New Dune HD Max and HD Smart anticipation thread Q3 2010 - Page 366 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10951 of 10963 Old 09-01-2014, 07:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pdxrealtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,515
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDLehner View Post
Man, answers come slowly over there! Anyone got iOS remote...working with their Smart series; that could get me through it?
Yes, very slow. I thought I posted the same question over ther, but I checked and I did not.

I have the ios and smart series and it works for me. I want to say it had to with having an account, but you said you tried that.

Could you try to un-install and re-install the computer app?
pdxrealtor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10952 of 10963 Old 09-03-2014, 08:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Hyrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Eastern Massachusetts
Posts: 2,567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I need another Dune and would like to get a Smart H1, but that no longer seems to be available. Are the new Compact or Premium Dunes worth considering? ISO playback is not required.
Hyrax is offline  
post #10953 of 10963 Old 09-03-2014, 08:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 594
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyrax View Post
I need another Dune and would like to get a Smart H1, but that no longer seems to be available. Are the new Compact or Premium Dunes worth considering? ISO playback is not required.
Dune TV303. I sold my last Dune D1 a few weeks ago. I'm Duneless now. Going with HTPC.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

Home Theater Set Up:


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

GusGus748s is offline  
post #10954 of 10963 Old 09-03-2014, 09:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Hyrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Eastern Massachusetts
Posts: 2,567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 17
GusGus-
Thanks for the response. I'm trying to figure out how the Dune HD30 3D compares to the D1 in the real world (except for ISO support). I've been told it may not support DTS audio yet, but wonder if that is the only 'surprise' limitation.

I went from a HTPC to the Dune and don't really want to go back. I can understand why some would want to use a HTPC, but the Dune H1 matches my needs perfectly. I do wish it would pass through video without touching it (my video processor does a better job), but that is my only complaint. When I got it, I just plugged it in, configured it to connect to my NAS, and it has been essential hassle free ever since. I haven't even updated the firmware for two years. My experiences with a HTPC was exactly the opposite.
Hyrax is offline  
post #10955 of 10963 Old 09-03-2014, 11:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 594
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyrax View Post
GusGus-
Thanks for the response. I'm trying to figure out how the Dune HD30 3D compares to the D1 in the real world (except for ISO support). I've been told it may not support DTS audio yet, but wonder if that is the only 'surprise' limitation.

I went from a HTPC to the Dune and don't really want to go back. I can understand why some would want to use a HTPC, but the Dune H1 matches my needs perfectly. I do wish it would pass through video without touching it (my video processor does a better job), but that is my only complaint. When I got it, I just plugged it in, configured it to connect to my NAS, and it has been essential hassle free ever since. I haven't even updated the firmware for two years. My experiences with a HTPC was exactly the opposite.
TV303 bitstream HD sound. It wont downmix True HD sound.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

Home Theater Set Up:


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

GusGus748s is offline  
post #10956 of 10963 Old 09-03-2014, 04:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CDLehner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Dark Side of the Moon-Right Side of the Bay, MD
Posts: 9,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdxrealtor View Post
Yes, very slow. I thought I posted the same question over ther, but I checked and I did not.

I have the ios and smart series and it works for me. I want to say it had to with having an account, but you said you tried that.

Could you try to un-install and re-install the computer app?
OK...so this dude over at the Zappiti forum; is saying I need the paid remote app...not the free media center app. Makes sense; I think I read the free app is just for Zappiti players.

I haven't tried it yet, because the pic I saw was like this...



but this guy says it also controls the poster-wall, which is all I'm after. In other words...I don't want/need to stream to the iOS; just see the poster-wall, and control from it.

Before I drop the $16...can anyone confirm or deny? Thanks

Music is a moral law. It gives soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, and charm and gaiety to life and to everything. -Plato
CDLehner is offline  
post #10957 of 10963 Old 09-03-2014, 05:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pdxrealtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,515
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDLehner View Post
OK...so this dude over at the Zappiti forum; is saying I need the paid remote app...not the free media center app. Makes sense; I think I read the free app is just for Zappiti players.

I haven't tried it yet, because the pic I saw was like this...



but this guy says it also controls the poster-wall, which is all I'm after. In other words...I don't want/need to stream to the iOS; just see the poster-wall, and control from it.

Before I drop the $16...can anyone confirm or deny? Thanks
HAHA.... I didn't know you were trying with the free app- sorry about that.

The free app does not allow control of the movie wall, but you can view the movie wall on your iPad, launch movies from the iPad movie wall, and use the apps built in remote to control the Dune.

Let me know if that doesn't clear it up for you. FWIW it's the best 17.00 I've spent on app, ever.

FS- Netgear 550 .ISO player - PM me
My Gear-Pioneer, JBL Pro Cinema, Fi Car Audio 4- SP4 18", Peavey IPR2 7500 x 4 -Mini-Dsp 4x10, GIK Acoustics, Seymour Screens 110" AT, Dune Smarts, uNraid Server

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
pdxrealtor is offline  
post #10958 of 10963 Old 09-04-2014, 03:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 594
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDLehner View Post
OK...so this dude over at the Zappiti forum; is saying I need the paid remote app...not the free media center app. Makes sense; I think I read the free app is just for Zappiti players.

I haven't tried it yet, because the pic I saw was like this...



but this guy says it also controls the poster-wall, which is all I'm after. In other words...I don't want/need to stream to the iOS; just see the poster-wall, and control from it.

Before I drop the $16...can anyone confirm or deny? Thanks
I would also recommend 10Muse, which was my favorite jukebox / app. to use when I had my Dune.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

Home Theater Set Up:


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

GusGus748s is offline  
post #10959 of 10963 Old 09-04-2014, 06:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Skylinestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post
TV303 bitstream HD sound. It wont downmix True HD sound.
Can the TV303D decode DD/DTS and send out multichannel LPCM 5.1/7.1 ?
I'm wondering if adding miniDSP DiracLive to it will be worthwhile. My AVR has the older Audyssey XT.
Skylinestar is online now  
post #10960 of 10963 Old 09-04-2014, 07:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mr Eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skylinestar View Post
Can the TV303D decode DD/DTS and send out multichannel LPCM 5.1/7.1 ?
I'm wondering if adding miniDSP DiracLive to it will be worthwhile. My AVR has the older Audyssey XT.
yes it can do it but not out of the box, you need to appy a small patch for that (search this topic to get the link)
Mr Eric is offline  
post #10961 of 10963 Old 09-04-2014, 07:48 PM
Senior Member
 
the_abbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hey guys,

Can any of the Dune players utilize an internal 4tb drive?
the_abbot is online now  
post #10962 of 10963 Old 09-04-2014, 08:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_abbot View Post
Hey guys,

Can any of the Dune players utilize an internal 4tb drive?
Yes.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #10963 of 10963 Old 09-04-2014, 09:30 PM
Senior Member
 
the_abbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Yes.
Thanks. I've got a Dune base 3 and have been using local 2tb storage for ages. I need more space now.
the_abbot is online now  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Dune Hd Smart B1 1080p Media Player
Gear in this thread - 1080p by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off