Apple TV owners' thread. - Page 106 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3151 of 3178 Old 09-26-2014, 03:43 PM
Member
 
king3pj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
Note that I said TiVo, not ATV.

Yeah, I wouldn't hold my breath on competing PPV services coming to Apple TV unless they move to a more open App Store.

Amazon Instant does work on my iPhone and iPad so there is hope but there is a reason Amazon and Vudu haven't been added even though they are much more popular than most of the services that are on the device.
king3pj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3152 of 3178 Old 09-26-2014, 03:54 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by king3pj View Post
... there is a reason Amazon and Vudu haven't been added even though they are much more popular than most of the services that are on the device.
Well Chromecast has Vudu but not Amazon.

For now it would seem that if you want everything you have to buy at least two devices.
bodosom is offline  
post #3153 of 3178 Old 09-27-2014, 06:11 AM
Member
 
jer88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 16
One of my Apple TV's bricked on the latest update. I'm having to restore it on iTunes. Anyone else having issues?
jer88 is online now  
post #3154 of 3178 Old 09-27-2014, 08:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroadus View Post
I tried to update my ATV 3 about 10 times and it never updated to 7...did a restore and it finally updated.
I tried going the "restore" route this morning. After I did the restore I then did a reset. Still on version 6 so I think I've just about given up. Apple needs to do something about these updates so that they're easier to accomplish without so many complications and frustrations.

lujan
691 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
6 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #3155 of 3178 Old 09-27-2014, 09:04 AM
Member
 
king3pj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Luckily, in my case the Apple TV updated itself before I even knew there was an update available.
king3pj is offline  
post #3156 of 3178 Old 09-27-2014, 10:25 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by jer88 View Post
One of my Apple TV's bricked on the latest update.
I'd check the Apple group: https://discussions.apple.com/community/appletv
Sadly it's full of ill-informed people who will suggest changing your DNS setting will fix problems caused by Apple but there are the occasional helpful posts. This time it seems a bit more restrained modulo old threads reawakened: https://discussions.apple.com/thread/6559892

This update is large and takes a long time to apply. That combination appears to exacerbate network issues.
reddice likes this.
bodosom is offline  
post #3157 of 3178 Old 09-27-2014, 10:49 AM
Member
 
jer88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 16
One of my Apple TV's downloaded the update and the other one froze with the blinking white light. I restored and downloaded the update connected to iTunes. It's a major pain to configure the device and login to all the apps again.
jer88 is online now  
post #3158 of 3178 Old 09-27-2014, 01:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,001
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 57
My ATV3 updated but took a long time nearly 30 minutes but I was on my computer doing other things and I just gave it time to update.

Earthlink Extreme powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV 3, Roku 3, Sony PS3 Slim, Sony PS4 all Wired.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #3159 of 3178 Old 09-28-2014, 08:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I tried going the "restore" route this morning. After I did the restore I then did a reset. Still on version 6 so I think I've just about given up. Apple needs to do something about these updates so that they're easier to accomplish without so many complications and frustrations.
My ATV3 finally updated on it's own so I guess it wants to do the updates on it's own terms and not when I ask it to do the update.

lujan
691 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
6 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #3160 of 3178 Old 09-29-2014, 09:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
quovadis123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Guys
My apple tv told me to go to http://fxnetworks.com/activate
with a code

The site does not exist?

On the FX web page is does ask me who my provider is (xfinity), but then xfinity tells me I cannot watch FXnow.
quovadis123 is offline  
post #3161 of 3178 Old 09-30-2014, 05:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 1,573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by quovadis123 View Post
Guys
My apple tv told me to go to http://fxnetworks.com/activate
with a code

The site does not exist?

On the FX web page is does ask me who my provider is (xfinity), but then xfinity tells me I cannot watch FXnow.
I'm not able to get that far...when I chose the FXNow button it doesn't connect.
mbroadus is offline  
post #3162 of 3178 Old 09-30-2014, 05:55 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by quovadis123 View Post
The site does not exist?
Well strictly speaking it redirects to http://activate.fxnetworks.com/activ...vice_type=html which should look something like the attached image.

I suppose they could ignore IP addresses they believe are ineligible.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2014-09-30 at 08.51.58 .JPG
Views:	27
Size:	41.2 KB
ID:	287241  
bodosom is offline  
post #3163 of 3178 Old 10-03-2014, 07:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StinDaWg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 287 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by king3pj View Post
Plus it's actually a better TV watching experience. Hell yeah, I'll take Fargo in 1080p with no commercials, available the next morning. It's like having Dish auto-hop for everything instead of just the local networks. I didn't watch most of my Dish recordings until at least the next day anyways and the picture quality is better on Apple TV.
Like most content on itunes, the 720p (4 Mbps) version of Fargo actually looks better because the 1080p (5 Mbps) is bitstarved. Film grain and detail is wiped out on the 1080p.
http://www.screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/70862
http://www.screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/70863

Last edited by StinDaWg; 10-03-2014 at 07:19 AM.
StinDaWg is offline  
post #3164 of 3178 Old 10-03-2014, 08:22 PM
Member
 
king3pj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by StinDaWg View Post
Like most content on itunes, the 720p (4 Mbps) version of Fargo actually looks better because the 1080p (5 Mbps) is bitstarved. Film grain and detail is wiped out on the 1080p.
http://www.screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/70862
http://www.screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/70863

The 1080p looks pretty good to me. Is there a way to force 720p when you have an Apple TV3? It looks like it just plays the 1080p by default.
king3pj is offline  
post #3165 of 3178 Old 10-04-2014, 02:37 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 22
The HD format is selected in iTunes. I don't know if you can do it when ordering from the ATV but it seems unlikely.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2014-10-04 at 17.41.33 .PNG
Views:	29
Size:	60.3 KB
ID:	294882   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2014-10-04 at 17.44.19 .PNG
Views:	24
Size:	24.3 KB
ID:	294890  

Last edited by bodosom; 10-04-2014 at 02:47 PM.
bodosom is offline  
post #3166 of 3178 Old 10-04-2014, 11:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StinDaWg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 287 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by king3pj View Post
The 1080p looks pretty good to me.
Look again.
StinDaWg is offline  
post #3167 of 3178 Old 10-05-2014, 10:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1
enjoyed using my ATV2 and ATV3 but recently picked up a Minix X8-H to play with. Hopefully Apple will update their line of ATV soon to compete with the newer Android boxes.
cyberphox is offline  
post #3168 of 3178 Old 10-06-2014, 07:37 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
The HD format is selected in iTunes. I don't know if you can do it when ordering from the ATV but it seems unlikely.
Preferred resolution from the store is an ATV specific setting on the ATV2 and ATV3 with OS6 or 7. Go to Settings --> iTunes Store and you can set the preferred video resolution for future downloads and previews (options are SD, 720p or 1080p).
swagga mcdaddy is online now  
post #3169 of 3178 Old 10-06-2014, 09:44 AM
Member
 
justinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Springfield Missouri Area
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I've never actually updated my ATV. I have a new one, but every once in a while I fire it up and notice new apps on the screen, so I know it has updated but I've never had to manually intervene.

I do wish it would get Vudu/Amazon. I'm currently trying to convert to having most of my digital movies on iTunes because of how much I love using the device vs my "smart" Blu-ray players and TVs, but it sucks only having part of my content available.

The other downside is how much it costs to rent a movie on iTunes. I do not understand why I can redbox something for $1.50, but it's $5 or $6 on iTunes....
justinn is offline  
post #3170 of 3178 Old 10-06-2014, 01:05 PM
QuadMersed in bass!
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 2,946
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
My ATV3 finally updated on it's own so I guess it wants to do the updates on it's own terms and not when I ask it to do the update.
I checked on Friday, and one of my ATV 3's had updated on its own, and the other I had to update manually. The first try failed, so I restarted and then updated without issue, except it did take about 30 minutes, like someone else posted.

Mark
giomania is offline  
post #3171 of 3178 Old 10-06-2014, 01:08 PM
Member
 
justinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Springfield Missouri Area
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Is the slowness of the update related to Apple's server loads? When I updated my iPhone 5S to iOS 8, it take about 3 times longer than when I updated my wife's phone two nights later...
justinn is offline  
post #3172 of 3178 Old 10-07-2014, 07:05 AM
Member
 
justinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Springfield Missouri Area
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I noticed last night that Mirroring was not working. I'm using an iPhone 5S with the newest iOS 8 as well as the most up to date software on my ATV 3. Has anyone else seen this problem?

It would display pictures and such just fine, but when I clicked the "mirror" radio button it would slide on/turn green, then just sit there for a bit. After a pause the Apple TV would disappear from the menu and then return a second later....I'm thinking it's a phone issue, but I'm not sure at this point.
justinn is offline  
post #3173 of 3178 Old 10-07-2014, 08:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mr.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by justinn View Post
I do wish it would get Vudu/Amazon. I'm currently trying to convert to having most of my digital movies on iTunes because of how much I love using the device vs my "smart" Blu-ray players and TVs, but it sucks only having part of my content available.
This is the age of 'no set-top box streamer' does it all. Get a Roku 3 for your VUDU and Amazon Prime. If full price is too much keep your eye open for a refurb deal which come along occasionally. I have two Roku 3's plus the ATV3...and a WDTV Live for NAS streaming.

Quote:
Originally Posted by justinn View Post
The other downside is how much it costs to rent a movie on iTunes. I do not understand why I can redbox something for $1.50, but it's $5 or $6 on iTunes....
Studios have a big say over what streaming services like iTunes, VUDU, Amazon, M-GO, Target Ticket, CinemaNow, etc. charge for new movie rentals. Little has changed in the price structure since Comcast, Time Warner and etc. started offering VOD channels.

Some people like the convenience and don't mind paying for it.

All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Movies

Mr.G is offline  
post #3174 of 3178 Old 10-07-2014, 11:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.G View Post
... I have two Roku 3's plus the ATV3...and a WDTV Live for NAS streaming.

...
I have one of each above but use the WDTV the least because it seems very sluggish and slow compared to the other two. What is NAS streaming as maybe I would use it more if I knew what this was?

lujan
691 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
6 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #3175 of 3178 Old 10-07-2014, 01:03 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by justinn View Post
I noticed last night that Mirroring was not working. I'm using an iPhone 5S with the newest iOS 8 as well as the most up to date software on my ATV 3. Has anyone else seen this problem?

It would display pictures and such just fine, but when I clicked the "mirror" radio button it would slide on/turn green, then just sit there for a bit. After a pause the Apple TV would disappear from the menu and then return a second later....I'm thinking it's a phone issue, but I'm not sure at this point.
Working for me on ATV3 and iOS 8.0.2 on an iPhone 6. I just got back to the iOS platform but from prior experience with airplay mirroring on Apple computers, I'd say you should first try restarting your router and then the ATV. Every previous time I've had audio or video sync issues that has fixed it.
swagga mcdaddy is online now  
post #3176 of 3178 Old 10-07-2014, 02:44 PM
Member
 
justinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Springfield Missouri Area
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by swagga mcdaddy View Post
Working for me on ATV3 and iOS 8.0.2 on an iPhone 6. I just got back to the iOS platform but from prior experience with airplay mirroring on Apple computers, I'd say you should first try restarting your router and then the ATV. Every previous time I've had audio or video sync issues that has fixed it.
I will try that, thanks!
justinn is offline  
post #3177 of 3178 Old 10-08-2014, 07:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mr.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I have one of each above but use the WDTV the least because it seems very sluggish and slow compared to the other two. What is NAS streaming as maybe I would use it more if I knew what this was?
NAS - Network Attached Storage. I have ripped all of my DVD's (not yet available on Blu-ray) to my WD My Book Live 2TB server.

I agree with you, the WDTV Live streamer is the slowest of my internet streamers and I rarely use it for that purpose. Streaming content (movies, music, photos) available on a home network is where it really shines. If I wasn't using it to stream off my NAS I would pull it out of my rack and sell it.

All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Movies

Mr.G is offline  
post #3178 of 3178 Old 10-08-2014, 09:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.G View Post
NAS - Network Attached Storage. I have ripped all of my DVD's (not yet available on Blu-ray) to my WD My Book Live 2TB server.

I agree with you, the WDTV Live streamer is the slowest of my internet streamers and I rarely use it for that purpose. Streaming content (movies, music, photos) available on a home network is where it really shines. If I wasn't using it to stream off my NAS I would pull it out of my rack and sell it.
Thanks, I think I have way too many movies to even think about having server space that large ever in my home.

lujan
691 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
6 DVD
lujan is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Apple Tv Mc572ll A , Apple Tv Md199ll A
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off