New Dune HD Max and HD Smart anticipation thread Q3 2010 - Page 371 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #11101 of 11129 Old Yesterday, 08:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
johnBlanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 668
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post
I need to test out the new Zappiti MC4 (only works for the Zappiti 4K player but I think it will come over to the Dune 3D series as well). In the middle of a move now so just started plugging back in all my electronics these past few days.
Moving off Long Island?
johnBlanker is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11102 of 11129 Old Yesterday, 08:42 AM
Member
 
mecmec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnBlanker View Post
Dune smart B1 impressions:
I really have that "late to the party" sensation going on here. Anyway, I was really pleased when I finally got to watch movies on this thing, after futzing around with it for a bunch of hours. It played my full menu rip of "Oz the great and powerful" perfectly. It's a seamless branched movie and the files played back without a hitch. It normally causes a slight pause/stutter in my other players when changing m2ts files. Also, RW/FF works great! When you resume it resumes right where it should. These are welcome improvements over my current streamers.

I was disappointed that without a jukbox, the unit doesn't natively display thumb art from a jpeg inside the folder. The online/manual documentation is garbage. Luckily, This unit has been around for years so there is plenty to research. I have been busy.

I don't understand why they cannot fix the SMB browse functionality. It's ok. Instead of sharing multiple folders, I can just put them into one shared root folder.

The memory storage for this unit is indeed confusing. I couldn't DL the firmware update because it said I had no system storage. So I popped in an SD card. Then I updated the firmware. Then I couldn't DL any dune skins or add favorites. I plugged a usb in the back thinking I could use this for storage but no, it's read-only. Then I took the sd card out and now I can download skins and add favorites. I don't know where it is storing these things since I removed the system storage. What is even more strange is that in the setting menu it says that system storage is attached. ?

Apparently there is a usb port inside the B1, but I would have to remove the optical drive to get to it. I assume this could be used for system storage. I'm confused. Back to do more research.
Yep, get a low profile USB stick and crack that baby open and insert it into the internal USB spot. Should take less than 10 minutes. Make sure the USB stick is freshly formatted and EMPTY, or you will have issues..
mecmec is online now  
post #11103 of 11129 Old Yesterday, 08:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
johnBlanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 668
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by mecmec View Post
Yep, get a low profile USB stick and crack that baby open and insert it into the internal USB spot. Should take less than 10 minutes. Make sure the USB stick is freshly formatted and EMPTY, or you will have issues..
I just got this one. Nice and slim. I assume 16GB is no prob, and FAT32.
johnBlanker is online now  
post #11104 of 11129 Old Yesterday, 08:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnBlanker View Post
I am trying to think of a scenario where I would want to store files on the Dune. What are your opinions on using the internal usb? My warranty is 6 months on this refurb. I think removing the case voids this.
On my D1 I have the USB drive inserted internally. I haven't opened up my B1, I just use an SD card. If I really needed more storage I would just plug in a USB thumb drive to any of the USB ports on the outside.

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnBlanker View Post
Moving off Long Island?
lol, no. Just moving from one town to another

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #11105 of 11129 Old Yesterday, 08:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,872
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnBlanker View Post
I have MM and 10muse installed. Will add Zappiti and test them all out. I am all for the least futzing method. After adding a movie, I can set 10muse to scan the library for only new item, leaving the ones it already scanned alone. Incremental scanning. This helps speed up the process. With MM, it scans the entire DB. It's quite cumbersome with 600 movies. I only have 5TB of space to work with so I'm always adding and deleting.
Good stuff.
Once Zappiti is running you will not have to navigate any folders. The front end is clean and simple. All you see when you turn on the Dune is your media regardless of where it is located. 600 movies should be about 18 TB. What am I missing here? You are definitely not doing full rips that is why the WD seems to play OK with your stuff.
blackssr is online now  
post #11106 of 11129 Old Yesterday, 08:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
johnBlanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 668
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post
On my D1 I have the USB drive inserted internally. I haven't opened up my B1, I just use an SD card. If I really needed more storage I would just plug in a USB thumb drive to any of the USB ports on the outside.



lol, no. Just moving from one town to another
Nothing it seems, is more frustration than moving. I moved into my first house in Pt jeff sta from my apt 30 seconds down the road, about a year ago. ugh.
johnBlanker is online now  
post #11107 of 11129 Old Yesterday, 08:55 AM
Member
 
mecmec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post
On my D1 I have the USB drive inserted internally. I haven't opened up my B1, I just use an SD card. If I really needed more storage I would just plug in a USB thumb drive to any of the USB ports on the outside.



lol, no. Just moving from one town to another
That's an option as well, but I sometimes use my sd...
mecmec is online now  
post #11108 of 11129 Old Yesterday, 08:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
johnBlanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 668
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post
Once Zappiti is running you will not have to navigate any folders. The front end is clean and simple. All you see when you turn on the Dune is your media. 600 movies should be about 18 TB. What am I missing here?
lol. 75 BR online/182 offline. 400 dvd online. MM has 669 titles in the DB. Actual on-line storage is 476. I like to keep ~500Gb open. Waiting for those 4TB's to drop a little more
johnBlanker is online now  
post #11109 of 11129 Old Yesterday, 09:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
johnBlanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 668
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 27
The less sticks poking out of this unit begging to be snapped off, the better IMO
johnBlanker is online now  
post #11110 of 11129 Old Yesterday, 09:01 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnBlanker View Post
The less sticks poking out of this unit begging to be snapped off, the better IMO
Use the USB ports in the back and not on the one in the front

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #11111 of 11129 Old Yesterday, 09:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,872
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post
Just moving from one town to another
My next move is a to a 42 Foot Diesel Pusher Executive Motor Home. I plan to burn my cell phone and tour the US with no worries and no annoying customer phone calls.
blackssr is online now  
post #11112 of 11129 Old Yesterday, 09:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
johnBlanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 668
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post
My next move is a to a 42 Foot Diesel Pusher Executive Motor Home. I plan to burn my cell phone and tour the US with no worries and no annoying customer phone calls.
You better burn your avsforum account while your at it....as long as I'm on here......
johnBlanker is online now  
post #11113 of 11129 Old Yesterday, 09:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
johnBlanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 668
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post
Use the USB ports in the back and not on the one in the front
I'm really anal about that too. In case you didn't suspect. When I setup an A/V cabinet and have to puch it back against the wall, it's a great deal of anxiety for me. If I imagine any wires getting caught and pulled under the unit......OOOOHHHHHH!
johnBlanker is online now  
post #11114 of 11129 Old Yesterday, 09:12 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post
My next move is a to a 42 Foot Diesel Pusher Executive Motor Home. I plan to burn my cell phone and tour the US with no worries and no annoying customer phone calls.
You and Hedo Rick touring the US, should be interesting ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnBlanker View Post
I'm really anal about that too. In case you didn't suspect. When I setup an A/V cabinet and have to puch it back against the wall, it's a great deal of anxiety for me. If I imagine any wires getting caught and pulled under the unit......OOOOHHHHHH!

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #11115 of 11129 Old Yesterday, 11:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
johnBlanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 668
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post
You and Hedo Rick touring the US, should be interesting ...


I feel like I could reach out and touch that furry guy.
Anyway. I have been reading up on MM/Dune configuration and I think I have it set. I'm at work, configuring my server pc remotely. So I can't test the Dune. I'm trying to get it all configure remotely. After reading about the MM index needing to be on the same share, I decided to save the share on my pc. This way I don't need to rely on the dune being powered on in order to sync. I drew a mockup of my system. Does this look good? Thanks for all the help guys. I would surely be lost if it wasn't for this forum.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	htpc.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	221.0 KB
ID:	572233  
johnBlanker is online now  
post #11116 of 11129 Old Yesterday, 11:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,872
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post
You and Hedo Rick touring the US, should be interesting ...



Is that the wife?.... Sorry I could not resist.
blackssr is online now  
post #11117 of 11129 Old Yesterday, 11:59 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post
Is that the wife?.... Sorry I could not resist.

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #11118 of 11129 Old Yesterday, 07:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
johnBlanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 668
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnBlanker View Post
I feel like I could reach out and touch that furry guy.
Anyway. I have been reading up on MM/Dune configuration and I think I have it set. I'm at work, configuring my server pc remotely. So I can't test the Dune. I'm trying to get it all configure remotely. After reading about the MM index needing to be on the same share, I decided to save the share on my pc. This way I don't need to rely on the dune being powered on in order to sync. I drew a mockup of my system. Does this look good? Thanks for all the help guys. I would surely be lost if it wasn't for this forum.
no, this is still not working. Failing to play the file. Ugh. The URL is not right.
johnBlanker is online now  
post #11119 of 11129 Old Today, 08:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,872
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnBlanker View Post
no, this is still not working. Failing to play the file. Ugh. The URL is not right.
Without logging in and seeing your setup it will be tough to help diagnose the problem. I have not used MM in ages. I switched to Zappiti years ago and never looked back.
blackssr is online now  
post #11120 of 11129 Old Today, 10:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mr Eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 906
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 36
No risk to void your warranty by removing the case. There's no seal.

Add yadis to your jukebox tests. This one is highly customizable and you can also use the "basic mode" which is an automated way to use the dune browser with art if this is really what you want (same thing I was speaking about but there you don't need to type it manually, yadis does it for you).

Check mpcclub forum before it closes... Tomorrow

I made a huge yadis tutorial on mpcc as well as a special topic for templates. Unfortunately I think I won't have time to make a back up for all this and it will certainly be lost forever.

Last edited by Mr Eric; Today at 10:49 AM.
Mr Eric is offline  
post #11121 of 11129 Old Today, 11:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
johnBlanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 668
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Eric View Post
No risk to void your warranty by removing the case. There's no seal.

Add yadis to your jukebox tests. This one is highly customizable and you can also use the "basic mode" which is an automated way to use the dune browser with art if this is really what you want (same thing I was speaking about but there you don't need to type it manually, yadis does it for you).

Check mpcclub forum before it closes... Tomorrow

I made a huge yadis tutorial on mpcc as well as a special topic for templates. Unfortunately I think I won't have time to make a back up for all this and it will certainly be lost forever.
Thanks. I'll have a look at that too. I like how I can add movies to a catagory (ie Blu Ray online) in MM, which I can then filter on the player.
johnBlanker is online now  
post #11122 of 11129 Old Today, 11:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
johnBlanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 668
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post
Without logging in and seeing your setup it will be tough to help diagnose the problem. I have not used MM in ages. I switched to Zappiti years ago and never looked back.
What about my crude illustration on this post?
johnBlanker is online now  
post #11123 of 11129 Old Today, 11:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
johnBlanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 668
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 27
btw, I'm currently testing Zappiti too.
johnBlanker is online now  
post #11124 of 11129 Old Today, 01:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mr Eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 906
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnBlanker View Post
What about my crude illustration on this post?
It's not correct. Tick SMB, then add your login and password to this share. Then update your index.
Mr Eric is offline  
post #11125 of 11129 Old Today, 01:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mr Eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 906
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnBlanker View Post
Thanks. I'll have a look at that too. I like how I can add movies to a catagory (ie Blu Ray online) in MM, which I can then filter on the player.
Category is called "selection" in yadis, and you can have it on direct acces if you want.
Mr Eric is offline  
post #11126 of 11129 Old Today, 04:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
jconjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Eric View Post
No risk to void your warranty by removing the case. There's no seal.

Add yadis to your jukebox tests. This one is highly customizable and you can also use the "basic mode" which is an automated way to use the dune browser with art if this is really what you want (same thing I was speaking about but there you don't need to type it manually, yadis does it for you).

Check mpcclub forum before it closes... Tomorrow

I made a huge yadis tutorial on mpcc as well as a special topic for templates. Unfortunately I think I won't have time to make a back up for all this and it will certainly be lost forever.
Mpcclub is closing?! Damn! Where will we be able to find out about future yaDis updates and skins?

PANASONIC VT50 FOR SALE!!!!

Panasonic 60VT60 3DTV
Denon AVR 4311CI
Klipsch F-30 Fronts
Klipsch C-20 Center
Klipsch S-20 Sides
Klipsch B-20 Rears
PA 120 12" Sub
Dune HD Smart D1
PS3 Slim
DirecTV HR34 DVR

jconjason is offline  
post #11127 of 11129 Old Today, 04:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
johnBlanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 668
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Eric View Post
It's not correct. Tick SMB, then add your login and password to this share. Then update your index.
If I tick, SMB what would the correct path be? I don't have a login and password.
johnBlanker is online now  
post #11128 of 11129 Old Today, 04:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
johnBlanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 668
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 27
If the MPC forum is dying, does that mean Yadis is too? It's seems like a dying program.
johnBlanker is online now  
post #11129 of 11129 Unread Today, 08:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
johnBlanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 668
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnBlanker View Post
If the MPC forum is dying, does that mean Yadis is too? It's seems like a dying program.
Just tried Zappiti. WOW I've never seen anything so simple to use. Of course I have questions:

I love that you can create new categories.

1-I just realized this when typing. Can I add offline movies? Deal breaker for me.
2- Is there any way to select multiple movies and bulk add them to a category?
3. I would like a "last added" catagory, similar to MM?
4. I don't see the point of the "Ongoing" status. I wish newly added movies could automatically be labeled as unseen.
johnBlanker is online now  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Dune Hd Smart B1 1080p Media Player
Gear in this thread - 1080p by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off