Netgear NeoTV 550 - Page 76 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2251 of 6257 Old 12-15-2010, 02:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dropzone7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 75
What is your latitude and longitude...?
dropzone7 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2252 of 6257 Old 12-15-2010, 02:56 PM
Member
 
Am_I_Evil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Av8tr View Post

I'm at Fryes right now and they have a whole shelvefull of them. I am picking one up and will set it up later tonight.

Maybe I should pick up an extra one and ship it to someone who hasnt been naughty this year


so....did they decide to try and sell them in stores first and not honor any of the online orders at this time?
Am_I_Evil is offline  
post #2253 of 6257 Old 12-15-2010, 02:56 PM
Member
 
DoomBot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by skro View Post

What county are you in?

haha! your funny we must have posted at about the same time cause i didn't see your post yet.
DoomBot is offline  
post #2254 of 6257 Old 12-15-2010, 02:56 PM
Senior Member
 
jerome8283's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by skro View Post

What county are you in?

What country are you in?
jerome8283 is offline  
post #2255 of 6257 Old 12-15-2010, 02:57 PM
Member
 
Am_I_Evil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Micker View Post

Well if that is true I would be pretty PO'ED. I placed my pre order weeks ago and still haven't even received an email!!

i'm annoyed because i emailed their customer service a question 2 days ago and they never got back to me...even if they don't have any information it would be nice to have received a response to my inquiry...
Am_I_Evil is offline  
post #2256 of 6257 Old 12-15-2010, 03:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
Av8tr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerome8283 View Post


What country are you in?

I live in riverside county California but I'm at the Fryes in Anaheim Orang County.

I called this morning and wad told they still had not arrived. I came here for something else and was stunned to see them on the shelve. The guy working here said he just put them out.
Av8tr is offline  
post #2257 of 6257 Old 12-15-2010, 03:25 PM
Senior Member
 
tima94930's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Can anyone confirm if the NTV550 supports Apple Lossless, and if so, is it gapless? Would there be any downside to using ALAC instead of FLAC WRT the NTV550?
tima94930 is offline  
post #2258 of 6257 Old 12-15-2010, 03:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Micker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Av8tr View Post

I live in riverside county California but I'm at the Fryes in Anaheim Orang County.

I called this morning and wad told they still had not arrived. I came here for something else and was stunned to see them on the shelve. The guy working here said he just put them out.

How can they put out an item that has a list of preorders that need to be filled?? They must have just received the shipment and some clueless employee put them out on the floor....
Micker is offline  
post #2259 of 6257 Old 12-15-2010, 03:31 PM
Member
 
McCabe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Micker View Post

How can they put out an item that has a list of preorders that need to be filled?? They must have just received the shipment and some clueless employee put them out on the floor....

I think B&M and Frys.com operate on separate systems. I don't believe you can return a Frys.com order to the store even. Somebody correct me if I'm wrong.

-Mike
McCabe is offline  
post #2260 of 6257 Old 12-15-2010, 03:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
720p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,388
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bozzeta View Post

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.p...6&postcount=10
http://www.hdlandforum.fr/download/file.php?id=416
bdallow file that 720p talked about...

Pour le support des lecteurs Blu-ray externes, il faut mettre un petit complémentaire "bdallow" sur une SD Card insérée dans l'appareil (en attendant que la licence soit officiellement validée).
Vous trouverez le fichier en question en pièce jointe.

Says you need to put the file on the SD-Card until the license is validated.
This is not a fw-file but one ini file and probably one crypto key

I'm aware of that file but that's not what I was looking for. I remember someone saying hdland "enhanced" the firmware by adding a couple of features but even after searching I couldn't find the reference. I was wondering if hdland found a way to modify the firmware as I need something better than one resolution. Ntgr doesn't understand this so I thought someone else will. The WDTV series had hacked firmwares which unlocked many features.
720p is offline  
post #2261 of 6257 Old 12-15-2010, 03:43 PM
Newbie
 
Todd248's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Frys.com and Fry's B&M are separate. Items purchased from frys.com can not be returned to a B&M store.
Todd248 is offline  
post #2262 of 6257 Old 12-15-2010, 03:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
Av8tr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Micker View Post


How can they put out an item that has a list of preorders that need to be filled?? They must have just received the shipment and some clueless employee put them out on the floor....

Well as I'm leaving the store, there are still 12 on the shelve. I guess I'll go home and cancel my online order.
Av8tr is offline  
post #2263 of 6257 Old 12-15-2010, 04:02 PM
Member
 
McCabe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My two local Fry's in Georgia report no stock and have no idea when it will come in.

-Mike
McCabe is offline  
post #2264 of 6257 Old 12-15-2010, 04:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
mather's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With those able to grab one at Frys, may the US complaining officially begin...

On a serious note, let us know what firmware it shipped with out of the box and the latest version updated with.
mather is offline  
post #2265 of 6257 Old 12-15-2010, 06:39 PM
Member
 
Fletcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Fry's in Manhattan Beach, CA still doesn't have them out and computer doesn't register any in stock.
Fletcher is offline  
post #2266 of 6257 Old 12-15-2010, 07:24 PM
Newbie
 
gpmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No news about the availability here in Singapore.
I'm very disappointed.
gpmc is offline  
post #2267 of 6257 Old 12-15-2010, 07:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sean_w_smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Altos, CA and Huntsville, UT
Posts: 4,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by tima94930 View Post

Can anyone confirm if the NTV550 supports Apple Lossless, and if so, is it gapless? Would there be any downside to using ALAC instead of FLAC WRT the NTV550?

Dunno if it supports it. both formats accomplish the same thing. they are both lossless, highly compressed and support tagging. If not you can easily batch convert lossless between formats although I have found that FLAC bootlegs which playback gaplessly will have a slight seam once converted to ALAC with dbPowerAmp.

Sean
sean_w_smith is offline  
post #2268 of 6257 Old 12-15-2010, 07:52 PM
Newbie
 
sam_donut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I called fry's in anaheim earlier today after av8tr posted they had them in stock and was told they don't have any in stock.
sam_donut is offline  
post #2269 of 6257 Old 12-15-2010, 08:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
skro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: California, USA
Posts: 1,032
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by sam_donut View Post

I called fry's in anaheim earlier today after av8tr posted they had them in stock and was told they don't have any in stock.

I've called fry's before to ask if they carried a 58" panasonic plasma I was looking for. They said no, but I went there anyway to double check and there it was! I'm going to check my fry's soon for the 550, and won't bother calling.
skro is offline  
post #2270 of 6257 Old 12-15-2010, 09:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
Av8tr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sam_donut View Post

I called fry's in anaheim earlier today after av8tr posted they had them in stock and was told they don't have any in stock.

It's there. The admin people don't know what they're doing.

Not too confident in their tech support either. I can't get the Neo to recognize my WD external hard drive which is attached to my Netgear 3700 router. They're trying to tell me that 2 TB is too big for the router to handle. My intial reaction to this new product is not too enthusiastic, but it's true that I'm not very tech savvy.
Av8tr is offline  
post #2271 of 6257 Old 12-15-2010, 09:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Av8tr View Post

It's there. The admin people don't know what they're doing.

Not too confident in their tech support either. I can't get the Neo to recognize my WD external hard drive which is attached to my Netgear 3700 router. They're trying to tell me that 2 TB is too big for the router to handle. My intial reaction to this new product is not too enthusiastic, but it's true that I'm not very tech savvy.

The 3700 is a great router (I have put in several for myself and friends) but the sharing functions on it are a joke.

Try plugging the drive directly into the streamer to do your testing... then you can worry about how to share the files to it after you determine it meets your needs.
jmpage2 is offline  
post #2272 of 6257 Old 12-15-2010, 09:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Av8tr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. Yes it works fine when attached directly to the NEO. I also connected the usb directly into the 3700 and it recognizes the WD external drive. For some reason when it's connected to the pc ( and thus indirectly to the 3700 router) the NEO doesn't recognize it. I'm on the phone with tech support right now.
Av8tr is offline  
post #2273 of 6257 Old 12-15-2010, 10:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
skro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: California, USA
Posts: 1,032
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Not in the North San Diego Frys yet. In case you aren't aware, there seems to be 2 spots for these boxes. One near the pc section, and one in the computer component (routers, etc) section. I was told it would be in the latter (and I saw the NTV250 there).
skro is offline  
post #2274 of 6257 Old 12-15-2010, 10:06 PM
Senior Member
 
tima94930's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by sean_w_smith View Post

Dunno if it supports it. both formats accomplish the same thing. they are both lossless, highly compressed and support tagging.

I'm tired of maintaining a parallel MP3 library to my FLAC library for the benefit of iTunes and thus am considering moving to ALAC. I'll use iTunes' on-the-fly conversion to 128 Kbps AAC when syncing, which should be the same quality as explicitly converting files to that bit rate in iTunes. I'm rarely able to ABX the result of the conversion to the original using my PC(S/PDIF)->receiver->decent headphones or speakers, so I've concluded it's basically nuts to go to the trouble of maintaining the parallel MP3 library at -V2 when AAC at 128 Kbps is so good, especially when the target is the portable device.

Quote:


If not you can easily batch convert lossless between formats although I have found that FLAC bootlegs which playback gaplessly will have a slight seam once converted to ALAC with dbPowerAmp.

What are you using to play the ALAC files? According to foobar2000's binary comparator, dbpa R14 converts FLAC to ALAC flawlessly.
tima94930 is offline  
post #2275 of 6257 Old 12-15-2010, 10:14 PM
Newbie
 
saltydog4791's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After a 50 mile trek from Encino I just left the Anaheim Fry's with the very last one on the shelf. I guess it was a mad dash to that store today. The box sure looks nice fwiw. Will post my findings once I get to play.
saltydog4791 is offline  
post #2276 of 6257 Old 12-15-2010, 11:04 PM
Member
 
Digz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've just ordered one of these have i made a mistake. ?
Digz is offline  
post #2277 of 6257 Old 12-15-2010, 11:16 PM
Senior Member
 
OnlyMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Digz View Post

I've just ordered one of these have i made a mistake. ?

Yes you have. You should have ordered two instead!
OnlyMe is offline  
post #2278 of 6257 Old 12-15-2010, 11:23 PM
Member
 
Digz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by OnlyMe View Post

Yes you have. You should have ordered two instead!

LOL

Reason i asked is 76 pages is abit hard to take all in.
Digz is offline  
post #2279 of 6257 Old 12-15-2010, 11:55 PM
Senior Member
 
OnlyMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Digz View Post

LOL

Reason i asked is 76 pages is abit hard to take all in.

I agree.

There is a comprehensive review of the NeoTV 550 here if you've not seen it already.

I'd say whether you're pleased or not depends very much on what you're trying to stream. Some things a faultless, others not so.
OnlyMe is offline  
post #2280 of 6257 Old 12-16-2010, 12:04 AM
Member
 
Digz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For now it will be used as a stand alone player with a HDD in a docking station.
Digz is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off