Netgear NeoTV 550 - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 6246 Old 11-01-2010, 03:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
Paul Butler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: The Old World
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eskro View Post

Sorry to jump'in like that guys but,

can someone answer if the Netgear NeoTV 550 can do the following...

Will i be able to transfer via WiFi

a movie located on my PC downstairs

right into my External USB HDD

that would be connected to the Netgear NeoTV 550 located upstairs??

because this way,

i wouldn't need to move around my External HDD

or move around my USB Key each time...



thanks!!

I have the exact same question but regarding a wired scenario.
thanks
Paul Butler is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 6246 Old 11-01-2010, 04:29 AM
Newbie
 
Batnun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Accroding to Netgear official specs:

http://www.netgear.com/products/home...rs/NTV550.aspx

Product Specs:

Digital Media File Formats:
- Blu-ray (external USB Blu-ray player not supported)


They also removed the BDA certificate logo...


Batnun

.
Batnun is offline  
post #633 of 6246 Old 11-01-2010, 04:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
etrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
no external bd are the delays to get the licenses for all this stuff or to drop them to cut prices?

Maybe they will trade BD support to save money and put in a facebook page.
etrin is offline  
post #634 of 6246 Old 11-01-2010, 04:49 AM
Senior Member
 
OnlyMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, as far as I'm concerned it's game over then

So, the hunt for the perfect media streamer continues..............
OnlyMe is offline  
post #635 of 6246 Old 11-01-2010, 05:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
robkwil61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: United States (Illinois)
Posts: 691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kncowans View Post

Hello all

On a similar note to above, can you use an SD Card for the Cache?

Thanks in advance

Kevin

Yes, this is exactly how I do it. I had an old SD 1gb card laying around from an old camera and use it. Although sometimes I have issues that the Neo says it can't find my SD card. I pop it out and pop it back in and then all is fine.

Official Netgear Beta Tester
Chicago Illinois, United States
robkwil61 is offline  
post #636 of 6246 Old 11-01-2010, 05:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
robkwil61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: United States (Illinois)
Posts: 691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by OnlyMe View Post

I know you were asking Bob but since I'm here The recommended one is the WNCE2001 although it must be stressed that acceptable wireless performance depends very much on your own environment. If you have too many walls/interference/distance then you might not have much luck with it. You could alternatively look at Powerline devices.


Well, the beta testers were given a WNDA3100 to test. I would have to check the model number to be sure. But it was definitly not the WNCE2001.

Official Netgear Beta Tester
Chicago Illinois, United States
robkwil61 is offline  
post #637 of 6246 Old 11-01-2010, 05:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
robkwil61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: United States (Illinois)
Posts: 691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eskro View Post

Sorry to jump'in like that guys but,

can someone answer if the Netgear NeoTV 550 can do the following...

Will i be able to transfer via WiFi

a movie located on my PC downstairs

right into my External USB HDD

that would be connected to the Netgear NeoTV 550 located upstairs??

because this way,

i wouldn't need to move around my External HDD

or move around my USB Key each time...



thanks!!


No, this is not supported and I don't see it ever being implemented. As we found with the 9150, SMB transfer to the internal drive was pathetically slow.

Official Netgear Beta Tester
Chicago Illinois, United States
robkwil61 is offline  
post #638 of 6246 Old 11-01-2010, 05:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
robkwil61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: United States (Illinois)
Posts: 691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by OnlyMe View Post

Well, as far as I'm concerned it's game over then

So, the hunt for the perfect media streamer continues..............

It doesn't exist... But perhaps in your hunt you'll find Big Foot or Lockness.

Official Netgear Beta Tester
Chicago Illinois, United States
robkwil61 is offline  
post #639 of 6246 Old 11-01-2010, 05:31 AM
Senior Member
 
OnlyMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by robkwil61 View Post

It doesn't exist... But perhaps in your hunt you'll find Big Foot or Lockness.

Or the holy grail
OnlyMe is offline  
post #640 of 6246 Old 11-01-2010, 05:35 AM
Member
 
kncowans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all

Can someone please confirm if the NeoTV 550 will play Blu Ray ISOs?

Thanks in advance

Kevin
kncowans is offline  
post #641 of 6246 Old 11-01-2010, 05:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
robkwil61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: United States (Illinois)
Posts: 691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kncowans View Post

Hello all

Can someone please confirm if the NeoTV 550 will play Blu Ray ISOs?

Thanks in advance

Kevin

I think it has been confirmed before, but if not, then YES IT DOES. And has full menu support also.

Official Netgear Beta Tester
Chicago Illinois, United States
robkwil61 is offline  
post #642 of 6246 Old 11-01-2010, 05:43 AM
Member
 
kncowans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello Rob

Thanks for the confirmation.

One other question is how well does the NeoTV 550 handle TV Series?

Thanks

Kevin
kncowans is offline  
post #643 of 6246 Old 11-01-2010, 05:53 AM
Newbie
 
Batnun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by robkwil61 View Post

I think it has been confirmed before, but if not, then YES IT DOES. And has full menu support also.

That's was before Netgear removed the official BDA certification logo from the NeoTV 550 specs:
http://www.netgear.com/products/home...rs/NTV550.aspx

External USB BD drive is now officially not supported...

From the NeoTV 550 specs page:

Digital Media File Formats
- Blu-ray (external USB Blu-ray player not supported)



Batnun

.
Batnun is offline  
post #644 of 6246 Old 11-01-2010, 06:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
robkwil61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: United States (Illinois)
Posts: 691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Batnun View Post

That's was before Netgear removed the official BDA certification logo from the NeoTV 550 specs:
http://www.netgear.com/products/home...rs/NTV550.aspx

External USB BD drive is now officially not supported...

From the NeoTV 550 specs page:

Digital Media File Formats
- Blu-ray (external USB Blu-ray player not supported)



Batnun

.


He asked about ISO support, not external drive support.

Official Netgear Beta Tester
Chicago Illinois, United States
robkwil61 is offline  
post #645 of 6246 Old 11-01-2010, 07:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
skro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: California, USA
Posts: 1,025
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Wow. This whole BD external drive / licensing thing caught me off guard. Very strange ~4 weeks before launch. I knew the external drive wasn't working in the beta builds, but this is a real bummer. And what does this mean for full menu BD iso playback?

Hopefully bob or someone from netgear can chime in and tell us what is going on.

I may need to reinvestigate the new dune players now. Too bad, I was all set on this player.

Edit: I read it more carefully and noticed that it specifically mention USB. Hopefully, ESATA is still supported and we get full feature support for iso files on a server.
skro is offline  
post #646 of 6246 Old 11-01-2010, 07:25 AM
Member
 
wiatrak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Gdansk, PL
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
USB BD-ROM not, but what about eSATA BD-ROM?

"...Those who go beneath the surface do so at their peril..."
Don Quixote was a villain! http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/Windmill
wiatrak is offline  
post #647 of 6246 Old 11-01-2010, 09:05 AM
Member
 
RoadView's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by skro View Post

Wow. This whole BD external drive / licensing thing caught me off guard. Very strange ~4 weeks before launch. I knew the external drive wasn't working in the beta builds, but this is a real bummer. And what does this mean for full menu BD iso playback?

Hopefully bob or someone from netgear can chime in and tell us what is going on.

I may need to reinvestigate the new dune players now. Too bad, I was all set on this player.

Edit: I read it more carefully and noticed that it specifically mention USB. Hopefully, ESATA is still supported and we get full feature support for iso files on a server.

I was about to post the very same thing! Was all set on getting this mediaplayer and now this?!? And why mention specifically USB? Will an eSATA Blu-ray player still work? What the hell happened Netgear, you had a certain winner in your hands ... don't let it slip away!
RoadView is offline  
post #648 of 6246 Old 11-01-2010, 09:47 AM
Senior Member
 
eskro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i dont recall seeing a 199$ stb that accept External BD-Playres....

i think thats why it doesnt accept them,,,, money,,,

:/
eskro is offline  
post #649 of 6246 Old 11-01-2010, 10:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
robkwil61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: United States (Illinois)
Posts: 691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Isn't the whole idea of a media streamer to get away from physical media? So why would you not being able to hook an external BD player make that big a difference if it can still play BD iso with full menu support?

Official Netgear Beta Tester
Chicago Illinois, United States
robkwil61 is offline  
post #650 of 6246 Old 11-01-2010, 10:10 AM
Senior Member
 
eskro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thats true rob :P

and not to mention, standalone BD-player can be found for much less $$

then an External Bd-Player :P


Quick note on the side, is customer service good at Netgear? firmware updates?
eskro is offline  
post #651 of 6246 Old 11-01-2010, 10:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
skro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: California, USA
Posts: 1,025
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by robkwil61 View Post

Isn't the whole idea of a media streamer to get away from physical media? So why would you not being able to hook an external BD player make that big a difference if it can still play BD iso with full menu support?

I think for most users, you might be right. But, I find my PS3 far too "loud" for my viewing of rented blu-ray discs. Instead of buying another blu-ray player to play back BDs that I get in the mail, and then buying this unit to play back local content, i really wanted 1 familiar user interface for either rented discs or disc rips that I own.

So, for me, this is a big deal....not a deal breaker, but I was really hoping to minimize the number of devices I have connected to my TV. Now, this unit is merely an "add on" to a home theater setup, rather than a replacement for a BD player with a bunch of extra fantastic features.

Maybe they will still allow playback over eSATA.
skro is offline  
post #652 of 6246 Old 11-01-2010, 10:48 AM
Member
 
RoadView's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To cancel this important and advertised feature 4 weeks before launch, of course that's a big deal! I too was hoping to replace my PS3 eventually for playing back BDs because it's way too noisy after 5 minutes or so. Besides, I have only room for 1 more HDMI connection to my TV (without buying extra hardware.)

The specs on this (now old and changed) picture got me interested in the NeoTV 550: images.anandtech.com/doci/3866/ntv550_1.jpg

I'm glad I could resist preordering it, though I might still get one for in one of the other rooms.
RoadView is offline  
post #653 of 6246 Old 11-01-2010, 10:54 AM
Senior Member
 
eskro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
im tryng to contact SUpport and ask them whats up with that,,,

not sure where tho,, im currently looking,,

i suggest you guys do the same :P

http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread...ight=neotv+550
eskro is offline  
post #654 of 6246 Old 11-01-2010, 11:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Trying to play the devil's advocate here...

1. Are there any media streamer users who actually play back Blu-ray discs? My observation has been that almost all media streamer users back up their Blu-Ray onto a NAS or external hard disk in either MKV or ISO format.

2. As long as a Blu-Ray ISO without AACS plays back with full menu and full Blu-Ray experience, is it really a big step backwards if there is no external BR-drive support?

3. Would removing BR drive support make sure that Cinavia never needs to be enabled for this unit? If so, I am sure many users would gladly give up support for BR drives in exchange for making sure Cinavia never appears on the NTV 550.

4. If sacrificing BR drive support could drive down the cost of the unit to the Sage HD300 range (US $150 -- maybe add $10 for the full BR ISO support), I would definitely be OK with dropping the feature.

All in all, it would be helpful to have a poll with the following options:

1. Need media streamer to support external BR drives for full BR experience with AACS protected BDs and ISOs.

2. Need media streamer to support AACS protected ISOs (no need for BR drive support)

3. Need media streamer to support full BR experience on non-AACS protected ISO

4. Need media streamer to play back BR ISOs with ability to choose playlist (libbluray experience similar to what is happening with Boxee Box)

5. No need for BR ISO support (BD-Lite is enough)

Presently, it looks like NTV550 will fall in option (2), but it would be nice to see what the consumers really want. If enough people are interested in the statistics, I will start a thread with a poll for this.

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #655 of 6246 Old 11-01-2010, 11:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
skro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: California, USA
Posts: 1,025
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Hi Jakmal,

1) But what about rented discs? I rent a lot of discs, and would like to use this unit to play them back instead of my PS3 (too loud). I guess the cost will be about to the same to buy another BD player, but it makes more sense to minimize the number of components and have the 550 responsible for both.

If i'm not mistaken, the old and new Dune models have BD drives.

2) I suppose it would be OK to have full menu support if copy protection is removed (but I'll have to rerip all of my backups..oh well).

I also find it a bit troubling that a product that has obviously been in development for a long time and tested extensively (although never with external BD drive support) suddenly loses a big differentiating factor (BD licensing).

As for the poll.
I would go with #1, but could settle for #3 if the price is right.

I wonder why you think it falls into category 2....they removed the BD license logo, so doesn't that imply if falls into category 3?

maybe you can throw your Anandtech muscle around and get to the bottom of this
skro is offline  
post #656 of 6246 Old 11-01-2010, 11:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by skro View Post

Hi Jakmal,

1) But what about rented discs? I rent a lot of discs, and would like to use this unit to play them back instead of my PS3 (too loud). I guess the cost will be about to the same to buy another BD player, but it makes more sense to minimize the number of components and have the 550 responsible for both.

If i'm not mistaken, the old and new Dune models have BD drives.

2) I suppose it would be OK to have full menu support if copy protection is removed (but I'll have to rerip all of my backups..oh well).

I also find it a bit troubling that a product that has obviously been in development for a long time and tested extensively (although never with external BD drive support) suddenly loses a big differentiating factor (BD licensing).

As for the poll.
I would go with #1, but could settle for #3 if the price is right.

I wonder why you think it falls into category 2....they removed the BD license logo, so doesn't that imply if falls into category 3?

maybe you can throw your Anandtech muscle around and get to the bottom of this

I believe the beta testers have indicated that they are getting full BR experience with BD Live and full BD-J menus with their NTV 550. This is why I slotted it in #2. Anyways, let me start a new thread for this poll.

As for rented discs, maybe you could 'rent and rip' and then delete the rip after watching it ( Not that I would condone this type of usage ).

Have asked Netgear about the dropping of BR drive support. Let me see and report back if they give me some non-confidential info or something not under NDA.

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #657 of 6246 Old 11-01-2010, 11:36 AM
Senior Member
 
eskro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks jakmal!

please report back if u can
eskro is offline  
post #658 of 6246 Old 11-01-2010, 11:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
In case you didn't notice it on the forum front page:

Blu-Ray Support in Media Streamers [ http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1287102 ]

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #659 of 6246 Old 11-01-2010, 01:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GotHDTV?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chevy Chase, MD
Posts: 1,312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by OnlyMe View Post

Is it the WNCE2001 you were trying to avoid or the powerlines? The WNCE2001 can take its power from one of the USB ports on the NTV550. OR you can use a wall wart.

Cool, only read the contents of the box and saw that it had a power supply, so I assume that meant it was required. I just check the page you link and saw it can draw power from the USB like you said. Still, I wish it was cheaper.

Thanks for the info!
GotHDTV? is offline  
post #660 of 6246 Old 11-01-2010, 01:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GotHDTV?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chevy Chase, MD
Posts: 1,312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakmal View Post

I believe the beta testers have indicated that they are getting full BR experience with BD Live and full BD-J menus with their NTV 550. This is why I slotted it in #2. Anyways, let me start a new thread for this poll.

As for rented discs, maybe you could 'rent and rip' and then delete the rip after watching it ( Not that I would condone this type of usage ).

Have asked Netgear about the dropping of BR drive support. Let me see and report back if they give me some non-confidential info or something not under NDA.

Damn, I was ready to get this for a companion to my dune (because they were most likely to get NetFlix support). Full BD support (menus + BDJava) are a must for me, but if only losing the external optical drive support is fine. If they lose the ability to play folder structure or ISO BDs as disc, then I'm not buying it.
GotHDTV? is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off