New Dune HD Max and HD Smart anticipation thread Q3 2010 - Page 371 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews > Gaming & Content Streaming > Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming > New Dune HD Max and HD Smart anticipation thread Q3 2010

Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

johnBlanker's Avatar johnBlanker
08:42 AM Liked: 27
post #11101 of 11119
Yesterday | Posts: 661
Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post
I need to test out the new Zappiti MC4 (only works for the Zappiti 4K player but I think it will come over to the Dune 3D series as well). In the middle of a move now so just started plugging back in all my electronics these past few days.
Moving off Long Island?
mecmec's Avatar mecmec
08:42 AM Liked: 31
post #11102 of 11119
Yesterday | Posts: 186
Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnBlanker View Post
Dune smart B1 impressions:
I really have that "late to the party" sensation going on here. Anyway, I was really pleased when I finally got to watch movies on this thing, after futzing around with it for a bunch of hours. It played my full menu rip of "Oz the great and powerful" perfectly. It's a seamless branched movie and the files played back without a hitch. It normally causes a slight pause/stutter in my other players when changing m2ts files. Also, RW/FF works great! When you resume it resumes right where it should. These are welcome improvements over my current streamers.

I was disappointed that without a jukbox, the unit doesn't natively display thumb art from a jpeg inside the folder. The online/manual documentation is garbage. Luckily, This unit has been around for years so there is plenty to research. I have been busy.

I don't understand why they cannot fix the SMB browse functionality. It's ok. Instead of sharing multiple folders, I can just put them into one shared root folder.

The memory storage for this unit is indeed confusing. I couldn't DL the firmware update because it said I had no system storage. So I popped in an SD card. Then I updated the firmware. Then I couldn't DL any dune skins or add favorites. I plugged a usb in the back thinking I could use this for storage but no, it's read-only. Then I took the sd card out and now I can download skins and add favorites. I don't know where it is storing these things since I removed the system storage. What is even more strange is that in the setting menu it says that system storage is attached. ?

Apparently there is a usb port inside the B1, but I would have to remove the optical drive to get to it. I assume this could be used for system storage. I'm confused. Back to do more research.
Yep, get a low profile USB stick and crack that baby open and insert it into the internal USB spot. Should take less than 10 minutes. Make sure the USB stick is freshly formatted and EMPTY, or you will have issues..
johnBlanker's Avatar johnBlanker
08:44 AM Liked: 27
post #11103 of 11119
Yesterday | Posts: 661
Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by mecmec View Post
Yep, get a low profile USB stick and crack that baby open and insert it into the internal USB spot. Should take less than 10 minutes. Make sure the USB stick is freshly formatted and EMPTY, or you will have issues..
I just got this one. Nice and slim. I assume 16GB is no prob, and FAT32.
dbone1026's Avatar dbone1026
08:48 AM Liked: 79
post #11104 of 11119
Yesterday | Posts: 11,426
Joined: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnBlanker View Post
I am trying to think of a scenario where I would want to store files on the Dune. What are your opinions on using the internal usb? My warranty is 6 months on this refurb. I think removing the case voids this.
On my D1 I have the USB drive inserted internally. I haven't opened up my B1, I just use an SD card. If I really needed more storage I would just plug in a USB thumb drive to any of the USB ports on the outside.

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnBlanker View Post
Moving off Long Island?
lol, no. Just moving from one town to another
blackssr's Avatar blackssr
08:50 AM Liked: 76
post #11105 of 11119
Yesterday | Posts: 2,870
Joined: Feb 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnBlanker View Post
I have MM and 10muse installed. Will add Zappiti and test them all out. I am all for the least futzing method. After adding a movie, I can set 10muse to scan the library for only new item, leaving the ones it already scanned alone. Incremental scanning. This helps speed up the process. With MM, it scans the entire DB. It's quite cumbersome with 600 movies. I only have 5TB of space to work with so I'm always adding and deleting.
Good stuff.
Once Zappiti is running you will not have to navigate any folders. The front end is clean and simple. All you see when you turn on the Dune is your media regardless of where it is located. 600 movies should be about 18 TB. What am I missing here? You are definitely not doing full rips that is why the WD seems to play OK with your stuff.
johnBlanker's Avatar johnBlanker
08:51 AM Liked: 27
post #11106 of 11119
Yesterday | Posts: 661
Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post
On my D1 I have the USB drive inserted internally. I haven't opened up my B1, I just use an SD card. If I really needed more storage I would just plug in a USB thumb drive to any of the USB ports on the outside.



lol, no. Just moving from one town to another
Nothing it seems, is more frustration than moving. I moved into my first house in Pt jeff sta from my apt 30 seconds down the road, about a year ago. ugh.
mecmec's Avatar mecmec
08:55 AM Liked: 31
post #11107 of 11119
Yesterday | Posts: 186
Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post
On my D1 I have the USB drive inserted internally. I haven't opened up my B1, I just use an SD card. If I really needed more storage I would just plug in a USB thumb drive to any of the USB ports on the outside.



lol, no. Just moving from one town to another
That's an option as well, but I sometimes use my sd...
johnBlanker's Avatar johnBlanker
08:59 AM Liked: 27
post #11108 of 11119
Yesterday | Posts: 661
Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post
Once Zappiti is running you will not have to navigate any folders. The front end is clean and simple. All you see when you turn on the Dune is your media. 600 movies should be about 18 TB. What am I missing here?
lol. 75 BR online/182 offline. 400 dvd online. MM has 669 titles in the DB. Actual on-line storage is 476. I like to keep ~500Gb open. Waiting for those 4TB's to drop a little more

johnBlanker's Avatar johnBlanker
09:00 AM Liked: 27
post #11109 of 11119
Yesterday | Posts: 661
Joined: Jan 2013
The less sticks poking out of this unit begging to be snapped off, the better IMO
dbone1026's Avatar dbone1026
09:01 AM Liked: 79
post #11110 of 11119
Yesterday | Posts: 11,426
Joined: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnBlanker View Post
The less sticks poking out of this unit begging to be snapped off, the better IMO
Use the USB ports in the back and not on the one in the front
blackssr's Avatar blackssr
09:03 AM Liked: 76
post #11111 of 11119
Yesterday | Posts: 2,870
Joined: Feb 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post
Just moving from one town to another
My next move is a to a 42 Foot Diesel Pusher Executive Motor Home. I plan to burn my cell phone and tour the US with no worries and no annoying customer phone calls.
johnBlanker's Avatar johnBlanker
09:06 AM Liked: 27
post #11112 of 11119
Yesterday | Posts: 661
Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post
My next move is a to a 42 Foot Diesel Pusher Executive Motor Home. I plan to burn my cell phone and tour the US with no worries and no annoying customer phone calls.
You better burn your avsforum account while your at it....as long as I'm on here......
johnBlanker's Avatar johnBlanker
09:08 AM Liked: 27
post #11113 of 11119
Yesterday | Posts: 661
Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post
Use the USB ports in the back and not on the one in the front
I'm really anal about that too. In case you didn't suspect. When I setup an A/V cabinet and have to puch it back against the wall, it's a great deal of anxiety for me. If I imagine any wires getting caught and pulled under the unit......OOOOHHHHHH!
dbone1026's Avatar dbone1026
09:12 AM Liked: 79
post #11114 of 11119
Yesterday | Posts: 11,426
Joined: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post
My next move is a to a 42 Foot Diesel Pusher Executive Motor Home. I plan to burn my cell phone and tour the US with no worries and no annoying customer phone calls.
You and Hedo Rick touring the US, should be interesting ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnBlanker View Post
I'm really anal about that too. In case you didn't suspect. When I setup an A/V cabinet and have to puch it back against the wall, it's a great deal of anxiety for me. If I imagine any wires getting caught and pulled under the unit......OOOOHHHHHH!

johnBlanker's Avatar johnBlanker
11:30 AM Liked: 27
post #11115 of 11119
Yesterday | Posts: 661
Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post
You and Hedo Rick touring the US, should be interesting ...


I feel like I could reach out and touch that furry guy.
Anyway. I have been reading up on MM/Dune configuration and I think I have it set. I'm at work, configuring my server pc remotely. So I can't test the Dune. I'm trying to get it all configure remotely. After reading about the MM index needing to be on the same share, I decided to save the share on my pc. This way I don't need to rely on the dune being powered on in order to sync. I drew a mockup of my system. Does this look good? Thanks for all the help guys. I would surely be lost if it wasn't for this forum.
Attached: htpc.jpg (221.0 KB) 
blackssr's Avatar blackssr
11:57 AM Liked: 76
post #11116 of 11119
Yesterday | Posts: 2,870
Joined: Feb 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post
You and Hedo Rick touring the US, should be interesting ...



Is that the wife?.... Sorry I could not resist.
dbone1026's Avatar dbone1026
11:59 AM Liked: 79
post #11117 of 11119
Yesterday | Posts: 11,426
Joined: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post
Is that the wife?.... Sorry I could not resist.

johnBlanker's Avatar johnBlanker
07:37 PM Liked: 27
post #11118 of 11119
Yesterday | Posts: 661
Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnBlanker View Post
I feel like I could reach out and touch that furry guy.
Anyway. I have been reading up on MM/Dune configuration and I think I have it set. I'm at work, configuring my server pc remotely. So I can't test the Dune. I'm trying to get it all configure remotely. After reading about the MM index needing to be on the same share, I decided to save the share on my pc. This way I don't need to rely on the dune being powered on in order to sync. I drew a mockup of my system. Does this look good? Thanks for all the help guys. I would surely be lost if it wasn't for this forum.
no, this is still not working. Failing to play the file. Ugh. The URL is not right.
blackssr's Avatar blackssr
08:26 AM Liked: 76
post #11119 of 11119
Today | Posts: 2,870
Joined: Feb 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnBlanker View Post
no, this is still not working. Failing to play the file. Ugh. The URL is not right.
Without logging in and seeing your setup it will be tough to help diagnose the problem. I have not used MM in ages. I switched to Zappiti years ago and never looked back.
Tags: Dune Hd Smart B1 1080p Media Player

Gear in this thread - 1080p by PriceGrabber.com
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3