Wdtv live plus hd - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 826 Old 07-23-2010, 12:43 PM
Senior Member
 
PoorSignal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by penone View Post

. I'm curious to hear how that is going to turn out. Where do you plan on putting the box itself considering you need to use the remote to perform all functions and line of sight is required.

The box itself looks small enough to velcro under the glove box. With all the glass windows inside the cabin the IR reception should not be too hard.
Powered by 100W slim inverter, and a large capacity USB stick (I see they have something like 75GB now). Run the A/V cable to my nav screen aux input.
By no means a professional install, but should be sufficient.
PoorSignal is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 826 Old 07-23-2010, 12:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hydrogin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by PoorSignal View Post

The box itself looks small enough to velcro under the glove box. With all the glass windows inside the cabin the IR reception should not be too hard.
Powered by 100W slim inverter, and a large capacity USB stick (I see they have something like 75GB now). Run the A/V cable to my nav screen aux input.
By no means a professional install, but should be sufficient.

I've been borrowing a Live and will have my Live+ next week. Just be aware they run a little warm (they are passively cooled, big heat sink, plastic box). I only mention it because it can sometimes get hot inside a glove. I'm not aware of many people complaining about heat issues but there have been a few posts in the WD-sponsored forums. Sounds like an interesting project.
hydrogin is offline  
post #273 of 826 Old 07-26-2010, 09:40 AM
Member
 
penone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Bronx, NYC
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjolson View Post

I think b-rad stated that he wouldn't be able to do movie sheets for the plus. If so, that's really unfortunate.

Yeah. I saw that too but am hoping he finds a way to do so. Also, am not sure he means that we wouldn't be able to use Thumbgen as an alternative for movie sheets. Since I am not a programmer - at times what is written is wayyy beyond my comprehension.

-P.
penone is offline  
post #274 of 826 Old 07-26-2010, 10:23 AM
Member
 
jcschlic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Hello All,

I just bought the WDTV Live Plus HD on Friday and had some time over the weekend to mess around with it. I am coming from Apple TV usage so I have a large collection of mp4/m4v video files. The majority of these files were encoded with 5.1 audio. I noticed the WDTV Live Plus is only sending stereo audio to my receiver over HDMI. What happened? Why is Dolby Digital for these files not working on the WDTV Live Plus? Do I need to run an optical cable from the device to my receiver in order to get it?
jcschlic is offline  
post #275 of 826 Old 07-26-2010, 09:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcschlic View Post

Hello All,

I just bought the WDTV Live Plus HD on Friday and had some time over the weekend to mess around with it. I am coming from Apple TV usage so I have a large collection of mp4/m4v video files. The majority of these files were encoded with 5.1 audio. I noticed the WDTV Live Plus is only sending stereo audio to my receiver over HDMI. What happened? Why is Dolby Digital for these files not working on the WDTV Live Plus? Do I need to run an optical cable from the device to my receiver in order to get it?

In setting choose digital and not stereo or digital, not hdmi( 3 options$
zoro is offline  
post #276 of 826 Old 07-27-2010, 07:09 AM
Member
 
jcschlic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoro View Post

In setting choose digital and not stereo or digital, not hdmi( 3 options$

Yes I had already done this...no changes in audio. Perhaps it only sends multichannel audio over optical?

Either this is the case (and it would be really weird), or there is something wrong with my encodes.
jcschlic is offline  
post #277 of 826 Old 07-27-2010, 07:16 AM
Member
 
BrianD73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Green Bay, Wisconsin
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Try using the digital audio port and see what happens. I believe I read in one of the specification footnotes somewhere that you could only do 2-channel through the HDMI.
BrianD73 is offline  
post #278 of 826 Old 07-27-2010, 08:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: South Florida
Posts: 4,684
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcschlic View Post

Hello All,

I just bought the WDTV Live Plus HD on Friday and had some time over the weekend to mess around with it. I am coming from Apple TV usage so I have a large collection of mp4/m4v video files. The majority of these files were encoded with 5.1 audio. I noticed the WDTV Live Plus is only sending stereo audio to my receiver over HDMI. What happened? Why is Dolby Digital for these files not working on the WDTV Live Plus? Do I need to run an optical cable from the device to my receiver in order to get it?

Unless something has changed with more recent firmware, I think only 2 ch is supported with mp4:

http://wdtvhd.com/index.php?showtopic=9624

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #279 of 826 Old 07-27-2010, 11:54 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Not sure abt mp4, I am using hdmi for mkv and .ts files it plays perfect though.

Only thing I think my ps3 sounds better.
Btw I am using AV receiver in between.
zoro is offline  
post #280 of 826 Old 07-28-2010, 12:19 PM
Member
 
jcschlic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimoli View Post

Unless something has changed with more recent firmware, I think only 2 ch is supported with mp4:

http://wdtvhd.com/index.php?showtopic=9624


That would explain it...I DID test out a Dolby Digital MKV file and it works just fine. This was done over HDMI.
jcschlic is offline  
post #281 of 826 Old 07-28-2010, 12:22 PM
Senior Member
 
k2lounge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i've read/searched through most of this thread (and the other wdtv live thread) and after all that, i'm still at a loss for a definitive answer:

will the wdtv live+ play mkv files at 20+Mbps bitrate (my avatar rip is 32.4Mbps) over my gigabit network from a shared win7 drive?

thanks!
k2lounge is offline  
post #282 of 826 Old 07-29-2010, 09:07 AM
Senior Member
 
k2lounge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by k2lounge View Post

i've read/searched through most of this thread (and the other wdtv live thread) and after all that, i'm still at a loss for a definitive answer:

will the wdtv live+ play mkv files at 20+Mbps bitrate (my avatar rip is 32.4Mbps) over my gigabit network from a shared win7 drive?

thanks!

anyone?
k2lounge is offline  
post #283 of 826 Old 07-29-2010, 09:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
mbryanr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
k2...many have attempted to run high bitrate files on the wdtv live (identical to the "+" in regards to the processing power) with varying results. Some use NFS shares and report success.
Gigabit network means nothing to the "+" as it is 10/100.


Here is the response I received from Synology after their testing.
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...4&postcount=43

Note: I have also tried NFS shares (via cifs-interceptor and x-mount) in an attempt to play BD rips (MKV and m2ts files). Typically these files will play ok until it hits the WDTV ceiling.

The bitrate you mention is an average...so you may or may not have decent playback.

I agree with blackssr's assessment:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...79&postcount=7
mbryanr is offline  
post #284 of 826 Old 07-29-2010, 01:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hydrogin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbryanr View Post

k2...many have attempted to run high bitrate files on the wdtv live (identical to the "+" in regards to the processing power) with varying results. Some use NFS shares and report success.
Gigabit network means nothing to the "+" as it is 10/100.

Here is the response I received from Synology after their testing.
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showp...4&postcount=43

Note: I have also tried NFS shares (via cifs-interceptor and x-mount) in an attempt to play BD rips (MKV and m2ts files). Typically these files will play ok until it hits the WDTV ceiling.

Good info, a friend has the 210j and I may get one myself.

Does Synology's observed 50Mbps ceiling on the CBR test files imply WDTV's implementation of their networking stack (e.g. TCP/IP or whatever was needed to support Synolgy's test) is underpowered? In an ideal situation where the WDTV has plenty of networking resources, would you have expected a higher stutter ceiling on the 10/100 port?
hydrogin is offline  
post #285 of 826 Old 07-29-2010, 03:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
mbryanr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by hydrogin View Post

Good info, a friend has the 210j and I may get one myself.

Does Synology's observed 50Mbps ceiling on the CBR test files imply WDTV's implementation of their networking stack (e.g. TCP/IP or whatever was needed to support Synolgy's test) is underpowered?

Yes. Particularly since the same files can play from a USB attached drive. I've read many forum posts where NFS has helped playback. Also, one user modified the readsize to improve playback (although the follow up indicated not complete success).
http://wdtvforum.com/main/index.php?...34045#msg34045
Quote:


In an ideal situation where the WDTV has plenty of networking resources, would you have expected a higher stutter ceiling on the 10/100 port?

Using SMB...max of 80Mbps
mbryanr is offline  
post #286 of 826 Old 07-29-2010, 03:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hydrogin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbryanr View Post

Yes. Particularly since the same files can play from a USB attached drive. I've read many forum posts where NFS has helped playback. Also, one user modified the readsize to improve playback (although the follow up indicated not complete success).
http://wdtvforum.com/main/index.php?...34045#msg34045

Thanks, I'll keep that in my back pocket should I ever switch from the WD firmware.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbryanr View Post

Using SMB...max of 80Mbps

Was Synology's test run using CIFS/SMB (e.g. Windows shares)?

I've never setup a DLNA server and use windows shares at home. I think of both DLNA/uPNP and CIFS/SMB as added functionality (overhead) on top of TCP. Any thoughts on which of the two would provide better LAN performance streaming to a WDTV (assuming things like on-the-fly transcoding weren't happening)? Those are the two options I think I'd have if I get a Synology NAS.

I'd be curious if performance differences in uPNP vs SMB are due to the network protocol themselves or just WDTV's implementation.
hydrogin is offline  
post #287 of 826 Old 07-29-2010, 04:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David James's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Longmont, CO
Posts: 1,942
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 65
I'm looking for a replacement for Hauppauge MediaMVP's and SageTV.

I picked up the WDTV Live+ yesterday and have been exercising it. My technology needs are simple, play FLAC and MP3's, view JPG pictures and watch home video's recorded in MPG format.

I've got FLAC's playing both using shares and Tiversity but I can't get pictures to display at all. I can see the thumbnails but when I select a picture, the little circle thingy just spins and spins. I figure it's got to be something dumb on my end, but so far no luck. This issue occurs both using Tiversity and shares.

Any ideas?
David James is offline  
post #288 of 826 Old 07-29-2010, 05:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
mbryanr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by hydrogin View Post

Was Synology's test run using CIFS/SMB (e.g. Windows shares)?

DLNA

Quote:


Any thoughts on which of the two would provide better LAN performance streaming to a WDTV (assuming things like on-the-fly transcoding weren't happening)?

3 options with the Syno in order of performance-
NFS (WDTV requires b-rad firmware to use NFS)
DLNA
CIFS/SMB

DLNA software such as tversity (w/transcoding) improves WDTV performance significantly. Tversity cannot be loaded onto the Syno.

Quote:


I'd be curious if performance differences in uPNP vs SMB are due to the network protocol themselves or just WDTV's implementation.

I'd guess both. Tonight I started to use the .35 beta firmware. I have noticed an improvement with the latest beta firmware, enough that my higher bitrate movies playback well. l'll try the constant bitrate files later.
mbryanr is offline  
post #289 of 826 Old 07-29-2010, 06:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
Daveyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just ordered one of these today for my bedroom. My movie library consists of 100% DVD isos an Blu Ray isos with just the movie and HD audio ripped using DVD FAB stored on a WHS server. I am assuming I should be good to go with this device?

Also, if there a b-rad firmware coming out for the Live Plus? Is there a thread to follow?
Daveyd is offline  
post #290 of 826 Old 07-29-2010, 07:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hydrogin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbryanr View Post

DLNA software such as tversity (w/transcoding) improves WDTV performance significantly. Tversity cannot be loaded onto the Syno.

I'll probably go with the NAS as its a greener solution.

You mentioned you were streaming .ts and .m2ts containers to the WDTV. I recall someone saying for playback on a WDTV, its more efficient to use .m2ts than .mkv even though both can use similar codecs for encoding the video (something about the WDTV's Sigma chip being able to natively handle m2ts but not mkv).

Any comments about this tradeoff? I'm trying to determine the optimal way to rip my library given I'd like to stream to my WDTV (haven't purchased any ripping/encoding hardware or software yet).
hydrogin is offline  
post #291 of 826 Old 07-29-2010, 07:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
mbryanr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That reference was here-
http://www.networkedmediatank.com/wi...roubleshooting
As noted in the nmtwiki, mprovements have been made so the difference is unknown now. I found no improvement in the WDTV Live.
mbryanr is offline  
post #292 of 826 Old 08-01-2010, 12:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
David James's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Longmont, CO
Posts: 1,942
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 65
I've boxed up my WDTV Live+ and will return it tomorrow. I never could get pictures to display. The other issue was searching for music will be to cumbersome for my wife.

The search continues.
David James is offline  
post #293 of 826 Old 08-07-2010, 03:38 PM
Newbie
 
lrch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could anyone shine some light on what the rationale could be behind the 10/100 LAN chipset on this version of the WDTV? Is gigabit simply not needed?
lrch is offline  
post #294 of 826 Old 08-09-2010, 08:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mike_311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,889
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well network just showed up on my wdtv, not really sure why or what changed, but it works now.

anyhow, i can seem to keep my win7 box awake while videos are streaming. this goes for network share and media streaming.

i have set all the power setting i could find and the pc should never sleep, yet it does.

"If the world didn't suck, we'd all fly off."
mike_311 is offline  
post #295 of 826 Old 08-09-2010, 11:33 AM
Senior Member
 
wocasio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: North Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Has anyone tested whether the Live Plus display PGS subtitles in m2ts files from Blu Ray rips?
wocasio is offline  
post #296 of 826 Old 08-09-2010, 09:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hydrogin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by wocasio View Post

Has anyone tested whether the Live Plus display PGS subtitles in m2ts files from Blu Ray rips?

Yes, I can confirm.

BD's ripped with DVDfab to m2ts, existance of PGS subs confirmed with Mediainfo, WDTV Live+ played m2ts and displayed subs fine.

With PGS subs in mkv containers, that's a different story. I'm working on trying to get the forced subs in Avatar to be visible. Will know more tomorrow.
hydrogin is offline  
post #297 of 826 Old 08-09-2010, 09:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hydrogin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrch View Post

Could anyone shine some light on what the rationale could be behind the 10/100 LAN chipset on this version of the WDTV? Is gigabit simply not needed?

Yes.

This has been discussed quite a bit, don't recall if its this thread or the other big WDTV thread. Bottom line is 10/100 is good enough for full BD rips and is not the determining factor. Others have reported the bottleneck is either inside the WDTV's LAN interface (e.g. TCP/IP or higher level stack) or media processor - so a 10/100/1000 wouldn't necessarily help.

I recall someone saying ~50 Mbps (CBR) is about all the WDTV can handle. I believe this was based on some tests run by Synology. And streaming performance is better for uPNP than for CIFS/SMB (best results with NFS). I've also read the early media processors handled m2ts directly in hardware but not mkv, so that was a streaming performance factor as well. Not sure if that's the case anymore.
hydrogin is offline  
post #298 of 826 Old 08-09-2010, 10:06 PM
Senior Member
 
foxnews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by hydrogin View Post

Yes.

This has been discussed quite a bit, don't recall if its this thread or the other big WDTV thread. Bottom line is 10/100 is good enough for full BD rips and is not the determining factor. Others have reported the bottleneck is either inside the WDTV's LAN interface (e.g. TCP/IP or higher level stack) or media processor - so a 10/100/1000 wouldn't necessarily help.

I recall someone saying ~50 Mbps (CBR) is about all the WDTV can handle. I believe this was based on some tests run by Synology. And streaming performance is better for uPNP than for CIFS/SMB (best results with NFS). I've also read the early media processors handled m2ts directly in hardware but not mkv, so that was a streaming performance factor as well. Not sure if that's the case anymore.


I can confirm that copying files to wdtv plus is a bottleneck. I hook up two HHDs directly to WDTV USB ports so that I can have search capability and fast navigation. moreover, storing movies on PC requires keeping pc on all the time. then I connect WDTV to my router. whenver I need to add a movie, I just copy from my pc to WDTV. the speed is very slow 7MBps. I tried to connect wdtv to router by using wifi N usb dongle and speed is the same. I am not sure what is the bottleneck here: USB, 10/100 network, or wdtv itself.


WD should add gigabit ethernet. if you copy a big movies over network, gigabit ethernet is definitely needed. 10/100 ethernet is just enough for streaming movies stored on PC/NAS.
foxnews is offline  
post #299 of 826 Old 08-09-2010, 10:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
saiga6360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Even if the WDTV has gigabit, it is still bottlenecked by USB. I imagine copying files over is excruciating and not worth the effort. Maybe if it had eSATA, like the ViewSonic.
saiga6360 is offline  
post #300 of 826 Old 08-09-2010, 11:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hydrogin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxnews View Post

I can confirm that copying files to wdtv plus is a bottleneck. I hook up two HHDs directly to WDTV USB ports so that I can have search capability and fast navigation. moreover, storing movies on PC requires keeping pc on all the time. then I connect WDTV to my router. whenver I need to add a movie, I just copy from my pc to WDTV. the speed is very slow 7MBps. I tried to connect wdtv to router by using wifi N usb dongle and speed is the same. I am not sure what is the bottleneck here: USB, 10/100 network, or wdtv itself.


WD should add gigabit ethernet. if you copy a big movies over network, gigabit ethernet is definitely needed. 10/100 ethernet is just enough for streaming movies stored on PC/NAS.

I had assumed the OP was referring to streaming from a PC or NAS, but I understand your point about copying files.

I plan on checking out a Synology NAS. They're low power, can auto-shut themselves on/off (I believe) and support CIFS/SMB and uPNP/DLNA. If I run two 2TB drives in a RAID-1 mirror, that will make for a nice backup as well. Need more storage!
hydrogin is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off