New Dune HD Max and HD Smart anticipation thread Q3 2010 - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-31-2010, 07:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclemat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, get started with Boom, or with better yet Classic (SB3), very affordable now on amazon. Since the poster considered Dune as a music player it means he has external amp & speakers, so Classic fits the bill.

<--- has SB2, two Classics, two Booms, one Radio and a Transporter
unclemat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-31-2010, 07:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CDLehner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Dark Side of the Moon-Right Side of the Bay, MD
Posts: 9,117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclemat View Post

Yeah, get started with Boom, or with better yet Classic (SB3), very affordable now on amazon. Since the poster considered Dune as a music player it means he has external amp & speakers, so Classic fits the bill.

<--- has SB2, two Classics, two Booms, one Radio and a Transporter

Well, the Boom and Radio...and SB3 (Classic), Duet, and Touch are different players; self-contained, versus designed to go to an external system.

Since someone suggested a Radio, I said skip the Radio; as much as I like the interface, the sound is worthless. I assume the Boom is the same, brilliant Squeeze interface, but with power and speakers...lol.

Of course if someone wants a unit to run to a stereo system, the Radio and Boom aren't contenders. Although you may be right, about the OP inquiring about the Dune for music means he intends to run to an external system, he might also be looking for video and audio all in one...in which case these obviously aren't for him.

I think that's why someone was like "check it out" with the inexpensive Radio, and get hooked from there.

CD

Music is a moral law. It gives soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, and charm and gaiety to life and to everything. -Plato
CDLehner is offline  
Old 08-31-2010, 07:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclemat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Radio is still buggy and the interface is sluggish. I bought it for my office only because it was $99 after rebate. Overall I prefer the ID3k based devices (Boom, SB2/3, Transporter). Classic or Boom are the ones to start with IMHO (depending on needs).

Ooops, let's go back to Dune talk....
unclemat is offline  
Old 08-31-2010, 08:39 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,029
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 967 Post(s)
Liked: 827
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDLehner View Post

I'll dissent...without reading Damian's review. I have 3 SBs, including a Radio. It's an excellent device, but with awful sound; or lack thereof. If it weren't a gift from the missus, I would trade up to a Boom.

As it is, I put in the Guest Room; I have no need for it.

CD

I already have an SB Boom. It sounds good but is too big for some locations. The SB radio looks much smaller so I'm thinking about the kitchen or in another area where I don't want to turn a receiver on with my SB classics/SB2.

Anyway, is there a specific ship date for the Dunes yet?

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
Old 08-31-2010, 11:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Raistlin_HT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Buffalo, NY area
Posts: 2,503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

My sonos review is up next :-)

I'm looking forward to that.
Raistlin_HT is offline  
Old 09-01-2010, 12:08 AM
Member
 
buffalofloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raistlin_HT View Post

I can tell you and me are going to be friends. From Buffalo and 1000+ Floyd concerts

You play pool too? Nice!

hmm... yes, I do play pool as well. Do I know you?
buffalofloyd is offline  
Old 09-01-2010, 12:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Raistlin_HT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Buffalo, NY area
Posts: 2,503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well, I got the pool thing from your profile.

It's funny though, after seeing you're from Buffalo, love Floyd, and play pool, I was actually about to ask if I know you
Raistlin_HT is offline  
Old 09-01-2010, 01:20 PM
Member
 
McCabe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As reported in the main Dune 3.0 thread, those models will not output component and HDMI simultaneously. Any chance that will change for the Smart series? I'd like to send HDMI to my receiver for the theater and component to an AV matrix switch for distribution to other rooms.

Thanks for the info...Mike

-Mike
McCabe is offline  
Old 09-01-2010, 01:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CDLehner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Dark Side of the Moon-Right Side of the Bay, MD
Posts: 9,117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raistlin_HT View Post

Well, I got the pool thing from your profile.

It's funny though, after seeing you're from Buffalo, love Floyd, and play pool, I was actually about to ask if I know you

Hey...I'm an APA 5 (of course my team claims me as a 3...lol). Should we be friends?

CD

Music is a moral law. It gives soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, and charm and gaiety to life and to everything. -Plato
CDLehner is offline  
Old 09-01-2010, 06:27 PM
Member
 
buffalofloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDLehner View Post

Hey...I'm an APA 5 (of course my team claims me as a 3...lol). Should we be friends?

CD

Haha, I know your type That's good your in a league though, it's never bad to be competing against others, even though I can't stand those damn APA rules!!!!
buffalofloyd is offline  
Old 09-01-2010, 07:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Raistlin_HT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Buffalo, NY area
Posts: 2,503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDLehner View Post

Hey...I'm an APA 5 (of course my team claims me as a 3...lol). Should we be friends?

CD

If you don't mind a long-distance relationship
Raistlin_HT is offline  
Old 09-01-2010, 08:06 PM
Senior Member
 
dmoney94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: FLORIDA
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ShipPing begins end of September.

Source:HDLAND.FR
dmoney94 is offline  
Old 09-02-2010, 02:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
iansilv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not to sound like a pita, but could anyone with some thoughtfulness comment on my idea of having a dune player control a Stewart film screen bric system?
iansilv is offline  
Old 09-02-2010, 06:40 AM
 
CCONKLIN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Oswego IL 60543
Posts: 2,461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by iansilv View Post

Not to sound like a pita, but could anyone with some thoughtfulness comment on my idea of having a dune player control a Stewart film screen bric system?

sure. It won't work.
best,
chris
CCONKLIN1 is offline  
Old 09-02-2010, 07:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CDLehner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Dark Side of the Moon-Right Side of the Bay, MD
Posts: 9,117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by iansilv View Post

Not to sound like a pita, but could anyone with some thoughtfulness comment on my idea of having a dune player control a Stewart film screen bric system?

Perhaps to better answer your question, you could explain to...you know, the very few of us who don't have a "Steward film screen bric system"...what it uses to trigger changing AR automatically?

CD

Music is a moral law. It gives soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, and charm and gaiety to life and to everything. -Plato
CDLehner is offline  
Old 09-02-2010, 07:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dropzone7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDLehner View Post

Perhaps to better answer your question, you could explain to...you know, the very few of us who don't have a "Steward film screen bric system"...what it uses to trigger changing AR automatically?

CD

dropzone7 is offline  
Old 09-02-2010, 05:07 PM
Member
 
bbanderic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A quick question for you guys who currently have a Dune base...how are you formatting your internal hard drives? It's my understanding that you can't format in the Dune itself.

Hooking it up internally in my PC to format is not an option for me. I'm contemplating getting the HE extention model in addition to my D1. I'm hoping I can hook the HE to my PC via the USB slave connector on the back of the unit and format it to NTFS that way, sort of like you would do with an external hard drive. You guys think this is possible with the HE?

Another option is to get one of those thermaltake docking systems.

Any opinions would be welcome.

Thanks
bbanderic is offline  
Old 09-02-2010, 08:16 PM
Member
 
supercell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Duneplayer now showing HD Max & Smart shipping on 9/10
supercell is offline  
Old 09-02-2010, 08:20 PM
Senior Member
 
dmoney94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: FLORIDA
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by supercell View Post

Duneplayer now showing HD Max & Smart shipping on 9/10

I just saw on HDLand.fr website already shipping SMART B1(In stock. Ships 24/48)
dmoney94 is offline  
Old 09-02-2010, 09:08 PM
 
CCONKLIN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Oswego IL 60543
Posts: 2,461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDLehner View Post

Perhaps to better answer your question, you could explain to...you know, the very few of us who don't have a "Steward film screen bric system"...what it uses to trigger changing AR automatically?

CD

I liked my answer better...
CCONKLIN1 is offline  
Old 09-02-2010, 09:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbanderic View Post

A quick question for you guys who currently have a Dune base...how are you formatting your internal hard drives? It's my understanding that you can't format in the Dune itself.

Don't know where you got that info from. Put the drive in, power on Base, and it will ask you format the drive for use. Done.
Killroy is offline  
Old 09-03-2010, 04:18 AM
Member
 
bbanderic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killroy View Post

Don't know where you got that info from. Put the drive in, power on Base, and it will ask you format the drive for use. Done.

Will it format NTFS?
bbanderic is offline  
Old 09-03-2010, 06:15 AM
Senior Member
 
wagabond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by McCabe View Post

As reported in the main Dune 3.0 thread, those models will not output component and HDMI simultaneously.

Interesting .... So quite possibly it is just a Firmware control to limit power consumption ??
wagabond is offline  
Old 09-03-2010, 07:40 AM
Member
 
McCabe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wagabond View Post

Interesting .... So quite possibly it is just a Firmware control to limit power consumption ??

I'm not sure why that functionality is not there, but I hope it changes with the new lineup.

-Mike
McCabe is offline  
Old 09-03-2010, 07:44 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,029
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 967 Post(s)
Liked: 827
Are they never active together or only when HDMI is set to output anything above 1080i?

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
Old 09-03-2010, 07:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbanderic View Post

Will it format NTFS?

Nope. Internal drive is formatted in either EXT2 or EXT3.

To use EXT2/EXT3 formatted disks on a Windows PC, you may need to install additional software on the PC, such as "EXT2FSD" (http://www.ext2fsd.com/).
Killroy is offline  
Old 09-03-2010, 08:00 AM
Member
 
McCabe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

Are they never active together or only when HDMI is set to output anything above 1080i?

I don't know. My only source of information is post #2792 in the Dune 3.0 thread and it does not provide any information other than it will not output to HDMI and component simultaneously. I just assumed that if an HDMI cable was plugged in, it would not output to component. But maybe somebody with a unit could actually test this functionality.

-Mike
McCabe is offline  
Old 09-03-2010, 08:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,925
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 68
I see yet another new player posted on Dune's site: the HD Lite 53D, using the newer Sigma 8653 chip. Looks like it does everything the other Dunes do, but no HD audio? Available in "black, white, pink and light-blue case" .

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
Old 09-03-2010, 09:15 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
madpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 14,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow... Really surprised at how expensive the bd module is for the H1! For that price I don't know why I'd bother vs a base unit.

Someday maybe I'll actually WATCH my projector...
madpoet is offline  
Old 09-03-2010, 09:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

I see yet another new player posted on Dune's site: the HD Lite 53D, using the newer Sigma 8653 chip. Looks like it does everything the other Dunes do, but no HD audio? Available in "black, white, pink and light-blue case" .

Yeah, my guess that is what you lose with the Lite, HD Audio and BR menus. No sign of cost but I gotta assume under $150

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
 

Tags
Dune Hd Smart B1 1080p Media Player
Gear in this thread - 1080p by PriceGrabber.com
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off