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
video321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has a MSRP for the US been set?
video321 is offline  
post #3 of 41 Old 06-04-2010, 12:24 PM
Senior Member
 
sinker442's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had high hopes for Egreat for a $150 box (at that price the Egreat M-34 was the WDTV killer... for a few months at least), because they seem to make their players themselves (=cheaper, not outsourcing them), but from what I've seen so far, it won't be as cheap... At $150, I 'd buy it right now...

What are the S2 and A1080 differences? Except the 3.5" hard drive capability for the S2? Can they both do bluray menus? Can they read an original bluray disc from a USB BD-ROM?
sinker442 is offline  
post #4 of 41 Old 06-07-2010, 08:48 AM
Senior Member
 
iboum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The differences are a much smaller case, 2.5" instead of 3.5" HDD, USB 3.0, an external SATA port. The actual machine is very similar to the S2 to the degree that it uses the same firmware (and the same firmware as the Allure M3).

Both players can do Blu-Ray menus, both can play Blu-Ray from an external USB BD drive.

We should get some A1080s this week so when I have one, I will do some demo videos and better answer questions.

The price is very competitive compared to similar specification players..
iboum is offline  
post #5 of 41 Old 06-07-2010, 02:33 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
zrdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Exactly what do you mean by "very competive price wise"?
zrdb is offline  
post #6 of 41 Old 06-08-2010, 02:26 AM
Senior Member
 
iboum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I meant it tongue in cheek because I have a few of these for sale.

Really though, it is cheaper than other players with the same spec (8643/full HD-Audio/full BD-ISO/Ext BD). And it has USB 3.0, external SATA which other players don't have. It's also smaller and better aesthetically IMHO. That's in the UK and Europe at least. Who knows what US pricing will turn out to be.

(Sales pitch over now, I promise).
iboum is offline  
post #7 of 41 Old 06-08-2010, 05:19 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
zrdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
No-what I want to know is how much it costs in us dollars?
zrdb is offline  
post #8 of 41 Old 06-08-2010, 07:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dogmanky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Spring Hill, TN
Posts: 1,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
is this player NMT app friendly (i.e. YAMJ)?
dogmanky is offline  
post #9 of 41 Old 06-26-2010, 03:58 PM
Member
 
Digz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Who the ell is going to pay $245 - 200 - £170 for a media player when you can get a Linux dual core Atom 330 Revo for the same price. ?
Digz is offline  
post #10 of 41 Old 06-27-2010, 11:59 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
zrdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Not me-I'll get a Popbox-if and when it's ever released.
zrdb is offline  
post #11 of 41 Old 06-29-2010, 10:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Elpee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 17
No, thanks. Sigma chips ALWAYS have problem with Unicode (UTF8) and network connection.
Elpee is online now  
post #12 of 41 Old 06-29-2010, 05:25 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
zrdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elpee View Post

No, thanks. Sigma chips ALWAYS have problem with Unicode (UTF8) and network connection.

Well-what chip do you think the A1080 has in it? (I know-but this guy doesn't.)
zrdb is offline  
post #13 of 41 Old 06-30-2010, 02:16 AM
Senior Member
 
iboum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sigma 8643. It's basically a Dune 3 without the internal BD-ROM, the firmware is near identical. BD-ISO, external BD compatibility and all..
iboum is offline  
post #14 of 41 Old 07-01-2010, 11:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dogmanky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Spring Hill, TN
Posts: 1,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dogmanky View Post

is this player NMT app friendly (i.e. YAMJ)?

Sorry for the double post.. but can anyone answer this?
dogmanky is offline  
post #15 of 41 Old 07-02-2010, 04:15 AM
Senior Member
 
iboum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The installed firmware is very similar (VERY) to that of the Dune 3.0, so NMT apps will not work.

I am currently investigating whether something like Dune Explorer would work for thumbnails / synopsis. I see no reason why it wouldn't.
iboum is offline  
post #16 of 41 Old 07-12-2010, 07:05 AM
Senior Member
 
iboum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can use Dune Explorer 2.0 on the A1080 to give you automatic cover art / synopsis similar to YAMJ.

The trick is to simply rename the 'dune_folder.txt' files created by Dune Explorer to '4ths_folder.txt'.

This will also work on the other Sigma 8643 hdmei.com firmware players such as Allure M3 and Egreat S2.

http://www.futeko.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=20
iboum is offline  
post #17 of 41 Old 07-12-2010, 07:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Elpee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 17
iboum,
Do you know where and when I can buy this A1080 in USA? Thanks.
Elpee is online now  
post #18 of 41 Old 07-12-2010, 09:39 AM
 
sgvZ4roadster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elpee View Post

No, thanks. Sigma chips ALWAYS have problem with Unicode (UTF8) and network connection.

I have not experienced this yet with media players with Sigma Designs Chip... through problem solving and help from fellow people on this forum the solutions I find were from configuration of the router - can you give me an example of media players so I know to avoid them? Thanks in advance...
sgvZ4roadster is offline  
post #19 of 41 Old 07-12-2010, 09:52 AM
Senior Member
 
iboum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Elpee, I have no idea beyond a quick Google search.

I don't think Egreat have any permanent presence in the US, and the sites that sold Egreat in the USA appear either massively out of date or closed.

It would take some enterprising soul to import the things..
iboum is offline  
post #20 of 41 Old 07-12-2010, 10:51 AM
Member
 
Nathan Webel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like UK retailer futeko.com will ship to the US for about $38.00US. Unit price appears to be ~ $268.33US.

Product Page: http://www.futeko.com/products/MP00016.php
Nathan Webel is offline  
post #21 of 41 Old 07-13-2010, 03:04 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
zrdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Over $300 for this little box!?!?!?!?! Not in my life time-I'm happy with my EG-R1!!
zrdb is offline  
post #22 of 41 Old 07-15-2010, 01:30 PM
Senior Member
 
iboum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zrdb View Post

Over $300 for this little box!?!?!?!?! Not in my life time-I'm happy with my EG-R1!!

LOL. OK, that's up to you! The A1080 is one of the very few media players that genuinely does it all, and it's much cheaper than the comparable alternatives. You'll never get Blu-Ray menus, 7.1 audio, cover art browsing, rich synopsis, USB 3 on the R1!
iboum is offline  
post #23 of 41 Old 07-15-2010, 04:48 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
zrdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
But for $300?!?!?! My EG-R1 has an esata port and that's as good as usb3 (and is far more common) it plays dvd iso's, it does a pretty good job with blurays. As for lossless audio-my reciever can't do it. A Popbox will do most of what this thing will do for about $170 less.
zrdb is offline  
post #24 of 41 Old 07-16-2010, 12:14 AM
Senior Member
 
iboum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The price would be less in $ if imported direct into the US. Most stuff seems to end up slightly more in $ than in £, so it might be $200 in the US..

But the end result is the same. The A1080 is directly comparable to the Dune Base 3 (it uses the same firmware and operates in an identical manner) and Popcorn Hour C-200. Both the Dune Base 3 and Popcorn Hour C-200 are £279 in the UK, so £100 (or 56%) more than the A1080..!
iboum is offline  
post #25 of 41 Old 07-16-2010, 01:36 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
zrdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
$200? Yeah-right (in what alternate dimension?). But I give up-I'm not buying one of these overpriced things-whatever.
zrdb is offline  
post #26 of 41 Old 07-16-2010, 01:49 PM
Senior Member
 
iboum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not asking you to buy one!

It's strange how you're attacking this player. It's exactly the same as the Dune Base (or the Dune Prime without the BD) but it's much cheaper.! If you want to attack anything, attack the Dune!
iboum is offline  
post #27 of 41 Old 07-19-2010, 10:15 PM
Senior Member
 
mifronte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Somewhere in the US of A
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I have to agree with IBOUM in that the EGreat A1080 looks like a great player. It is hard to say what it will be priced at in the US. I am looking at this player as an alternative to building my own HD HTPC. Even at $300, it is still half the price of the recommended HD HTPC (not counting software) by renethx in the HD HTPC forum.

My biggest concern about the EGreat A1080 is not the US price (that is my third concern), but it's availability in the US. The other alternative is the ASUS O!Play HD2 if the EGreat A1080 is not reputably available in the US.

Still Learning
mifronte is offline  
post #28 of 41 Old 07-20-2010, 10:52 AM
Senior Member
 
Elpee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 17
A big drawback of A1080 is that this player is not available for sale (no re-seller) in US the biggest market in the world. That's why nobody even wants to drop by and post a comment here.
Elpee is online now  
post #29 of 41 Old 07-20-2010, 04:37 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
zrdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yeah-you'd think it's strange me attacking this unit being as it was I who started the thread. I guess my point is that for $260 or whatever there are better (and cheaper) alternatives out there for at least $100 less. So name your poison.
zrdb is offline  
post #30 of 41 Old 07-21-2010, 08:15 AM
Senior Member
 
mifronte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Somewhere in the US of A
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Iboum, would you know if the Egreat A1080 supports playing BD folder structure like DVD folder structure (VIDEO_TS)?

If not, is there a player (current or future) that will be able to do this?

I am just asking to determine how I should archive BD titles to my media server. In archiving, I would want to grab the main movie only, the lossless audio and a core audio track, forced and English subtitles, and chapters.

As of now, for best compatibility, I am headed into ripping the BD titles as MKVs unless BD folder structure is commonly supported.

Still Learning
mifronte is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off