Official Roku HD/XD/XDS Owners Thread - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 646 Old 01-10-2013, 12:13 PM
Member
 
MISSY QUICK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does anyone have any information regarding ROKU adding Showtime Anytime as well as Max Go? I have been unable to verify whether these will be available on the ROKU. Thank You. MQ
MISSY QUICK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 646 Old 01-10-2013, 12:30 PM
Senior Member
 
hps70w's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't believe I've seen anything announced anywhere concerning Showtime Anytime or Max Go. In general, Roku does not pre-announce upcoming channels to the public.
hps70w is offline  
post #633 of 646 Old 02-03-2013, 08:25 AM
Senior Member
 
MarkEHansen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have the Roku 2 XS and a Netflix subscription. One of the reasons I purchased the Roku is that I wanted the Dolby Digital sound that was available from NetFlix on various movies (my last Netflix-enabled device didn't offer this).

However, it seems that with Netflix, I must adjust the audio settings of each program I view to select DD5.1, as they all default to Stereo.

I realize that the default audio settings on the Roku have no effect on the auto settings for Netflix content, but I'm wondering if there is any way to get Netflix to default to DD5.1 (when available)? I've been all over the Netflix site and can find adjustments for video quality, but nothing for audio quality.

Thanks,
MarkEHansen is offline  
post #634 of 646 Old 02-03-2013, 10:58 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,223
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 521 Post(s)
Liked: 670
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkEHansen View Post

I have the Roku 2 XS and a Netflix subscription. One of the reasons I purchased the Roku is that I wanted the Dolby Digital sound that was available from NetFlix on various movies (my last Netflix-enabled device didn't offer this).

However, it seems that with Netflix, I must adjust the audio settings of each program I view to select DD5.1, as they all default to Stereo.

I realize that the default audio settings on the Roku have no effect on the auto settings for Netflix content, but I'm wondering if there is any way to get Netflix to default to DD5.1 (when available)? I've been all over the Netflix site and can find adjustments for video quality, but nothing for audio quality.

Thanks,

Once you select 5.1 it should default to 5.1 for every title after that. That is how both of my Roku 2 boxes behave. But if I select a stereo track then it will also default to stereo after that. I've been watching "House of Cards" this weekend. A few of the episodes I watched from my two Roku2 boxes. Each episode was playing 5.1 DD+. I didn't have to change any audio settings when playing each episode to have 5.1 DD+ playing.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #635 of 646 Old 02-03-2013, 02:06 PM
Senior Member
 
MarkEHansen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

Once you select 5.1 it should default to 5.1 for every title after that. That is how both of my Roku 2 boxes behave. But if I select a stereo track then it will also default to stereo after that. I've been watching "House of Cards" this weekend. A few of the episodes I watched from my two Roku2 boxes. Each episode was playing 5.1 DD+. I didn't have to change any audio settings when playing each episode to have 5.1 DD+ playing.
I never select stereo. I think sometimes I'll watch content which only provides stereo.
I'll have to pay more attention to see if the 5.1 setting sticks when watching multiple 5.1 programs. It seems like each time I check the audio setting on a program which provides 5.1, it is on Stereo and must be changed.

Strange that there's no way to just make it default to 5.1 if 5.1 is available. I guess this is an issue for Netflix, though.

Thanks,
MarkEHansen is offline  
post #636 of 646 Old 02-23-2013, 06:15 AM
Newbie
 
phlyle11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have been looking all around the internet for an answer but have yet to find one. I have two Rokus, a Roku 2 HD I ordered direct from Roku and a Roku HD I ordered from Amazon (one with the purple base.) I have Roksbox installed on both Rokus and am using my desktop as a media server. All the videos on my server are in either mp4 or m4v format and are both HD and SD. With the Roku 2 HD, I have no problems with playback. On the Roku HD, I get audio and video dropouts at random spots, anywhere from 15 to 90 seconds apart on the SD videos only. A friend of mine did most of the HD rips since I do not have a bluray drive on my computer, but I am pretty sure that he used Handbrake to convert those, same as I did for the SD videos. Either way, all videos play fine on one Roku, SD videos play terrible on the other. Is there a way to figure out if the problem is with the Roku or with Roksbox? I had tried to install Plex on my server previously, but it really bogged he computer down, and I have heard pretty mixed things about roConnect.

I hope this is not the case, but I am figuring it is probably a problem with the Roku itself. Any help would be appreciated!
phlyle11 is offline  
post #637 of 646 Old 05-02-2013, 11:55 AM
Member
 
Ubertrout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey folks...I'm considering getting a Roku HD. I have my fancy pants HTPC in my home theater setup running a 1080p tv and 5.1 surround sound setup (so I'm not likely to use the Roku in my main system any time soon, except maybe for Netflix in surround). And I have a bedroom TV which is a 24" CRT. That said, I suspect a couple of years down the road (probably when I move next), I'll put a HDTV in the bedroom. Any folks using the Roku HD with a SDTV? I know it's not the most common use, but how do people like it? I'm going to be using it just for Netflix, Hulu Plus, and maybe HBO Go.
Ubertrout is offline  
post #638 of 646 Old 05-02-2013, 04:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Dominic26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ubertrout View Post

Hey folks...I'm considering getting a Roku HD. I have my fancy pants HTPC in my home theater setup running a 1080p tv and 5.1 surround sound setup (so I'm not likely to use the Roku in my main system any time soon, except maybe for Netflix in surround). And I have a bedroom TV which is a 24" CRT. That said, I suspect a couple of years down the road (probably when I move next), I'll put a HDTV in the bedroom. Any folks using the Roku HD with a SDTV? I know it's not the most common use, but how do people like it? I'm going to be using it just for Netflix, Hulu Plus, and maybe HBO Go.

I have an XDS in out LR on the 32" LCD and I just bought a Roku 3 for the 61" DLP. I love them both
Dominic26 is offline  
post #639 of 646 Old 07-31-2013, 05:33 AM
Senior Member
 
vestaviascott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Vestavia Hills, Al
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58

This thread seems to be a bit untraveled of late but hopefully someone can help me out.

 

I have a Roku XD box that I got in a woot sale. I tried to add the spotify app to it but apparently the XD is not on the compatibility list for the app.

 

Anyone know of a workaround or hack to get the spotify app and/or the new updated Roku interface on the Roku XD?

 


My Blog > World's Fastest Website | Vizio Owners Guide | Vizio Calibration (updated)

My Equipment: 70" Vizio M-Series | Directv HR34-700 | Denon AVR-591 | Harmony Smart Control | Samsung LNT-5265 | PS3
vestaviascott is offline  
post #640 of 646 Old 07-31-2013, 09:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mr.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by vestaviascott View Post

This thread seems to be a bit untraveled of late but hopefully someone can help me out.

I have a Roku XD box that I got in a woot sale. I tried to add the spotify app to it but apparently the XD is not on the compatibility list for the app.

Anyone know of a workaround or hack to get the spotify app and/or the new updated Roku interface on the Roku XD?



I've got the old Roku XD set up in the guest bedroom with the latest firmware. There is no selection for Spotify so a work-around (if it exists) is your only option.

All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Movies

Mr.G is offline  
post #641 of 646 Old 10-18-2013, 02:05 PM
Member
 
puregenius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you are a Comcast and HBO subscriber, like me you are probably disappointed that Comcast does not support HBO Go on the Roku. Please consider messaging Sam Schwartz on twitter @samschwartz and/or sending faxes to his attention at 215-981-7790.
puregenius is offline  
post #642 of 646 Old 11-17-2013, 07:39 AM
Senior Member
 
MarkEHansen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have a Roku 2 XS and just noticed that when watching streaming content from Netflix, I'm not able to select DD sound even when the program state that it has it in the description.

For example, when I look at the TV series named Revolution, it says it is presented in Super HD and 5.1)), but when I click on Audio & Subtitles, I'm only presented with one choice: English (Stereo).

When I play the content, my AVR (Denon AVR3313CI) only sees a Stereo signal.

I've checked my "playback settings" on my Netflix account and the Data Usage is set to "High", which says "HD video quality".

I've tried many different programs, both TV shows and movies and none of them provide me with the option to select DD audio.

I feel sure this worked when I first purchased the Roku - In fact, the ability to get DD audio was one of the reasons I purchased the Roku in the first place. My previous Netflix steaming device (A Samsung Blu-Ray player) would not stream DD.

Is something wrong with my Roku?

Thanks,
MarkEHansen is offline  
post #643 of 646 Old 11-18-2013, 06:34 AM
Member
 
calculon68's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Make sure you have 5.1 surround selected in the Roku audio settings too.
calculon68 is offline  
post #644 of 646 Old 11-18-2013, 01:01 PM
Senior Member
 
MarkEHansen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
There was no such menu item. However, after rebooting the Roku, there is now an "Audio Mode" menu where I can select between Stereo and Surround Sound. I selected Surround Sound and now when I choose content from Netflix which claims to have DD 5.1)), I am able to select DD and the program does in fact play with DD.

Thanks for your help.
MarkEHansen is offline  
post #645 of 646 Old 11-18-2013, 07:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Dominic26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkEHansen View Post

There was no such menu item. However, after rebooting the Roku, there is now an "Audio Mode" menu where I can select between Stereo and Surround Sound. I selected Surround Sound and now when I choose content from Netflix which claims to have DD 5.1)), I am able to select DD and the program does in fact play with DD.

Thanks for your help.

Does the Roku XDS support DD 5.1??
Dominic26 is offline  
post #646 of 646 Old 11-19-2013, 07:00 AM
Member
 
calculon68's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 23
The XDS will pass thru DD digital surround via HDMI or your optical port to a surround receiver/AVR. The Roku doesn't "support" or decode surround on its own.

Not sure if the XDS will pass thru Dolby Digital Plus; the surround formats that VUDU & Netflix use.
calculon68 is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off