Apple TV owners' thread. - Page 109 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #3241 of 3262 Old 01-19-2015, 04:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
Next time wait more than five minutes.
next time don't try to tell people when they should be posting.
Gary J is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3242 of 3262 Old 01-19-2015, 05:11 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,406
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
talking local network not DHCP - must be diffiult concept for you
The conversation was about using DHCP reservations as in "Reserve the IP addresses for all of your current network (you should see something in the router menu saying something along the lines of DHCP reservations".What did you mean when you said "using the reservations table helps"?
bodosom is offline  
post #3243 of 3262 Old 01-19-2015, 05:12 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,406
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
next time don't try to tell people when they should be posting.
Next time don't try and tell people what they should be posting.
bodosom is offline  
post #3244 of 3262 Old 01-20-2015, 04:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
The conversation was about using DHCP reservations as in "Reserve the IP addresses for all of your current network (you should see something in the router menu saying something along the lines of DHCP reservations".What did you mean when you said "using the reservations table helps"?
Difficult concept as i thought but will not be doing your research for you.
Gary J is offline  
post #3245 of 3262 Old 01-20-2015, 05:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,182
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
The conversation was about using DHCP reservations as in "Reserve the IP addresses for all of your current network (you should see something in the router menu saying something along the lines of DHCP reservations".What did you mean when you said "using the reservations table helps"?
It's a router configuration setting. If one's router is assigning IP addresses locally (almost assuredly it is, via DHCP) one will also have (in most routers) the ability to hard code the IP address (reserve it) for specific devices (based on their MAC address).

EDIT: Reading your other posts, I think you know how reserving/assigning static IP's work in a local network and didn't mean to imply otherwise! But in case someone reading this is not clear on it, I wanted to elaborate a bit more....

____________________

Build Thread: "Nathan's Theater in Search of....".

Last edited by nathan_h; 01-20-2015 at 06:06 PM.
nathan_h is online now  
post #3246 of 3262 Old 01-20-2015, 06:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,182
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
Next time wait more than five minutes.
Twelve hours and five minutes

But I get your point: Don't expect a community to produce a response as quickly as one might want!

____________________

Build Thread: "Nathan's Theater in Search of....".
nathan_h is online now  
post #3247 of 3262 Old 01-20-2015, 07:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
[Irishman]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,530
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
Difficult concept as i thought but will not be doing your research for you.
Fellas.

Fellas.

Take it out into the hall.
TomC1315 likes this.

COMING SOONFinding the Ark of the Covenant by Brian Roberts, in the iBook Store on iTunes, a new investigation into the Hebrew’s Most Sacred Relic!
[Irishman] is offline  
post #3248 of 3262 Old 01-20-2015, 08:00 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,406
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
talking local network not DHCP - must be diffiult concept for you
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan_h View Post
It's a router configuration setting.
My point was what does the non sequitur from Gary J mean -- even disregarding that the thread was about using DCHP reservations.

And yes I'm quite aware of the conventional meanings of a local network (in the context of someone having IP networking problems with an ATV) and DHCP.
nathan_h likes this.
bodosom is offline  
post #3249 of 3262 Old 01-20-2015, 08:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,406
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
Next time wait more than five minutes.
As has been pointed out I was seeing a 24 hour clock when looking at a 12 hour clock. My bad.
bodosom is offline  
post #3250 of 3262 Old 01-21-2015, 06:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan_h View Post
Twelve hours and five minutes
lol

come·up·pance
ˌkəmˈəpəns/
nouninformal
a punishment or fate that someone deserves.
"he got his comeuppance"
Gary J is offline  
post #3251 of 3262 Old 01-21-2015, 09:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
As has been pointed out I was seeing a 24 hour clock when looking at a 12 hour clock. My bad.
Don't get me started. I can't stand the 24 hour clock. I hate having to do math when I just want to know the correct time. How can anyway confuse 8 AM with 8 PM. Just add AM or PM much better then 20:00.

Earthlink Extreme powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Toshiba 39L2300U (My Bedroom) - Amazon Fire TV, Sony PS4 Wired. Apple TV Wireless.
Toshiba 32RV530U (Living Room) - Amazon Fire TV, Sony PS3 Slim Wired
.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #3252 of 3262 Old 01-21-2015, 10:21 AM
Newbie
 
jTemplar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post
Don't get me started. I can't stand the 24 hour clock. I hate having to do math when I just want to know the correct time. How can anyway confuse 8 AM with 8 PM. Just add AM or PM much better then 20:00.
How can anyway confuse 8 AM with 8 PM? Er! They both have an '8'. :roll eyes:

Whereas 2000hrs only has one 2000hrs
jTemplar is offline  
post #3253 of 3262 Old 01-21-2015, 01:43 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,406
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post
I hate having to do math when I just want to know the correct time.
24 hour time is just as "correct" as 12 hour time.
But yes if someone asks me what time it is I can say it's 14:02 or I can do the conversion for them.
My watch, phone, computer, car and stove all display 24 hour time. The coffeemaker and microwave remain limited to 12 hour time.
lflorack likes this.
bodosom is offline  
post #3254 of 3262 Old 01-21-2015, 02:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 8,518
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1587 Post(s)
Liked: 1019
AustinJerry is online now  
post #3255 of 3262 Old 01-21-2015, 02:31 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 6,406
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 25
bodosom is offline  
post #3256 of 3262 Old 01-21-2015, 02:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by jTemplar View Post
How can anyway confuse 8 AM with 8 PM? Er! They both have an '8'. :roll eyes:

Whereas 2000hrs only has one 2000hrs
Analog clocks have 8 on them not 20. That just adds more confusion.

Earthlink Extreme powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Toshiba 39L2300U (My Bedroom) - Amazon Fire TV, Sony PS4 Wired. Apple TV Wireless.
Toshiba 32RV530U (Living Room) - Amazon Fire TV, Sony PS3 Slim Wired
.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #3257 of 3262 Old 01-21-2015, 05:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hanesian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Twin Citiesville, MN
Posts: 2,803
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
My microwave has a blinking 12:00. What does that mean?
Time to cover the display with tape.

I thought everyone knew that.
hanesian is online now  
post #3258 of 3262 Old 01-21-2015, 05:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DocCasualty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Northern Michigan
Posts: 1,022
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 1220
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post
Analog clocks have 8 on them not 20. That just adds more confusion.
Well, there are analog 24 hour clocks which certainly have 20 on them. We used to have one hanging in the ED.




j/s . . .

"Dave, this conversation can serve no purpose anymore. Goodbye." - HAL 9000
DocCasualty is online now  
post #3259 of 3262 Old 01-21-2015, 09:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by hanesian View Post
Time to cover the display with tape.

I thought everyone knew that.
Or just unplug it when it is not being used like I do.

Earthlink Extreme powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Toshiba 39L2300U (My Bedroom) - Amazon Fire TV, Sony PS4 Wired. Apple TV Wireless.
Toshiba 32RV530U (Living Room) - Amazon Fire TV, Sony PS3 Slim Wired
.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #3260 of 3262 Unread Today, 12:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Gerardo2068's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 26
If I have an Apple TV connected to a Stereo amp using optical out, does the Dolby setting being On or Off makes a difference? What about 16 bit vs Auto?
Gerardo2068 is online now  
post #3261 of 3262 Unread Today, 06:09 PM
Senior Member
 
jgiddyup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerardo2068 View Post
If I have an Apple TV connected to a Stereo amp using optical out, does the Dolby setting being On or Off makes a difference? What about 16 bit vs Auto?


No difference for 16 bit or auto. If you set the ATV to dolby digital it will still only output the number of channels present in the signal. If your receiver/amp is 2 channel that's what you'll get as it will disregard the extra channel info if present.
Gerardo2068 likes this.

Jgiddyup
jgiddyup is online now  
post #3262 of 3262 Unread Today, 06:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Gerardo2068's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgiddyup View Post
No difference for 16 bit or auto. If you set the ATV to dolby digital it will still only output the number of channels present in the signal. If your receiver/amp is 2 channel that's what you'll get as it will disregard the extra channel info if present.

Thanks. I was just wondering that it would some how change the sound.

Also it's 100% for music.

Thanks
Gerardo2068 is online now  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Apple Tv Mc572ll A , Apple Tv Md199ll A
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off