New Dune HD Max and HD Smart anticipation thread Q3 2010 - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 10916 Old 08-18-2010, 08:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CDLehner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Dark Side of the Moon-Right Side of the Bay, MD
Posts: 8,962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 288
They're taking pre-orders already?

CD

Music is a moral law. It gives soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, and charm and gaiety to life and to everything. -Plato
CDLehner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 10916 Old 08-18-2010, 09:05 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,052
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

Wow, never thought you would bite

It's still more than I want to spend but if it 'works' then it is worth it. I had said previously that if they released a sub $300 box I would probably bite and I have. I will get the first box to try out and if I'm as impressed as I hope to be I will buy one or two more.

Then when Boxee comes out I can compare to that and see what I really want to do. The good thing about the Dune is that the resale on them is outstanding. I could use them for a few months and sell them for 90% of what they sell for new.... Kind of like Apple products!
jmpage2 is offline  
post #63 of 10916 Old 08-18-2010, 09:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
APorter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmm...there's only one eSata host on the D1, B1, and H1 so how would you connect the two other modules if you purchased later? Looking at the manual is there not a 1080p 60 Hz or 24 Hz video mode?
APorter is offline  
post #64 of 10916 Old 08-18-2010, 09:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post

D1 pre-ordered from Dune Player dot com. The shipping was steep, about the same as what Syabas charged me on my A200 pre-order. Now just need to count off the weeks till it arrives and hope that if I need additional units the wait time won't be too bad.

WOW... Hell Froze Over...First The Eagles reunited, then Jmpage2 came over to the Dune camp. Does this mean we can not argue anymore?
blackssr is offline  
post #65 of 10916 Old 08-18-2010, 09:31 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post

WOW... Hell Froze Over...First The Eagles reunited, then Jmpage2 came over to the Dune camp. Does this mean we can not argue anymore?

Don't worry Mike, just talk trash about Apple will be enough to ruffle jpmage2's feathers

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #66 of 10916 Old 08-18-2010, 09:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 41
So, what kind of Flash Lite applications are we likely to see? I'm hoping HDI uses it for a snazz up the stock menu/UI itself.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #67 of 10916 Old 08-18-2010, 09:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

Don't worry Mike, just talk trash about Apple will be enough to ruffle jpmage2's feathers

Actually I hate Steve Jobs and Apple more than PCH!
blackssr is offline  
post #68 of 10916 Old 08-18-2010, 09:48 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
madpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 14,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ooh preorders eh! I'm on it.

Question I still need answered, why would I need the hard drive? Can I just stream it all off whs with a USB stick for any local storage needed for cover art or whatever?

Someday maybe I'll actually WATCH my projector...
madpoet is offline  
post #69 of 10916 Old 08-18-2010, 09:59 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by madpoet View Post

Ooh preorders eh! I'm on it.

Question I still need answered, why would I need the hard drive? Can I just stream it all off whs with a USB stick for any local storage needed for cover art or whatever?

Some people want to store their actual media on an internal drive instead of setting up a network to stream. The other benefit would be if you are traveling you can load up the internal hdd and bring with you. Really just personal preference

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #70 of 10916 Old 08-18-2010, 10:04 AM
Member
 
Kurtz9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So... looks like the D1 will pretty much do everything (and slightly more) than the Dune 3.0 Base, and cost $100 less?

Sounds perfect to me.

I've got terabytes upon terabytes hanging off a RAID card on my desktop, so I could care less about local storage on the streamer, and the PS3 plays discs fine so I could care less about an optical drive... I just want something that lets me stream any format, including BR ISO with full menus, with full HD audio support, and without paying $300+ for it... sounds like this is finally it.

Honestly I wish they made one without an internal drive bay
and all the USB/Esata ports since I won't use any of that junk, and sell it for $199... but this is still a lot better than anything else I see forthcoming.


Only question, regarding the eventual chip upgrade thing...It's nice they'll offer an upgrade path but I doubt it'll be a cheap option... Other than maybe slightly faster menus, will the 8646 Sigma chip give me anything I care about? I know it'll give gig-e, but since I'm not using storage inside the streamer that's totally useless.
Kurtz9 is offline  
post #71 of 10916 Old 08-18-2010, 10:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
Daveyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Netflix?
Daveyd is offline  
post #72 of 10916 Old 08-18-2010, 10:10 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 20,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Liked: 578
Quote:
Originally Posted by APorter View Post

Hmm...there's only one eSata host on the D1, B1, and H1 so how would you connect the two other modules if you purchased later? Looking at the manual is there not a 1080p 60 Hz or 24 Hz video mode?

You would use, USB. the HE extension has a USB slave port(as well as eSATA), and the BE extension has an eSATA port. And I would think the ME extension for the extension boards would only need a USB connection especially if only dealing with tuners.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #73 of 10916 Old 08-18-2010, 10:11 AM
Member
 
tbooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Preordered the HD Smart B1. I was planning on getting a Prime in the next couple of months, so I hope this will offer the exact functionality of the Prime (I don't need the analog outs).

Any reason to think this isn't basically a redesigned BD Prime?
tbooth is offline  
post #74 of 10916 Old 08-18-2010, 10:28 AM
Member
 
oneway23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: RVC, NY
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll tell you what: I'm all for buying the D1 or the H1 for the bedroom, but looking at the pictures, that depth looks prohibitive for my TV stand. Anyone have exact dimensions?
oneway23 is online now  
post #75 of 10916 Old 08-18-2010, 10:34 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 20,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Liked: 578
Quote:
Originally Posted by oneway23 View Post

I'll tell you what: I'm all for buying the D1 or the H1 for the bedroom, but looking at the pictures, that depth looks prohibitive for my TV stand. Anyone have exact dimensions?

This is what I've been asking but no one seems to have an answer yet.
If I get one I don't want the depth deeper than a TiVo Premiere.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #76 of 10916 Old 08-18-2010, 10:43 AM
Member
 
oneway23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: RVC, NY
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

This is what I've been asking but no one seems to have an answer yet.
If I get one I don't want the depth deeper than a TiVo Premiere.

Exactly...If it's wider/deeper than my cable box, I won't be needing one.
oneway23 is online now  
post #77 of 10916 Old 08-18-2010, 11:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
skro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: California, USA
Posts: 1,025
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
How is everyone pre-ordering? Phone? I can't find anywhere to preorder on duneplayer's site.
skro is offline  
post #78 of 10916 Old 08-18-2010, 11:20 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by skro View Post

How is everyone pre-ordering? Phone? I can't find anywhere to preorder on duneplayer's site.

Go to more info for each player:

http://store.duneplayer.com/shop/item.aspx?itemid=12

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #79 of 10916 Old 08-18-2010, 11:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
skro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: California, USA
Posts: 1,025
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
gracias dbone. I couldn't find the product pages for those, only the new HD max. thanks for your help
skro is offline  
post #80 of 10916 Old 08-18-2010, 11:28 AM
ple
Member
 
ple's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm very much like the D1. But anyone knows if it's capable of streaming high bit rate BD ISO over wired network (either smb or nfs). Thanks,
ple
ple is offline  
post #81 of 10916 Old 08-18-2010, 11:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 41
It better be able to ! ...I'm sure it will.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #82 of 10916 Old 08-18-2010, 11:33 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by ple View Post

I'm very much like the D1. But anyone knows if it's capable of streaming high bit rate BD ISO over wired network (either smb or nfs). Thanks,
ple

It is based on the same chip and most likely running the same fw as the Prime/Base, which have no issues streaming BD ISOs over wired network (I have only tested smb)

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #83 of 10916 Old 08-18-2010, 11:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
unclemat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

It is based on the same chip and most likely running the same fw as the Prime/Base, which have no issues streaming BD ISOs over wired network (I have only tested smb)

For me BDs stream over smb fine, except rewind is unusable. Via nfs everything works fine.
unclemat is offline  
post #84 of 10916 Old 08-18-2010, 11:54 AM
Senior Member
 
scJohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
For those of you who might have missed it. There is a Features voting page: http://dune-hd.com/features/
scJohn is offline  
post #85 of 10916 Old 08-18-2010, 11:55 AM
Newbie
 
HDcity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dimensions in milimitres for those who asked:

Dune HD Smart H1/ D1:
player itself without legs: 142(w) x 276(d) x 56(h)
player itself with legs: 142(w) x 276(d) x 65(h), 1.9 kg (net weight)

Dune HD Smart B1:
player itself without legs: 142(w) x 276(d) x 56(h)
player itself with legs: 142(w) x 276(d) x 65(h), 2.4 kg (net weight)

Source: Dune (I run the Australian distributor).
HDcity is offline  
post #86 of 10916 Old 08-18-2010, 11:55 AM
Member
 
warunek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

This is what I've been asking but no one seems to have an answer yet.
If I get one I don't want the depth deeper than a TiVo Premiere.

According to Mike T from Duneplayer.com B1,D1 H1 dimensions are in millimeters:
without legs: 142(w) x 276(d) x 56(h)
with legs: 142(w) x 276(d) x 65(h)
Also, he said sample units on way today or tomorrow and can confirm Sept. delivery as per HDI. Bulk stock will be sent to US via air freight-about one day of shipping then customs clearance.
warunek is offline  
post #87 of 10916 Old 08-18-2010, 11:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
skro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: California, USA
Posts: 1,025
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Hi all,

I was wondering if there was a 3rd party add-in for the dune software that will enhance the viewing experience for music and photos.

Zappiti looks great for movies, but it is a shame to have such a nice interface to select movies, but have to use the simple file structures to browse for music and photos.

Thanks!
skro is offline  
post #88 of 10916 Old 08-18-2010, 12:08 PM
ple
Member
 
ple's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

It is based on the same chip and most likely running the same fw as the Prime/Base, which have no issues streaming BD ISOs over wired network (I have only tested smb)

perfect, just ordered one - bye bye xtreamer...
ple is offline  
post #89 of 10916 Old 08-18-2010, 12:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
mbryanr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

This is what I've been asking but no one seems to have an answer yet.
If I get one I don't want the depth deeper than a TiVo Premiere.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HDcity View Post

Dimensions in milimitres for those who asked:

Dune HD Smart H1/ D1:
player itself without legs: 142(w) x 276(d) x 56(h)
player itself with legs: 142(w) x 276(d) x 65(h), 1.9 kg (net weight)

Dune HD Smart B1:
player itself without legs: 142(w) x 276(d) x 56(h)
player itself with legs: 142(w) x 276(d) x 65(h), 2.4 kg (net weight)

Source: Dune (I run the Australian distributor).

Tivo Premiere: 16.5" W x 9.7" D x 2.4" H
Dune HD Smart: 5.6" W x 10.9" D x 2.2" H

I'd get the HD smart for 1.2" of.. depth! :-D
mbryanr is online now  
post #90 of 10916 Old 08-18-2010, 12:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
palehorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by warunek View Post

without legs: 142(w) x 276(d) x 56(h)
with legs: 142(w) x 276(d) x 65(h)

U.S. Translation:

B1/H1/D1
without legs: 5.6" (w) x 10.9" (d) x 2.2" (h)
with legs: 5.6" (w) x 10.9" (d) x 2.6" (h)

H1/D1 weight: 4.2 lbs
B1 weight: 5.3 lbs

palehorse is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Dune Hd Smart B1 1080p Media Player
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off