Official Roku HD/XD/XDS Owners Thread - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 646 Old 07-22-2011, 09:05 PM
Member
 
ctcousineau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suntan View Post

As for the ability to do 5.1 and Netflix 1080, who knows. I thought they have been saying all a long that the current XDS would be able to do those with an update to the Netflix player.

-Suntan

Directly from Roku: subtitles and 5.1 sound will not be supported on previous generation products.

http://forums.roku.com/viewtopic.php...art=30#p280458
ctcousineau is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 646 Old 07-25-2011, 04:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jim1348's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: MN
Posts: 878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suntan View Post

Not a big fan of the lower two units dropping ethernet ports.

Even worse is that none of them support component anymore.

-Suntan

Are the earlier Roku devices still available online or will I ahve to find a Best Buy for one of those?

Also, I did see Roku N1000/N1100 Wireless HD Media Player on Woot today

http://www.woot.com/

I see Best Buy shows the older one and two of the newer ones:

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....egories&ks=960
Jim1348 is online now  
post #543 of 646 Old 07-25-2011, 09:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mr.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctcousineau View Post

Directly from Roku: subtitles and 5.1 sound will not be supported on previous generation products.

http://forums.roku.com/viewtopic.php...art=30#p280458

My impression from reading this Roku post is that the new adaptive bitrate streaming encode will only be available on the new Roku 2.

All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Movies

Mr.G is offline  
post #544 of 646 Old 07-25-2011, 10:20 AM
Senior Member
 
hps70w's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.G View Post

My impression from reading this Roku post is that the new adaptive bitrate streaming encode will only be available on the new Roku 2.

That is correct, but DD+ 5.1 pass-through and subtitles are only available via the new encodes, per that post in the Roku forums. These new encodes are only available on the new Roku 2 hardware; hence, no 5.1 or subtitles for old hardware. That's how I would interpret it, anyway.
hps70w is offline  
post #545 of 646 Old 07-27-2011, 07:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Chingu808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DragonLoaf View Post

2. If you are a fan of Korean drama series or Japanese anime, Crunchyroll is a good free channel. Subtitles included at no extra charge. Netflix has some Korean movies, but never have seen any of their series on there.

Ok I know your talking about the original Roku XD. I also know the Roku's are mostly for streaming. I was going to jump all over the Roku XS not for streaming but to play back my very large 720P & 1080P (avi, MP4, MKV) Korean drama collection from a external HD through the USB port. But now I am reading that is does not play some of these codecs. I guess I will stick with my WD TV Live Media Player.
Chingu808 is offline  
post #546 of 646 Old 07-28-2011, 01:26 AM
Member
 
RenoDavid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Reno, Nevada
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You really can have both. They do different things.
RenoDavid is offline  
post #547 of 646 Old 09-19-2011, 09:57 PM
Member
 
joel27nc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know if the Roku can stream live TV? I hear most of the channels on the Roku suck, is this true? Whats the good channels? Any FREE stuff on the Roku....no Netflix, Hulu+ or Amazon. Any good free stuff?
joel27nc is offline  
post #548 of 646 Old 09-20-2011, 07:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,836
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 52
No live TV I'm aware of if you mean via something like HDHomeRun or another tuner. Re: good free stuff, BBC News (private channel), Revision3, Crackle, and Pandora for music. Just look here and here. And, if you get the $100 Roku, Angry Birds comes free.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #549 of 646 Old 09-20-2011, 12:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Blacklac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,065
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Revision3 is one of the better free channels, IMO. Any channels you happen to find that are premium cable/satellite channels are just streams from iPad/iPhone Apps or websites and are horrible quality. Its watchable but barely.

Having just cut my cable, Roku without added premium services can in no way replace premium TV services. I use an Antenna with a DVR and I still use Amazon Prime and Hulu+ to supplement what I lost from cable and I still can't get some sports. Ill get my local NFL team as long as they sell out every week. Luckily I only missed 2 games last season due to blackout. (Detroit has loyal fans...). You can subscribe to MLB and I think an NHL premium service through Roku, I believe. No NFL, NBA or PGA.

I'm hoping one day we can get premium channels through Roku, even if it requires a small (VERY small) subscription per channel. Free is obviously better, but...
Blacklac is offline  
post #550 of 646 Old 10-28-2011, 04:43 PM
Member
 
pizzaiolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm looking forward to receiving my Roku 2 XS. No price talk but retailmenot has a coupon (csc-25) code for $15 discount when buying at roku.com. And they ship free. My Samsung hdtv does much of what I wanted, except I'd have to use ARC back into my AVR to get sound and it wouldn't even be 5.1 for Netflix.

Seems to me the Roku will be a great front-end for my internet video and audio. And at a great price!
pizzaiolo is offline  
post #551 of 646 Old 10-29-2011, 06:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I hate the way they design their checkout. I can never enter the cc. I saw it once on IE, but never in chrome. I can't enter the code anywhere... This code has been kicking around for a while. Glad you got it, I wish I could!
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #552 of 646 Old 11-04-2011, 06:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Great news - Roku adds HBO GO. Unfortunately, Comcast is not on the list of participating providers. Nor is DirecTV.
BIslander is online now  
post #553 of 646 Old 11-04-2011, 08:38 AM
Member
 
brytrinque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Clinton
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wait. What? HBO Go works on iOS and browser fine for people who have those providers, but not with the Roku app?
brytrinque is offline  
post #554 of 646 Old 11-04-2011, 09:43 AM
Member
 
brytrinque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Clinton
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Definitely cant use with DirecTv or Comcast.
brytrinque is offline  
post #555 of 646 Old 11-04-2011, 09:58 AM
riz
Senior Member
 
riz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, can someone please check and see if Roku 2 can play video files randomly?

My first choice is roku2 can play videos from a folder randomly, second choice would be play videos randomly from a playlist

Thank you for checking!
riz

[moved to http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...#post21168277]
riz is offline  
post #556 of 646 Old 11-04-2011, 11:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I would find the right thread then, this is for older pre-roku2 boxes.
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #557 of 646 Old 12-16-2011, 08:08 AM
Senior Member
 
DCFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
What's the future of devices like Roku now that the TV manufacturers are coming out with internet TV's that have wireless/ethernet connections and tons of apps? It would seem to be a device that's headed towards extinction. Having said that I just bought a Roku thru woot a few weeks back and turned in a FiOS STB.
DCFan is offline  
post #558 of 646 Old 12-16-2011, 09:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 16
If you're a netflix customer, I think the Roku experience is much better. I never use my tv netflix client or blu ray player. It seems to stream better. So as long as they provide a better experience, the future looks good.
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #559 of 646 Old 12-16-2011, 09:45 AM
Senior Member
 
silvermaxd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: New Albany,Indiana
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I haven't used my roku since I bought the Vizio with apps...guess I will use it in another room

Steve R.
silvermaxd is offline  
post #560 of 646 Old 12-17-2011, 11:18 AM
Member
 
RenoDavid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Reno, Nevada
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What you get with the Roku is flexibility and a more expansive channel experience. It's always being added to and upgraded. Plus, it's something of a bargain. I have apps in built into my Panasonic TV, but rarely use them.

The thing is, no single platform is perfect. I have a Roku, Apple TV, and a Logitech TV. I enjoy them all, but using the Revue the most now. The latest firmware upgrade is fantastic. Much faster and less buggy now.
RenoDavid is offline  
post #561 of 646 Old 12-23-2011, 06:29 AM
Member
 
phaelon56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Rutherford, NJ
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
While I wait for 11 AM PST to arrive and hope I can get a Roku support rep on the screen in chat... can any of you tell me if you've had an issue like the one I'm experiencing with my new Roku XD 2? I've had a Roku XR for over one year and use it with FIOS (guaranteed 10/5 but lately the speed test has been showing a 15 Mbps download speed) and a 720P HDMI output to a 61" Samsung DLP. With HD content the picture quality (in terms of resolution) often exceeds DVD quality and gets close to decent Blu-ray resolution. I set up the new XD 2 last night and it is supposed to output at 1080P. Picture quality looks about like an old VHS tape - noticeably soft and fuzzy. My girlfriend, who is not the critical viewer that I am, noticed the image degradation immediately. It's not subtle. I assume they will be obligated to give me a refund but it doesn't make sense. Is the encoding/decoding different with the new device?
phaelon56 is offline  
post #562 of 646 Old 01-02-2012, 12:16 PM
Newbie
 
reesd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hps70w View Post

Yes, I believe all video and audio outputs are active simultaneously. Here are a few posts on the Roku forums which seem to confirm:

http://forums.roku.com/viewtopic.php...151335#p151335
http://forums.roku.com/viewtopic.php...36333&p=234904
http://forums.roku.com/viewtopic.php...117704#p117704

Unfortunately this is no longer true for the Roku 2s. They seem to disable their component out when you plug in the HDMI - http://forums.roku.com/viewtopic.php...234904#p315067. If anyone knows a fix for this I would love to hear it...

Thanks,
dave
reesd is offline  
post #563 of 646 Old 01-04-2012, 05:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gregoryperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I just took the plunge on Madagascar (BBC) since Netflix refuses to carry it in BD and Amazon BD was $25 vs $7.

My XD crashes when it tries to play it. It gets to retreiving and then reboots. Has anyone gotten this to work? I am running 3.1.

It plays just fine on my Roku2, but I am not particularly impressed with the video quality and it is not 5.1.

Thanks,

Greg
gregoryperkins is offline  
post #564 of 646 Old 01-10-2012, 04:33 AM
Member
 
dale001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
In reference to my old Hitachi 57s500 RPTV (which was able to play High Def programming when I had Comcast):

Can I connect a Roku 2 XD box to this TV to get HD?
A salesperson at Sears told me I can't because it's an older TV and it's analog, and that's why there won't be a cable for me to buy to connect to the back of the TV that gives me HD.
dale001 is offline  
post #565 of 646 Old 01-10-2012, 04:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Buckeye911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 3,085
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by dale001 View Post

In reference to my old Hitachi 57s500 RPTV (which was able to play High Def programming when I had Comcast):

Can I connect a Roku 2 XD box to this TV to get HD?
A salesperson at Sears told me I can't because it's an older TV and it's analog, and that's why there won't be a cable for me to buy to connect to the back of the TV that gives me HD.

You should be able to use an HDMI to DVI-D cable, you will have to have a separate connection for audio. With this particular TV some people report getting a picture with this cable is problematic but if you make sure to get a single link cable and not a dual link cable it should work. The TV will accept a dual link cable but some report not being able to get a picture with the dual link.

I notice that your TV is a 1080i model. The Roku only sends out 720p or 1080p for HD so make sure that your TV will accept one of these resolutions. I hope this helps.

The measure of a man's character is what he would do if he knew he never would be found out.
Buckeye911 is offline  
post #566 of 646 Old 01-10-2012, 06:01 AM
Member
 
dale001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks, and yes, the TV is 720p capable.

A question for you that will really showcase my lack of a/v technology:

when you say I'll need a separate connection for audio, what specifically do you mean? As you know, the Roku doesn't have (to my knowledge) audio outputs on its box, so I'm guessing you mean that the audio-out from my tv should be going into an amp (receiver), which it is.

I can currently watch DVD movies on this TV, using, as mentioned, the receiver for my 5.1 sound.
dale001 is offline  
post #567 of 646 Old 01-10-2012, 06:17 AM
Senior Member
 
hoyalawya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I impulsively bought an XS over the holidays. The return deadline is coming up. I have both an XBox 360 and PS3. I am trying to justify keeping the XS. Is it pretty safe to assume that Amazon Video will never make it to XBox and Playstation (for competitive reason with Zune Video and the PS video store)?
hoyalawya is offline  
post #568 of 646 Old 01-10-2012, 07:21 AM
Senior Member
 
DCFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by dale001 View Post

In reference to my old Hitachi 57s500 RPTV (which was able to play High Def programming when I had Comcast):

Can I connect a Roku 2 XD box to this TV to get HD?
A salesperson at Sears told me I can't because it's an older TV and it's analog, and that's why there won't be a cable for me to buy to connect to the back of the TV that gives me HD.

Roku.com has its own forum there. That might be another alternative to get info and it's monitored by Roku employees.

http://forums.roku.com/viewforum.php?f=28
DCFan is offline  
post #569 of 646 Old 01-10-2012, 08:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Buckeye911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 3,085
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by dale001 View Post

Thanks, and yes, the TV is 720p capable.

A question for you that will really showcase my lack of a/v technology:

when you say I'll need a separate connection for audio, what specifically do you mean? As you know, the Roku doesn't have (to my knowledge) audio outputs on its box, so I'm guessing you mean that the audio-out from my tv should be going into an amp (receiver), which it is.

I can currently watch DVD movies on this TV, using, as mentioned, the receiver for my 5.1 sound.

HDMI to DVI will not pass audio so you will not get any sound by just connecting the one cable to the TV. You will need to connect the stereo audio cable (red and white). Here is the cable: https://shop.roku.com/checkout/cart/

You can connect the red and white to your TV or to your receiver. You can ignore the yellow connector on this cable, that is for composite video.

The measure of a man's character is what he would do if he knew he never would be found out.
Buckeye911 is offline  
post #570 of 646 Old 01-10-2012, 08:46 AM
Senior Member
 
avf5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Roku vs Sony NSZ-GS7 Network Media Player

Roku has hundreds of channels & the new Roku Stick - Sony GS7 looks more like Revue replacements!

Sony Releases New GTV Products At CES 2012


Cheers!
avf5 is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off