MICCA MPLAY HD problems - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-26-2010, 03:48 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
wtyamamoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been trying out the MPLAY HD for the past week, and I've had a few problems. I was wondering if anyone else is having a different experience, as I am returning mine to Amazon, but am thinking of replacing it once my refund goes through (Amazon doesn't allow an exchange - just refund).

1. No matter where I put the album art (various folder schemes), and whether or not it's in thumbnail mode or list mode, the album art does not show.

2. I have no output through HDMI. I have tried multiple cables, multiple TVs. I have tried all output modes (from NTSC through 1080p), and I get no output. I have even tried plugging in a portable tv to composite so I can monitor what is going on (once you get out of NTSC, the image is distorted on composite, but usable for monitoring purposes). I even tried re-flashing the firmware, and nada.

The HDMI problem is the killer item, and why I'm returning it. I am thinking it has a defective board or something. I am thinking of re-ordering another one once the refund goes through, but not if others are having the same problems. I could probably live with the album art issue, but what is a media player with HDMI if you can't get output from HDMI?

I like the general features - especially spdif coax (I prefer coax over toslink for my DAC), and the wide variety of codecs/file types it handles. The menu is a little quirky, but I was getting used to it.
wtyamamoto is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-27-2010, 08:11 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Jack@Micca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey,

If you are not getting any output from the HDMI and your TV's HDMI port works fine with other devices, then it's most likely that the MPLAY-HD's HDMI port has gone out.

The MPLAY-HD is currently one of the top selling media players on Amazon with a lot of good reviews, and I can assure you that it would not have done this well if its HDMI port was prone to failure. I am confident that the replacement unit you receive from Amazon will not have the same issue.

With respect to the album art, are you referring to album art for music?

Jack@Micca
Micca Support Specialist
Jack@Micca is offline  
Old 09-04-2011, 03:34 PM
Newbie
 
cybermario's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi there

i just bought a micca mplay-hd from amazon last week, mine works, but when i select any hdmi mode, the tv starts to lose signal, audio system too, when i play a mkv file, i can complete a movie without problems, but when i return to menu, it starts to fail again, if i select ntsc mode, no problems here...everything is fine...i flashed it when the latest firmware...so, i don't now whats happen, any ideas??
cybermario is offline  
Old 09-06-2011, 10:27 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Jack@Micca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybermario View Post

hi there

i just bought a micca mplay-hd from amazon last week, mine works, but when i select any hdmi mode, the tv starts to lose signal, audio system too, when i play a mkv file, i can complete a movie without problems, but when i return to menu, it starts to fail again, if i select ntsc mode, no problems here...everything is fine...i flashed it when the latest firmware...so, i don't now whats happen, any ideas??

So if you set the video mode to say 720p, the screen signal at the main menu becomes intermittent, but works fine when you are playing a movie? When you set it to NTSC, are you still connected via HDMI?

Can you try doing a firmware update using the recovery method?

http://content.miccastore.com/node/211

If this doesn't resolve the issue, contact our support at support@miccastore.com along with your order number and we'll get it exchanged with a new unit.

Jack@Micca
Micca Support Specialist
Jack@Micca is offline  
Old 02-21-2012, 07:30 PM
Newbie
 
Jeff103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
I bought the media player HD awhile ago, but only used it a handful of times. It worked those times, but the remote was always a little wonky. So when I recently tried to use the player, and it wouldn't turn on, I thought the remote had given out, and bought a harmony 520. Turns out it doesn't turn on w/ either remote leaving me to think it's the unit itself. Is there anything I can do? This is so frustrating...
Jeff103 is offline  
Old 02-22-2012, 07:46 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Jack@Micca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff103 View Post

Hi,
I bought the media player HD awhile ago, but only used it a handful of times. It worked those times, but the remote was always a little wonky. So when I recently tried to use the player, and it wouldn't turn on, I thought the remote had given out, and bought a harmony 520. Turns out it doesn't turn on w/ either remote leaving me to think it's the unit itself. Is there anything I can do? This is so frustrating...

Send an email to support@miccastore.com along with your order number so that we can identify the exact model you purchased, and then we can give you some options on replacements.

Jack@Micca
Micca Support Specialist
Jack@Micca is offline  
Old 02-22-2012, 01:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
mkoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i own this unit and video out via hdmi works very well. I do have a problem getting the coax audio to work through my receiver which I need to look into. I have not flashed it with new firmware since if it ain't broke don't fix it. I'm very pleased with it's performance. It plays both iso's and sbs mkv's without any problem. There are a few file extensions that seem to not play but I'm not worried about those. Very pleased and very portable. Took it on the road with the monoprice 3D creator and 2.5 inch drive. Have 3D will travel.
mkoss is offline  
Old 12-22-2012, 05:51 PM
Newbie
 
Andy3B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am able to open ISO and DVD (IFO,TS,VOB) files.
I can see Movie Menus; PLAY option is selected by default. But I cannot play, or move to another menu option.

Then, i tried to flash the unit, following the instruction below. I tried all of the 3 files available, and never got Step 8.

The unit now shows MICCA with the logo, and stays there forever.

I just bought, actually two units; don't know if there is a solution or should i return them.

mad.gif

How to re-flash the firmware for MPLAY-HD (Rev. 1055) in recovery mode

When possible, firmware update should be performed using the recovery mode. This results in the loss of all user settings, but it is the recommended firmware update method. Please follow these steps exactly as described to perform a firmware update in recovery mode:

1.Download the latest the firmware from our website.
2.Find an empty USB flash drive and format it as a FAT32 drive. Do not use a SD/SDHC memory card.
3.Unpack the firmware ZIP file and copy the "install.img" file onto the USB flash drive.
4.Connect the HDMI cable to the player and set the TV to the appropriate input.
5.Unplug the AC adapter from the player, wait 10 seconds.
6.While pressing and holding the power button on the front of the player, plug the AC adapter into the player. Continue to hold the power button for 5 more seconds.
7.The recovery mode will begin upgrading the firmware from the USB drive while displaying the following screen.
8.When finished, the player will reboot and display the initial setup screen

IMG files downloaded from the following link: http://content.miccastore.com/micca-mplay-hd
Andy3B is offline  
Old 12-22-2012, 07:54 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Jack@Micca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Andy,

Do you actually see the blue firmware update screen in step 7?

The ISO menu selection is a known issue with the latest firmware due to the "OK" and direction buttons are mapped to playback control functions during playback. This causes controls for DVD menu to not work. Try an earlier firmware version where the "OK" and direction buttons are not remapped.

A fix is in the works to address this.

Jack@Micca
Micca Support Specialist
Jack@Micca is offline  
Old 12-22-2012, 11:03 PM
Newbie
 
Andy3B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jack:

Thanks for your prompt response.

Like i mentioned before, i tried all the 3 files available, but i am not able to get the unit back to work.

Yes, i don't have any problem from steps 1 to 7. The unit just won't work after restarts. Screen shows MICCA and Micca Logo, and stays there. No menu, setup, etc...

Andy.
Andy3B is offline  
Old 12-23-2012, 09:22 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Jack@Micca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Andy,

Send an email to technical support and they can get the unit exchanged for you. That's what I'd recommend at this point.

Jack@Micca
Micca Support Specialist
Jack@Micca is offline  
Old 01-01-2013, 03:58 PM
Newbie
 
goombah88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The only issue I'm having is with movie cover art. Where on earth do you put the images so the cover art will show for movies in thumbnail mode?
goombah88 is offline  
Old 01-13-2013, 05:16 PM
Senior Member
 
wadeh911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by goombah88 View Post

The only issue I'm having is with movie cover art. Where on earth do you put the images so the cover art will show for movies in thumbnail mode?

I have posted this same question in several micca forums as well as micca support site. So far no replies or solutions to no artwork.

South Florida is my Theater
Listen to live music and recreate it at home.
wadeh911 is offline  
Old 02-20-2013, 11:50 AM
Newbie
 
motobojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wtyamamoto View Post

1. No matter where I put the album art (various folder schemes), and whether or not it's in thumbnail mode or list mode, the album art does not show.

It's not clear from your question whether you are referring to cover/album art for music or video? The Micca MPLAY-HD doesn't seem to display album/cover art for either music or video (or at least I haven't yet figured out how to enable it). I'm particularly frustrated by this lack for music. The music player on the Micca MPLAYER-HD even has real estate on the screen for it, but it seems to only use that space for some lame feedback relative to play/pause.

Hopefully Micca will fix this shortcoming in future firmware releases.

-- Tom.
motobojo is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off