converting blu rays to hd format? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 08-17-2010, 11:52 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
etrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
What is the best and/or most compatible format to convert to?
H264 MKV OR ..... ?????


Right now I am converting to play in a home media server but I am not happy about the system and will probably go dune or pop
etrin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 08-17-2010, 12:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
teddystacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Philadelphia PA USA
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by etrin View Post

What is the best and/or most compatible format to convert to?
H264 MKV OR ..... ?????


Right now I am converting to play in a home media server but I am not happy about the system and will probably go dune or pop

.H264 .mkv is the best I find

Rip with "Makemkv" and then resize (if required) by using "Handbrake"

Perfect results every time..

Regards

teddystacker is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 08-17-2010, 12:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by etrin View Post

What is the best and/or most compatible format to convert to?
H264 MKV OR ..... ?????


Right now I am converting to play in a home media server but I am not happy about the system and will probably go dune or pop

or.. AnyDVD HD, ClownBD and BDRebuilder.
blackssr is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 08-17-2010, 01:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
onlysublime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,649
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 493
mkv is a super flexible container. you can anything and everything it seems into the container very easily.
onlysublime is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 08-17-2010, 01:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Be careful though with MKV, as it has its own pitfalls;

1. Many players have issues with chapters support in MKV files.
2. Many players have issues with lossless audio support from MKV.
3. Many players have issues with proper subtitle handling in MKV files.
4. See above, also regarding "forced" subtitles that need to display on the player automatically whether subs are selected or not.
5. Performance problems with MKV. Some players have issues with VC1 in an MKV container, etc.
jmpage2 is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 08-17-2010, 02:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Elpee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 17
1. Many players have issues with chapters support in MKV files ----> Dune, ...
2. Many players have issues with lossless audio support from MKV ----> C-200/ A-200, ...
3. Many players have issues with proper subtitle handling in MKV files ---> ???
4. See above, also regarding "forced" subtitles that need to display on the player automatically whether subs are selected or not ---> ???
5. Performance problems with MKV. Some players have issues with VC1 in an MKV container, etc ---> ???

I know some guys here can fill out the rest...
Elpee is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 08-17-2010, 02:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Let's just put it this way. I have not found a single player that can do the items in the list above.

The holy grail (for me) will be a player that can play MKV and pass this torture test when playing video from the MKV file.

1. chapter support.
2. multiple audio support.
3. proper FF/REW support
4. support for FORCED subtitles automatically displaying along with manual selection of the original subtitles still possible.
5. lossless audio
6. Playback of VC1 without skip/stutter.
jmpage2 is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 08-17-2010, 03:08 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
etrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
one of the reasons I am asking is the first attempt at makemkv was well a mess.
I ripped VanHelsing and after it was done I have 2 28G files and 14 files from 400megs to 1 gig. the 2 28G files were the same thing. HOW did I get 2 of them?
Second attempt worked somewhat better but after unchecking all of the subtitles I had 1 main file and 3 smaller files. The main file displays subtitles.

and refuses to play inside of windows media player. I just clicked on these and they open in the old windows media player. They are not recognized or can not be played message in my htpc.

but I think I am going to resintall everything. I put in a drive from my other computer 1.5T for some reason it had a 50G fat32 partition on it. I converted it to ntfs and all was well its drive F

after a reboot no bootmgr. Drive c is now f and drive f is now c
GOD I F#$#%^^ING hate windows.

and to call windows 7 anything but windows xp drm version is just wrong
etrin is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 08-17-2010, 03:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 77
I use MKVMerge not MakeMKV.

Also, I use OS X for 90% of what I do and only boot Windows when absolutely necessary.
jmpage2 is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 08-17-2010, 06:12 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 20,852
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by etrin View Post

one of the reasons I am asking is the first attempt at makemkv was well a mess.
I ripped VanHelsing and after it was done I have 2 28G files and 14 files from 400megs to 1 gig. the 2 28G files were the same thing. HOW did I get 2 of them?
Second attempt worked somewhat better but after unchecking all of the subtitles I had 1 main file and 3 smaller files. The main file displays subtitles.

and refuses to play inside of windows media player. I just clicked on these and they open in the old windows media player. They are not recognized or can not be played message in my htpc.

but I think I am going to resintall everything. I put in a drive from my other computer 1.5T for some reason it had a 50G fat32 partition on it. I converted it to ntfs and all was well its drive F

after a reboot no bootmgr. Drive c is now f and drive f is now c
GOD I F#$#%^^ING hate windows.

and to call windows 7 anything but windows xp drm version is just wrong

Are you using MakeMKV? That is what I have used a few times and it seems pretty easy to use. You pick the video you want, the audio tracks, and subtitles and start it. And when it's done you have an MKV file ready to watch.

I use Win7 for all my PCs. No apple stuff here.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 08-31-2012, 07:41 PM
Member
 
Brucew0617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If I want to convert Blu-ray to HD video, the first choice is rip it to MKV format. But if I need to play it with media player. H.264 MP4 is the best choice.
Brucew0617 is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 09-01-2012, 02:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 592
I use ClownBD + AnyDVD HD (to remove encryption) and rip as BR Folder structure and it keeps chapters and force subs as well. Dune has issues recognizing the force subtitle flag. I've been ripping 90%+ of my BD disk to main movie only as M2TS file, but recently I've been ripping them to BR folder to keep chapters biggrin.gif The only thins I use MakeMKV for is to rip my DVD collection.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is online now  
post #13 of 14 Old 09-09-2012, 06:59 AM
Senior Member
 
IfixitBIG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Simpsonville, SC
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
The HT guys did a great video on backing up your movies. Give it a look:
http://www.htguys.com/news/2011/12/10/tutorial-backing-up-your-blu-ray-discs.html

John Burton

IfixitBIG is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 09-09-2012, 07:33 AM
Member
 
bgavin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Orangevale, CA
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am very new at this process, so here is what I've learned so far: it takes a long time and consumes a lot of disk space.

I experimented with my retail copy of Hunger Games.
I ripped the entire BD disk to a local directory structure using DVDFab.
This generated some 44gb of files and removed the copy protection. AnyDVD not required.

Next, I used the entire Clown_DB package.
This generated some 42gb files in the Movie directory, and another 42gb in the Remux directory.

I needed some 130gb of disk space to complete a rip to the .M2TS final file.
The temp Movie and Remux space can be erased and reclaimed.
The whole process took about 1.5 to 2.0 hours, end to end.

My platform is an i7/870, 8 cores at 2.93 GHz.
DDR3 at 1333, SATA-II WDC drives.

The final .M2TS blu-ray file plays correctly on my new WD TV Live.
This seems like a lot of time, and whole lot of fiddling around for a single movie.

One could guess an average of 30 BD movies per terabyte of disk space.
Add in disk redundancy (RAID, ZFS), and the disk+power cost-per-movie doubles.
Consider the disk lifetime at 26,000 hours / 3 years.
Consider the disk array rebuild time when a drive is replaced.
Consider the power consumption of a RAID/ZFS server powered up 24x7.

All in all, this seems like a huge investment in time and money for the convenience of either not owning a BD player, or not getting off the couch to mount a BD disk.
One would simply have to love the server build and maintain process, the BD imaging process, network shares, and so forth.
bgavin is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off