New Dune HD Max and HD Smart anticipation thread Q3 2010 - Page 368 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #11011 of 11039 Unread 12-01-2014, 01:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mickey79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 1,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quick questions guys:

Back in the day I used to be able to access & brows the db3 (SQLite) database file that Zappiti uses. The username/password was available in the connection string in one of the config xml files. However, with the new versions, I don't see that connection string anymore, nor the password anywhere else, and thus I can't access the database anymore. Is it no longer possible to access the database or am I missing where the password is stored?

More importantly, recently a lot of my movies are not scraping the details. The pictures will scrape fine, but no details - not even the title. I've tried both TMDB and IMDB. I've also tried the manual scrape (hitting the icon, choosing the title), still nothing! Absolutely blank. Furthermore, if I "Delete" a movie, Zappiti doesn't seem to read it again. It doesn't show up if I scan again. Very annoying.

Any workaround / solutions / fixes to these issues?

Thanks!

7.1: Polk RTi12 Fronts, RTi8 Surrounds, Monitor70 Surround Backs, CSi A6 Center + Outlaw LFM-1 EX Subwoofer.
Yamaha RX-A2000 AVR
Epson 5010 3D Projector
Intel Sandy Bridge 3D HTPC / Blu-ray Player
mickey79 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11012 of 11039 Unread 01-02-2015, 05:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
alexsquared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Gresham, OR
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Has anyone had the issue where certain movies only play back in bd lite? If you attempt full bd, it simply loads to an all black screen and hangs? Again, only on certain disks. Using DVDFab HD.

Last edited by alexsquared; 01-05-2015 at 12:31 PM.
alexsquared is offline  
post #11013 of 11039 Unread 01-02-2015, 08:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sukumar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forthworth,Texas
Posts: 1,139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexsquared View Post
Has anyone had the issue where certain movies only play back in bd lite? If you attempt full bd, it simply loads to an all black screen and hangs? Again, only on certain disks, most recently "Taken". Using DVDFab HD.
I got same problem wiht dvdfab. However, I had good luck using anydvd most of the times. Very few times I have problem to play movie extracted with anydvd as well. When I check info it shows time as 0:0. Not sure what could be the problem.
sukumar is offline  
post #11014 of 11039 Unread 01-02-2015, 08:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sukumar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forthworth,Texas
Posts: 1,139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
vcd

Does anybody have any recommendations on how to extract vcd and play using Dune? I am thinking to use clonecd. I am not sure .img file extracted can be played with Dune. Need to test. Thanks for your help.
sukumar is offline  
post #11015 of 11039 Unread 01-02-2015, 09:32 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,754
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 529 Post(s)
Liked: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexsquared View Post
Has anyone had the issue where certain movies only play back in bd lite? If you attempt full bd, it simply loads to an all black screen and hangs? Again, only on certain disks, most recently "Taken". Using DVDFab HD.
The Dune seems to like to puke on the JAVA that's common on BDs. It just doesn't have the processing power to render the more complex JAVA that they like to use. Often, if you leave it alone and go fix a sammich, when you come back its loaded. Its part of the reason I rip everything to MKV.
GusGus748s likes this.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #11016 of 11039 Unread 01-03-2015, 01:49 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Is the Dune able to read the Reiser FS filesystem used by UnRaid?
cwgtree44 is offline  
post #11017 of 11039 Unread 01-03-2015, 02:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
SeldomSeen31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwgtree44 View Post
Is the Dune able to read the Reiser FS filesystem used by UnRaid?
I'm not entirely sure about the nuts and bolts of the unraid system, but I stream my .mkv files from an unraid box to my Dune with no problem.
GusGus748s likes this.

PSN ID: Seldom_Seen
SeldomSeen31 is online now  
post #11018 of 11039 Unread 01-04-2015, 06:41 AM
Senior Member
 
007james's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I actually find that after I hit stop while playing a Blu-Ray that it takes a very long time to return to the menu, I don't recall it always being that slow. I guess the days of new firmware for the D1 are over at this point? The processing power of the D1 is out of date as this point as well i would guess. Anyone know of a suitable replacement for the D1?
007james is offline  
post #11019 of 11039 Unread 01-04-2015, 07:02 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by 007james View Post
I actually find that after I hit stop while playing a Blu-Ray that it takes a very long time to return to the menu, I don't recall it always being that slow. I guess the days of new firmware for the D1 are over at this point? The processing power of the D1 is out of date as this point as well i would guess. Anyone know of a suitable replacement for the D1?
If you are looking for full Blu Ray support you won't find a suitable replacement unless you want to try the HTPC route.

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is online now  
post #11020 of 11039 Unread 01-04-2015, 08:50 AM
Senior Member
 
007james's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post
If you are looking for full Blu Ray support you won't find a suitable replacement unless you want to try the HTPC route.
How are the KDLink units?
007james is offline  
post #11021 of 11039 Unread 01-04-2015, 10:24 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by 007james View Post
How are the KDLink units?
Not too familiar with KDLinks. I have owned PCHs but have mixed experience with. I also own their Open Hour Chamelion which is their 4K Android player. Haven't had a chance to mess around with it much yet, but could be promising for those who want to use XMBC as their GUI. Zappiti is releasing their new Zappiti player (4K Realtek) that I am waiting to get. I am a little hesitant on that one because a) it is a new Realtek chip so could be extremely buggy and b) there seems to be mixed reviews amongst users as far as how well the Zappiti devs have maintained their firmware. Right now on the Realtek side i think Mede8er is the best out there. Not sure what happened to sigma or if Dune plans on ever releasing a new player ... Personally, I will hold on to my Dunes (BD Prime, B1, and D1) until they no longer work.

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is online now  
post #11022 of 11039 Unread 01-05-2015, 12:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
alexsquared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Gresham, OR
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
The Dune seems to like to puke on the JAVA that's common on BDs. It just doesn't have the processing power to render the more complex JAVA that they like to use. Often, if you leave it alone and go fix a sammich, when you come back its loaded. Its part of the reason I rip everything to MKV.
Would any of the settings in DVDFab remove the Java items which cause the problem? I see an option to remove java protection, but don't know if that's it. There's also BD-live.
alexsquared is offline  
post #11023 of 11039 Unread 01-05-2015, 12:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
alexsquared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Gresham, OR
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post
If you are looking for full Blu Ray support you won't find a suitable replacement unless you want to try the HTPC route.
in an effort to not read 50 differing threads/opinions, is there an HTPC solution that seems to be rising to the top? For some time, I was hearing about small form factor units with openelec. my solution would need full ISO playback while allowing all controls to be done via an IR or RS232 remote (like the dune is now).
alexsquared is offline  
post #11024 of 11039 Unread 01-05-2015, 01:38 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexsquared View Post
in an effort to not read 50 differing threads/opinions, is there an HTPC solution that seems to be rising to the top? For some time, I was hearing about small form factor units with openelec. my solution would need full ISO playback while allowing all controls to be done via an IR or RS232 remote (like the dune is now).
For full ISO playback you would need to run PDVD or TMT along with I believe AnyDVD running in the background, and even then I don't think it is foolproof. The only foolproof way to get full ISO playback (I assume you mean Full BD menus) would be to use the actual physical BD disc for playback.

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is online now  
post #11025 of 11039 Unread 01-05-2015, 01:49 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,754
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 529 Post(s)
Liked: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexsquared View Post
Would any of the settings in DVDFab remove the Java items which cause the problem? I see an option to remove java protection, but don't know if that's it. There's also BD-live.
If you're using Fab BD Ripper, the one setting that's certain to fix all problems is "MKV Passthrough" Disabling BD Live might help, but its going to be title-dependent.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #11026 of 11039 Unread 01-05-2015, 02:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
alexsquared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Gresham, OR
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
If you're using Fab BD Ripper, the one setting that's certain to fix all problems is "MKV Passthrough" Disabling BD Live might help, but its going to be title-dependent.
I'm not familiar enough with MKV, however, if using those, I suspect BD Menu would no longer be present?
alexsquared is offline  
post #11027 of 11039 Unread 01-05-2015, 02:49 PM
Member
 
mecmec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 23
If your primary concern is with quality playback of ISO blu ray files (and 3D ISO files) AND you can live with a VERY basic menu structure, the Oppo 103 or 103D series with a little bit of work plays 3D blu ray ISO and blu ray ISO flawlessly from my attached synology NAS.

If you need or want fancy front ends this is not a solution for you as the folder structure menu system is ugly as hell! :-)
mecmec is offline  
post #11028 of 11039 Unread 01-05-2015, 03:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
alexsquared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Gresham, OR
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mecmec View Post
If your primary concern is with quality playback of ISO blu ray files (and 3D ISO files) AND you can live with a VERY basic menu structure, the Oppo 103 or 103D series with a little bit of work plays 3D blu ray ISO and blu ray ISO flawlessly from my attached synology NAS.

If you need or want fancy front ends this is not a solution for you as the folder structure menu system is ugly as hell! :-)
Unfortunately it wouldn't pass WAF
alexsquared is offline  
post #11029 of 11039 Unread 01-05-2015, 03:45 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexsquared View Post
Unfortunately it wouldn't pass WAF
Instead of a wife get a dog so it will at least pass WOOF

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is online now  
post #11030 of 11039 Unread 01-05-2015, 04:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
alexsquared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Gresham, OR
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post
Instead of a wife get a dog so it will at least pass WOOF
that's just bad
alexsquared is offline  
post #11031 of 11039 Unread 01-05-2015, 06:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,754
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 529 Post(s)
Liked: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexsquared View Post
I'm not familiar enough with MKV, however, if using those, I suspect BD Menu would no longer be present?
True dat. There's another option in the Dune, which is use the BD-Lite option. It avoids loading anything from the disc menus, JAVA included. The only problem is when you encounter a disc with 200 bogus title sets.

AnyDVD-HD has an option to rip a BD with all the content but no menus that works much the same, (Speedmenu), but it does pick the correct title set and dump the bogus titles.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #11032 of 11039 Unread 01-05-2015, 07:48 PM
Senior Member
 
bgoering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by mecmec View Post
If your primary concern is with quality playback of ISO blu ray files (and 3D ISO files) AND you can live with a VERY basic menu structure, the Oppo 103 or 103D series with a little bit of work plays 3D blu ray ISO and blu ray ISO flawlessly from my attached synology NAS.

If you need or want fancy front ends this is not a solution for you as the folder structure menu system is ugly as hell! :-)
Can you elaborate a bit on the "little bit of work" required for the Oppo 103 to play back ISO files? I am familiar with the BDMV Modifier program to play a folder structure in an AVCHD directory...


Thanks -- Bill
bgoering is online now  
post #11033 of 11039 Unread 01-06-2015, 06:21 AM
Member
 
thetoad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexsquared View Post
Has anyone had the issue where certain movies only play back in bd lite? If you attempt full bd, it simply loads to an all black screen and hangs? Again, only on certain disks. Using DVDFab HD.
generally means the bluray was ripped poorly and most likely they broke the java code in the process. i.e. a bug in the ripper. as other poster said, anydvd is more reliable, but I've had some cases where anydvd failed and dvdfab worked (Though not in a while).
thetoad is offline  
post #11034 of 11039 Unread 01-06-2015, 02:00 PM
Member
 
mecmec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgoering View Post
Can you elaborate a bit on the "little bit of work" required for the Oppo 103 to play back ISO files? I am familiar with the BDMV Modifier program to play a folder structure in an AVCHD directory...


Thanks -- Bill
I can not elaborate because I will get bitch slapped again. It still confuses me that we can talk about anydvd and dvdfab but as soon as anyone talks about ummm "custom firmware" it is considered taboo. Fee free to drop me a pm though and I will spill my guts. :-)
mecmec is offline  
post #11035 of 11039 Unread 01-06-2015, 02:04 PM
Member
 
mecmec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexsquared View Post
Unfortunately it wouldn't pass WAF
HA! In my case it does because it is very basic and simple to use. But, yeah, aesthetically, it is not very pretty at all. Ok, that is being kind, it is DOS ugly..But that being said, I have not used my Dune Zapitti set up in over a year because in my case the Oppo 103-D produces a superior picture AND also does my 3D Blu Ray ISO's.
mecmec is offline  
post #11036 of 11039 Unread Yesterday, 11:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 72
So now that OpenHour (i.e. PCH) has just announced their new Sigma 4K player, you would have to think that Dune has something in the works???

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is online now  
post #11037 of 11039 Unread Today, 11:37 AM
Member
 
golobulus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post
So now that OpenHour (i.e. PCH) has just announced their new Sigma 4K player, you would have to think that Dune has something in the works???
dbone, are you going to do a review of the OpenHour 4K player? Considering this as a potential upgrade from the Dune Smart series? I'm looking for the next player that can do BDLite at least as well as the Dune Smart. I've given up on menus and like the "resume" playback feature that comes with BDLite. If only the forced subs worked all the time (or I knew how to fix my clown rips)
golobulus is online now  
post #11038 of 11039 Unread Today, 11:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by golobulus View Post
dbone, are you going to do a review of the OpenHour 4K player? Considering this as a potential upgrade from the Dune Smart series? I'm looking for the next player that can do BDLite at least as well as the Dune Smart. I've given up on menus and like the "resume" playback feature that comes with BDLite. If only the forced subs worked all the time (or I knew how to fix my clown rips)
I did preorder the OpenHour VTEN 4K player and also have the Zappiti 4K player (realtek) on the way soon. Not sure I will be able to get to a full review since time is a bit of an issue, but at a minimum I will try to post some thoughts. I would say don't expect much from the VTEN or Zappiti to start as I expect them to be very buggy being a new chipset.

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is online now  
post #11039 of 11039 Unread Today, 01:29 PM
Member
 
golobulus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great! The VTEN 4K looks pretty good based on specs... excited to hear your thoughts next month when it comes out.... particularly regarding the NMJ jukebox they are supporting.
golobulus is online now  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Dune Hd Smart B1 1080p Media Player
Gear in this thread - 1080p by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off