Apple TV owners' thread. - Page 106 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3151 of 3162 Old 09-26-2014, 03:43 PM
Member
 
king3pj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
Note that I said TiVo, not ATV.

Yeah, I wouldn't hold my breath on competing PPV services coming to Apple TV unless they move to a more open App Store.

Amazon Instant does work on my iPhone and iPad so there is hope but there is a reason Amazon and Vudu haven't been added even though they are much more popular than most of the services that are on the device.
king3pj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3152 of 3162 Old 09-26-2014, 03:54 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by king3pj View Post
... there is a reason Amazon and Vudu haven't been added even though they are much more popular than most of the services that are on the device.
Well Chromecast has Vudu but not Amazon.

For now it would seem that if you want everything you have to buy at least two devices.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bodosom is offline  
post #3153 of 3162 Old 09-27-2014, 06:11 AM
Member
 
jer88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 15
One of my Apple TV's bricked on the latest update. I'm having to restore it on iTunes. Anyone else having issues?
jer88 is offline  
post #3154 of 3162 Old 09-27-2014, 08:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroadus View Post
I tried to update my ATV 3 about 10 times and it never updated to 7...did a restore and it finally updated.
I tried going the "restore" route this morning. After I did the restore I then did a reset. Still on version 6 so I think I've just about given up. Apple needs to do something about these updates so that they're easier to accomplish without so many complications and frustrations.

lujan
673 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
7 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #3155 of 3162 Old 09-27-2014, 09:04 AM
Member
 
king3pj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Luckily, in my case the Apple TV updated itself before I even knew there was an update available.
king3pj is offline  
post #3156 of 3162 Old 09-27-2014, 10:25 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by jer88 View Post
One of my Apple TV's bricked on the latest update.
I'd check the Apple group: https://discussions.apple.com/community/appletv
Sadly it's full of ill-informed people who will suggest changing your DNS setting will fix problems caused by Apple but there are the occasional helpful posts. This time it seems a bit more restrained modulo old threads reawakened: https://discussions.apple.com/thread/6559892

This update is large and takes a long time to apply. That combination appears to exacerbate network issues.
reddice likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bodosom is offline  
post #3157 of 3162 Old 09-27-2014, 10:49 AM
Member
 
jer88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 15
One of my Apple TV's downloaded the update and the other one froze with the blinking white light. I restored and downloaded the update connected to iTunes. It's a major pain to configure the device and login to all the apps again.
jer88 is offline  
post #3158 of 3162 Old 09-27-2014, 01:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,937
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked: 53
My ATV3 updated but took a long time nearly 30 minutes but I was on my computer doing other things and I just gave it time to update.

Earthlink Standard powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV 3, Sony PS3 Slim, Sony PS4 all Wired.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #3159 of 3162 Old 09-28-2014, 08:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I tried going the "restore" route this morning. After I did the restore I then did a reset. Still on version 6 so I think I've just about given up. Apple needs to do something about these updates so that they're easier to accomplish without so many complications and frustrations.
My ATV3 finally updated on it's own so I guess it wants to do the updates on it's own terms and not when I ask it to do the update.

lujan
673 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
7 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #3160 of 3162 Old 09-29-2014, 09:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
quovadis123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Guys
My apple tv told me to go to http://fxnetworks.com/activate
with a code

The site does not exist?

On the FX web page is does ask me who my provider is (xfinity), but then xfinity tells me I cannot watch FXnow.
quovadis123 is offline  
post #3161 of 3162 Old 09-30-2014, 05:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 1,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by quovadis123 View Post
Guys
My apple tv told me to go to http://fxnetworks.com/activate
with a code

The site does not exist?

On the FX web page is does ask me who my provider is (xfinity), but then xfinity tells me I cannot watch FXnow.
I'm not able to get that far...when I chose the FXNow button it doesn't connect.
mbroadus is offline  
post #3162 of 3162 Old 09-30-2014, 05:55 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by quovadis123 View Post
The site does not exist?
Well strictly speaking it redirects to http://activate.fxnetworks.com/activ...vice_type=html which should look something like the attached image.

I suppose they could ignore IP addresses they believe are ineligible.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2014-09-30 at 08.51.58 .JPG
Views:	14
Size:	41.2 KB
ID:	287241  


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bodosom is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Apple Tv Mc572ll A , Apple Tv Md199ll A
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off