New Dune HD Max and HD Smart anticipation thread Q3 2010 - Page 365 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10921 of 10932 Old 08-08-2014, 12:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pdxrealtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,502
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by mecmec View Post
i am not sure i have EVER had an audio drop out with my dune...network issue?...
Hmmmm.... possibly.

I've always had a bit of an issue with the star wars 1-3 movies, but I always chalked that up to the burn. (I rip straight to .ISO, 1:1). I watched episode 3 the other night and it seemed to have more than normal.

Then I watched Crimson Tide and had a couple drop outs. The only thing I've changed is going from a smart to a duo, and dropping both down to firmware b-6.

I'll have to experiment more. I was hoping to avoid that.

FS- Netgear 550 .ISO player - PM me
My Gear-Pioneer, JBL Pro Cinema, Fi Car Audio 4- SP4 18", Peavey IPR2 7500 x 4 -Mini-Dsp 4x10, GIK Acoustics, Seymour Screens 110" AT, Dune Smarts, uNraid Server
Theater Build and Two Sono Sub Builds Here-
pdxrealtor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10922 of 10932 Old 08-08-2014, 12:50 PM
Member
 
thetoad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
only time I've ever had issues with audio or stuttering is when my file server's HD is occupied with other tasks and can't keep up / small read buffer of the dune (if it had a larger buffer, it wouldn't make a difference).
thetoad is offline  
post #10923 of 10932 Old 08-08-2014, 01:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ScottJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 1,401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdxrealtor View Post
I've always had a bit of an issue with the star wars 1-3 movies, but I always chalked that up to the burn. (I rip straight to .ISO, 1:1). I watched episode 3 the other night and it seemed to have more than normal.
Those discs had compatibility issues with some receivers (Denon and Pioneer). The DTS-HDMA tracks had lots of audio stutters, regardless of what player was used. Newer receivers fixed this issue.

Could this be the problem?
ScottJ is offline  
post #10924 of 10932 Old 08-08-2014, 01:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pdxrealtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,502
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottJ View Post
Those discs had compatibility issues with some receivers (Denon and Pioneer). The DTS-HDMA tracks had lots of audio stutters, regardless of what player was used. Newer receivers fixed this issue.

Could this be the problem?

It could be, yes. My receiver is a Pioneer, but it is a newer higher end model. Last year to be more specific.

FS- Netgear 550 .ISO player - PM me
My Gear-Pioneer, JBL Pro Cinema, Fi Car Audio 4- SP4 18", Peavey IPR2 7500 x 4 -Mini-Dsp 4x10, GIK Acoustics, Seymour Screens 110" AT, Dune Smarts, uNraid Server
Theater Build and Two Sono Sub Builds Here-
pdxrealtor is offline  
post #10925 of 10932 Old 08-08-2014, 11:54 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
mrlittlejeans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Memphis
Posts: 4,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 192
Is it still necessary to have a drive locally on the Dune? I set up Zappiti tonight and mapped the network drive it resides on to my Dune and it seems to be working fine.

I had a few Dunes for a few years but haven't had one hooked up in over a year and it has been a few years since I set one up. I'm basically starting from scratch with new units (five of them) and can't remember why exactly I had USB sticks in my old ones.

Absence of evidence is not evidence of absence

mrlittlejeans is offline  
post #10926 of 10932 Old 08-09-2014, 05:39 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrlittlejeans View Post
Is it still necessary to have a drive locally on the Dune? I set up Zappiti tonight and mapped the network drive it resides on to my Dune and it seems to be working fine.

I had a few Dunes for a few years but haven't had one hooked up in over a year and it has been a few years since I set one up. I'm basically starting from scratch with new units (five of them) and can't remember why exactly I had USB sticks in my old ones.
A small USB or SD drive is useful for system storage, which might be required by some BD discs and other software.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #10927 of 10932 Old Yesterday, 01:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mickey79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 1,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it possible to reset the last watched / resume status for all movies on dune smart d1? I hadn't used Dune for a while & I'm using it again. Everytime I start a movie, it resumes from where I last left it. I'd like them all to start from the beginning; is it possible to make dune forget where I last stopped them all?

Thanks!

7.1: Polk RTi12 Fronts, RTi8 Surrounds, Monitor70 Surround Backs, CSi A6 Center + Outlaw LFM-1 EX Subwoofer.
Yamaha RX-A2000 AVR
Epson 5010 3D Projector
Intel Sandy Bridge 3D HTPC / Blu-ray Player
mickey79 is online now  
post #10928 of 10932 Old Yesterday, 01:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ScottJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 1,401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by mickey79 View Post
Is it possible to reset the last watched / resume status for all movies on dune smart d1? I hadn't used Dune for a while & I'm using it again. Everytime I start a movie, it resumes from where I last left it. I'd like them all to start from the beginning; is it possible to make dune forget where I last stopped them all?

Thanks!
dune_service_format_system_storage.dsf

Edit: maybe not...unclear if system storage holds the resume data or not.

Try powering down (not just standby), remove system storage, see if player is still resuming. If so, I think you're SOL...if not, reinitialize the system storage and it will clear all that data.
ScottJ is offline  
post #10929 of 10932 Old Yesterday, 01:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
jconjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by mickey79 View Post
Is it possible to reset the last watched / resume status for all movies on dune smart d1? I hadn't used Dune for a while & I'm using it again. Everytime I start a movie, it resumes from where I last left it. I'd like them all to start from the beginning; is it possible to make dune forget where I last stopped them all?

Thanks!
Its not a system storage issue. There is a setting to disable auto resume. Im not with my D1 so cant tell you exactly where, but i know its there somewhere.

PANASONIC VT50 FOR SALE!!!!

Panasonic 60VT60 3DTV
Denon AVR 4311CI
Klipsch F-30 Fronts
Klipsch C-20 Center
Klipsch S-20 Sides
Klipsch B-20 Rears
PA 120 12" Sub
Dune HD Smart D1
PS3 Slim
DirecTV HR34 DVR

jconjason is offline  
post #10930 of 10932 Old Yesterday, 07:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mickey79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 1,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jconjason View Post
Its not a system storage issue. There is a setting to disable auto resume. Im not with my D1 so cant tell you exactly where, but i know its there somewhere.
You were correct! It's under Setup / Playback / Bookmarks. You can turn autoresume on our off.

Thanks man!

7.1: Polk RTi12 Fronts, RTi8 Surrounds, Monitor70 Surround Backs, CSi A6 Center + Outlaw LFM-1 EX Subwoofer.
Yamaha RX-A2000 AVR
Epson 5010 3D Projector
Intel Sandy Bridge 3D HTPC / Blu-ray Player
mickey79 is online now  
post #10931 of 10932 Old Yesterday, 07:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
jconjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by mickey79 View Post
You were correct! It's under Setup / Playback / Bookmarks. You can turn autoresume on our off.

Thanks man!
You are most welcome.

PANASONIC VT50 FOR SALE!!!!

Panasonic 60VT60 3DTV
Denon AVR 4311CI
Klipsch F-30 Fronts
Klipsch C-20 Center
Klipsch S-20 Sides
Klipsch B-20 Rears
PA 120 12" Sub
Dune HD Smart D1
PS3 Slim
DirecTV HR34 DVR

jconjason is offline  
post #10932 of 10932 Old Yesterday, 07:24 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
GetGray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mid-South USA
Posts: 5,440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 51
There's also a shortcut to go to start of video IIRC. Pressing 0 I think.
GetGray is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Dune Hd Smart B1 1080p Media Player
Gear in this thread - 1080p by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off