Apple TV owners' thread. - Page 107 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3181 of 3210 Old 10-27-2014, 08:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX & Arlington, VA
Posts: 1,703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerardo2068 View Post
Make a reservation at a Genius Bar

I bought it 2 months ago, maybe I can exchange it for a new one.
mbroadus is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3182 of 3210 Old 10-27-2014, 08:46 PM
Member
 
Gerardo2068's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Why it's showing that screen?

Did you try to press Down and Menu buttons at the same time for about 10 seconds until you see the white light blink really fast?

Did you recently updated it? Power got disconnected. I have not seen this before and I have multiple Apple TVs for years now. Not sure why it's showing.
Gerardo2068 is online now  
post #3183 of 3210 Old 10-27-2014, 08:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX & Arlington, VA
Posts: 1,703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerardo2068 View Post
Why it's showing that screen?

Did you try to press Down and Menu buttons at the same time for about 10 seconds until you see the white light blink really fast?

Did you recently updated it? Power got disconnected. I have not seen this before and I have multiple Apple TVs for years now. Not sure why it's showing.

Yes, did the menu/down button for 10 seconds and nothing. Yes, up to date. Used it Saturday night and it worked just fine.
mbroadus is online now  
post #3184 of 3210 Old 10-27-2014, 09:01 PM
Member
 
Gerardo2068's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Not sure.

If you don't have a micro USB from a camera, external hard drive or a friend that has ones you can borrow I would take it back to Apple so they can restore it for you. Probably a big with the latest update and most likely a one time event.
Gerardo2068 is online now  
post #3185 of 3210 Old 10-27-2014, 09:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX & Arlington, VA
Posts: 1,703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerardo2068 View Post
Not sure.

If you don't have a micro USB from a camera, external hard drive or a friend that has ones you can borrow I would take it back to Apple so they can restore it for you. Probably a big with the latest update and most likely a one time event.

True, looks like there was a new update last weekend, 7.0.1. Must have had a problem updating. Had a problem with 7.0 last month and had to do a full system restore. I'll take it by tomorrow. Thanks for your help.
Gerardo2068 likes this.

Last edited by mbroadus; 10-28-2014 at 06:29 AM.
mbroadus is online now  
post #3186 of 3210 Old 10-28-2014, 06:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX & Arlington, VA
Posts: 1,703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerardo2068 View Post
Not sure.

If you don't have a micro USB from a camera, external hard drive or a friend that has ones you can borrow I would take it back to Apple so they can restore it for you. Probably a big with the latest update and most likely a one time event.
I have a cord (pic below) that I use to plug into my Harmony 880 and PS3 USB slots, is this a micro USB?

mbroadus is online now  
post #3187 of 3210 Old 10-28-2014, 06:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7,824
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 966 Post(s)
Liked: 882
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroadus View Post
I have a cord (pic below) that I use to plug into my Harmony 880 and PS3 USB slots, is this a micro USB?
Suggestion: take the cable you show above, go to your AppleTV, and try to plug it into the USB port on the ATV. If it fits, you have answered your own question.
Gerardo2068 likes this.
AustinJerry is offline  
post #3188 of 3210 Old 10-28-2014, 07:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX & Arlington, VA
Posts: 1,703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Suggestion: take the cable you show above, go to your AppleTV, and try to plug it into the USB port on the ATV. If it fits, you have answered your own question.
Duh....I would normally do that but since I'm at work and the cable is at home I wanted to check before I went to the Apple Store on my way home.
mbroadus is online now  
post #3189 of 3210 Old 10-28-2014, 07:14 AM
Member
 
Gerardo2068's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 17
It should be micro USB I think. But if you already have the Apple TV with you I would just go to the apple Store
Gerardo2068 is online now  
post #3190 of 3210 Old 10-28-2014, 07:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,394
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 22
"and refuse to buy one" makes me feel like trying to help you is a waste of time since that sounds like you refuse to help yourself however:
The micro USB connector may now be the most common type since it's on nearly every smart phone in the world and Wikipedia has pictures.
bodosom is offline  
post #3191 of 3210 Old 10-28-2014, 07:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX & Arlington, VA
Posts: 1,703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
"and refuse to buy one" makes me feel like trying to help you is a waste of time since that sounds like you refuse to help yourself however:
The micro USB connector may now be the most common type since it's on nearly every smart phone in the world and Wikipedia has pictures.
I apologize! I was livid last night because I was thinking, "Great, Apple wants me to buy another overpriced cable from them". I've had trouble with my ATV 3 downloading updates and have to do a full system restore every time.

I don't have a micro USB since my smart phone is an Apple and don't use a camera. By looking at the Wiki you sent, the cable that I use for my Harmony Remote and PS3 is UC-E6 plug.

Last edited by mbroadus; 10-28-2014 at 08:12 AM.
mbroadus is online now  
post #3192 of 3210 Old 10-28-2014, 08:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,394
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 22
^^
It's a mini USB but the important bit is it's not micro USB. And yes Apple has avoided mini and micro USB preferring Firewire, the 30-pin and now Lightning connector. I suspect the micro port on the ATV3 is an acknowledgement of the ubiquity of the micro connector. By the way I've seen micro USB cables for a $1 as an Amazon add-on. Ubiquity also means they're inexpensive.
bodosom is offline  
post #3193 of 3210 Old 10-28-2014, 10:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
undecided's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Monoprice also has Micro USB cables at ~$1 (or less if you buy more)

http://www.monoprice.com/Category?c_...&cs_id=1030307
undecided is offline  
post #3194 of 3210 Old 10-28-2014, 12:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX & Arlington, VA
Posts: 1,703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by undecided View Post
Monoprice also has Micro USB cables at ~$1 (or less if you buy more)

http://www.monoprice.com/Category?c_...&cs_id=1030307
Thanks, I hate to order only 1 cord...I currently have 2 orders from monoprice to be delivered this week. I'll add it to my wish list for the next order.
mbroadus is online now  
post #3195 of 3210 Old 10-28-2014, 01:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7,824
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 966 Post(s)
Liked: 882
Just to confirm what I believe everyone now understands, the USB connection on the back of the ATV3 is NOT the same as the Harmony remote. I just made sure by looking at the back of my ATV. The "micro USB" is really tiny. After looking around, the only device I have that supports micro USB is my Panasonic digital camera.
AustinJerry is offline  
post #3196 of 3210 Old 10-28-2014, 01:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
gprace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 543
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 462
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Just to confirm what I believe everyone now understands, the USB connection on the back of the ATV3 is NOT the same as the Harmony remote. I just made sure by looking at the back of my ATV. The "micro USB" is really tiny. After looking around, the only device I have that supports micro USB is my Panasonic digital camera.
If I am correct, Harmony Remotes use mini USB. Mobile phones that I have experience with use the micro USB.
gprace is online now  
post #3197 of 3210 Old 10-28-2014, 01:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX & Arlington, VA
Posts: 1,703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by gprace View Post
If I am correct, Harmony Remotes use mini USB. Mobile phones that I have experience with use the micro USB.
Sony PS3 controllers also use mini USB, not micro.
mbroadus is online now  
post #3198 of 3210 Old 10-29-2014, 07:08 AM
Member
 
Toltec21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I went through the same thing after the last update—lots of freezing up, had trouble connecting to content our home network and "home sharing" account. This is the first significant performance issue I have had since purchasing the unit over 2 years ago. My older unit (720p era) never had any problems. So I borrowed a micro-USB from a friend and followed the instructions for the full restore on the malfunctioning Apple TV. Everything has worked great since then.
Toltec21 is offline  
post #3199 of 3210 Old 10-29-2014, 07:12 AM
Member
 
Gerardo2068's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Yeah. Never had any issue with the last eat update yet. But I've never had any problem with any of my Apple TVs in the last 4 years 2gen and 3gen.
Gerardo2068 is online now  
post #3200 of 3210 Old 10-29-2014, 07:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX & Arlington, VA
Posts: 1,703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toltec21 View Post
I went through the same thing after the last update—lots of freezing up, had trouble connecting to content our home network and "home sharing" account. This is the first significant performance issue I have had since purchasing the unit over 2 years ago. My older unit (720p era) never had any problems. So I borrowed a micro-USB from a friend and followed the instructions for the full restore on the malfunctioning Apple TV. Everything has worked great since then.
I went to the Apple Store and like always, great customer service. The guy said he would let me use a micro USB but he could not find an extra one so I ended up buying one for $30 and he told me to return it within 14 days. I feel guilty doing that! Restored it and everything seems to be running normally.
mbroadus is online now  
post #3201 of 3210 Old 10-29-2014, 07:42 AM
Member
 
Gerardo2068's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Cool
Gerardo2068 is online now  
post #3202 of 3210 Old 11-05-2014, 09:12 PM
Senior Member
 
met_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Easthampton, MA
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I just noticed tonight that when playing something from HBO Go on my Apple Tv I'm no longer getting 5.1 sound. It's strange, since my receiver lights up the 5.1 lights, but instead of displaying Dolby Surround (or whatever is shows when it's surround - I can't exactly remember) it displays "Stereo" and only outputs sound in stereo. I tried a few things like a Game of Thrones ep and a couple movies and it was all the same. It definitely used to output real 5.1 sound. When I tried out my cable feed, 5.1 was working fine out of my receiver. I didn't have time to go through other apps tonight on the ATV to try those, but is this something that has happened to anyone else on HBO GO? A quick search didn't show me anything. I feel like I remember Netflix possibly having a similar problem at some point, no?
met_fan is offline  
post #3203 of 3210 Old 11-06-2014, 11:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Neil S. Bulk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Southern California
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I just watched the opening of Lethal Weapon 4 and it's still 5.1

Neil
Neil S. Bulk is offline  
post #3204 of 3210 Old 11-06-2014, 01:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,394
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I'm getting 5.1 audio from HBO Go.
bodosom is offline  
post #3205 of 3210 Old 11-06-2014, 03:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7,824
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 966 Post(s)
Liked: 882
AustinJerry is offline  
post #3206 of 3210 Old 11-06-2014, 05:05 PM
Senior Member
 
met_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Easthampton, MA
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
I'm getting 5.1 audio from HBO Go.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil S. Bulk View Post
I just watched the opening of Lethal Weapon 4 and it's still 5.1

Neil
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
5.1 here as well.
Something's going on with my ATV. Netflix is doing the same thing, though it works fine on my other devices. I tried looking the audio settings but it doesn't appear there's anything wrong there.
met_fan is offline  
post #3207 of 3210 Old 11-07-2014, 05:40 AM
Member
 
frankhj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sheboygan, WI
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by met_fan View Post
Something's going on with my ATV. Netflix is doing the same thing, though it works fine on my other devices. I tried looking the audio settings but it doesn't appear there's anything wrong there.
Whenever I have strange things happen with my AppleTV or iPad restarting them usually fixes it.
frankhj is online now  
post #3208 of 3210 Old 11-07-2014, 11:38 AM
Senior Member
 
met_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Easthampton, MA
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankhj View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by met_fan View Post
Something's going on with my ATV. Netflix is doing the same thing, though it works fine on my other devices. I tried looking the audio settings but it doesn't appear there's anything wrong there.
Whenever I have strange things happen with my AppleTV or iPad restarting them usually fixes it.
I did that a few times
met_fan is offline  
post #3209 of 3210 Old 11-07-2014, 05:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by met_fan View Post
I did that a few times
Me too but it's getting frustrating having to reboot every time you want to watch a movie on ATV.

lujan
712 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
6 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #3210 of 3210 Old 11-07-2014, 05:49 PM
Senior Member
 
met_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Easthampton, MA
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by met_fan View Post
I did that a few times
Me too but it's getting frustrating having to reboot every time you want to watch a movie on ATV.
Well at least it works for you
met_fan is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Apple Tv Mc572ll A , Apple Tv Md199ll A
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off