New Dune HD Max and HD Smart anticipation thread Q3 2010 - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 10918 Old 09-15-2010, 05:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbanderic View Post

Can any of you guys tell me how the Dune works with folders, Video_ts and BDMV, just as good as ISO? All my stuff is ripped to folders, would like to avoid converting to ISO if I don't have to. What would be the benefit of one over the other as far as performance?

Thanks

Yes.. No issue with playback... ISOs are easier to manage.
blackssr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 10918 Old 09-15-2010, 05:40 PM
Member
 
BrianAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chandler, Az
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any word from someone @ Duneplayer.com on when the Smart models will ship? Wife just asked me "why don't the movies I watch on the new (dune) player in the bedroom work on the xbox in the office?" I need to strike while the iron is hot. Still looking like we'll have them by Oct?
BrianAZ is offline  
post #633 of 10918 Old 09-15-2010, 07:18 PM
Senior Member
 
mifronte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Somewhere in the US of A
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

I have two LG BD rom drives and one LG BD burner. Mine have never read at a 1X read speed for my BD titles. They typically start off around 2X(or very close to 2X) and goes up to around 4X read speed.(My two LiteON BD rom drives start off at a slower speed but also top out around 4X)

I've used them with three Windows 7 PCs and also with my MSS WHS. All of them read at similar rates.

Check your drive specs. If the specs state speed greater than 4x, then you are constrained by rip-lock.

Download the latest firmware for your drive here and use MediaCodeSpeedEdit to remove the rip-lock then apply the modified firmware.

I get up to 10X on single layer and 8X on dual layer BD-Rom discs. This is straight rip with no decryption. For decryption, the read speed may be slower depending on your system configuration.

Still Learning
mifronte is offline  
post #634 of 10918 Old 09-15-2010, 07:45 PM
Senior Member
 
dmoney94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: FLORIDA
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianAZ View Post

Any word from someone @ Duneplayer.com on when the Smart models will ship? Wife just asked me "why don't the movies I watch on the new (dune) player in the bedroom work on the xbox in the office?" I need to strike while the iron is hot. Still looking like we'll have them by Oct?

i have the same problem too.she ask me where is the new player,you already paid for(cc is being charge)
dmoney94 is offline  
post #635 of 10918 Old 09-15-2010, 08:33 PM
Senior Member
 
dbrons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: La Costa CA
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I posted the question on their website yesterday and got an email reply within 5 min saying:
Quote:


We don't know the day yet. They will be in later this month. Please
check our site for updates. :-)


Arthur

dbrons is offline  
post #636 of 10918 Old 09-16-2010, 06:17 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 20,912
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 611
Quote:
Originally Posted by mifronte View Post

Check your drive specs. If the specs state speed greater than 4x, then you are constrained by rip-lock.

Download the latest firmware for your drive here and use MediaCodeSpeedEdit to remove the rip-lock then apply the modified firmware.

I get up to 10X on single layer and 8X on dual layer BD-Rom discs. This is straight rip with no decryption. For decryption, the read speed may be slower depending on your system configuration.

In the old days I used to always mess around with with changing the firmware in my LiteOn DVD drives. I have not messed around with any of my BD drives.

Thanks.

EDIT: I just installed the modified firmware on my LG BD writer. It does make a big difference. Now it starts out reading at around 3.7X and goes up from there.
Thanks again!!

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #637 of 10918 Old 09-16-2010, 11:13 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

In the old days I used to always mess around with with changing the firmware in my LiteOn DVD drives. I have not messed around with any of my BD drives.

Thanks.

EDIT: I just installed the modified firmware on my LG BD writer. It does make a big difference. Now it starts out reading at around 3.7X and goes up from there.
Thanks again!!

aaron what lg bd writer do u use/ I have one and would like to use this modified firmware too!

thanks
zoro is online now  
post #638 of 10918 Old 09-16-2010, 12:32 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 20,912
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 611
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoro View Post

aaron what lg bd writer do u use/ I have one and would like to use this modified firmware too!

thanks


I use the BH08LS20. The link in the post by mifronte, shows the firmwares for a bunch of LG drives. This is where I got the firmware to modify.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #639 of 10918 Old 09-16-2010, 03:32 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post


I use the BH08LS20. The link in the post by mifronte, shows the firmwares for a bunch of LG drives. This is where I got the firmware to modify.

Thanks ! Mine is diff .. Kinda 30 10 or so
zoro is online now  
post #640 of 10918 Old 09-16-2010, 03:39 PM
Senior Member
 
dbrons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: La Costa CA
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
WH10LS30? That's what I have and I found the firmware at the very bottom of the LG listing. It was 1.00.06 I think and the same version my drive already had. But the firmware modded with MCSE updated perfectly. (I just checked the two boxes at the bottom for read speed and reset)
Dave
dbrons is offline  
post #641 of 10918 Old 09-16-2010, 03:46 PM
Senior Member
 
dmoney94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: FLORIDA
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thursday, September 16, 2010


Dune HD Max . Click to enlarge.
Here's the exclusive first picture of the bowels of the Dune HD Max, the new Blu -ray media as expected manufacturer HDI .

The left side of the device houses the Blu -ray. In the central part is the location for optional cards TNT HD , satellite and cable. Below is the food . Finally , on the top right there is the motherboard with the chip plated on the underside of the machine ( thermal dissipation through the metal casing) . Below is the location of the HDD rack cooled by a large fan that can be deactivated via the user interface (for those who would not use hard drive ) . The quality workmanship and finish are exemplary .


Dune HD Max: an exemplary finish
The Blu-ray is Sony manufacturing . The read speed of Blu -ray has been improved by 30 % compared to the Dune BD Prime 3.0 with the new optical block. The firmware has also been improved. Of 50 tested for Blu-ray right now, all have been read without problem. There is still a small bug pause at some Blu - ray Universal but the plant is already working on a fix . The Blu- ray is read Avatar now without any problem, which was not the case on the Dune BD Prime 3.0 ( including the new optical block) .

Among the new features we find a number of additional video settings such as the ability to choose the type of color demosaicing ( independently adjustable for decoding and video output) . It is also possible to change the position of subtitles Blu - ray . The machine runs natively NTFS read / write .

Very soon, you will discover the new application Dune Home that can manage all home automation directly from the Dune and remotely via mobile phone.


Source=Hdland.fr
dmoney94 is offline  
post #642 of 10918 Old 09-16-2010, 04:41 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 20,912
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 611
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoro View Post

aaron what lg bd writer do u use/ I have one and would like to use this modified firmware too!

thanks

I also flashed my LG CH08LS10 BD rom drive and it has similar read speeds as the LG BD writer.

And thanks again mifronte!

I cross Flashed my GBC-H20L BD Rom drive to a GGC-H20L so now it will read BD and HD DVD titles..

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #643 of 10918 Old 09-16-2010, 05:22 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
madpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 14,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post


I also flashed my LG CH08LS10 BD rom drive and it has similar read speeds as the LG BD writer.

And thanks again mifronte!

I cross Flashed my GBC-H20L BD Rom drive to a GGC-H20L so now it will read BD and HD DVD titles..

I need to look and see if I can speed up my ggc-h20l. The rip speeds on bd sucks!

Someday maybe I'll actually WATCH my projector...
madpoet is offline  
post #644 of 10918 Old 09-16-2010, 05:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

In the old days I used to always mess around with with changing the firmware in my LiteOn DVD drives. I have not messed around with any of my BD drives.

Thanks.

EDIT: I just installed the modified firmware on my LG BD writer. It does make a big difference. Now it starts out reading at around 3.7X and goes up from there.
Thanks again!!

How does 3.7x convert to MB/s?
blackssr is offline  
post #645 of 10918 Old 09-16-2010, 06:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by mifronte View Post

Check your drive specs. If the specs state speed greater than 4x, then you are constrained by rip-lock.

Download the latest firmware for your drive here and use MediaCodeSpeedEdit to remove the rip-lock then apply the modified firmware.

I get up to 10X on single layer and 8X on dual layer BD-Rom discs. This is straight rip with no decryption. For decryption, the read speed may be slower depending on your system configuration.

Cudos!
Everytime I think I know everything about hardware... Someone teaches me something new.... Great post and thanks. I am humbled.

This is what is so great about this forum... There is always someone who knows more than you do...

Cudos to you and thanks again.

My LGs all rip at twice the speed now.

Mike
blackssr is offline  
post #646 of 10918 Old 09-16-2010, 06:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
georgeorwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 1,231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by madpoet View Post

I need to look and see if I can speed up my ggc-h20l. The rip speeds on bd sucks!

I have that same drive. After the update, started at 3x, climbed to 6x.
georgeorwell is offline  
post #647 of 10918 Old 09-16-2010, 06:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by georgeorwell View Post

I have that same drive. After the update, started at 3x, climbed to 6x.

How are you getting those x numbers. How many MB/s is 1X?
blackssr is offline  
post #648 of 10918 Old 09-16-2010, 06:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 9,844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 314
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post

How are you getting those x numbers. How many MB/s is 1X?

For BD
1X = 36Mbps (4.5MBps); read or write time for a single BD layer = 90 min

In contrast, for DVD 1X read/write time for a single layer is 60 min.

All higher speeds are multiples of 1X

Here's the BD table

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #649 of 10918 Old 09-16-2010, 06:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelson View Post

For BD
1X = 36Mbps (4.5MBps); read or write time for a single BD layer = 90 min

In contrast, for DVD 1X read/write time for a single layer is 60 min.

All higher speeds are multiples of 1X

Here's the BD table

Thanks
blackssr is offline  
post #650 of 10918 Old 09-16-2010, 06:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
georgeorwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 1,231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post

How are you getting those x numbers. How many MB/s is 1X?

I got the speed from a program called Opti Drive Control. It graphs the speed as it reads the disk and tells you start and max. AnyDVD appears to be following the same upward climb that Opti was displaying.
georgeorwell is offline  
post #651 of 10918 Old 09-16-2010, 07:21 PM
Senior Member
 
dmoney94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: FLORIDA
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am getting ready for my D1,what would be the perfect 2TB harddrive to purchase?
dmoney94 is offline  
post #652 of 10918 Old 09-16-2010, 07:29 PM
Senior Member
 
mifronte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Somewhere in the US of A
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I use ImgBurn to verify my LG CH10LS20 read speeds for single layer and dual layer discs. I just select the Create Image from Disc within ImgBurn without any decryption software like AnyDvdHD running.

This will create a full exact 1:1 copy of your BD disc with encryption intact (ImgBurn will give a warning about the disc being encrypted, just ignore and continue). ImgBurn will give you the read speed in MBps and x-factor. At the end, it will also give the total duration, average read, max read among other stats. This will at least verify your drive's true max read speed without the overhead of decryption.

Still Learning
mifronte is offline  
post #653 of 10918 Old 09-16-2010, 07:40 PM
Senior Member
 
mifronte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Somewhere in the US of A
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmoney94 View Post

I am getting ready for my D1,what would be the perfect 2TB harddrive to purchase?

Check out the Samsung Spinpoint F4.

I like their 1TB 7200 rpm Spinpoint F3. It is a speed demon clocking up to 145 MBps on HD Tune!

BTW, I am deciding between the Base 3.0, D1, and SageTV HD300. I like the native mode of the Sage HD300, but do not like having to run the media center on a separate PC.

I like the D1 for it being less expensive than the Base 3.0, but I like the Base's traditional footprint for my HT rack. Anyone knows if there is a Middle Atlantic custom faceplate for either the Base 3.0 or the D1?

Still Learning
mifronte is offline  
post #654 of 10918 Old 09-16-2010, 08:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbrons View Post

WH10LS30? That's what I have and I found the firmware at the very bottom of the LG listing. It was 1.00.06 I think and the same version my drive already had. But the firmware modded with MCSE updated perfectly. (I just checked the two boxes at the bottom for read speed and reset)
Dave

Great! I am all up for this and will report back
zoro is online now  
post #655 of 10918 Old 09-16-2010, 09:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbrons View Post

WH10LS30? That's what I have and I found the firmware at the very bottom of the LG listing. It was 1.00.06 I think and the same version my drive already had. But the firmware modded with MCSE updated perfectly. (I just checked the two boxes at the bottom for read speed and reset)
Dave

so u saved revised and installed?
zoro is online now  
post #656 of 10918 Old 09-16-2010, 09:41 PM
Senior Member
 
dbrons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: La Costa CA
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yes, I dl the firmware, loaded it in MCSE, checked the two boxes at the bottom, saved as " WH10LS30_1.00-06_speedpatched.exe " Then double-clicked to run the update
Dave
dbrons is offline  
post #657 of 10918 Old 09-16-2010, 10:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbrons View Post

Yes, I dl the firmware, loaded it in MCSE, checked the two boxes at the bottom, saved as " WH10LS30_1.00-06_speedpatched.exe " Then double-clicked to run the update
Dave

Great Dave! All done

Thanks
zoro is online now  
post #658 of 10918 Old 09-17-2010, 08:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbrons View Post

Yes, I dl the firmware, loaded it in MCSE, checked the two boxes at the bottom, saved as " WH10LS30_1.00-06_speedpatched.exe " Then double-clicked to run the update
Dave

What does the second box do?
blackssr is offline  
post #659 of 10918 Old 09-17-2010, 08:48 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 20,912
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 611
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post

What does the second box do?

I was wondering the same thing. does it have something to do with the region code? I didn't check it when I updated my three LD drives.
Is there anyway to modify the LiteON firmwares to have it read faster than 4X? The two I have(iHOS104) are only rated for 4X max.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #660 of 10918 Old 09-17-2010, 09:11 AM
Member
 
cstroman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In looking at the specs on all the new models I noticed that support for FLV files isn't listed.

Is that just an oversight or are they not able to play FLV video files?
cstroman is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Dune Hd Smart B1 1080p Media Player
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off